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CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MADAM PRESIDENT and MR.  SPEAKER: Your  committee  on conference  on 

House amendments to SB 20 submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on 

conference  further  agrees  to  amend  the  bill,  as  printed  with  House  Committee 

amendments, as follows: 

On page 1, by striking all in lines 7 through 36;

By striking all on pages 2 and 3;

On page 4, by striking all in lines 1 through 22 and inserting:

"Section 1. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4902 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

4902.  As  used  in  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act,  unless  the  context  otherwise 

requires:

(a) "Offender" means: 

(1) A sex offender;

(2) a violent offender;

(3) a drug offender;

(4) any person who has  been  required  to  register  under  out  of  state  law or  is 

otherwise required to be registered; and

(5) any person required by court  order  to register  for an offense not otherwise 

required as provided in the Kansas offender registration act.

(b) "Sex offender" includes any person who: 

(1) On or after April 14, 1994, is convicted of any sexually violent crime;
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(2) On or after April 14, 1994 July 1, 2002, is adjudicated as a juvenile offender 

for an act which if committed by an adult would constitute the commission of a sexually 

violent crime, unless the court,  on  the record, finds that the act involved non-forcible 

sexual conduct, the  victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not more 

than four years older than the victim;

(3) has been determined to be a sexually violent predator;

(4) on or after  May 29 July 1, 1997, is convicted of any of the following crimes 

when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age:

(A) Adultery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3507, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5511, and amendments thereto;

(B) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 21-3505, prior to its 

repeal, or subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments 

thereto;

(C) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto;

(D) patronizing a prostitute, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3515, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6421, and amendments thereto; or

(E) lewd and lascivious behavior, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3508, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5513, and amendments thereto;

(5) is convicted of sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(6) is convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in 

K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their  repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-
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5301,  21-5302,  21-5303,  and  amendments  thereto,  of  an  offense  defined  in  this 

subsection; or

(7) has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in 

this subsection, or any out of state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this 

state would be an offense defined in this subsection.

(c) "Sexually violent crime" means:

(1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(2) indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(3) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3504, prior 

to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(4) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, 

prior  to  its  repeal,  or  subsection (a)(3)  or (a)(4)  of K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5504, and 

amendments thereto;

(5) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(6) indecent  solicitation  of  a  child, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3510,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(7) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3511, prior 

to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(8) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;
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(9) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(10) aggravated  incest, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3603,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5605 21-5604, and amendments thereto;

(11) electronic solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3523, prior to its  repeal, and 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5509, and amendments thereto,  committed on or after April 17, 

2008;

(12) unlawful sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3520, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5512, and amendments thereto;

(13) any conviction or adjudication for an offense that is comparable to a sexually 

violent crime as defined in this subsection, or any out of state conviction or adjudication 

for an offense that under the laws of this  state would be a sexually violent crime as 

defined in this subsection;

(14) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 

21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302, 21-

5303, and amendments thereto, of a sexually violent crime, as defined in this subsection; 

or

(15) any act which has been determined beyond a reasonable doubt to have been 

sexually  motivated,  unless  the  court,  on  the  record,  finds  that  the  act  involved non-

forcible sexual conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not 

more  than  four  years  older  than  the  victim.  As  used  in  this  paragraph,  "sexually 

motivated" means that one of the purposes for which the defendant committed the crime 

was for the purpose of the defendant's sexual gratification.
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(d) "Sexually violent predator" means any person who, on or after July 1, 2001, is 

found  to  be  a  sexually  violent  predator  pursuant  to  K.S.A.  59-29a01  et  seq.,  and 

amendments thereto.

(e) "Violent offender" includes any person who:

(1) On or after May 29 July 1, 1997, is convicted of any of the following crimes:

(A) Capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;

(B) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;

(C) murder in the second degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;

(D) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;

(E) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or 

subsections  (a)(1),  (a)(2)  or  (a)(4)  of  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5405,  and  amendments 

thereto. The provisions of this paragraph shall   not apply to violations of subsection (a)(3)   

of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-  5405, and amendments thereto, which occurred on or after July   

1,   2011, through July 1, 2013  ;

(F) kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3420, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) 

of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto;

(G) aggravated kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3421, prior to its repeal, or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto;

(H) criminal restraint, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3424, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 
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2012 Supp. 21-5411, and amendments thereto, except by a parent, and only when the 

victim is less than 18 years of age; or

(I) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto;

(2) on or after July 1, 2006, is convicted of any person felony and the court makes 

a finding on the record that a deadly weapon was used in the commission of such person 

felony;

(3)  has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in 

this subsection, any out of state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state 

would be an offense defined in this subsection; or

(4) is convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in 

K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their  repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5301,  21-5302  and  21-5303,  and  amendments  thereto,  of  an  offense  defined  in  this 

subsection.

(f) "Drug offender" means includes any person who has been convicted of , on or 

after July 1, 2007:

(1) Is convicted of any of the following   crimes:  

(1) (A) Unlawful manufacture or attempting such of any controlled  substance or 

controlled substance analog, as defined in K.S.A. 65-4159,  prior to its repeal,  K.S.A. 

