
Driving Under the Influence—Removing Sunset Date for Ignition Interlock for First 
Offense; Failure to Comply With a Traffic Citation—Restricted License; HB 
2479

HB 2479 revises  administrative  restrictions  applicable  to  driving  under  the  influence 
(DUI) and related offenses to remove the July 1, 2015, sunset date for a provision requiring the 
use of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device after the first test failure or conviction.

The bill also amends the statute governing failure to comply with a traffic citation to allow 
an individual whose driver’s license expires while that license has been suspended for failure to 
pay fines for traffic citations to apply for a restricted license. The bill requires the applicant to pay 
a $25 application fee and to meet the following conditions:

● The suspended expired license was issued by the Kansas Division of Vehicles;

● The suspension must have resulted from a failure to comply with a traffic citation;

● The traffic citation was issued in Kansas; and

● The driver has not previously had a suspension stayed due to being convicted of 
driving with a suspended license.

(Note:  The  bill  also  appears  to  extend  until  July  1,  2015,  the  authorization  for  the 
Supreme Court to impose an additional charge of up to $22 to fund the costs of non-judicial 
personnel whenever a district  or municipal  court  assesses a reinstatement fee for failure to 
comply with a traffic citation. This provision was passed in 2013 HB 2204 and is included here 
for conflict cleanup purposes.)
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