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CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MADAM PRESIDENT and MR.  SPEAKER: Your  committee  on conference  on 

Senate amendments to HB 2034 submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on 

conference further agrees to amend the bill, as printed as Senate Substitute for HB 2034, 

as follows:

On page 1, by striking all in lines 6 and 7 and inserting:

"New Section 1. The attorney general, in consultation with other appropriate state 

agencies,  is  authorized  to  coordinate  training  regarding  human  trafficking  for  law 

enforcement agencies throughout Kansas.

New  Sec.  2. (a)  The  human  trafficking  advisory  board  established  by  the 

attorney general is hereby designated the official human trafficking advisory board for 

the state of Kansas.

(b) The board shall include representatives from:

(1) The office of the governor;

(2) the attorney general's office;

(3) the department of labor;

(4) the department for children and families;

(5) the department of health and environment;

(6) the juvenile justice authority;

(7) the Kansas association of chiefs of police;

(8) the Kansas sheriffs' association;
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(9) the highway patrol;

(10) the Kansas bureau of investigation;

(11) local law enforcement agencies;

(12) the legislature;

(13) nongovernmental  organizations  focused  on  human  trafficking  issues, 

organizations  representing  diverse  communities  disproportionately  affected  by  human 

trafficking and organizations focused on child services and runaway services;

(14) academic  researchers  who  are  dedicated  to  the  subject  of  human 

trafficking; 

(15) any other federal, state, or local government entity deemed necessary by 

the attorney general; and

(16) any  other  private  sector  or  nongovernmental  organization  deemed 

necessary by the attorney general.

New  Sec.  3. There  is  hereby  established  in  the  state  treasury  the  human 

trafficking victim assistance fund. All moneys credited to such fund shall be used to pay 

for the training authorized by section 1, and amendments thereto, and to support care, 

treatment  and other  services  for victims of human trafficking and commercial  sexual 

exploitation of a child. All expenditures from such fund shall be made in accordance with 

appropriation acts, upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant 

to vouchers approved by the attorney general or the attorney general's designee.

New Sec. 4. (a) Commercial sexual exploitation of a child is knowingly:
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(1) Giving, receiving, offering or agreeing to give, or offering or agreeing to 

receive anything of value to perform any of the following acts:

(A) Procuring, recruiting, inducing, soliciting, hiring or otherwise obtaining any 

person younger than 18 years of age to engage in sexual intercourse, sodomy or manual 

or other bodily contact stimulation of the genitals of any person with the intent to arouse 

or gratify the sexual desires of the offender or another; or

(B) Procuring,  recruiting, inducing, soliciting,  hiring or otherwise obtaining a 

patron where there is an exchange of value, for any person younger than 18 years of age 

to engage in sexual intercourse, sodomy or manual or other bodily contact stimulation of 

the genitals of any person with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desires of the 

patron, the offender or another;

(2) establishing, owning, maintaining or managing any property, whether real or 

personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person younger 

than 18 years of age, or participating in the establishment, ownership, maintenance or 

management thereof;

(3) permitting any property, whether real or personal, partially or wholly owned 

or controlled by the defendant to be used as a place where sexual relations are being sold 

or offered for sale by a person who is younger than 18 years of age; or

(4) procuring transportation for, paying for the transportation of or transporting 

any person younger than 18 years of age within this state with the intent of causing, 

assisting or promoting that person's engaging in selling sexual relations.
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(b) (1) Commercial sexual exploitation of a child is a:

(A) Severity level 5, person felony, except as provided in subsections (b)(1)(B) 

and (b)(2); and

(B) severity level 2, person felony when committed by a person who has, prior 

to the commission of the crime, been convicted of a violation of this section, except as 

provided in subsection (b)(2).

(2) Commercial sexual exploitation of a child or attempt, conspiracy or criminal 

solicitation to commit commercial  sexual exploitation of a child is an off-grid person 

felony when the offender is 18 years of age or older and the victim is less than 14 years of 

age.

(3) In  addition  to  any  other  sentence  imposed,  a  person  convicted  under 

subsection (b)(1)(A) shall be fined not less than $2,500 nor more than $5,000. In addition 

to  any  other  sentence  imposed,  a  person  convicted  under  subsection  (b)(1)(B)  or 

subsection (b)(2) shall be fined not less than $5,000. All fines collected pursuant to this 

section  shall  be  remitted  to  the  human  trafficking  victim assistance  fund  created  by 

section 3, and amendments thereto.

(4) In addition to any other  sentence imposed,  for  any conviction under  this 

section, the court may order the person convicted to enter into and complete a suitable 

educational and treatment program regarding commercial sexual exploitation of a child.

(c) If the offender is 18 years of age or older and the victim is less than 14 years 

of age, the provisions of: 
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(1) Subsection (c) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto, shall 

not  apply  to  a  violation  of  attempting  to  commit  the  crime  of  commercial  sexual 

exploitation of a child pursuant to this section;

(2) subsection (c) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto, shall 

not  apply  to  a  violation  of  conspiracy  to  commit  the  crime  of  commercial  sexual 

exploitation of a child pursuant to this section; and

(3) subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5303, and amendments thereto, shall 

not apply to a violation of criminal solicitation to commit the crime of commercial sexual 

exploitation of a child pursuant to this section.

(d) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas criminal code.

New Sec. 5. (a) Whenever a child is in custody, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

38-2202,  and  amendments  thereto,  and  such  child  has  been  subjected  to  human 

trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, as defined by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, 

and amendments thereto,  or commercial  sexual  exploitation of a child,  as defined by 

section 4, and amendments thereto, or the child committed an act which, if committed by 

an adult, would constitute a violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6419, and amendments 

thereto, the court shall refer the child to the secretary of the department for children and 

families for an assessment to determine safety, placement and treatment needs for the 

child. The secretary shall use a research-based assessment tool to assess such needs and 

shall make appropriate recommendations to the court.

(b) When any law enforcement officer takes into custody any child as provided 
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in subsection (b)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2231, and amendments thereto,  the law 

enforcement officer shall contact the department for children and families to begin an 

assessment  to  determine  safety,  placement  and  treatment  needs  for  the  child.  The 

secretary of the department for children and families shall use a rapid response team to 

begin such assessment for appropriate and timely placement. 

(c) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the revised Kansas code for 

care of children. 

(d) This section shall take effect on and after January 1, 2014.

New Sec. 6. (a) A staff secure facility shall:

(1) Not  include  construction  features  designed  to  physically  restrict  the 

movements and activities of residents,  but  shall  have a design,  structure,  interior and 

exterior  environment,  and furnishings  to  promote a  safe,  comfortable  and therapeutic 

environment for the residents;

(2) implement  written  policies  and  procedures  that  include  the  use  of  a 

combination of supervision, inspection and accountability to promote safe and orderly 

operations; 

(3) rely on locked entrances and delayed-exit mechanisms to secure the facility, 

and implement reasonable rules restricting entrance to and egress from the facility; 

(4) implement  written  policies  and  procedures  for  24-hour-a-day  staff 

observation of all facility entrances and exits;

(5) implement written policies and procedures for the screening and searching of 
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both residents and visitors;

(6) implement written policies and procedures for knowing the whereabouts of 

all residents at all times and for handling runaways and unauthorized absences; and

(7) implement  written  policies  and  procedures  for  determining  when  the 

movements  and  activities  of  individual  residents  may,  for  treatment  purposes,  be 

restricted or subject to control through the use of intensive staff supervision.

(b) A staff secure facility shall provide the following services to children placed 

in such facility:

(1) Case management;

(2) life skills training;

(3) health care;

(4) mental health counseling;

(5) substance abuse screening and treatment; and

(6) any other appropriate services.

(c) Service providers in a staff secure facility shall be trained to counsel and 

assist victims of human trafficking and sexual exploitation.

(d) The person responsible  for  24-hour-a-day staff  observation  of  all  facility 

entrances and exits shall be a retired or off-duty law enforcement officer.

(1) As used  in  this  subsection,  "retired  law enforcement  officer"  means  any 

former  member  of  any  duly  organized  federal,  state,  county  or  municipal  law 

enforcement organization who by virtue of office or public employment was vested by 
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law with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty 

extended to all crimes or was limited to specific crimes.

(2) As used in this subsection, "off-duty law enforcement officer" means any 

off-duty  member  of  any  duly  organized  federal,  state,  county  or  municipal  law 

enforcement organization who by virtue of office or public employment is vested by law 

with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty 

extends to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes.

(e) If the staff secure facility is on the same premises as that of another licensed 

facility, the living unit of the staff secure facility shall be maintained in a separate, self-

contained unit. No staff secure facility shall be in a city or county jail.

(f) The secretary of health and environment, in consultation with the attorney 

general,  shall  promulgate  rules  and  regulations  to  implement  the  provisions  of  this 

section on or before January 1, 2014.

(g) This section shall be part of and supplemental to article 5 of chapter 65 of 

the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.

New Sec. 7. (a) A notice offering help to victims of human trafficking shall be 

accessible  on  the  official  website  of  the  attorney general,  the  official  website  of  the 

department for children and families and the official website of the department of labor, 

and may be posted in a prominent and accessible location in workplaces.

(b) The notice shall provide such information as the attorney general determines 

appropriate to help and support victims of human trafficking, including, but not limited 
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to,  information  regarding  the  national  human  trafficking  resource  center  (NHTRC) 

hotline as follows:

"If you or someone you know is being forced to engage in any activity and cannot 

leave — whether it is commercial sex, housework, farm work or any other activity — call 

the toll-free National Human Trafficking Resource Center Hotline at 1-888-373-7888 to 

access help and services. The toll-free hotline is:

• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

• Operated by a nonprofit, nongovernmental organization

• Anonymous and confidential

• Accessible in 170 languages

• Able to provide help, referral to services, training, and general information."

(c) The  notice  described  in  this  section  shall  be  made  available  in  English, 

Spanish, and, if requested by an employer, another language.

(d) The  secretary  of  labor,  in  consultation  with  the  attorney  general,  shall 

develop and implement an education plan to raise awareness among Kansas employers 

about the problem of human trafficking, about the hotline described in this section, and 

about  other  resources  that  may  be  available  to  employers,  employees,  and  potential 

victims of human trafficking. On or before February 1, 2014, the secretary shall report to 

the  standing  committees  on  judiciary in  the  senate  and the  house  of  representatives, 

respectively,  on  the  progress  achieved  in  developing  and  implementing  the  notice 

requirement and education plan required by this section.



-10- ccr_2013_hb2034_s_2154

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 12-4106 is hereby amended to read as follows: 12-

4106. (a) The municipal judge shall have the power to administer the oaths and enforce 

all orders, rules and judgments made by such municipal judge, and may fine or imprison 

for contempt in the same manner and to the same extent as a judge of the district court.

(b) The municipal judge shall have the power to hear and determine all cases 

properly brought  before  such  municipal  judge to:  Grant  continuances;  sentence  those 

found guilty to a fine or confinement in jail, or both; commit accused persons to jail in 

default of bond; determine applications for parole; release on probation; grant time in 

which a fine may be paid; correct a sentence; suspend imposition of a sentence; set aside 

a judgment; permit time for post trial motions; and discharge accused persons.

(c) The  municipal  judge  shall  maintain  a  docket  in  which  every  cause 

commenced before such municipal judge shall be entered. Such docket shall contain the 

names of the accused persons and complainant, the nature or character of the offense, the 

date of trial, the names of all witnesses sworn and examined, the finding of the court, the 

judgment and sentence, the date of payment, the date of issuing commitment, if any, and 

every other fact necessary to show the full proceedings in each case.

(d) The  municipal  judge  shall  promptly  make  such  reports  and  furnish  the 

information requested by any departmental justice or the judicial  administrator,  in the 

manner and form prescribed by the supreme court.

(e) The municipal judge shall ensure that information concerning dispositions of 

city ordinance violations that result in convictions comparable to convictions for class A 
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and B misdemeanors under Kansas criminal statutes is forwarded to the Kansas bureau of 

investigation central repository. This information shall be transmitted, on a form or in a 

format approved by the attorney general, within 30 days of final disposition.

(f) In  all  cases  alleging  a  violation  of  a  city  ordinance  prohibiting  the  acts 

prohibited by K.S.A. 8-2,144 or 8-1567 or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 8-1025, and amendments 

thereto, the municipal court judge shall ensure that the municipal court reports the filing 

and disposition of such case to the Kansas bureau of investigation central repository, and, 

on and after July 1, 2013, reports the filing and disposition of such case electronically to 

the Kansas bureau of investigation central repository.

(g) In all cases in which a fine is imposed for a violation of a city  ordinance 

prohibiting the acts prohibited by K.S.A. 8-2,144 or 8-1567 or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 8-1025 

or  21-6421,  and amendments thereto,  the  municipal  court  judge shall  ensure that  the 

municipal  court  remits  the  appropriate  amount  of  such  fine  to  the  state  treasurer  as 

provided in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 12-4120, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 12-4120 is hereby amended to read as  follows: 12-

4120.  (a)  On and after July 1, 2012, the amount of $250 from each fine imposed for a 

violation of a city ordinance prohibiting the acts prohibited by K.S.A. 8-1567 or 8-2,144 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 8-1025, and amendments thereto, shall be remitted by the judge or 

clerk of the  municipal court to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of 

K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state 

treasurer shall credit the entire amount to the  community corrections supervision fund 
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established by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 75-52,113, and amendments thereto.

(b) On and after July 1, 2013, the amount of $2,500 from each fine   imposed for   

a violation of a city ordinance prohibiting the acts prohibited   by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-  

6421, and amendments thereto, shall be remitted   by the judge or clerk of the municipal   

court  to the state treasurer in    accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and   

amendments   thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall   credit   

the entire amount to the human trafficking victim assistance fund   established by section   

3, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 12-4516 is hereby amended to read as follows: 12-

4516. (a) (1) Except as provided in subsection (b), (c) and (d)   subsections (b), (c), (d) and   

(e), any person who has been convicted of a violation of a city ordinance of this state may 

petition the convicting court  for the expungement of such conviction and related arrest 

records if three or more years have elapsed since the person:

(A) Satisfied the sentence imposed; or

(B) was discharged from probation, parole or a suspended sentence.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (b), (c) and (d) subsections (b),   (c), (d) and   

(e), any person who has fulfilled the terms of a diversion agreement based on a violation 

of  a  city ordinance of this  state  may  petition the court  for the expungement  of such 

diversion agreement and related arrest records if three or more years have elapsed since 

the terms of the diversion agreement were fulfilled.