2010  Supp.  21-36a03,  prior  to  its  transfer,  or  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5703,  and 

amendments thereto;

(2) (B) possession of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, red phosphorus, lithium metal, 

sodium  metal,  iodine,  anhydrous  ammonia,  pressurized  ammonia  or 
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phenylpropanolamine, or their salts, isomers or salts of  isomers with intent to use the 

product to manufacture a controlled substance, as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 65-

7006,  prior  to  its  repeal,  subsection  (a)  of  K.S.A.  2010 Supp.  21-36a09,  prior  to  its 

transfer, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5709, and amendments thereto;

(3) (C) K.S.A. 65-4161, prior to its repeal, subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 

21-36a05, prior to its transfer, or subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A.  2012 Supp. 21-5705, and 

amendments thereto.  The provisions of this  paragraph shall not apply to violations of 

subsections (a)(2) through (a)(6) or (b) of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a05 which occurred 

on or after July 1, 2009, through April 15, 2010;

(4) (2) has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in 

this subsection, any out of state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state 

would be an offense defined in this subsection; or

(5) (3) is or has been convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, 

as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in 

this subsection.

(g) Convictions or adjudications which result from or are connected with the same 

act, or result from crimes committed at the same time, shall be counted for the purpose of 

this section as one conviction or adjudication. Any conviction or adjudication set aside 

pursuant  to  law  is  not  a  conviction  or  adjudication  for  purposes  of  this  section.  A 

conviction or adjudication from any out of state court shall constitute a conviction or 

adjudication for purposes of this section.

(h) "School" means any public or private educational institution, including, but not 
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limited  to,  postsecondary  school,  college,  university,  community  college,  secondary 

school, high school, junior high school, middle school, elementary school, trade school, 

vocational school or professional school providing training or education to an offender 

for three or more consecutive days or parts of days, or for 10 or more nonconsecutive 

days in a period of 30 consecutive days.

(i) "Employment" means any full-time, part-time, transient, day-labor employment 

or volunteer work, with or without compensation, for three or more consecutive days or 

parts of days, or for 10 or more nonconsecutive days in a period of 30 consecutive days.

(j) "Reside" means to stay, sleep or maintain with regularity or temporarily one's 

person and property in  a  particular  place other  than a location where the offender  is 

incarcerated. It shall be presumed that an offender resides at any and all locations where 

the offender stays, sleeps or maintains the offender's person for three or more consecutive 

days  or  parts  of  days,  or  for  ten  or  more  non-consecutive  days  in  a  period  of  30 

consecutive days.

(k) "Residence"  means  a  particular  and  definable  place  where  an  individual 

resides. Nothing in the Kansas offender registration act shall be construed to state that an 

offender may only have one residence for the purpose of such act.

(l) "Transient" means having no fixed or identifiable residence.

(m) "Law enforcement  agency having initial  jurisdiction" means the registering 

law enforcement  agency of  the  county or  location of  jurisdiction  where the offender 

expects to most often reside upon the offender's discharge, parole or release. 

(n) "Registering  law  enforcement  agency"  means  the  sheriff's  office  or  tribal 

police department responsible for registering an offender.



-9- ccr_2013_sb20_h_2262

(o) "Registering  entity"  means  any person,  agency or  other  governmental  unit, 

correctional facility or registering law enforcement agency responsible for obtaining the 

required information from, and explaining the required registration procedures to, any 

person required to register pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act. "Registering 

entity" shall include, but not be limited to, sheriff's offices, tribal police departments and 

correctional facilities.

(p) "Treatment  facility"  means  any  public  or  private  facility  or  institution 

providing inpatient mental health, drug or alcohol treatment or counseling, but does not 

include a hospital, as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and amendments thereto.

(q) "Correctional  facility"  means  any  public  or  private  correctional  facility, 

juvenile detention facility, prison or jail.

(r) "Out of state" means: the District of Columbia; any federal, military or tribal 

jurisdiction,  including those within this state; any foreign jurisdiction; or any state or 

territory within the United States, other than this state.

(s) "Duration of registration" means the length of time during which an offender is 

required to register for a specified offense or violation.

Sec.  2. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4903 is  hereby amended to read as  follows: 22-

4903. (a) Violation of the Kansas offender registration act is the failure by an offender, as 

defined  in  K.S.A.  22-4902,  and  amendments  thereto,  to  comply  with  any  and  all 

provisions of such act,  including any and all duties set forth in K.S.A. 22-4905 through 

22-4907, and amendments thereto. Any violation of the Kansas offender registration act 

which continues for more than 30 consecutive days shall, upon the 31st consecutive day, 

constitute a new and separate offense, and shall continue to constitute a new and separate 
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offense every 30 days thereafter for as long as the violation continues.

(b) Aggravated violation of the Kansas offender registration act is violation of the 

Kansas offender registration act which continues for  more than 180 consecutive days. 

Any aggravated violation of the Kansas  offender  registration act  which continues  for 

more than 180 consecutive  days shall, upon the 181st consecutive day, constitute a new 

and separate offense, and shall continue to constitute a new and separate violation of the 

Kansas  offender  registration  act  every  30  days  thereafter,  or  a  new  and  separate 

aggravated violation of the Kansas offender registration act every 180 days thereafter, for 

as long as the violation continues.

(c) (1) Except as provided in subsection (c)(3),  violation of the  Kansas offender 

registration act is:

(A) Upon a first conviction, a severity level 6, person felony;

(B) upon a second conviction, a severity level 5, person felony; and

(C) upon a third or subsequent conviction, a severity level 3, person felony.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (c)(3),  aggravated violation of  the Kansas 

offender registration act is a severity level 3, person felony.

(3) Violation of the Kansas offender registration act or aggravated   violation of the   

Kansas offender registration act consisting only of failing   to remit payment to the sheriff's   

office as required in subsection (k) of   K.S.A. 22-4905, and amendments thereto, is:  

(A) Except as provided in subsection (c)(3)(B), a class A   misdemeanor if, within   

15 days of registration, full payment is not remitted   to the sheriff's office;  

(B) a  severity  level  9,  person  felony  if,  within  15  days  of  the  most    recent   

registration, two or more full payments have not been remitted to   the sheriff's office.  
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(d) Prosecution of violations of this section may be held:

(1) In any county in which the offender resides;

(2) in any county in  which the offender  is  required  to  be registered  under  the 

Kansas offender registration act;

(3) in any county in which the offender is located during which time the offender 

is not in compliance with the Kansas offender registration act; or

(4) in the county in which any conviction or adjudication occurred for which the 

offender is required to be registered under the Kansas offender registration act.

Sec.  3. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4904 is  hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

4904.  (a)  (1)  At  the  time  of  conviction  or  adjudication  for  an  offense  requiring 

registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, the court shall:

(A) Inform  any  offender,  on  the  record,  of  the  procedure  to  register  and  the 

requirements of K.S.A. 22-4905, and amendments thereto; and

(B) if the offender is released:

(i) Complete  a  notice  of  duty  to  register,  which  shall  include  title  and  statute 

number of conviction or adjudication, date of conviction or adjudication, case number, 

county of  conviction  or  adjudication,  and  the  following offender  information:  Name, 

address, date of birth, social security number, race, ethnicity and gender;

(ii) require the offender to read and sign the notice of duty to register, which shall 

include a statement that the requirements provided in this subsection have been explained 

to the offender;

(iii) order the offender to report within three business days to the registering law 

enforcement agency in the county or tribal land of conviction or adjudication and to the 
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registering law enforcement agency in any place where the offender resides, maintains 

employment or attends school, to complete the registration form with all information and 

any updated information required for registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, and 

amendments thereto; and

(iv) provide one copy of the notice of duty to register to the offender and, within 

three business days, send a copy of the form to the law enforcement agency having initial 

jurisdiction and to the Kansas bureau of investigation.

(2) At the time of sentencing or disposition for an offense requiring registration as 

provided in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, the court shall ensure the age of 

the victim is documented in the journal entry of conviction or adjudication.

(b) The  staff  of  any  correctional  facility  or  the  registering  law  enforcement 

agency's designee shall:

(1) At the time of initial custody, register any offender within three business days:

(A) Inform the offender  of  the  procedure for  registration  and of  the  offender's 

registration requirements as provided in K.S.A. 22-4905, and amendments thereto;

(B) complete the registration form with all information and updated information 

required for registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, and amendments thereto;

(C) require the offender to read and sign the registration form, which shall include 

a statement that the requirements provided in this subsection have been explained to the 

offender;

(D) provide one copy of the form to the offender and, within three business days, 

send a copy of the form to the Kansas bureau of investigation; and 

(E) enter  all  offender  information  required  by  the  national  crime  information 
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center  into  the  national  sex  offender  registry  system  within  three  business  days  of 

completing  the  registration  or  electronically  submit  all  information  and  updated 

information required for registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, and amendments 

thereto, within three business days to the Kansas bureau of investigation;

(2) notify the Kansas bureau of investigation of the incarceration of any offender 

and of the location or any change in location of the offender while in custody;

(3) prior  to  any offender  being  discharged,  paroled,  furloughed  or  released  on 

work  or  school  release  from that  does  not  require  the  daily    return  to   a  correctional 

facility, or otherwise released from incarceration:

(A) Inform the offender  of  the  procedure for  registration  and of  the  offender's 

registration requirements as provided in K.S.A. 22-4905, and amendments thereto;

(B) complete the registration form with all information and updated information 

required for registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, and amendments thereto;

(C) require the offender to read and sign the registration form, which shall include 

a statement that the requirements provided in this subsection have been explained to the 

offender;

(D) photograph the offender's face and any identifying marks;

(E) obtain fingerprint and palm prints of the offender; and

(F) provide one copy of the form to the offender and, within three business days, 

send a copy of the form and of the photograph or photographs to the law enforcement 

agency having initial jurisdiction and to the Kansas bureau of investigation; and

(4) notify the law enforcement agency having initial jurisdiction and the Kansas 

bureau  of  investigation  seven  business  days  prior  to  any  offender  being  discharged, 
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paroled, furloughed or released on work or school release.

(c) The staff of any treatment facility shall:

(1) Within  three  business  days  of  an  offender's  arrival  for  inpatient  treatment, 

inform the registering law enforcement agency of the county or location of jurisdiction in 

which the treatment facility is located of the offender's presence at the treatment facility 

and the expected duration of the treatment, and immediately notify the registering law 

enforcement agency of an unauthorized or unexpected absence of the offender during the 

offender's treatment;

(2) inform the registering law enforcement agency of the county or location of 

jurisdiction in which the treatment facility is located within three business days of an 

offender's discharge or release; and 

(3) provide information upon request to any registering law enforcement agency 

having  jurisdiction  relevant  to  determining  the  presence  of  an  offender  within  the 

treatment facility.