(b) Any person convicted of the violation of a city ordinance which   would also   
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constitute a violation of K.S.A. 21-3512, prior to its repeal, or   a violation of K.S.A. 2012   

Supp. 21-6419, and amendments thereto, or    who entered into a diversion agreement in   

lieu of further criminal   proceedings for such violation, may petition the convicting court   

for the   expungement of such conviction or diversion agreement and related arrest   records   

if:

(1) One  or  more  years  have  elapsed  since  the  person  satisfied  the    sentence   

imposed or the terms of a diversion agreement or was discharged   from probation, parole,   

conditional release or a suspended sentence; and

(2) such person can prove they were acting under coercion caused by   the act of   

another. For purposes of this subsection, "coercion" means:   Threats of harm or physical   

restraint  against  any person; a scheme, plan    or  pattern intended to cause a person to   

believe that failure to perform an    act would result in bodily harm or physical restraint   

against any person;   or the abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process.  

(b) (c) No person may petition for expungement until five or more  years have 

elapsed  since  the  person  satisfied  the  sentence  imposed  or  the  terms  of  a  diversion 

agreement or was discharged from probation, parole, conditional release or a suspended 

sentence, if such person was convicted of the violation of a city ordinance which would 

also constitute:

(1) Vehicular homicide,  as defined by K.S.A. 21-3405, prior to its repeal,  or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5406, and amendments thereto;

(2) driving while the privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the public highways 
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of this state has been canceled, suspended or revoked, as prohibited by K.S.A. 8-262, and 

amendments thereto;

(3) perjury  resulting  from  a  violation  of  K.S.A.  8-261a,  and  amendments 

thereto;

(4) a  violation  of  the  provisions  of  the  fifth  clause  of  K.S.A.  8-142,  and 

amendments thereto, relating to fraudulent applications;

(5) any crime punishable as a felony wherein a motor vehicle was used in the 

perpetration of such crime;

(6) failing to stop at the scene of an accident and perform the duties required by 

K.S.A. 8-1602, 8-1603, prior to its repeal, or 8-1604, and amendments thereto;

(7) a violation of the provisions of K.S.A. 40-3104, and amendments thereto, 

relating to motor vehicle liability insurance coverage; or

(8) a violation of K.S.A. 21-3405b, prior to its repeal.

(c) (d) No person may petition for expungement until 10 or more  years have 

elapsed  since  the  person  satisfied  the  sentence  imposed  or  the  terms  of  a  diversion 

agreement or was discharged from probation, parole, conditional release or a suspended 

sentence, if such person was convicted of the violation of a city ordinance which would 

also constitute a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567, and amendments thereto.

(d) (e) There  shall  be  no  expungement  of  convictions  or  diversions  for  a 

violation of a city ordinance which would also constitute a violation of K.S.A. 8-2,144, 

and amendments thereto.
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(e) (f) (1) When a petition for expungement is filed, the court shall set a date for 

a  hearing of  such petition  and shall  cause notice of  such hearing  to  be given to  the 

prosecuting attorney and the arresting law enforcement  agency. The petition shall state 

the: 

(1) (A) The Defendant's full name;

(2) (B) the full  name  of  the  defendant  at  the  time  of  arrest,  conviction  or 

diversion, if different than the defendant's current name;

(3) (C) the defendant's sex, race and date of birth;

(4) (D) the crime for which the defendant was arrested, convicted or diverted;

(5) (E) the date of the defendant's arrest, conviction or diversion; and

(6) (F) the identity of the convicting court, arresting law enforcement agency or 

diverting authority. 

(2) A municipal court may prescribe a fee to be charged as costs for a  person 

petitioning for an order of expungement pursuant to this section. 

(3) Any person who may have relevant information about the  petitioner may 

testify at the hearing. The court may inquire into the  background of the petitioner and 

shall have access to any reports or records relating to the petitioner that are on file with 

the secretary of corrections or the prisoner review board.

(f) (g) At the hearing on the petition, the court shall order the petitioner's arrest 

record, conviction or diversion expunged if the court finds that:

(1) The petitioner has not been convicted of a felony in the past two years and 
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no proceeding involving any such crime is presently pending or being instituted against 

the petitioner;

(2) the circumstances and behavior of the petitioner warrant the expungement; 

and

(3) the expungement is consistent with the public welfare.

(g) (h) When the court  has ordered an arrest  record,  conviction or  diversion 

expunged, the order of expungement shall state the information required to be contained 

in  the  petition.  The  clerk  of  the  court  shall  send  a  certified  copy  of  the  order  of 

expungement to the Kansas bureau of investigation which shall notify the federal bureau 

of investigation, the secretary of corrections and any other criminal justice agency which 

may have a record of the arrest, conviction or diversion. After the order of expungement 

is  entered,  the  petitioner  shall  be  treated  as  not  having  been  arrested,  convicted  or 

diverted of the crime, except that:

(1) Upon  conviction  for  any  subsequent  crime,  the  conviction  that  was 

expunged may be considered as a  prior conviction in  determining the sentence to be 

imposed;

(2) the petitioner shall disclose that the arrest, conviction or diversion occurred 

if asked about previous arrests, convictions or diversions:

(A) In any application for employment as a detective with a private  detective 

agency, as defined by K.S.A. 75-7b01, and amendments thereto;  as security personnel 

with a private patrol operator, as defined by K.S.A. 75-7b01, and amendments thereto; or 
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with  an  institution,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  76-12a01,  and  amendments  thereto,  of  the 

department of social and rehabilitation services for children and families;

(B) in any application for admission,  or for an order of reinstatement, to the 

practice of law in this state;

(C) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for employment with the 

Kansas  lottery  or  for  work  in  sensitive  areas  within  the  Kansas  lottery  as  deemed 

appropriate by the executive director of the Kansas lottery;

(D) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for executive director of 

the Kansas racing and gaming commission, for employment with the commission or for 

work in  sensitive areas  in  parimutuel  racing  as  deemed appropriate  by the executive 

director  of  the  commission,  or  to  aid  in  determining  qualifications  for  licensure  or 

renewal of licensure by the commission;

(E) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for the following under 

the  Kansas  expanded  lottery  act:  (i)  Lottery  gaming  facility  manager  or  prospective 

manager,  racetrack  gaming  facility  manager  or  prospective  manager,  licensee  or 

certificate  holder;  or  (ii)  an  officer,  director,  employee,  owner,  agent  or  contractor 

thereof;

(F) upon application  for  a  commercial  driver's  license  under  K.S.A.  8-2,125 

through 8-2,142, and amendments thereto;

(G) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications to be an employee of the 

state gaming agency;
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(H) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications to be an employee of a 

tribal gaming commission or to hold a license issued pursuant to a tribal-state gaming 

compact;

(I) in  any  application  for  registration  as  a  broker-dealer,  agent,  investment 

adviser  or  investment  adviser  representative  all  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  17-12a102,  and 

amendments thereto;

(J) in any application for employment as a law enforcement officer, as defined 

in K.S.A. 22-2202 or 74-5602, and amendments thereto; or

(K) for applications received on and after July 1, 2006, to aid in determining the 

petitioner's  qualifications  for  a  license  to  carry  a  concealed  weapon  pursuant  to  the 

personal and family protection act, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 75-7c01 et seq., and amendments 

thereto;

(3) the court,  in  the order  of  expungement,  may specify other  circumstances 

under which the arrest, conviction or diversion is to be disclosed; and

(4) the conviction may be disclosed in a subsequent prosecution for an offense 

which requires as an element of such offense a prior conviction of the type expunged.

(h) (i) Whenever a person is convicted of an ordinance violation,  pleads guilty 

and pays a fine for such a violation, is placed on parole or  probation or is granted a 

suspended sentence for such a violation, the  person shall be informed of the ability to 

expunge  the  arrest  records  or  conviction.  Whenever  a  person enters  into  a  diversion 

agreement, the person shall be informed of the ability to expunge the diversion.
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(i) (j) Subject  to  the  disclosures  required  pursuant  to  subsection  (g),  in  any 

application for employment, license or other civil right or privilege, or any appearance as 

a witness, a person whose arrest records, conviction or diversion of an offense has been 

expunged under this statute may state that such person has never been arrested, convicted 

or diverted of such offense.

(j) (k) Whenever  the  record  of  any  arrest,  conviction  or  diversion  has  been 

expunged  under  the  provisions  of  this  section  or  under  the  provisions  of  any  other 

existing or former statute, the custodian of the records of arrest, conviction, diversion and 

incarceration relating to that crime shall not disclose the existence of such records, except 

when requested by:

(1) The person whose record was expunged;

(2) a private detective agency or a private patrol operator,  and the request is 

accompanied  by  a  statement  that  the  request  is  being  made  in  conjunction  with  an 

application for employment with such agency or operator by the person whose record has 

been expunged;

(3) a court,  upon a showing of a subsequent conviction of the person whose 

record has been expunged;

(4) the secretary of social and rehabilitation services the department   for children   

and families,  or  a designee of the secretary,  for the purpose of  obtaining information 

relating to employment in an institution, as defined in K.S.A. 76-12a01, and amendments 

thereto, of the department of social and rehabilitation services for children and families of 
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any person whose record has been expunged;

(5) a  person  entitled  to  such  information  pursuant  to  the  terms  of  the 

expungement order;

(6) a prosecuting attorney, and such request is accompanied by a statement that 

the request is being made in conjunction with a prosecution of an offense that requires a 

prior conviction as one of the elements of such offense;

(7) the supreme court, the clerk or disciplinary administrator thereof, the state 

board for admission of attorneys or the state board for discipline of attorneys, and the 

request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction with 

an application for admission, or for an order of reinstatement, to the practice of law in 

this state by the person whose record has been expunged;

(8) the Kansas lottery, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the 

request  is  being  made  to  aid  in  determining  qualifications  for  employment  with  the 

Kansas  lottery  or  for  work  in  sensitive  areas  within  the  Kansas  lottery  as  deemed 

appropriate by the executive director of the Kansas lottery;

(9) the governor or the Kansas racing and gaming commission, or a designee of 

the commission, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being 

made to aid in determining qualifications for executive director of the commission, for 

employment with the commission, for work in sensitive areas in parimutuel racing as 

deemed appropriate by the executive director of the commission or for licensure, renewal 

of licensure or continued licensure by the commission;
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(10) the  Kansas  racing  and  gaming  commission,  or  a  designee  of  the 

commission,  and the request  is  accompanied by a  statement that  the request is  being 

made to aid in determining qualifications of the following under the Kansas expanded 

lottery act: (A) Lottery gaming facility managers and prospective managers, racetrack 

gaming facility managers and prospective managers,  licensees and certificate  holders; 

and (B) their officers, directors, employees, owners, agents and contractors;

(11) the state gaming agency, and the request is accompanied by a statement that 

the request is being made to aid in determining qualifications: (A) To be an employee of 

the state gaming agency; or (B) to be an employee of a tribal gaming commission or to 

hold a license issued pursuant to a tribal-state gaming compact;

(12) the Kansas securities commissioner, or a designee of the commissioner, and 

the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction 

with  an  application  for  registration  as  a  broker-dealer,  agent,  investment  adviser  or 

investment adviser representative by such agency and the application was submitted by 

the person whose record has been expunged;

(13) the attorney general, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the 

request  is  being  made  to  aid  in  determining  qualifications  for  a  license  to  carry  a 

concealed weapon pursuant to the personal and family protection act;

(14) the Kansas sentencing commission;

(15) the Kansas commission on peace officers' standards and training and the 

request  is  accompanied  by  a  statement  that  the  request  is  being  made  to  aid  in 
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determining certification eligibility as a law enforcement officer pursuant to K.S.A. 74-

5601 et seq., and amendments thereto; or

(16) a law enforcement agency and the request is accompanied by a statement 

that the request is being made to aid in determining eligibility for employment as a law 

enforcement officer as defined by K.S.A. 22-2202, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

5301. (a) An attempt is any overt act toward the perpetration of a crime done by a person 

who intends to commit such crime but fails in the perpetration thereof or is prevented or 

intercepted in executing such crime.

(b) It shall not be a defense to a charge of attempt that the circumstances under 

which the act was performed or the means employed or the act itself were such that the 

commission of the crime was not possible.

(c)  (1) An attempt  to  commit  an  off-grid  felony shall  be ranked at  nondrug 

severity level 1. An attempt to commit any other nondrug felony shall be ranked on the 

nondrug scale at two severity levels below the appropriate level for the underlying or 

completed crime. The lowest severity level for an attempt to commit a nondrug felony 

shall be a severity level 10. 

(2) The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to a violation of attempting 

to commit the crime of:

(A) Aggravated human trafficking, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older and 
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the victim is less than 14 years of age;

(B) terrorism, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5421,  and  amendments 

thereto; 

(C) illegal use of weapons of mass destruction, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5422, and amendments thereto;

(D) rape,  as defined in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, and 

amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older;

(E) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (b)(3) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older;

(F) aggravated  criminal  sodomy,  as  defined  in  subsection  (b)(1)  or  (b)(2)  of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older;

(G) promoting  prostitution,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6420,  and 

amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older and the prostitute is less 

than 14 years of age commercial sexual exploitation of a    child, as defined in section 4,   

and amendments thereto, if the offender is   18 years of age or older and the victim is less   

than 14 years of age; or

(H) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(4) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older and the child is less than 14 years of age.
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(d) (1) An attempt to commit a felony which prescribes a sentence on the drug 

grid shall reduce the prison term prescribed in the drug grid block for an underlying or 

completed crime by six months.

(2) The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to a violation of attempting 

to commit a violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5703, and amendments thereto.

(e) An attempt to commit a class A person misdemeanor is a class B person 

misdemeanor.  An attempt  to  commit  a  class  A nonperson misdemeanor  is  a  class  B 

nonperson misdemeanor.

(f) An attempt to commit a class B or C misdemeanor is a class C misdemeanor.

Sec. 12. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5302 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

5302. (a) A conspiracy is an agreement with another person to commit a crime or to assist 

in committing a crime. No person may be convicted of a conspiracy unless an overt act in 

furtherance of such conspiracy is alleged and proved to have been committed by such 

person or by a co-conspirator.

(b) It is immaterial to the criminal liability of a person charged with conspiracy 

that any other person with whom the defendant conspired lacked the actual intent  to 

commit the underlying crime provided that the defendant believed the other person did 

have the actual intent to commit the underlying crime.