(d) The registering law enforcement agency, upon the reporting of any offender, 

shall:

(1) Inform the offender of the duty to register as provided by the Kansas offender 

registration act;

(2)  (A) explain  the  procedure  for  registration  and  the  offender's  registration 

requirements as provided in K.S.A. 22-4905, and amendments thereto; 

(B) obtain the information required for registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, 

and amendments thereto; and 

(C) require the offender to read and sign the registration form, which shall include 
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a statement that the requirements provided in this subsection have been explained to the 

offender;

(3) complete the registration form with all information and updated information 

required for registration, as provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, and amendments thereto, each 

time the offender reports to the registering law enforcement agency. All information and 

updated information reported by an offender shall be forwarded to the Kansas bureau of 

investigation within three business days;

(4) maintain  the  original  signed  registration  form,  provide  one  copy  of  the 

completed registration form to the offender and, within three business days, send one 

copy of the completed form to the Kansas bureau of investigation;

(5) forward a copy of any certified letter used for reporting pursuant to K.S.A. 22-

4905, and amendments thereto, when utilized, within three business days to the Kansas 

bureau of investigation;

(6) obtain  registration  information  from  every  offender  required  to  register 

regardless of whether or not the offender remits payment. Failure of the offender to remit 

payment  is  a  violation  of  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act  and  is  subject  to 

prosecution pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4903, and amendments thereto;

(7) upon every required reporting, update the photograph or photographs of the 

offender's  face  and  any  new  identifying  marks  and  immediately  forward  copies  or 

electronic files of the photographs to the Kansas bureau of investigation;

(8) enter all offender information required by the national crime information center 

into the national sex offender registry system within three business days of completing 

the registration or electronically submit all information and updated information required 
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for registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, and amendments thereto,  within three 

business days to the Kansas bureau of investigation;

(9) maintain  a  special  fund  for  the  deposit  and  maintenance  of  fees  paid  by 

offenders. All funds retained by the registering law enforcement agency pursuant to the 

provisions  of  this  section  shall  be  credited  to  a  special  fund  of  the  registering  law 

enforcement  agency  which  shall  be  used  solely  for  law  enforcement  and  criminal 

prosecution purposes and which shall not be used as a source of revenue to reduce the 

amount of funding otherwise made available to the registering law enforcement agency; 

and

(10) forward any initial  registration and updated registration information within 

three business days to any out of state jurisdiction where the offender is  expected to 

reside, maintain employment or attend school.

(e) (1) The Kansas bureau of investigation shall:

(A) Forward  all  additions  or  changes  in  information  to  any  registering  law 

enforcement agency, other than the agency that submitted the form, where the offender 

expects to reside, maintain employment or attend school;

(B) ensure that offender information is immediately entered in the state registered 

offender database and the Kansas registered offender website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-

4909, and amendments thereto; 

(C) transmit offender conviction or adjudication data, fingerprints and palm prints 

to the federal bureau of investigation; and

(D) ensure  all  offender  information  required  by the  national  crime  information 

center is transmitted into the national sex offender registry system within three business 
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days  of  such  information  being  electronically  submitted  to  the  Kansas  bureau  of 

investigation.

(2) The  director  of  the  Kansas  bureau  of  investigation  may  adopt  rules  and 

regulations necessary to implement the provisions of the Kansas offender registration act.

(f) The  attorney  general  shall,  within  10  business  days  of  an  offender  being 

declared a sexually violent predator, forward to the Kansas bureau of investigation all 

relevant court documentation declaring an offender a sexually violent predator.

(g) The  state  department  of  education  shall  annually  notify  any school  of  the 

Kansas  bureau  of  investigation  internet  website,  and  any internet  website  containing 

information  on  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act  sponsored  or  created  by  the 

registering law enforcement agency of the county or location of jurisdiction in which the 

school is located, for the purpose of locating offenders who reside near such school. Such 

notification shall include information that the registering law enforcement agency of the 

county or location of jurisdiction where such school is located is available to the school 

to  assist  in  using  the  registry  and  providing  additional  information  on  registered 

offenders.

(h) The secretary of health  and environment  shall  annually notify any licensed 

child care facility of the Kansas bureau of investigation internet website, and any internet 

website containing information on the Kansas offender registration sponsored or created 

by the registering law enforcement agency of the county in which the facility is located, 

for the purpose of locating offenders who reside near such facility. Such notification shall 

include information that the registering law enforcement agency of the county or location 

of  jurisdiction  where such child  care  facility is  located  is  available  to  the  child  care 
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facilities to assist in using the registry and providing additional information on registered 

offenders.

(i) Upon request, the clerk of any court of record shall provide the Kansas bureau 

of  investigation  copies  of  complaints,  indictments,  information,  journal  entries, 

commitment orders or any other documents necessary to the performance of the duties of 

the Kansas bureau of investigation under the Kansas offender registration act. No fees or 

charges for providing such documents may be assessed.