(c) It shall be a defense to a charge of conspiracy that the accused voluntarily 

and in good faith  withdrew from the conspiracy,  and communicated the fact  of such 

withdrawal to one or more of the accused person's co-conspirators, before any overt act in 
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furtherance of the conspiracy was committed by the accused or by a co-conspirator.

(d)  (1) Conspiracy to  commit  an  off-grid  felony shall  be  ranked at  nondrug 

severity level 2. Conspiracy to commit any other nondrug felony shall be ranked on the 

nondrug scale at two severity levels below the appropriate level for the underlying or 

completed crime. The lowest severity level for conspiracy to commit a nondrug felony 

shall be a severity level 10. 

(2) The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to a violation of conspiracy 

to commit the crime of:

(A) Aggravated human trafficking, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older and 

the victim is less than 14 years of age; 

(B) terrorism, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5421,  and  amendments 

thereto;

(C) illegal use of weapons of mass destruction, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5422, and amendments thereto;

(D) rape,  as defined in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, and 

amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older;

(E) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (b)(3) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older;

(F) aggravated  criminal  sodomy,  as  defined  in  subsection  (b)(1)  or  (b)(2)  of 
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K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older;

(G) promoting  prostitution,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6420,  and 

amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older and the prostitute is less 

than 14 years of age commercial sexual exploitation of a    child, as defined in section 4,   

and amendments thereto, if the offender is   18 years of age or older and the victim is less   

than 14 years of age; or

(H) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(4) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older and the child is less than 14 years of age.

(e) Conspiracy to commit a felony which prescribes a sentence on the drug grid 

shall  reduce  the  prison  term prescribed  in  the  drug  grid  block  for  an  underlying  or 

completed crime by six months.

(f) A conspiracy to commit a misdemeanor is a class C misdemeanor.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5303 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

5303. (a) Criminal solicitation is commanding, encouraging or requesting another person 

to commit a felony, attempt to commit a felony or aid and abet in the commission or 

attempted commission of a felony for the purpose of promoting or facilitating the felony.

(b) It is immaterial under subsection (a) that the actor fails to communicate with 

the person solicited to commit a felony if the person's conduct was designed to effect a 

communication.
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(c) It is an affirmative defense that the actor, after soliciting another person to 

commit  a  felony,  persuaded  that  person  not  to  do  so  or  otherwise  prevented  the 

commission of the felony,  under circumstances manifesting a complete and voluntary 

renunciation of the actor's criminal purposes.

(d)  (1) Criminal  solicitation to  commit  an  off-grid  felony shall  be ranked at 

nondrug severity level 3. Criminal solicitation to commit any other nondrug felony shall 

be ranked on the nondrug scale at three severity levels below the appropriate level for the 

underlying  or  completed  crime.  The  lowest  severity  level  for  criminal  solicitation  to 

commit a nondrug felony shall be a severity level 10. 

(2) The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to a violation of criminal 

solicitation to commit the crime of: 

(A) Aggravated human trafficking, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older and 

the victim is less than 14 years of age; 

(B) terrorism, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5421,  and  amendments 

thereto; 

(C) illegal use of weapons of mass destruction, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5422, and amendments thereto;

(D) rape,  as defined in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, and 

amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older;

(E) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (b)(3) of 
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K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older;

(F) aggravated  criminal  sodomy,  as  defined  in  subsection  (b)(1)  or  (b)(2)  of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older;

(G) promoting  prostitution,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6420,  and 

amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or older and the prostitute is less 

than 14 years of age commercial sexual exploitation of a    child, as defined in section 4,   

and amendments thereto, if the offender is   18 years of age or older and the victim is less   

than 14 years of age; or

(H) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(4) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the offender is 18 years of age or 

older and the child is less than 14 years of age.

(e) Criminal solicitation to commit a felony which prescribes a sentence on the 

drug grid shall reduce the prison term prescribed in the drug grid block for an underlying 

or completed crime by six months.

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5401 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

5401. (a) Capital murder is the:

(1) Intentional  and  premeditated  killing  of  any person in  the  commission  of 

kidnapping, as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments 

thereto, or aggravated kidnapping, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-
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5408,  and  amendments  thereto,  when  the  kidnapping  or  aggravated  kidnapping  was 

committed with the intent to hold such person for ransom;

(2) intentional and premeditated killing of any person pursuant to a contract or 

agreement to kill such person or being a party to the contract or agreement pursuant to 

which such person is killed;

(3) intentional and premeditated killing of any person by an inmate or prisoner 

confined in a state correctional institution, community correctional institution or jail or 

while  in  the  custody  of  an  officer  or  employee  of  a  state  correctional  institution, 

community correctional institution or jail;

(4) intentional and premeditated killing of the victim of one of the following 

crimes in the commission of, or subsequent to, such crime: Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 

2012  Supp.  21-5503,  and  amendments  thereto,  criminal  sodomy,  as  defined  in 

subsections (a)(3) or (a)(4) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto, or 

aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, 

and amendments thereto, or any attempt thereof, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5301, and amendments thereto;

(5) intentional and premeditated killing of a law enforcement officer;

(6) intentional and premeditated killing of more than one person as a part of the 

same act  or transaction or  in  two or  more acts  or  transactions  connected together  or 

constituting parts of a common scheme or course of conduct; or

(7) intentional and premeditated killing of a child under the age of 14 in the 
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commission of kidnapping, as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, 

and  amendments  thereto,  or  aggravated  kidnapping,  as  defined  in  subsection  (b)  of 

K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5408,  and  amendments  thereto,  when  the  kidnapping  or 

aggravated kidnapping was committed with intent to commit a sex offense upon or with 

the child or with intent that the child commit or submit to a sex offense.

(b) For purposes of this section, "sex offense" means rape, as defined in K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto, aggravated indecent liberties with a child, 

as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012  Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto, 

aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, 

and amendments thereto, prostitution selling sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 

Supp.  21-6419,  and  amendments  thereto,  promoting  prostitution the  sale    of  sexual   

relations, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto, commercial 

sexual exploitation of a child, as defined   in section 4, and amendments thereto,   or sexual 

exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5510,  and  amendments 

thereto.

(c) Capital murder is an off-grid person felony.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5502 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

5502. (a) The provisions of this section shall apply only in a prosecution for:

(1) Rape, as defined by in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(2) indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;
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(3) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (b) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(4) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsections (a)(3) and (a)(4) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(5) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (b) of  K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(6) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in subsection (b) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(7) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and 

amendments thereto;

(8) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(9) incest,  as  defined  in  subsection  (a)  of  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5604,  and 

amendments thereto;

(10) aggravated incest, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5604, and amendments thereto;

(11) indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(12) aggravated assault, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5412, and amendments thereto, with intent to commit any crime specified above;

(13) sexual battery, as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, 
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and amendments thereto;

(14) unlawful voluntary sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5507, and amendments thereto;

(15) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in subsections  (b)(1)(B) and (b)

(2) and (b)(4) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto;

(16) commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  section    4,  and   

amendments thereto;

(16) (17) electronic solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5509, and 

amendments thereto; or

(17) (18) attempt, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, and  amendments 

thereto,  or  conspiracy,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5302,  and  amendments 

thereto, to commit any crime specified above.

(b) Except  as  provided  in  subsection  (c),  in  any  prosecution  to  which  this 

section applies, evidence of the complaining witness' previous sexual conduct with any 

person including the defendant shall not be admissible, and no reference shall be made 

thereto in any proceeding before the court, except under the following conditions: The 

defendant  shall  make  a  written  motion  to  the  court  to  admit  evidence  or  testimony 

concerning the previous sexual conduct of the complaining witness. The motion shall be 

made  at  least  seven  days  before  the  commencement  of  the  proceeding  unless  that 

requirement is waived by the court. The motion shall state the nature of such evidence or 

testimony and its relevancy and shall be accompanied by an affidavit in which an offer of 
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proof of the previous sexual conduct of the complaining witness is stated. The motion, 

affidavits and any supporting or responding documents of the motion shall not be made 

available for examination without a written order of the court except that such motion, 

affidavits and supporting and responding documents or testimony when requested shall 

be made available to the defendant or the defendant's counsel and to the prosecutor. The 

defendant, defendant's counsel and prosecutor shall  be prohibited from disclosing any 

matters relating to the motion, affidavits and any supporting or responding documents of 

the motion. The court shall conduct a hearing on the motion in camera. At the conclusion 

of the hearing, if the court finds that evidence proposed to be offered by the defendant 

regarding the previous sexual conduct of the complaining witness is relevant and is not 

otherwise inadmissible as evidence, the court may make an order stating what evidence 

may be introduced by the defendant and the nature of the questions to be permitted. The 

defendant may then offer evidence and question witnesses in accordance with the order of 

the court.

(c) In any prosecution for a crime designated in subsection (a), the prosecutor 

may introduce  evidence  concerning  any previous  sexual  conduct  of  the  complaining 

witness, and the complaining witness may testify as to any such previous sexual conduct. 

If such evidence or testimony is introduced, the defendant may cross-examine the witness 

who gives such testimony and offer relevant evidence limited specifically to the rebuttal 

of such evidence or testimony introduced by the prosecutor or given by the complaining 

witness.
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(d) As used in this section, "complaining witness" means the alleged victim of 

any crime designated in subsection (a), the prosecution of which is subject to this section.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6419 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6419.   (a)  Prostitution Selling sexual relations is  performing  for hire,  or offering or 

agreeing to perform for hire where there is an  exchange of value, any of the following 

acts:

(1) Sexual intercourse;

(2) sodomy; or

(3) manual or other bodily contact stimulation of the genitals of any person with 

the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desires of the offender or another.

(b) Prostitution Selling sexual relations is a class B nonperson misdemeanor.

(c) It shall be an affirmative defense to any prosecution under this    section that   

the  defendant  committed  the  violation  of  this  section  because    such  defendant  was   

subjected to human trafficking or aggravated human    trafficking, as defined by K.S.A.   

2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments    thereto, or commercial sexual exploitation of a   

child, as defined by section   4, and amendments thereto.  

Sec. 17. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6420. (a) Promoting prostitution the sale of sexual relations is knowingly:

(1) Establishing, owning, maintaining or managing  a house of  prostitution any 

property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations    are being sold or offered for   

sale by a person who is 18 years of age or    older  , or participating in the establishment, 
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ownership, maintenance or management thereof;

(2) permitting any place property, whether real or personal, partially or wholly 

owned or controlled by the defendant to be used as a house of prostitution place where 

sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale   by a person who is 18 years of age or   

older;

(3) procuring  a  prostitute  for  a  house  of  prostitution person  selling    sexual   

relations who is 18 years of age or older for a place where sexual   relations are being sold   

or offered for sale;

(4) inducing another  to become a prostitute who is 18 years of age or    older to   

become a person who sells sexual relations;

(5) soliciting a patron for a prostitute or for a house of prostitution a   person 18   

years of age or older who is selling sexual relations or for a   place where sexual relations   

are being sold or offered for sale;

(6) procuring a prostitute person 18 years of age or older who is   selling sexual   

relations for a patron;

(7) procuring transportation for, paying for the transportation of, or transporting 

a  person 18 years of  age or older within this  state  with the  intention of  assisting or 

promoting that person's engaging in prostitution   the sale of sexual relations  ; or

(8) being employed to perform any act which is prohibited by this section.

(b) (1) Promoting prostitution the sale of sexual relations is a:

(A) Class A person misdemeanor when the prostitute is 16 or more years of age 
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Severity level 9, person felony, except as provided in subsection (b)(1)(B); and

(B) severity level 7, person felony when the prostitute is 16 or more years of age 

and committed  by  a  person  who  has,  prior  to  the  commission  of  the  crime,  been 

convicted of promoting prostitution a violation of this   section, or any prior version of this   

section ; and

(C) severity level 6, person felony when the prostitute is under 16 years of age, 

except as provided in subsection (b)(2).

(b) (2) Promoting prostitution or attempt, conspiracy or criminal  solicitation to 

commit promoting prostitution is an off-grid person felony when the offender is 18 years 

of age or older and the prostitute is less than 14 years of age. 

(c) If the offender is 18 years of age or older and the victim is less than 14 years 

of age, the provisions of:

(1) Subsection (c) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto, shall 

not apply to a violation of attempting to commit the crime of promoting prostitution as 

described in subsection (b)(2);

(2) subsection (c) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto, shall 

not apply to a violation of conspiracy to commit the crime of promoting prostitution as 

described in subsection (b)(2); and

(3) subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5303, and amendments thereto, shall 

not  apply  to  a  violation  of  criminal  solicitation  to  commit  the  crime  of  promoting 

prostitution as described in subsection (b)(2).
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(2) In  addition  to  any  other  sentence  imposed,  a  person  convicted    under   

subsection (b)(1)(A) shall be fined not less than $2,500 nor more   than $5,000. In addition   

to any other sentence imposed, a person    convicted under subsection (b)(1)(B) shall be   

fined not less than $5,000.   All fines collected pursuant to this section shall be remitted to   

the  human    trafficking  victim  assistance  fund  created  by  section  3,  and  amendments   

thereto.

Sec. 18. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6421 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6421. (a) Patronizing a prostitute Buying sexual relations is knowingly:

(1) Entering or remaining in a house of prostitution place where   sexual relations   

are being sold or offered for sale with intent to engage in   manual or other bodily contact   

stimulation of the genitals of any person    with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual   

desires of the offender or   another,   sexual intercourse, sodomy or any unlawful sexual act 

with a prostitute person selling sexual relations who is 18 years of age or older; or

(2) hiring a prostitute person selling sexual relations who is 18 years   of age or   

older to  engage  in manual  or  other  bodily contact  stimulation of    the  genitals  of  any   

person with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual    desires of the offender or another,   

sexual intercourse, sodomy or any unlawful sexual act.

(b) Patronizing a prostitute is a class C misdemeanor

(b) (1) Buying sexual relations is a:

(A) Class A person misdemeanor, except as provided in subsection (b)  (1)(B);   

and
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(B) severity level 9, person felony when committed by a person who   has, prior   

to the commission of the crime, been convicted of a violation of   this section, or any prior   

version of this section.

(2) In  addition  to  any  other  sentence  imposed,  a  person  convicted    under   

subsection (b)(1)(A) shall be fined $2,500. In addition to any other   sentence imposed, a   

person convicted under subsection (b)(1)(B) shall be   fined not less than $5,000. All fines   

collected  pursuant  to  this  section  shall    be  remitted  to  the  human  trafficking  victim   

assistance fund created by   section 3, and amendments thereto.  

(3) In addition to any other  sentence imposed,  for  any conviction    under  this   

section, the court   may   order the person convicted to enter    into and complete a suitable   

educational and treatment program regarding   commercial sexual exploitation  .

(c) (1) Nothing contained in this section shall be construed as    preventing any   

city from enacting ordinances, or any county from adopting    resolutions, declaring acts   

prohibited or made unlawful by this act as   unlawful or prohibited in such city or county   

and prescribing penalties for   violation thereof.  

(2) The minimum penalty prescribed by any such ordinance or   resolution shall   

not be less than the minimum penalty prescribed by this    section for the same violation,   

and  the  maximum penalty  in  any such    ordinance  or  resolution  shall  not  exceed  the   

maximum penalty prescribed   for the same violation.  

Sec. 19. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6614 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6614. (a) (1) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d) and, (e) and (f), any person 
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convicted in this state of a traffic infraction, cigarette or tobacco infraction, misdemeanor 

or a class D or E felony, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, nondrug crimes 

ranked in severity levels 6 through 10, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, 

but prior to July 1, 2012, any felony ranked in severity level 4 of the  drug grid, or for 

crimes committed on or after July 1, 2012, any felony ranked in severity level 5 of the 

drug grid may petition the convicting  court for the expungement of such conviction or 

related arrest records if three or more years have elapsed since the person: (A) Satisfied 

the sentence imposed; or (B) was discharged from probation, a community correctional 

services  program,  parole,  postrelease  supervision,  conditional  release  or  a  suspended 

sentence.

(2) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d)  and, (e) and (f), any  person 

who has fulfilled the terms of a diversion agreement may petition the district court for the 

expungement  of such diversion agreement  and  related arrest  records if  three or more 

years have elapsed since the terms of the diversion agreement were fulfilled.

(b) Any person convicted of prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3512,   prior to   

its  repeal,  convicted  of  a  violation  of  K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-6419,    and  amendments   

thereto, or who entered into a diversion agreement in   lieu of further criminal proceedings   

for  such  violation,  may  petition  the    convicting  court  for  the  expungement  of  such   

conviction or diversion   agreement and related arrest records if:  

(1) One  or  more  years  have  elapsed  since  the  person  satisfied  the    sentence   

imposed   or   the  terms  of  a  diversion  agreement  or  was    discharged from probation,  a   



-40- ccr_2013_hb2034_s_2154

community correctional  services  program,    parole,  postrelease  supervision,  conditional   

release or a suspended   sentence; and   

(2) such person can prove they were acting under coercion caused by   the act of   

another. For purposes of this subsection, "coercion" means:   Threats of harm or physical   

restraint  against  any person; a scheme, plan    or  pattern intended to cause a person to   

believe that failure to perform an    act would result in bodily harm or physical restraint   

against any person;   or the abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process.  

(b) (c) Except as provided in subsections (c), (d) and (e) and (f), no person may 

petition for expungement until five or more years have elapsed since the person satisfied 

the sentence imposed, or the terms of a diversion  agreement or was discharged from 

probation, a community correctional  services program, parole, postrelease supervision, 

conditional release or a suspended sentence, if such person was convicted of a class A, B 

or C felony, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, if convicted of an off-grid 

felony  or  any  nondrug  crime  ranked  in  severity  levels  1  through  5,  or  for  crimes 

committed on or  after  July 1,  1993,  but  prior  to  July 1,  2012,  any felony ranked in 

severity levels 1 through 3 of the drug grid, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 

2012, any felony ranked in severity levels 1 through 4 of the drug grid, or:

(1) Vehicular  homicide,  as  defined in  K.S.A.  21-3405,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5406, and amendments thereto, or as prohibited by any law of 

another state which is in substantial conformity with that statute;

(2) driving while the privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the public highways 
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of this state has been canceled, suspended or revoked, as prohibited by K.S.A. 8-262, and 

amendments thereto, or as prohibited by any law of another state which is in substantial 

conformity with that statute;

(3) perjury  resulting  from  a  violation  of  K.S.A.  8-261a,  and  amendments 

thereto, or resulting from the violation of a law of another state which is in substantial 

conformity with that statute;

(4) violating the provisions of the fifth clause of K.S.A. 8-142, and amendments 

thereto, relating to fraudulent applications or violating the provisions of a law of another 

state which is in substantial conformity with that statute;

(5) any crime punishable as a felony wherein a motor vehicle was used in the 

perpetration of such crime;

(6) failing to stop at the scene of an accident and perform the duties required by 

K.S.A.  8-1602,  8-1603,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or  8-1604,  and  amendments  thereto,  or 

required by a law of another state which is in substantial conformity with those statutes;

(7) violating  the  provisions  of  K.S.A.  40-3104,  and  amendments  thereto, 

relating to motor vehicle liability insurance coverage; or

(8) a violation of K.S.A. 21-3405b, prior to its repeal.

(c) (d) No person may petition for expungement until 10 or more  years have 

elapsed  since  the  person satisfied  the  sentence  imposed, or the  terms  of  a  diversion 

agreement  or  was  discharged  from  probation,  a  community  correctional  services 

program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence, if 
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such person was convicted  of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567, and amendments thereto, 

including any diversion for such violation.

(d) (e) There shall be no expungement of convictions for the following offenses 

or of convictions for an attempt to commit any of the following offenses:

(1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(2) indecent liberties with a child or aggravated indecent liberties with a child, 

as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503 or 21-3504, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5506, and amendments thereto;

(3) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, 

prior  to  its  repeal,  or  subsection (a)(3)  or (a)(4)  of K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5504, and 

amendments thereto;

(4) aggravated  criminal  sodomy, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3506,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(5) indecent solicitation of a child or aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, 

as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510 or 21-3511, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5508, and amendments thereto;

(6) sexual  exploitation  of  a  child, as  defined in  K.S.A.  21-3516,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;

(7) aggravated incest, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto;
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(8) endangering a child or aggravated endangering a child, as defined in K.S.A. 

21-3608  or  21-3608a,  prior  to  their  repeal,  or  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5601,  and 

amendments thereto;

(9) abuse of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3609, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5602, and amendments thereto;

(10) capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;

(11) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;

(12) murder  in the second degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3402, prior  to its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;

(13) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;

(14) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5405, and amendments thereto;

(15) sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto, when the victim was less than 18 years of 

age at the time the crime was committed;

(16) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(17) a  violation  of  K.S.A.  8-2,144,  and  amendments  thereto,  including  any 
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diversion for such violation; or

(18) any conviction for any offense in effect at any time prior to July 1, 2011, 

that is comparable to any offense as provided in this subsection.

(e) (f) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, for any offender  who is 

required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et 

seq., and amendments thereto, there shall be no  expungement of any conviction or any 

part of the offender's criminal record while the offender is required to register as provided 

in the Kansas offender registration act.

(f) (g) (1) When a petition for expungement is filed, the court shall set a date for 

a  hearing of  such petition  and shall  cause notice of  such hearing  to  be given to  the 

prosecutor and the arresting law enforcement agency. The petition shall state the:

(A) Defendant's full name;

(B) full name of the defendant at the time of arrest, conviction or diversion, if 

different than the defendant's current name;

(C) defendant's sex, race and date of birth;

(D) crime for which the defendant was arrested, convicted or diverted;

(E) date of the defendant's arrest, conviction or diversion; and

(F) identity  of  the  convicting  court,  arresting  law  enforcement  authority  or 

diverting authority.

(2) Except as otherwise provided by law, a petition for expungement shall be 

accompanied by a docket fee in the amount of $100. On and after April 12, 2012, through 
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June 30, 2013, the supreme court may impose a charge, not to exceed $19 per case, to 

fund the costs of non-judicial personnel. The charge established in this section shall be 

the only fee collected or moneys in the nature of a fee collected for the case. Such charge 

shall only be established by an act of the legislature and no other authority is established 

by law or otherwise to collect a fee.

(3) All  petitions  for  expungement  shall  be  docketed  in  the  original  criminal 

action. Any person who may have relevant information about the petitioner may testify at 

the hearing. The court may inquire into the background of the petitioner and shall have 

access to any reports or records relating to the petitioner that are on file with the secretary 

of corrections or the prisoner review board.

(g) (h) At the hearing on the petition, the court shall order the petitioner's arrest 

record, conviction or diversion expunged if the court finds that:

(1) The petitioner has not been convicted of a felony in the past two years and 

no proceeding involving any such crime is presently pending or being instituted against 

the petitioner;

(2) the circumstances and behavior of the petitioner warrant the expungement; 

and

(3) the expungement is consistent with the public welfare.

(h) (i) When the  court  has  ordered  an  arrest  record,  conviction  or  diversion 

expunged, the order of expungement shall state the information required to be contained 

in  the  petition.  The  clerk  of  the  court  shall  send  a  certified  copy  of  the  order  of 
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expungement to the Kansas bureau of investigation which shall notify the federal bureau 

of investigation, the secretary of corrections and any other criminal justice agency which 

may have a record of the arrest, conviction or diversion. After the order of expungement 

is  entered,  the  petitioner  shall  be  treated  as  not  having  been  arrested,  convicted  or 

diverted of the crime, except that:

(1) Upon  conviction  for  any  subsequent  crime,  the  conviction  that  was 

expunged may be considered as a  prior conviction in  determining the sentence to be 

imposed;

(2) the petitioner shall disclose that the arrest, conviction or diversion occurred 

if asked about previous arrests, convictions or diversions:

(A) In  any application  for  licensure  as  a  private  detective,  private  detective 

agency, certification as a firearms trainer pursuant to K.S.A.  2012 Supp. 75-7b21, and 

amendments thereto, or employment as a  detective with a private detective agency, as 

defined by K.S.A. 75-7b01, and amendments thereto; as security personnel with a private 

patrol  operator,  as  defined  by K.S.A.  75-7b01,  and  amendments  thereto;  or  with  an 

institution, as defined in K.S.A. 76-12a01, and amendments thereto, of the department of 

social and rehabilitation services for children and   families  ;

(B) in any application for admission,  or for an order of reinstatement, to the 

practice of law in this state;

(C) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for employment with the 

Kansas  lottery  or  for  work  in  sensitive  areas  within  the  Kansas  lottery  as  deemed 
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appropriate by the executive director of the Kansas lottery;

(D) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for executive director of 

the Kansas racing and gaming commission, for employment with the commission or for 

work in  sensitive areas  in  parimutuel  racing  as  deemed appropriate  by the executive 

director  of  the  commission,  or  to  aid  in  determining  qualifications  for  licensure  or 

renewal of licensure by the commission;

(E) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for the following under 

the  Kansas  expanded  lottery  act:  (i)  Lottery  gaming  facility  manager  or  prospective 

manager,  racetrack  gaming  facility  manager  or  prospective  manager,  licensee  or 

certificate  holder;  or  (ii)  an  officer,  director,  employee,  owner,  agent  or  contractor 

thereof;

(F) upon application  for  a  commercial  driver's  license  under  K.S.A.  8-2,125 

through 8-2,142, and amendments thereto;

(G) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications to be an employee of the 

state gaming agency;

(H) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications to be an employee of a 

tribal gaming commission or to hold a license issued pursuant to a tribal-state gaming 

compact;

(I) in  any  application  for  registration  as  a  broker-dealer,  agent,  investment 

adviser  or  investment  adviser  representative  all  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  17-12a102,  and 

amendments thereto;
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(J) in any application for employment as a law enforcement officer as defined in 

K.S.A. 22-2202 or 74-5602, and amendments thereto; or

(K) for applications received on and after July 1, 2006, to aid in determining the 

petitioner's  qualifications  for  a  license  to  carry  a  concealed  weapon  pursuant  to  the 

personal and family protection act, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 75-7c01 et seq., and amendments 

thereto;

(3) the court,  in  the order  of  expungement,  may specify other  circumstances 

under which the conviction is to be disclosed;

(4) the conviction may be disclosed in a subsequent prosecution for an offense 

which requires as an element of such offense a prior conviction of the type expunged; and

(5) upon  commitment  to  the  custody  of  the  secretary  of  corrections,  any 

previously expunged record  in  the  possession  of  the secretary of  corrections  may be 

reinstated and the expungement disregarded, and the record continued for the purpose of 

the new commitment.

(i) (j) Whenever a person is convicted of a crime, pleads guilty and pays a fine 

for a crime, is placed on parole, postrelease supervision or  probation, is assigned to a 

community correctional services program, is granted a suspended sentence or is released 

on conditional release, the person shall be informed of the ability to expunge the arrest 

records or conviction. Whenever a person enters into a diversion agreement, the person 

shall be informed of the ability to expunge the diversion.

(j) (k) Subject to the disclosures required pursuant to subsection (h)  (i), in any 
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application for employment, license or other civil right or privilege, or any appearance as 

a witness, a person whose arrest records,  conviction or diversion of a crime has been 

expunged under this statute may state that such person has never been arrested, convicted 

or diverted of such crime, but the expungement of a felony conviction does not relieve an 

individual of complying with any state or federal law relating to the use or possession of 

firearms by persons convicted of a felony.