Sec.  4. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4905 is  hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

4905. Any offender required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration 

act shall:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this  subsection,  register  in person with the 

registering law enforcement agency within three business days of coming into any county 

or location of jurisdiction in which the offender resides or intends to reside, maintains 

employment or intends to maintain employment, or attends school or intends to attend 

school. Any such offender who cannot physically register in person with the registering 

law enforcement agency for such reasons including, but not limited to, incapacitation or 

hospitalization, as determined by a person licensed to practice medicine or surgery, shall 

be subject to verification requirements other than in-person registration, as determined by 

the registering law enforcement agency having jurisdiction;

(b) except  as  provided  further,  for  any:  (1)  Sex  offender,  including  a  violent 

offender or drug offender who is also a sex offender, report in person four times each year 

to the registering law enforcement agency in the county or location of jurisdiction in 

which  the  offender  resides,  maintains  employment  or  is  attending  a  school;  and  (2) 
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violent offender or drug offender, report in person four times each year to the registering 

law enforcement agency in the county or location of jurisdiction in which the offender 

resides, maintains employment or is attending a school, except that, at the discretion of 

the  registering  law  enforcement  agency,  one  of  the  four  required  reports  may  be 

conducted by certified letter. When utilized, the certified letter for reporting shall be sent 

by the registering law enforcement agency to the reported residence of the offender. The 

offender shall indicate any changes in information as required for reporting in person. 

The  offender  shall  respond  by  returning  the  certified  letter  to  the  registering  law 

enforcement  agency within 10 business days  by certified mail.  The offender  shall  be 

required to report to the registering law   enforcement agency   once during the month of the 

offender's birthday and every third, sixth and ninth month occurring before and after the 

month of the offender's birthday. The registering law enforcement agency may determine 

the  appropriate  times  and  days  for  reporting  by  the  offender,  consistent  with  this 

subsection.  Nothing  contained  in  this  subsection  shall  be  construed  to  alleviate  any 

offender from meeting the requirements prescribed in the Kansas offender registration 

act;

(c) provide  the  information  required  for  registration  as  provided  in  K.S.A.  22-

4907,  and  amendments  thereto,  and  verify  all  information  previously  provided  is 

accurate;

(d) if in the custody of a correctional facility, register with the correctional facility 

within three business days of initial custody and shall  not be required to update such 

registration until released from custody,  granted work release or otherwise allowed to 

leave the grounds of the   discharged, paroled, furloughed or released on work or school   
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release    from a   correctional  facility.  A copy of  the  registration form and any    updated   

registrations for an offender released on work or school   release shall be sent, within three   

business  days,  to  the  registering  law    enforcement  agency  where  the  offender  is   

incarcerated,  maintains    employment  or  attends  school  ,   and  to  the  Kansas  bureau  of   

investigation;

(e) notwithstanding subsections (a) and (b), if the offender is transient, report in 

person  to  the  registering  law  enforcement  agency  of  such  county  or  location  of 

jurisdiction in  which the offender  is  physically present  within three business  days  of 

arrival in the county or location of jurisdiction. Such offender shall be required to register 

in person with the registering law enforcement agency every 30 days, or more often at the 

discretion of the registering law enforcement agency. Such offender shall comply with the 

provisions of the Kansas offender registration act and, in addition, shall:

(1) Provide a list of places where the offender has slept and otherwise frequented 

during the period of time since the last date of registration; and

(2) provide a list of places where the offender may be contacted and where the 

offender intends to sleep and otherwise frequent during the period of time prior to the 

next required date of registration;

(f) if required by out of state law, register in any out of state jurisdiction, where the 

offender resides, maintains employment or attends school;

(g) register  in  person  upon  any  commencement,  change  or  termination  of 

residence  location,  employment  status,  school  attendance  or  other  information  as 

provided in K.S.A. 22-4907, and amendments thereto, within three business days of such 

commencement,  change or  termination,  to  the  registering  law enforcement  agency or 
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agencies  where  last  registered  and  provide  written  notice  to  the  Kansas  bureau  of 

investigation;

(h) report in person to the registering law enforcement agency or agencies within 

three business days of any change in name;

(i) if receiving inpatient treatment at any treatment facility, inform the treatment 

facility of the offender's status as an offender and inform the registering law enforcement 

agency of the county or location of jurisdiction in which the treatment facility is located 

of  the  offender's  presence  at  the  treatment  facility  and  the  expected  duration  of  the 

treatment;

(j) submit  to  the  taking  of  an  updated  photograph  by  the  registering  law 

enforcement agency on each occasion when the offender registers with or reports to the 

registering law enforcement agency in the county or location of jurisdiction in which the 

offender  resides,  maintains  employment  or  attends  school.  In  addition,  such offender 

shall  submit  to  the  taking  of  a  photograph  to  document  any  changes  in  identifying 

characteristics, including, but not limited to, scars, marks and tattoos;

(k) remit payment to the sheriff's office in the amount of $20 during the month of 

the offender's birthday and every third, sixth and ninth month occurring before and after 

the month of the offender's birthday as part of   the reporting process required pursuant to   

subsection (b) in each county in which the offender resides, maintains employment or is 

attending school. Registration will be completed regardless of whether or not the   offender   

remits  payment.  Failure  of  the  offender  to  remit  full  payment    within  15  days  of   

registration  is  a  violation  of  the  Kansas  offender    registration  act  and  is  subject  to   

prosecution pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4903,   and amendments thereto.   Notwithstanding other 
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provisions herein, payment of this fee is not required:

(1) When an offender provides updates or changes in information or during an 

initial registration unless such updates, changes or initial registration is during the month 

of such offender's birthday and every third, sixth and ninth month occurring before and 

after the month of the offender's birthday;

(2) when an offender is transient and is required to register every 30 days, or more 

frequently as ordered by the registering law enforcement agency, except during the month 

of the offender's birthday and every third, sixth and ninth month occurring before and 

after the month of the offender's birthday; or

(3) if  an offender  has,  prior  to  the required reporting and within the last  three 

years, been determined to be indigent by a court of law, and the basis for that finding is 

recorded by the court;

(l) annually renew any driver's license pursuant to K.S.A. 8-247, and amendments 

thereto, and annually renew any identification card pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 8-

1325a, and amendments thereto;

(m) if maintaining primary residence in this state, surrender all driver's licenses 

and identification cards from other states, territories and the District of Columbia, except 

if  the offender  is  presently serving and maintaining active duty in any branch of the 

United  States  military  or  the  offender  is  an  immediate  family  member  of  a  person 

presently serving and maintaining active duty in any branch of the United States military;

(n) read and sign the registration form noting whether the requirements provided 

in this section have been explained to the offender; and

(o) report in person to the registering law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction of 
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the offender's residence and provide written notice to the Kansas bureau of investigation 

21  days  prior  to  any  travel  outside  of  the  United  States,  and  provide  an  itinerary 

including, but not limited to, destination, means of transport and duration of travel, or if 

under  emergency  circumstances,  within  three  business  days  of  making  travel 

arrangements.

Sec.  5. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4906 is  hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

4906. (a) (1) Except as provided in subsection (c), if convicted of any of the following 

offenses, an offender's duration of registration shall be, if confined, 15 years after the date 

of parole, discharge or release, whichever date is most recent, or, if not confined, 15 years 

from the date of conviction:

(A) Sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or subsection 

(a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(B) adultery,  as defined in  K.S.A. 21-3507, prior  to  its  repeal,  or  K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5511, and amendments thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 

years of age;

(C) patronizing a prostitute, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3515, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6421, and amendments thereto, when one of the parties involved is 

less than 18 years of age;

(D) lewd and lascivious behavior, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3508, prior to its repeal, 

or  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5513,  and  amendments  thereto,  when  one  of  the  parties 

involved is less than 18 years of age;

(E) capital murder,  as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;
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(F) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;

(G) murder in the second degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;

(H) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;

(I) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or 

subsections  (a)(1),  (a)(2)  or  (a)(4)  of K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5405,  and  amendments 

thereto;

(J) criminal restraint, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3424, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5411, and amendments thereto, except by a parent, and only when the 

victim is less than 18 years of age;

(K) any act which has been determined beyond a reasonable doubt to have been 

sexually  motivated,  unless  the  court,  on  the  record,  finds  that  the  act  involved non-

forcible sexual conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not 

more than four years older than the victim;

(L) conviction of any person required by court order to register for an offense not 

otherwise required as provided in the Kansas offender registration act;

(M) conviction of any person felony and the court makes a finding on the record 

that a deadly weapon was used in the commission of such person felony;

(N) unlawful  manufacture  or  attempting  such  of  any  controlled  substance  or 

controlled substance analog, as defined in K.S.A. 65-4159,  prior to its repeal,  K.S.A. 

2010  Supp.  21-36a03,  prior  to  its  transfer,  or  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5703,  and 
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amendments thereto;

(O) possession  of  ephedrine,  pseudoephedrine,  red  phosphorus,  lithium  metal, 

sodium  metal,  iodine,  anhydrous  ammonia,  pressurized  ammonia  or 

phenylpropanolamine, or their salts, isomers or salts of  isomers with intent to use the 

product to manufacture a controlled substance, as defined by subsection (a) of K.S.A. 65-

7006,  prior  to  its  repeal,  subsection  (a)  of  K.S.A.  2010 Supp.  21-36a09,  prior  to  its 

transfer, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5709, and amendments thereto;

(P) K.S.A. 65-4161, prior to its repeal, subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-

36a05,  prior  to  its  transfer,  or  subsection  (a)(1)  of  K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5705,  and 

amendments thereto; or

(Q) any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 

21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 

21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.

(2) Except  as  otherwise  provided  by  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act,  the 

duration of registration terminates, if not confined, at the expiration of 15 years from the 

date of conviction. Any period of time during which any offender is incarcerated in any 

jail or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all 

requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration 

of registration.

(b) (1)  Except as provided in subsection (c), if convicted of any of the following 

offenses, an offender's duration of registration shall be, if confined, 25 years after the date 

of parole, discharge or release, whichever date is most recent, or, if not confined, 25 years 

from the date of conviction:
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(A) Criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 21-3505, prior to 

its repeal, or subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments 

thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;

(B) indecent  solicitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3510,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(C) electronic  solicitation,  as  defined in  K.S.A. 21-3523, prior to  its  repeal,  or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5509, and amendments thereto;

(D) aggravated  incest,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3603,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto;

(E) indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(F) unlawful sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3520, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5512, and amendments thereto;

(G) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the victim is 14 or more years 

of age but less than 18 years of age;

(H) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(I) promoting prostitution,  as defined in  K.S.A. 21-3513, prior  to its  repeal,  or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto, if the prostitute is 14 or more years 

of age but less than 18 years of age; or

(J) any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 

21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 
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21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.