(k) (l) Whenever  the  record  of  any  arrest,  conviction  or  diversion  has  been 

expunged  under  the  provisions  of  this  section  or  under  the  provisions  of  any  other 

existing or former statute, the custodian of the records of arrest, conviction, diversion and 

incarceration relating to that crime shall not disclose the existence of such records, except 

when requested by:

(1) The person whose record was expunged;

(2) a private detective agency or a private patrol operator,  and the request is 

accompanied  by  a  statement  that  the  request  is  being  made  in  conjunction  with  an 

application for employment with such agency or operator by the person whose record has 

been expunged;

(3) a court,  upon a showing of a subsequent conviction of the person whose 

record has been expunged;

(4) the secretary of social and rehabilitation services the department   for children   

and families,  or  a designee of the secretary,  for the purpose of  obtaining information 

relating to employment in an institution, as defined in K.S.A. 76-12a01, and amendments 
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thereto, of the department of social and rehabilitation services for children and families of 

any person whose record has been expunged;

(5) a  person  entitled  to  such  information  pursuant  to  the  terms  of  the 

expungement order;

(6) a prosecutor, and such request is accompanied by a statement that the request 

is  being  made  in  conjunction  with  a  prosecution  of  an  offense  that  requires  a  prior 

conviction as one of the elements of such offense;

(7) the supreme court, the clerk or disciplinary administrator thereof, the state 

board for admission of attorneys or the state board for discipline of attorneys, and the 

request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction with 

an application for admission, or for an order of reinstatement, to the practice of law in 

this state by the person whose record has been expunged;

(8) the Kansas lottery, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the 

request  is  being  made  to  aid  in  determining  qualifications  for  employment  with  the 

Kansas  lottery  or  for  work  in  sensitive  areas  within  the  Kansas  lottery  as  deemed 

appropriate by the executive director of the Kansas lottery;

(9) the governor or the Kansas racing and gaming commission, or a designee of 

the commission, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being 

made to aid in determining qualifications for executive director of the commission, for 

employment with the commission, for work in sensitive areas in parimutuel racing as 

deemed appropriate by the executive director of the commission or for licensure, renewal 
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of licensure or continued licensure by the commission;

(10) the  Kansas  racing  and  gaming  commission,  or  a  designee  of  the 

commission,  and the request  is  accompanied by a  statement that  the request is  being 

made to aid in determining qualifications of the following under the Kansas expanded 

lottery act: (A) Lottery gaming facility managers and prospective managers, racetrack 

gaming facility managers and prospective managers,  licensees and certificate  holders; 

and (B) their officers, directors, employees, owners, agents and contractors;

(11) the Kansas sentencing commission;

(12) the state gaming agency, and the request is accompanied by a statement that 

the request is being made to aid in determining qualifications: (A) To be an employee of 

the state gaming agency; or (B) to be an employee of a tribal gaming commission or to 

hold a license issued pursuant to a tribal-gaming compact;

(13) the Kansas securities commissioner or a designee of the commissioner, and 

the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction 

with  an  application  for  registration  as  a  broker-dealer,  agent,  investment  adviser  or 

investment adviser representative by such agency and the application was submitted by 

the person whose record has been expunged;

(14) the Kansas commission on peace officers' standards and training and the 

request  is  accompanied  by  a  statement  that  the  request  is  being  made  to  aid  in 

determining certification eligibility as a law enforcement officer pursuant to K.S.A. 74-

5601 et seq., and amendments thereto;
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(15) a law enforcement agency and the request is accompanied by a statement 

that the request is being made to aid in determining eligibility for employment as a law 

enforcement officer as defined by K.S.A. 22-2202, and amendments thereto; 

(16) the attorney general and the request is accompanied by a statement that the 

request  is  being  made  to  aid  in  determining  qualifications  for  a  license  to  carry  a 

concealed weapon pursuant to the personal and family protection act; or

(17) the Kansas bureau of investigation for the purposes of:

(A) Completing a person's criminal history record information within the central 

repository, in accordance with K.S.A. 22-4701 et seq., and amendments thereto; or

(B) providing  information  or  documentation  to  the  federal  bureau  of 

investigation, in connection with the national instant criminal background check system, 

to determine a person's qualification to possess a firearm.

(l) (m) The  provisions  of  subsection  (k)(17)  (l)(17) shall  apply  to  records 

created prior to, on and after July 1, 2011.

Sec. 20. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6626 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6626. (a) An aggravated habitual sex offender shall be sentenced to imprisonment for life 

without  the  possibility  of  parole.  Such  offender  shall  spend  the  remainder  of  the 

offender's natural life incarcerated and in the custody of the secretary of corrections. An 

offender who is sentenced to imprisonment for life without the possibility of parole shall 

not be eligible for parole, probation, assignment to a community correctional services 

program,  conditional  release,  postrelease  supervision,  or  suspension,  modification  or 
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reduction of sentence.

(b) Upon sentencing a defendant to imprisonment for life without the possibility 

of  parole,  the  court  shall  commit  the  defendant  to  the  custody  of  the  secretary  of 

corrections and the court  shall  state  in  the sentencing order of the judgment form or 

journal entry, whichever is delivered with the defendant to the correctional institution, 

that the defendant has been sentenced to imprisonment for life without the possibility of 

parole.

(c) As used in this section:

(1) "Aggravated habitual sex offender" means a person who, on and after July 1, 

2006: (A) Has been convicted in this state of a sexually  violent crime, as described in 

subsection  (c)(2)(A)  through  (c)(2)(H)  or  (c)(2)(J) or  (c)(2)(L);  and  (B)  prior  to  the 

conviction of the felony under  subparagraph (A), has been convicted of two or more 

sexually violent crimes;

(2) "Sexually violent crime" means:

(A) Rape,  as  defined in  K.S.A.  21-3502,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or  K.S.A.  2012 

Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(B) indecent liberties with a child or aggravated indecent liberties with a child, 

as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503 or 21-3504, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5506, and amendments thereto;

(C) criminal  sodomy,  as  defined in  subsection (a)(2)  or (a)(3)  of K.S.A.  21-

3505, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a)(3) or (a)(4) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and 
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amendments thereto;

(D) aggravated  criminal  sodomy,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3506,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(E) indecent solicitation of a child or aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, 

as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510 or 21-3511, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5508, and amendments thereto;

(F) sexual  exploitation of a  child,  as  defined in  K.S.A.  21-3516, prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;

(G) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(H) aggravated  incest,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3603,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto;

(I) aggravated  human  trafficking,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3447,  prior    to  its   

repeal,  or    subsection (b)  of    K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5426,  and    amendments  thereto,  if   

committed in whole or in part for the purpose of   the sexual gratification of the defendant   

or another;

(J) commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  section  4,    and   

amendments thereto;

(I) (K) any federal or other state conviction for a felony offense that under the 

laws of this state would be a sexually violent crime as defined in this section;

(J) (L) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-
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3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 

or  21-5303,  and  amendments  thereto,  of  a  sexually  violent  crime  as  defined  in  this 

section; or

(K) (M) any  act  which  at  the  time  of  sentencing  for  the  offense  has  been 

determined beyond a reasonable doubt to have been sexually motivated. As used in this 

subparagraph,  "sexually  motivated"  means  that  one  of  the  purposes  for  which  the 

defendant  committed  the  crime  was  for  the  purpose  of  the  defendant's  sexual 

gratification.

Sec. 21. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6627 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6627. (a) (1) Except as provided in subsection (b) or (d), a defendant who is 18 years of 

age or older and is convicted of the following crimes committed on or after July 1, 2006, 

shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment for life with a mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment of not less than 25 years unless the court determines that the defendant 

should be sentenced as determined in subsection (a)(2):

(A) Aggravated human trafficking, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, if the victim is less than 14 years of age;

(B) rape,  as defined in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, and 

amendments thereto;

(C) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (b)(3) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(D) aggravated criminal  sodomy,  as  defined in  subsection (b)(1) or (b)(2) of 
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K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(E) promoting  prostitution,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6420,  and 

amendments thereto,  if  the prostitute  is  less than 14 years  of age   commercial  sexual   

exploitation of a child, as defined in section 4, and   amendments thereto, if the victim is   

less than 14 years of age;

(F) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(4) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the child is less than 14 years of 

age; and

(G) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 or 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in 

subsections (a)(1)(A) through (a)(1)(F).

(2) The provision of subsection (a)(1) requiring a mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment of not less than 25 years shall not apply if the court finds:

(A) The  defendant  is  an  aggravated  habitual  sex  offender  and  sentenced 

pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6626, and amendments thereto; or

(B) the defendant, because of the defendant's criminal history classification, is 

subject  to  presumptive  imprisonment  pursuant  to  the  sentencing  guidelines  grid  for 

nondrug  crimes  and  the  sentencing  range  exceeds  300  months.  In  such  case,  the 

defendant  is  required  to  serve  a  mandatory  minimum  term  equal  to  the  sentence 

established pursuant to the sentencing range.

(b) (1) On and after July 1, 2006, if a defendant who is 18 years of age or older 
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is convicted of a crime listed in subsection (a)(1) and such defendant has previously been 

convicted of a crime listed in subsection (a)(1), a crime in effect at any time prior to July 

1, 2011, which is substantially the same as a crime listed in subsection (a)(1) or a crime 

under a law of another jurisdiction which is substantially the same as a crime listed in 

subsection (a)(1), the court shall sentence the defendant to a term of imprisonment for life 

with  a  mandatory  minimum  term  of  imprisonment  of  not  less  than  40  years.  The 

provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to a crime committed under K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5507, and amendments thereto, or a crime under a law of another jurisdiction 

which is substantially the same as K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5507, and amendments thereto.

(2) The provision of subsection (b)(1) requiring a mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment of not less than 40 years shall not apply if the court finds:

(A) The  defendant  is  an  aggravated  habitual  sex  offender  and  sentenced 

pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6626, and amendments thereto; or

(B) the defendant, because of the defendant's criminal history classification, is 

subject  to  presumptive  imprisonment  pursuant  to  the  sentencing  guidelines  grid  for 

nondrug  crimes  and  the  sentencing  range  exceeds  480  months.  In  such  case,  the 

defendant  is  required  to  serve  a  mandatory  minimum  term  equal  to  the  sentence 

established pursuant to the sentencing range.

(c) When a person is sentenced pursuant to subsection (a) or (b), such person 

shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of not less than 25 

years, 40 years or be sentenced as determined in subsection (a)(2) or subsection (b)(2), 
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whichever  is  applicable,  and  shall  not  be  eligible  for  probation  or  suspension, 

modification or reduction of sentence. In addition, a person sentenced pursuant to this 

section  shall  not  be  eligible  for  parole  prior  to  serving  such  mandatory  term  of 

imprisonment, and such imprisonment shall not be reduced by the application of good 

time credits.

(d) (1) On or after July 1, 2006, for a first time conviction of an offense listed in 

subsection (a)(1),  the sentencing judge shall  impose the mandatory minimum term of 

imprisonment  provided  by  subsection  (a),  unless  the  judge  finds  substantial  and 

compelling  reasons,  following  a  review  of  mitigating  circumstances,  to  impose  a 

departure.  If  the  sentencing  judge  departs  from  such  mandatory  minimum  term  of 

imprisonment, the judge shall state on the record at the time of sentencing the substantial 

and compelling reasons for the departure. The departure sentence shall be the sentence 

pursuant to the revised Kansas sentencing guidelines act, article 68 of chapter 21 of the 

Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, and, subject to the provisions of 

K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6818,  and  amendments  thereto,  no  sentence  of  a  mandatory 

minimum term of imprisonment shall be imposed hereunder.

(2) As used in this subsection, "mitigating circumstances" shall include, but are 

not limited to, the following:

(A) The defendant has no significant history of prior criminal activity;

(B) the crime was committed while the defendant was under the influence of 

extreme mental or emotional disturbances;
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(C) the victim was an accomplice in the crime committed by another person, 

and the defendant's participation was relatively minor;

(D) the  defendant  acted  under  extreme  distress  or  under  the  substantial 

domination of another person;

(E) the capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality of the defendant's 

conduct  or  to  conform  the  defendant's  conduct  to  the  requirements  of  law  was 

substantially impaired; and

(F) the age of the defendant at the time of the crime.

(e) The provisions of K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 or 21-5303, and amendments thereto, shall not 

apply to any defendant sentenced pursuant to this section.

Sec. 22. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6806 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6806.  (a) Sentences of imprisonment shall represent the  time a person shall actually 

serve,  subject  to  a reduction of the primary  sentence for good time as authorized by 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6821, and amendments thereto.

(b) The sentencing court shall pronounce sentence in all felony cases.

(c) Violations of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5401, 21-5402, 21-5421, 21-5422 and 

21-5901,  and amendments  thereto,  are  off-grid  crimes  for  the purpose  of  sentencing. 

Except as otherwise provided by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6617, 21-6618, 21-6619, 21-

6622, 21-6624, 21-6625, 21-6628 and 21-6629, and amendments thereto, the sentence 

shall  be  imprisonment  for  life  and  shall  not  be  subject  to  statutory  provisions  for 
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suspended sentence, community service or probation.

(d) As identified in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, 21-5503, 21-5504,  21-5506, 

21-5510 and 21-6420 section 4, and amendments thereto, if the  offender is 18 years of 

age or older and the victim is under 14 years of age, such violations are off-grid crimes 

for the purposes of sentencing. Except  as provided in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6626, and 

amendments thereto, the sentence shall be imprisonment for life pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-6627, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 23. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6815 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

6815.  (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), the  sentencing judge shall impose the 

presumptive  sentence  provided  by  the  sentencing  guidelines  unless  the  judge  finds 

substantial  and  compelling  reasons  to  impose  a  departure  sentence.  If  the  sentencing 

judge departs  from the presumptive sentence, the judge shall state on the record at the 

time of sentencing the substantial and compelling reasons for the departure.

(b) Subject to the provisions of subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6817, 

and amendments thereto, any fact that would increase the penalty for a crime beyond the 

statutory maximum, other than a prior conviction, shall be submitted to a jury and proved 

beyond a reasonable doubt.

(c)  (1) Subject  to  the provisions  of  subsections  (c)(3)  and (e),  the  following 

nonexclusive  list  of  mitigating  factors  may  be  considered  in  determining  whether 

substantial and compelling reasons for a departure exist:

(A) The  victim  was  an  aggressor  or  participant  in  the  criminal  conduct 
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associated with the crime of conviction.

(B) The offender played a minor or passive role in the crime or participated 

under circumstances of duress or compulsion. This factor may be considered when it is 

not sufficient as a complete defense.

(C) The offender, because of physical or mental impairment, lacked substantial 

capacity for judgment when the offense was committed. The voluntary use of intoxicants, 

drugs or alcohol does not fall within the purview of this factor.

(D) The defendant, or the defendant's children, suffered a continuing pattern of 

physical or sexual abuse by the victim of the offense and the offense is a response to that 

abuse.

(E) The degree of harm or loss attributed to the current crime of conviction was 

significantly less than typical for such an offense.

(2) Subject to the provisions of subsection (c)(3), the following nonexclusive list 

of  aggravating  factors  may  be  considered  in  determining  whether  substantial  and 

compelling reasons for departure exist:

(A) The victim was particularly vulnerable  due  to  age,  infirmity,  or  reduced 

physical or mental capacity which was known or should have been known to the offender.

(B) The  defendant's  conduct  during  the  commission  of  the  current  offense 

manifested excessive brutality to the victim in a manner not normally present in that 

offense.

(C) The offense was motivated entirely or in part by the race, color, religion, 
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ethnicity, national origin or sexual orientation of the victim or the offense was motivated 

by the defendant's belief or perception, entirely or in part, of the race, color, religion, 

ethnicity, national origin or sexual orientation of the victim whether or not the defendant's 

belief or perception was correct.

(D) The offense involved a  fiduciary relationship  which  existed  between the 

defendant and the victim.

(E) The defendant, 18 or more years of age, employed, hired, used, persuaded, 

induced, enticed or coerced any individual under 16 years of age to:

(i) Commit any person felony;

(ii) assist in avoiding detection or apprehension for commission of any person 

felony; or

(iii) attempt, conspire or solicit, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-

5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, to commit any person felony.

That the defendant did not know the age of the individual under 16 years of age 

shall not be a consideration.

(F) The defendant's current crime of conviction is a crime of extreme sexual 

violence and the defendant is a predatory sex offender. As used in this subsection:

(i) "Crime of extreme sexual violence" is a felony limited to the following:

(a) A crime involving a nonconsensual act of sexual intercourse or sodomy with 

any person;

(b) a crime involving an act of sexual intercourse, sodomy or lewd fondling and 
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touching with any child who is 14 or more years of age but less than 16 years of age and 

with whom a relationship has been  established or promoted for the primary purpose of 

victimization; or

(c) a crime involving an act of sexual intercourse, sodomy or lewd fondling and 

touching with any child who is less than 14 years of age. ;

(d) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in    subsection (b) of    K.S.A. 2012   

Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, if the victim is less   than 14 years of age; or  

(e) commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  section  4,    and   

amendments thereto, if the victim is less than 14 years of age.

(ii) "Predatory sex offender" is an offender who has been convicted of a crime 

of extreme sexual violence as the current crime of conviction and who:

(a) Has one or more prior convictions of any crimes of extreme sexual violence. 

Any prior conviction used to establish the defendant as a predatory sex offender pursuant 

to this subsection shall also be counted in determining the criminal history category; or

(b) suffers  from a mental  condition or  personality disorder  which  makes  the 

offender  likely  to  engage  in  additional  acts  constituting  crimes  of  extreme  sexual 

violence.

(iii) "Mental condition or personality disorder" means an emotional, mental or 

physical illness, disease, abnormality, disorder, pathology or condition which motivates 

the  person,  affects  the  predisposition  or  desires  of  the  person,  or  interferes  with  the 

capacity of the person to control impulses to commit crimes of extreme sexual violence.
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(G) The defendant was incarcerated during the commission of the offense.

(H) The crime involved two or more participants in the criminal conduct, and 

the defendant played a major role in the crime as the organizer, leader, recruiter, manager 

or supervisor.

In determining whether aggravating factors exist as provided in this section, the 

court shall review the victim impact statement.

(3) If a factual aspect of a crime is a statutory element of the crime or is used to 

subclassify the crime on the crime severity scale,  that  aspect  of the current  crime of 

conviction  may  be  used  as  an  aggravating  or  mitigating  factor  only  if  the  criminal 

conduct  constituting  that  aspect  of  the  current  crime  of  conviction  is  significantly 

different from the usual criminal conduct captured by the aspect of the crime.

(d) In  determining  aggravating  or  mitigating  circumstances,  the  court  shall 

consider:

(1) Any evidence received during the proceeding;

(2) the presentence report;

(3) written  briefs  and  oral  arguments  of  either  the  state  or  counsel  for  the 

defendant; and

(4) any other evidence relevant to such aggravating or mitigating circumstances 

that the court finds trustworthy and reliable.

(e) Upon  motion  of  the  prosecutor  stating  that  the  defendant  has  provided 

substantial assistance in the investigation or prosecution of another person who is alleged 
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to have committed an offense,  the court  may consider such mitigation in determining 

whether  substantial  and  compelling  reasons  for  a  departure  exist.  In  considering  this 

mitigating factor, the court may consider the following:

(1) The court's evaluation of the significance and usefulness of the defendant's 

assistance,  taking  into  consideration  the  prosecutor's  evaluation  of  the  assistance 

rendered;

(2) the  truthfulness,  completeness  and  reliability  of  any  information  or 

testimony provided by the defendant;

(3) the nature and extent of the defendant's assistance;

(4) any injury suffered, or any danger or risk of injury to the defendant or the 

defendant's family resulting from such assistance; and

(5) the timeliness of the defendant's assistance.

Sec. 24. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-2515 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

2515.  (a)  An  ex parte order  authorizing the interception of  a  wire,  oral  or  electronic 

communication may be issued by a judge of competent jurisdiction. The attorney general, 

district attorney or county attorney may make an application to any judge of competent 

jurisdiction  for  an  order  authorizing  the  interception  of  a  wire,  oral  or  electronic 

communication  by  an  investigative  or  law  enforcement  officer  and  agency  having 

responsibility for the investigation of the offense regarding which the application is made, 

when such interception may provide evidence of the commission of any of the following 

offenses:
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(1) Any crime directly and immediately affecting the safety of a  human life 

which is a felony;

(2) murder;

(3) kidnapping;

(4) treason;

(5) sedition;

(6) racketeering;

(7) commercial bribery;

(8) robbery;

(9) theft, if the offense would constitute a felony;

(10) bribery;

(11) any felony violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5701 through 21-5717, and 

amendments thereto;

(12) commercial gambling;

(13) sports bribery;

(14) tampering with a sports contest;

(15) aggravated escape;

(16) aggravated failure to appear;

(17) arson;

(18) terrorism;

(19) illegal use of weapons of mass destruction; or
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(20) human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking;

(21) sexual exploitation of a child;

(22) commercial sexual exploitation of a child;

(23) buying sexual relations  ,  promoting the sale of sexual relations     or selling   

sexual relations; or

(20) (24) any conspiracy to commit any of the foregoing offenses.

(b) Any investigative or law enforcement officer who, by any means authorized 

by this act or by chapter 119 of title 18 of the United States code, has obtained knowledge 

of  the  contents  of  any  wire,  oral  or  electronic  communication,  or  evidence  derived 

therefrom, may disclose such contents to another investigative or law enforcement officer 

to the extent that such disclosure is appropriate to the proper performance of the official 

duties of the officer making or receiving the disclosure.

(c) Any investigative or law enforcement officer who, by any means authorized 

by this act or by chapter 119 of title 18 of the United States code, has obtained knowledge 

of  the  contents  of  any  wire,  oral  or  electronic  communication,  or  evidence  derived 

therefrom, may use such contents to  the extent such use is  appropriate  to the proper 

performance of such officer's official duties.

(d) Any person who has received, by any means authorized by this act or by 

chapter 119 of title 18 of the United States code or by a like statute of any other state, any 

information concerning a wire, oral or electronic communication, or evidence derived 

therefrom, intercepted in accordance with the provisions of this  act,  may disclose the 
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contents  of  such  communication  or  such  derivative  evidence  while  giving  testimony 

under oath or affirmation in any criminal proceeding in any court, or before any grand 

jury, of this state or of the United States or of any other state.

(e) No otherwise privileged wire, oral or electronic communication intercepted 

in accordance with, or in violation of, the provisions of this act or of chapter 119 of title 

18 of the United States code shall lose its privileged character.

(f) When  an  investigative  or  law  enforcement  officer,  while  engaged  in 

intercepting wire, oral or electronic communications in the manner authorized by this act, 

intercepts wire, oral or electronic communications relating to offenses other than those 

specified  in  the  order  authorizing  the  interception  of  the  wire,  oral  or  electronic 

communication, the contents thereof and evidence derived therefrom may be disclosed or 

used as provided in subsections (b) and (c) of this section. Such contents and evidence 

derived therefrom may be used under subsection (d) of this section when authorized or 

approved by a judge of competent jurisdiction, where such judge finds on subsequent 

application, made as soon as practicable, that the contents were otherwise intercepted in 

accordance with the provisions of this act, or with chapter 119 of title 18 of the United 

States code.

Sec. 25. K.S.A. 22-2530 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-2530.  If a 

search warrant  is  executed which authorizes a search of real  property  based upon an 

alleged offense involving gambling, obscenity,  prostitution the sale of   sexual relations  , 

controlled substances or liquor, a copy of the warrant shall be delivered to the last known 
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address  of  the owner  of  the property within two business  days,  excluding Saturdays, 

Sundays and  legal holidays, after execution of the warrant if such address is different 

from the address of the property for which the warrant was issued.

Sec. 26. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-3601 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

3601. (a) Any appeal permitted to be taken from a district court's final judgment in a 

criminal case shall be taken to the court of appeals, except in those cases reviewable by 

law in the district court or in which a direct appeal to the supreme court is required. 

Whenever an interlocutory appeal is permitted in a criminal case in the district court, 

such appeal shall be taken to the court of appeals.

(b) Any appeal permitted to be taken from a district court's final judgment in a 

criminal case shall be taken directly to the supreme court in the following cases:

(1) Any case in which a statute of this state or of the United States has been held 

unconstitutional;

(2) any case in which the defendant has been convicted of a class A felony;

(3) any  case  in  which  a  maximum  sentence  of  life  imprisonment  has  been 

imposed, unless the maximum sentence has been imposed pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4643, 

prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6627, and amendments thereto; and

(4) except as provided further, any case in which the crime was committed on or 

after  July  1,  1993,  and  the  defendant  has  been  convicted  of  an  off-grid  crime.  The 

provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to any case in which the off-grid crime was:

(A) Aggravated human trafficking, subsection (c)(2)(B) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 
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21-5426, and amendments thereto;

(B) rape, subsection (b)(2)(B) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments 

thereto;

(C) aggravated criminal sodomy, subsection (c)(2)(B)(ii) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(D) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, subsection (c)(2)(C)(ii) of K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(E) sexual exploitation of a child, subsection (b)(2)(B) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5510, and amendments thereto;

(F) promoting prostitution, subsection (b)(4) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and 

amendments  thereto commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a    child,  subsection  (b)(2)  of   

section 4, and amendments thereto; or

(G) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 or 21-3503, and amendments thereto, of any such felony.

Sec. 27. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-3717 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

3717. (a) Except as otherwise provided by this section; K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 21-4628, prior 

to its  repeal;  K.S.A. 21-4635 through 21-4638,  prior to their  repeal;  K.S.A. 21-4624, 

prior to its repeal; K.S.A. 21-4642,  prior to its repeal; K.S.A.  2012 Supp. 21-6617, 21-

6620, 21-6623, 21-6624, 21-6625 and 21-6626, and amendments thereto; and K.S.A. 8-

1567,  and amendments thereto;  an inmate,  including an inmate sentenced  pursuant to 

K.S.A.  21-4618,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or  K.S.A.  2012 Supp. 21-6707,  and amendments 
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thereto, shall be eligible for parole after serving the entire minimum sentence imposed by 

the court, less good time credits.

(b) (1) Except as provided by K.S.A. 21-4635 through 21-4638, prior to their 

repeal, and K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6620, 21-6623, 21-6624 and 21-6625, and amendments 

thereto,  an  inmate  sentenced to  imprisonment  for  the  crime of  capital  murder,  or  an 

inmate sentenced for the crime of murder in the first degree based upon a finding of 

premeditated murder, committed on or after July 1, 1994, shall be eligible for parole after 

serving 25 years of confinement, without deduction of any good time credits.

(2) Except as provided by subsection (b)(1) or (b)(4), K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 21-

4628,  prior  to  its  repeal,  K.S.A.  21-4635 through 21-4638,  prior  to  their  repeal,  and 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6620, 21-6623, 21-6624 and 21-6625, and amendments thereto, an 

inmate sentenced to imprisonment for an off-grid offense committed on or after July 1, 

1993, but prior to July 1, 1999, shall  be eligible for parole after  serving 15 years of 

confinement,  without  deduction of any good time credits  and an inmate sentenced to 

imprisonment for an off-grid offense committed on or after July 1, 1999, shall be eligible 

for parole after  serving 20 years of confinement without deduction of any good time 

credits.

(3) Except as provided by K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 21-4628, prior to its repeal, an 

inmate sentenced for a class A felony committed before July 1, 1993, including an inmate 

sentenced pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4618, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6707, 

and  amendments  thereto,  shall  be  eligible  for  parole  after  serving  15  years  of 
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confinement, without deduction of any good time credits.

(4) An inmate sentenced to imprisonment for a violation of subsection (a) of 

K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, committed on or after July 1, 1996, but prior to July 1, 

1999, shall be eligible for parole after serving 10 years of confinement without deduction 

of any good time credits.

(5) An inmate sentenced to imprisonment pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4643, prior to 

its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6627, and amendments thereto, committed on or after 

July  1,  2006,  shall  be  eligible  for  parole  after  serving  the  mandatory  term  of 

imprisonment without deduction of any good time credits.

(c)  (1) Except  as  provided  in  subsection  (e),  if  an  inmate  is  sentenced  to 

imprisonment for more than one crime and the sentences run consecutively, the inmate 

shall be eligible for parole after serving the total of:

(A) The aggregate minimum sentences, as determined pursuant to K.S.A. 21-

4608, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6606, and amendments thereto, less 

good time credits for those crimes which are not class A felonies; and

(B) an additional  15 years,  without  deduction of  good time credits,  for  each 

crime which is a class A felony.

(2) If an inmate is sentenced to imprisonment pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4643, prior 

to  its  repeal,  or  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6627,  and  amendments  thereto,  for  crimes 

committed on or after July 1, 2006, the inmate shall be eligible for parole after serving 

the mandatory term of imprisonment.
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(d) (1) Persons sentenced for crimes, other than off-grid crimes, committed on 

or after July 1, 1993, or persons subject to subparagraph (G), will not be eligible for 

parole,  but  will  be  released  to  a  mandatory  period  of  postrelease  supervision  upon 

completion of the prison portion of their sentence as follows:

(A) Except  as  provided in subparagraphs  (D) and (E),  persons sentenced for 

nondrug  severity  levels  1  through  4  crimes,  drug  severity  levels  1  and  2  crimes 

committed on or after July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1, 2012, and drug severity levels 1, 2 

and 3 crimes committed on or after July 1, 2012, must serve 36 months, plus the amount 

of good time and program credit earned and retained pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722, prior to 

its  repeal,  or  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6821,  and  amendments  thereto,  on  postrelease 

supervision.

(B) Except  as provided in  subparagraphs  (D) and (E),  persons  sentenced for 

nondrug severity levels 5 and 6 crimes, drug severity level 3 crimes committed on or after 

July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1, 2012, and drug severity level 4 crimes committed on or 

after July 1, 2012, must serve 24 months, plus the amount of good time and program 

credit earned and retained pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-6821, and amendments thereto, on postrelease supervision.