(2) Except  as  otherwise  provided  by  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act,  the 

duration of registration terminates, if not confined, at the expiration of 25 years from the 

date of conviction. Any period of time during which any offender is incarcerated in any 

jail or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all 

requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration 

of registration.

(c) Upon a second or subsequent conviction of an offense requiring registration, an 

offender's duration of registration shall be for such offender's lifetime.

(d) The duration of registration for any offender who has been convicted of any of 

the following offenses shall be for such offender's lifetime:

(1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(2) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3511, prior 

to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(3) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3504, prior 

to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(4) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, 

prior  to  its  repeal,  or  subsection (a)(3)  or (a)(4)  of K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5504, and 

amendments thereto;

(5) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(6) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, 
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or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto;

(7) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if  the victim is less than 14 

years of age;

(8) promoting prostitution,  as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its repeal,  or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto, if  the prostitute is less than 14 

years of age;

(9) kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3420, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) 

of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto;

(10) aggravated kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3421, prior to its repeal, or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto; or

(11) any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 

21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 

21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.

(e) Any person who has  been  declared  a  sexually violent  predator  pursuant  to 

K.S.A.  59-29a01  et  seq.,  and  amendments  thereto,  shall  register  for  such  person's 

lifetime.

(f) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, for an offender less than 

14 years of age who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which if committed 

by an adult would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 

22-4902, and amendments thereto, the court shall:

(1) Require  registration  until  such  offender  reaches  18  years  of  age,  at  the 

expiration of five years from the date of adjudication or, if confined, from release from 



-29- ccr_2013_sb20_h_2262

confinement, whichever date occurs later. Any period of time during which the offender 

is incarcerated in any jail, juvenile facility or correctional facility or during which the 

offender  does  not  comply  with  any  and  all  requirements  of  the  Kansas  offender 

registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration;

(2) not  require  registration  if  the  court,  on  the  record,  finds  substantial  and 

compelling reasons therefor; or

(3) require  registration,  but  such  registration  information  shall  not  be  open  to 

inspection by the public or posted on any internet website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-

4909, and amendments thereto. If the court requires registration but such registration is 

not open to the public,  such offender shall  provide a copy of such court order to the 

registering  law  enforcement  agency  at  the  time  of  registration.  The  registering  law 

enforcement agency shall forward a copy of such court order to the Kansas bureau of 

investigation.

If such offender violates a condition of release during the term of the conditional 

release, the court may require such offender to register pursuant to paragraph (1).

(g) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, for an offender 14 years 

of age or more who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which if committed by 

an adult would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 22-

4902,  and  amendments  thereto,  and such crime is  not  an off-grid  felony or  a  felony 

ranked in severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, prior to its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6804, and amendments thereto, the court shall:

(1) Require  registration  until  such  offender  reaches  18  years  of  age,  at  the 

expiration of five years from the date of adjudication or, if confined, from release from 
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confinement, whichever date occurs later. Any period of time during which the offender 

is incarcerated in any jail, juvenile facility or correctional facility or during which the 

offender  does  not  comply  with  any  and  all  requirements  of  the  Kansas  offender 

registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration;

(2) not  require  registration  if  the  court,  on  the  record,  finds  substantial  and 

compelling reasons therefor; or

(3) require  registration,  but  such  registration  information  shall  not  be  open  to 

inspection by the public or posted on any internet website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-

4909, and amendments thereto. If the court requires registration but such registration is 

not open to the public,  such offender shall  provide a copy of such court order to the 

registering  law  enforcement  agency  at  the  time  of  registration.  The  registering  law 

enforcement agency shall forward a copy of such court order to the Kansas bureau of 

investigation.

If such offender violates a condition of release during the term of the conditional 

release, the court may require such offender to register pursuant to paragraph (1).

(h) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, an offender 14 years of 

age or more who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which if committed by an 

adult would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 22-

4902, and amendments thereto, and such crime is an off-grid felony or a felony ranked in 

severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6804, and amendments thereto, shall be required to register for 

such offender's lifetime.

(i) Notwithstanding  any other  provision  of  law,  if  a  diversionary agreement  or 
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probation order, either adult or juvenile, or a juvenile offender sentencing order, requires 

registration  under  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act  for  an  offense  that  would  not 

otherwise require registration as provided in subsection (a)(5) of K.S.A 22-4902, and 

amendments  thereto,  then  all  provisions  of  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act  shall 

apply, except that the duration of registration shall be controlled by such diversionary 

agreement, probation order or juvenile offender sentencing order.

(j) The duration of registration does not terminate if the convicted or adjudicated 

offender again becomes liable to register as provided by the Kansas offender registration 

act during the required period of registration.

(k) For any person moving to Kansas who has been convicted or adjudicated in an 

out of state court, or who was required to register under an out of state law, the duration 

of registration shall be the length of time required by the out of state jurisdiction or by the 

Kansas offender registration act, whichever length of time is longer. The provisions of 

this subsection shall apply to convictions or adjudications prior to June 1, 2006, and to 

persons who moved to Kansas prior to June l, 2006, and to convictions or adjudications 

on or after June 1, 2006, and to persons who moved to Kansas on or after June l, 2006.