(C) Except  as provided in  subparagraphs  (D) and (E),  persons  sentenced for 

nondrug severity levels 7 through 10 crimes, drug severity level 4 crimes committed on 

or  after  July  1,  1993,  but  prior  to  July  1,  2012,  and  drug  severity  level  5  crimes 

committed on or after July 1, 2012, must serve 12 months, plus the amount of good time 
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and program credit earned and retained pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4722, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6821, and amendments thereto, on postrelease supervision.

(D) (i) The sentencing  judge  shall  impose  the postrelease supervision  period 

provided  in  subparagraph  (d)(1)(A),  (d)(1)(B)  or  (d)(1)(C),  unless  the  judge  finds 

substantial and compelling reasons to impose a departure based upon a finding that the 

current  crime of  conviction  was  sexually  motivated.  In  that  event,  departure  may be 

imposed to extend the postrelease supervision to a period of up to 60 months.

(ii) If the sentencing judge departs from the presumptive postrelease supervision 

period, the judge shall state on the record at the time of sentencing the substantial and 

compelling reasons for the departure.  Departures in this  section are subject  to appeal 

pursuant  to  K.S.A.  21-4721,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or  K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-6820,  and 

amendments thereto.

(iii) In determining whether substantial and compelling reasons exist, the court 

shall consider:

(a) Written briefs  or oral  arguments submitted by either the defendant or the 

state;

(b) any evidence received during the proceeding;

(c) the presentence report, the victim's impact statement and any psychological 

evaluation as ordered by the court pursuant to subsection (e) of K.S.A. 21-4714, prior to 

its repeal, or subsection (e) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6813, and amendments thereto; and

(d) any other evidence the court finds trustworthy and reliable.
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(iv) The sentencing judge may order that a psychological evaluation be prepared 

and the recommended programming be completed by the offender. The department of 

corrections  or  the  prisoner  review board shall  ensure  that  court  ordered  sex offender 

treatment be carried out.

(v) In carrying out the provisions of subparagraph (d)(1)(D), the court shall refer 

to K.S.A. 21-4718, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6817, and amendments 

thereto.

(vi) Upon petition, the prisoner review board may provide for early discharge 

from the postrelease supervision period upon completion of court ordered programs and 

completion of the presumptive postrelease supervision period, as determined by the crime 

of conviction, pursuant to subparagraph (d)(1)(A), (d)(1)(B) or (d)(1)(C). Early discharge 

from postrelease supervision is at the discretion of the board.

(vii) Persons convicted of crimes deemed sexually violent or sexually motivated 

shall be registered according to the offender registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 through 22-

4910, and amendments thereto.

(viii) Persons convicted of K.S.A. 21-3510 or 21-3511, prior to their repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto, shall be required to participate in a 

treatment program for sex offenders during the postrelease supervision period.

(E) The period of postrelease supervision provided in subparagraphs (A) and (B) 

may be reduced by up to 12 months and the period of postrelease supervision provided in 

subparagraph (C) may be reduced by up to six months based on the offender's compliance 
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with conditions of supervision and overall performance while on postrelease supervision. 

The reduction in the supervision period shall be on an earned basis pursuant to rules and 

regulations adopted by the secretary of corrections.

(F) In cases where sentences for crimes from more than one severity level have 

been imposed, the offender shall serve the longest period of postrelease supervision as 

provided  by this  section  available  for  any crime  upon  which  sentence  was  imposed 

irrespective of the severity level of the crime. Supervision periods will not aggregate.

(G) Except as provided in subsection (u), persons convicted of a sexually violent 

crime committed on or after July 1, 2006, and who are released from prison, shall be 

released to a mandatory period of postrelease supervision for the duration of the person's 

natural life.

(2) As used in this subsection, "sexually violent crime" means:

(A) Rape, K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, 

and amendments thereto;

(B) indecent  liberties  with  a  child,  K.S.A.  21-3503,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(C) aggravated  indecent  liberties  with  a  child,  K.S.A.  21-3504,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(D) criminal sodomy, subsection (a)(2) and (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, prior to its 

repeal, or subsection (a)(3) and (a)(4) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments 

thereto;
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(E) aggravated  criminal  sodomy,  K.S.A.  21-3506,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(F) indecent  solicitation  of  a  child,  K.S.A.  21-3510,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(G) aggravated  indecent  solicitation  of  a  child,  K.S.A.  21-3511,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(H) sexual exploitation of a child, K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;

(I) aggravated sexual battery, K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or subsection 

(b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(J) aggravated incest, K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or  subsection (b) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto; or

(K) aggravated human trafficking,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3447,    prior  to  its   

repeal,  or    subsection (b)  of    K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5426,  and    amendments  thereto,  if   

committed in whole or in part for the purpose of   the sexual gratification of the defendant   

or another;

(L) commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  section  4,    and   

amendments thereto; or

(K) (M) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-

3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 

or  21-5303,  and  amendments  thereto,  of  a  sexually  violent  crime  as  defined  in  this 
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section.

(3) As  used  in  this  subsection,  "sexually  motivated"  means  that  one  of  the 

purposes  for  which  the  defendant  committed  the  crime  was  for  the  purpose  of  the 

defendant's sexual gratification.

(e) If an inmate is sentenced to imprisonment for a crime committed while on 

parole  or  conditional  release,  the  inmate  shall  be  eligible  for  parole  as  provided  by 

subsection (c), except that the prisoner review board may postpone the inmate's parole 

eligibility date by assessing a penalty not exceeding the period of time which could have 

been assessed if the inmate's parole or conditional release had been violated for reasons 

other than conviction of a crime.

(f) If a person is sentenced to prison for a crime committed on or after July 1, 

1993,  while  on  probation,  parole,  conditional  release  or  in  a  community  corrections 

program, for a crime committed prior to July 1, 1993, and the person is not eligible for 

retroactive application of the sentencing guidelines and amendments thereto pursuant to 

K.S.A. 21-4724, prior to its repeal, the new sentence shall not be aggregated with the old 

sentence, but shall begin when the person is paroled or reaches the conditional release 

date on the old sentence. If the offender was past the offender's conditional release date at 

the time the new offense was committed, the new sentence shall not be aggregated with 

the old sentence but shall  begin when the person is  ordered released by the prisoner 

review board  or  reaches  the  maximum sentence  expiration  date  on  the  old  sentence, 

whichever is earlier. The new sentence shall then be served as otherwise provided by law. 
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The period of postrelease supervision shall be based on the new sentence, except that 

those offenders whose old sentence is a term of imprisonment for life, imposed pursuant 

to K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 21-4628, prior to its repeal, or an indeterminate sentence with a 

maximum  term  of  life  imprisonment,  for  which  there  is  no  conditional  release  or 

maximum sentence expiration date, shall remain on postrelease supervision for life or 

until discharged from supervision by the prisoner review board.

(g) Subject  to  the  provisions  of  this  section,  the  prisoner  review board  may 

release on parole those persons confined in institutions who are eligible for parole when: 

(1) The board believes that the inmate should be released for hospitalization, deportation 

or to answer the warrant or other process of a court and is of the opinion that there is 

reasonable  probability  that  the  inmate  can  be  released  without  detriment  to  the 

community or to the inmate; or (2) the secretary of corrections has reported to the board 

in  writing  that  the inmate has  satisfactorily completed the programs required by any 

agreement entered under K.S.A. 75-5210a, and amendments thereto, or any revision of 

such agreement, and the board believes that the inmate is able and willing to fulfill the 

obligations  of  a  law  abiding  citizen  and  is  of  the  opinion  that  there  is  reasonable 

probability that the inmate can be released without detriment to the community or to the 

inmate. Parole shall not be granted as an award of clemency and shall not be considered a 

reduction of sentence or a pardon.

(h) The prisoner review board shall  hold a parole hearing at  least  the month 

prior to the month an inmate will be eligible for parole under subsections (a), (b) and (c). 
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At least one month preceding the parole hearing, the county or district attorney of the 

county where the inmate was convicted shall give written notice of the time and place of 

the public comment sessions for the inmate to any victim of the inmate's crime who is 

alive and whose address is known to the county or district attorney or, if the victim is 

deceased, to the victim's family if the family's address is known to the county or district 

attorney. Except as otherwise provided, failure to notify pursuant to this section shall not 

be a reason to postpone a parole hearing. In the case of any inmate convicted of an off-

grid felony or a class A felony, the secretary of corrections shall give written notice of the 

time  and  place  of  the  public  comment  session  for  such  inmate  at  least  one  month 

preceding the public comment session to any victim of such inmate's crime or the victim's 

family pursuant to K.S.A. 74-7338, and amendments thereto. If notification is not given 

to such victim or such victim's family in the case of any inmate convicted of an off-grid 

felony or a class A felony, the board shall postpone a decision on parole of the inmate to a 

time at least 30 days after notification is given as provided in this section. Nothing in this 

section shall create a cause of action against the state or an employee of the state acting 

within  the  scope  of  the  employee's  employment  as  a  result  of  the  failure  to  notify 

pursuant to this section. If granted parole, the inmate may be released on parole on the 

date specified by the board, but not earlier than the date the inmate is eligible for parole 

under subsections (a), (b) and (c). At each parole hearing and, if parole is not granted, at 

such  intervals  thereafter  as  it  determines  appropriate,  the  board  shall  consider:  (1) 

Whether the inmate has satisfactorily completed the programs required by any agreement 
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entered  under  K.S.A.  75-5210a,  and  amendments  thereto,  or  any  revision  of  such 

agreement; and (2) all pertinent information regarding such inmate, including, but not 

limited to, the circumstances of the offense of the inmate; the presentence report; the 

previous social history and criminal record of the inmate; the conduct, employment, and 

attitude of the inmate in prison; the reports of such physical and mental examinations as 

have  been  made,  including,  but  not  limited  to,  risk  factors  revealed  by  any  risk 

assessment of the inmate; comments of the victim and the victim's family including in 

person comments, contemporaneous comments and prerecorded comments made by any 

technological means; comments of the public; official comments; any recommendation 

by the staff of the facility where the inmate is incarcerated; proportionality of the time the 

inmate has served to the sentence a person would receive under the Kansas sentencing 

guidelines for the conduct that resulted in the inmate's incarceration; and capacity of state 

correctional institutions.

(i) In those cases involving inmates sentenced for a crime committed after July 

1, 1993, the prisoner review board will review the inmate's proposed release plan. The 

board may schedule a hearing if they desire. The board may impose any condition they 

deem necessary to insure public safety,  aid in the reintegration of the inmate into the 

community, or items not completed under the agreement entered into under K.S.A. 75-

5210a, and amendments thereto. The board may not advance or delay an inmate's release 

date. Every inmate while on postrelease supervision shall remain in the legal custody of 

the secretary of corrections and is subject to the orders of the secretary.
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(j) (1) Before ordering the parole of any inmate, the prisoner review board shall 

have the inmate appear either in person or via a video conferencing format and shall 

interview  the  inmate  unless  impractical  because  of  the  inmate's  physical  or  mental 

condition or absence from the institution. Every inmate while on parole shall remain in 

the  legal  custody of  the  secretary  of  corrections  and  is  subject  to  the  orders  of  the 

secretary. Whenever the board formally considers placing an inmate on parole and no 

agreement  has  been  entered  into  with  the  inmate  under  K.S.A.  75-5210a,  and 

amendments thereto, the board shall notify the inmate in writing of the reasons for not 

granting  parole.  If  an  agreement  has  been  entered  under  K.S.A.  75-5210a,  and 

amendments  thereto,  and  the  inmate  has  not  satisfactorily  completed  the  programs 

specified in the agreement, or any revision of such agreement, the board shall notify the 

inmate in writing of the specific programs the inmate must satisfactorily complete before 

parole will be granted. If parole is not granted only because of a failure to satisfactorily 

complete such programs, the board shall grant parole upon the secretary's certification 

that  the inmate has  successfully completed such programs.  If  an agreement  has  been 

entered under K.S.A. 75-5210a, and amendments thereto, and the secretary of corrections 

has  reported  to  the  board  in  writing  that  the  inmate  has  satisfactorily  completed  the 

programs required by such agreement, or any revision thereof, the board shall not require 

further  program  participation.  However,  if  the  board  determines  that  other  pertinent 

information regarding the inmate warrants the inmate's not being released on parole, the 

board shall state in writing the reasons for not granting the parole. If parole is denied for 
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an inmate sentenced for a crime other than a class A or class B felony or an off-grid 

felony, the board shall hold another parole hearing for the inmate not later than one year 

after the denial unless the board finds that it is not reasonable to expect that parole would 

be granted at a hearing if held in the next three years or during the interim period of a 

deferral. In such case, the board may defer subsequent parole hearings for up to three 

years but any such deferral by the board shall require the board to state the basis for its 

findings. If parole is denied for an inmate sentenced for a class A or class B felony or an 

off-grid felony, the board shall hold another parole hearing for the inmate not later than 

three years after the denial unless the board finds that it is not reasonable to expect that 

parole would be granted at a hearing if held in the next 10 years or during the interim 

period of a deferral. In such case, the board may defer subsequent parole hearings for up 

to 10 years, but any such deferral shall require the board to state the basis for its findings.

(2) Inmates sentenced for a class A or class B felony who have not had a board 

hearing in the five years prior to July 1, 2010, shall have such inmates' cases reviewed by 

the board on or before July 1, 2012. Such review shall begin with the inmates with the 

oldest deferral date and progress to the most recent. Such review shall be done utilizing 

existing resources unless the board determines that such resources are insufficient. If the 

board  determines  that  such  resources  are  insufficient,  then  the  provisions  of  this 

paragraph are subject to appropriations therefor.

(k) (1) Parolees and persons on postrelease supervision shall be assigned, upon 

release, to the appropriate level of supervision pursuant to the criteria established by the 
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secretary of corrections.

(2) Parolees  and  persons  on  postrelease  supervision  are,  and  shall  agree  in 

writing  to  be,  subject  to  search  or  seizure  by  a  parole  officer  or  a  department  of 

corrections enforcement, apprehension and investigation officer, at any time of the day or 

night,  with  or  without  a  search  warrant  and  with  or  without  cause.  Nothing  in  this 

subsection shall be construed to authorize such officers to conduct arbitrary or capricious 

searches or searches for the sole purpose of harassment.