(l) For any person residing, maintaining employment or attending  school in this 

state who has been convicted or adjudicated by an out of state court of an offense that is 

comparable  to  any  crime  requiring  registration  pursuant  to  the  Kansas  offender 

registration act, but who was not required to register in the jurisdiction of conviction or 

adjudication, the duration of registration shall be the duration required for the comparable 

offense pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act. The duration of registration shall 

begin upon establishing residency, beginning employment or beginning school.
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Sec.  6. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4907 is  hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

4907. (a) Registration as required by the Kansas offender registration act shall consist of 

a form approved by the Kansas bureau of investigation, which shall include a statement 

that the requirements provided in this section have been reviewed and explained to the 

offender,  and  shall  be  signed  by  the  offender  and,  except  when  such  reporting  is 

conducted  by  certified  letter  as  provided  in  subsection  (b)  of  K.S.A.  22-4905,  and 

amendments thereto, witnessed by the person registering the offender. Such registration 

form shall include the following offender information:

(1) Name and all alias names;

(2) date and city, state and country of birth, and any alias dates or places of birth;

(3) title and statute number of each offense or offenses committed, date of each 

conviction or adjudication and court case numbers for each conviction or adjudication;

(4) city, county, state or country of conviction or adjudication;

(5) sex and date of birth or purported age of each victim of all offenses requiring 

registration;

(6) current residential address, any anticipated future residence and any temporary 

lodging information including, but not limited to, address, telephone number and dates of 

travel for any place in which the offender is  staying for seven or more days; and,  if 

transient, the locations where the offender has stayed and frequented since last reporting 

for registration;

(7) all telephone numbers at which the offender may be contacted including, but 

not limited to, all mobile telephone numbers;

(8) social security number, and all alias social security numbers;
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(9) identifying characteristics such as race, ethnicity, skin tone, sex, age, height, 

weight, hair and eye color, scars, tattoos and blood type;

(10) occupation  and  name,  address  or  addresses  and  telephone  number  of 

employer or employers, and name of any anticipated employer and place of employment;

(11) all current driver's licenses or identification cards, including a photocopy of 

all such driver's licenses or identification cards and their numbers, states of issuance and 

expiration dates; 

(12) all  vehicle  information,  including  the  license  plate  number,  registration 

number and any other identifier and description of any vehicle owned or operated by the 

offender, or any vehicle the offender regularly drives, either for personal use or in the 

course of employment, and information concerning the location or locations such vehicle 

or vehicles are habitually parked or otherwise kept;

(13) license plate number, registration number or other identifier and description 

of  any  aircraft  or  watercraft  owned  or  operated  by  the  offender,  and  information 

concerning the location or  locations  such aircraft  or  watercraft  are  habitually parked, 

docked or otherwise kept;

(14) all professional licenses, designations and certifications;

(15) documentation  of  any  treatment  received  for  a  mental  abnormality  or 

personality disorder of the offender; for purposes of documenting the treatment received, 

registering  law enforcement  agencies,  correctional  facility  officials,  treatment  facility 

officials  and  courts  may  rely  on  information  that  is  readily  available  to  them from 

existing records and the offender;

(16) a photograph or photographs;
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(17) fingerprints and palm prints;

(18) any and all schools and satellite schools attended or expected to be attended 

and the locations of attendance and telephone number;

(19) any and all: E-mail addresses; online identities used by the offender on the 

internet; information relating to membership in any and all personal web pages or online 

social networks; and internet screen names;

(20) all travel and immigration documents; and

(21) name and telephone number of the offender's probation, parole or community 

corrections officer.

(b) (1) The offender shall also provide to the registering law enforcement agency 

DNA exemplars,  unless already on file at  the Kansas  bureau of investigation provide 

biological  samples  for  DNA analysis  to  the    registering  law  enforcement  agency  as   

required by K.S.A. 21-2511, and   amendments thereto. The biological samples shall be in   

the form using a   DNA databank kit authorized by the Kansas bureau of investigation. The   

registering law enforcement agency shall forward such biological samples   to the Kansas   

bureau of  investigation.  Prior  to  taking such sample,  the    registering law enforcement   

agency shall search the Kansas criminal   justice information system to determine if such   

person's DNA profile is   currently on file. If such person's DNA profile is on file with the   

Kansas   bureau of investigation, the registering law enforcement agency is not   required to   

take biological samples.

(2) If the exemplars to be taken require the withdrawal of blood, such withdrawal 

may be performed only by: 

(A) A person licensed to practice medicine or surgery, or a person acting under the 
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supervision of any such licensed person;

(B) a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse;

(C) any qualified medical technician; or

(D) a licensed phlebotomist.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4902, 22-4903, 22-4904, 22-4905, 22-4906 and 22-

4907 are hereby repealed.";

And by redesignating sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, by striking all in lines 1 through 4 and inserting:

"AN ACT concerning the Kansas offender registration act; amending K.S.A. 2012 

Supp.  22-4902,  22-4903,  22-4904,  22-4905,  22-4906  and  22-4907  and  repealing  the 

existing sections.";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

___________________________

___________________________

___________________________
Conferees on part of House

___________________________

___________________________

___________________________
Conferees on part of Senate