(3) Parolees  and  persons  on  postrelease  supervision  are,  and  shall  agree  in 

writing  to  be,  subject  to  search  or  seizure  by any law enforcement  officer  based  on 

reasonable  suspicion  of  the  person  violating  conditions  of  parole  or  postrelease 

supervision or reasonable suspicion of criminal activity.  Any law enforcement officer 

who conducts such a search shall submit a written report to the appropriate parole officer 

no later than the close of the next business day after such search. The written report shall 

include  the  facts  leading  to  such  search,  the  scope  of  such  search  and  any findings 

resulting from such search.

(l) The  prisoner  review  board  shall  promulgate  rules  and  regulations  in 

accordance with K.S.A. 77-415 et seq., and amendments thereto, not inconsistent with the 

law  and  as  it  may deem proper  or  necessary,  with  respect  to  the  conduct  of  parole 

hearings,  postrelease  supervision  reviews,  revocation  hearings,  orders  of  restitution, 

reimbursement of expenditures by the state board of indigents' defense services and other 

conditions to be imposed upon parolees or releasees. Whenever an order for parole or 
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postrelease supervision is issued it shall recite the conditions thereof.

(m) Whenever  the  prisoner  review  board  orders  the  parole  of  an  inmate  or 

establishes conditions for an inmate placed on postrelease supervision, the board:

(1) Unless  it  finds  compelling  circumstances  which  would  render  a  plan  of 

payment unworkable, shall order as a condition of parole or postrelease supervision that 

the  parolee or  the person on postrelease supervision pay any transportation  expenses 

resulting from returning the parolee or the person on postrelease supervision to this state 

to  answer  criminal  charges  or  a  warrant  for  a  violation  of  a  condition  of  probation, 

assignment to a community correctional services program, parole, conditional release or 

postrelease supervision;

(2) to the extent practicable, shall order as a condition of parole or postrelease 

supervision  that  the  parolee  or  the  person  on  postrelease  supervision  make  progress 

towards or successfully complete the equivalent of a secondary education if the inmate 

has not previously completed such educational equivalent and is capable of doing so;

(3) may order  that  the  parolee  or  person on  postrelease  supervision  perform 

community or public service work for local governmental agencies, private corporations 

organized not-for-profit or charitable or social service organizations performing services 

for the community;

(4) may  order  the  parolee  or  person  on  postrelease  supervision  to  pay  the 

administrative fee imposed pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4529, and amendments thereto, unless 

the board finds compelling circumstances which would render payment unworkable;
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(5) unless  it  finds  compelling  circumstances  which  would  render  a  plan  of 

payment unworkable, shall order that the parolee or person on postrelease supervision 

reimburse the state for all or part of the expenditures by the state board of indigents' 

defense  services  to  provide  counsel  and  other  defense  services  to  the  person.  In 

determining the amount and method of payment of such sum, the prisoner review board 

shall take account of the financial resources of the person and the nature of the burden 

that the payment of such sum will impose. Such amount shall not exceed the amount 

claimed by appointed counsel on the payment voucher for indigents' defense services or 

the amount prescribed by the board of indigents' defense services reimbursement tables as 

provided  in  K.S.A.  22-4522,  and  amendments  thereto,  whichever  is  less,  minus  any 

previous payments for such services;

(6) shall  order that  the parolee or person on postrelease supervision agree in 

writing  to  be  subject  to  search  or  seizure  by  a  parole  officer  or  a  department  of 

corrections enforcement, apprehension and investigation officer, at any time of the day or 

night,  with  or  without  a  search  warrant  and  with  or  without  cause.  Nothing  in  this 

subsection shall be construed to authorize such officers to conduct arbitrary or capricious 

searches or searches for the sole purpose of harassment; and

(7) shall  order that  the parolee or person on postrelease supervision agree in 

writing  to  be  subject  to  search  or  seizure  by any law enforcement  officer  based  on 

reasonable  suspicion  of  the  person  violating  conditions  of  parole  or  postrelease 

supervision or reasonable suspicion of criminal activity.
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(n) If the court which sentenced an inmate specified at the time of sentencing 

the  amount  and  the  recipient  of  any  restitution  ordered  as  a  condition  of  parole  or 

postrelease supervision, the prisoner review board shall order as a condition of parole or 

postrelease supervision that the inmate pay restitution in the amount and manner provided 

in the journal entry unless the board finds compelling circumstances which would render 

a plan of restitution unworkable.

(o) Whenever  the  prisoner  review board  grants  the  parole  of  an  inmate,  the 

board, within 14 days of the date of the decision to grant parole, shall give written notice 

of the decision to the county or district attorney of the county where the inmate was 

sentenced.

(p) When an inmate is to be released on postrelease supervision, the secretary, 

within 30 days prior to release, shall provide the county or district attorney of the county 

where the inmate was sentenced written notice of the release date.

(q) Inmates shall be released on postrelease supervision upon the termination of 

the prison portion of their sentence. Time served while on postrelease supervision will 

vest.

(r) An inmate who is allocated regular good time credits as provided in K.S.A. 

22-3725,  and  amendments  thereto,  may  receive  meritorious  good  time  credits  in 

increments of not more than 90 days per meritorious act. These credits may be awarded 

by the secretary of  corrections  when an inmate has  acted in  a  heroic  or  outstanding 

manner  in  coming to  the  assistance  of  another  person in  a  life  threatening  situation, 
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preventing injury or death to a person, preventing the destruction of property or taking 

actions which result in a financial savings to the state.

(s) The provisions of subsections (d)(1)(A), (d)(1)(B), (d)(1)(C) and (d)(1)(E) 

shall be applied retroactively as provided in subsection (t).

(t) For  offenders  sentenced  prior  to  May  25,  2000,  who  are  eligible  for 

modification of their  postrelease supervision obligation,  the department of corrections 

shall  modify the period of postrelease supervision as provided for by this section for 

offenders convicted of severity levels 9 and 10 crimes on the sentencing guidelines grid 

for nondrug crimes and severity level 4 crimes on the sentencing guidelines grid for drug 

crimes on or before September 1, 2000; for offenders convicted of severity levels 7 and 8 

crimes on the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes on or before November 1, 

2000; and for offenders convicted of severity levels 5 and 6 crimes on the sentencing 

guidelines  grid  for  nondrug  crimes  and  severity  level  3  crimes  on  the  sentencing 

guidelines grid for drug crimes on or before January 1, 2001.

(u) An inmate sentenced to imprisonment pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4643, prior to 

its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6627, and amendments thereto, for crimes committed 

on or after July 1, 2006, shall be placed on parole for life and shall not be discharged 

from supervision by the prisoner review board. When the board orders the parole of an 

inmate pursuant to this subsection, the board shall order as a condition of parole that the 

inmate be electronically monitored for the duration of the inmate's natural life.

(v) Whenever  the  prisoner  review board orders  a  person to  be  electronically 
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monitored  pursuant  to  this  section,  or  the  court  orders  a  person to  be  electronically 

monitored pursuant to subsection (r) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6604, and amendments 

thereto, the board shall order the person to reimburse the state for all or part of the cost of 

such monitoring. In determining the amount and method of payment of such sum, the 

board shall take account of the financial resources of the person and the nature of the 

burden that the payment of such sum will impose.

(w) (1) On and after  July 1, 2012, for any inmate who is  a sex offender,  as 

defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, whenever the prisoner review board 

orders the parole  of such inmate or establishes conditions for such inmate placed on 

postrelease supervision, such inmate shall agree in writing to not possess pornographic 

materials. 

(A) As used in this subsection, "pornographic materials" means: Any obscene 

material  or  performance  depicting  sexual  conduct,  sexual  contact  or  a  sexual 

performance; and any visual depiction of sexually explicit conduct.

(B) As used in this subsection, all other terms have the meanings provided by 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto.

(2) The provisions of this subsection shall be applied retroactively to every sex 

offender, as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, who is on parole or 

postrelease  supervision  on  July  1,  2012.  The  prisoner  review board  shall  obtain  the 

written agreement required by this subsection from such offenders as soon as practicable.

Sec. 28. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-3901 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-
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3901.  The  following  unlawful  activities  and  the  use  of  real  or  personal  property  in 

maintaining and carrying on such activities are hereby declared to be common nuisances:

(a) Commercial gambling;

(b) dealing in gambling devices;

(c) possession of gambling devices;

(d) promoting obscenity;

(e) promoting prostitution the sale of sexual relations;

(f) habitually promoting prostitution    commercial sexual exploitation of a child  ;

(g) violations of any law regulating controlled substances;

(h) habitual violations of any law regulating the sale or exchange of alcoholic 

liquor or cereal malt beverages, by any person not licensed pursuant to chapter 41 of the 

Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto;

(i) habitual violations of any law regulating the sale or exchange of cigarettes or 

tobacco products, by any person not licensed pursuant to article 33 of chapter 79 of the 

Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto;

(j) any felony committed for the benefit of, at the direction of, or in association 

with any criminal street gang, with the specific intent to promote, further or assist in any 

criminal conduct by gang members. As used in this subsection, "criminal street gang" 

means any organization, association or group, whether formal or informal:

(1) Consisting of three or more persons;

(2) having as one of its primary activities the commission of one or more person 
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felonies, person misdemeanors, felony violations of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a01 through 

21-36a17,  prior  to  their  transfer,  article  57  of  chapter  21  of  the  Kansas  Statutes 

Annotated, and amendments thereto, any felony violation of any provision of the uniform 

controlled  substances  act  prior  to  July 1,  2009,  or  the  comparable  juvenile  offenses, 

which if  committed by an adult  would constitute the commission of such felonies or 

misdemeanors;

(3) which has a common name or common identifying sign or symbol; and

(4) whose members, individually or collectively engage in or have engaged in 

the commission, attempted commission, conspiracy to commit or solicitation of two or 

more person felonies, person misdemeanors, felony violations of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-

36a01 through 21-36a17, prior to their transfer, article 57 of chapter 21 of the Kansas 

Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, any felony violation of any provision of the 

uniform controlled  substances  act  prior  to  July  1,  2009,  or  the  comparable  juvenile 

offenses,  which  if  committed  by  an  adult  would  constitute  the  commission  of  such 

felonies or misdemeanors, or any substantially similar offense from another jurisdiction; 

or

(k) use  of  pyrotechnics,  pyrotechnic  devices  or  pyrotechnic  materials  in 

violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 31-170, and amendments thereto.

Any real  property used as a place where any such activities are carried  on or 

permitted to be carried on and any effects, equipment, paraphernalia, fixtures, appliances, 

musical instruments or other personal property designed for and used on such premises in 
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connection with such unlawful activities are subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 22-3902, 

22-3903 and 22-3904, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 29. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4902 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

4902.  As  used  in  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act,  unless  the  context  otherwise 

requires:

(a) "Offender" means: 

(1) A sex offender;

(2) a violent offender;

(3) a drug offender;

(4) any person who has been required to register under out of state law or is 

otherwise required to be registered; and

(5) any person required by court order to register for an offense not otherwise 

required as provided in the Kansas offender registration act.

(b) "Sex offender" includes any person who: 

(1) On or after April 14, 1994, is convicted of any sexually violent crime;

(2) On or after April 14, 1994, is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act 

which if committed by an adult would constitute the commission of a sexually violent 

crime, unless the court,  on the record,  finds that  the act  involved non-forcible sexual 

conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not more than four 

years older than the victim;

(3) has been determined to be a sexually violent predator;
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(4) on or after May 29, 1997, is convicted of any of the following crimes when 

one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age:

(A) Adultery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3507, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5511, and amendments thereto;

(B) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 21-3505, prior to 

its repeal, or subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments 

thereto;

(C) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto prior to its   amendment by this act   

on July 1, 2013;

(D) patronizing a prostitute, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3515, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6421, and amendments thereto prior to its   amendment by this act   

on July 1, 2013; or

(E) lewd and lascivious  behavior,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3508,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5513, and amendments thereto;

(5) is  convicted of sexual  battery,  as defined in  K.S.A. 21-3517,  prior  to its 

repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(6) is convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in 

K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their  repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5301,  21-5302,  21-5303,  and  amendments  thereto,  of  an  offense  defined  in  this 

subsection; or
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(7) has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in 

this subsection, or any out of state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this 

state would be an offense defined in this subsection.

(c) "Sexually violent crime" means:

(1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(2) indecent  liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior  to its 

repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;

(3) aggravated indecent  liberties  with a  child, as defined in K.S.A.  21-3504, 

prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments 

thereto;

(4) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, 

prior  to  its  repeal,  or  subsection (a)(3)  or (a)(4)  of K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5504, and 

amendments thereto;

(5) aggravated  criminal  sodomy, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3506,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(6) indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510,  prior to its 

repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(7) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A.  21-3511, 

prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments 

thereto;
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(8) sexual  exploitation  of  a  child, as  defined in  K.S.A.  21-3516,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;

(9) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(10) aggravated  incest, as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3603,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5605, and amendments thereto;

(11) electronic solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3523, prior to its repeal, and 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5509, and amendments thereto,  committed on or after April 17, 

2008;

(12) unlawful sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3520, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5512, and amendments thereto;

(13) aggravated human trafficking,  as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447,    prior to its   

repeal,  or  subsection  (b)  of  K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5426,  and    amendments  thereto,  if   

committed in whole or in part for the purpose of   the sexual gratification of the defendant   

or another;

(14) commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  section    4,  and   

amendments thereto;

(13) (15) any conviction or adjudication for an offense that is  comparable to a 

sexually violent crime as defined in this subsection, or any  out of state conviction or 

adjudication for an offense that under the laws of this state would be a sexually violent 

crime as defined in this subsection;
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(14) (16) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in  K.S.A. 

21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-

5302, 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of a sexually  violent crime, as defined in this 

subsection; or

(15) (17) any act which has been determined beyond a reasonable doubt to have 

been sexually motivated, unless the court, on the record, finds that the act involved non-

forcible sexual conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not 

more  than  four  years  older  than  the  victim.  As  used  in  this  paragraph,  "sexually 

motivated" means that one of the purposes for which the defendant committed the crime 

was for the purpose of the defendant's sexual gratification.

(d) "Sexually violent predator" means any person who, on or after July 1, 2001, 

is  found  to  be  a  sexually  violent  predator  pursuant  to  K.S.A.  59-29a01  et  seq.,  and 

amendments thereto.

(e) "Violent offender" includes any person who:

(1) On or after May 29, 1997, is convicted of any of the following crimes:

(A) Capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;

(B) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;

(C) murder  in  the  second degree,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3402,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;
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(D) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;

(E) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5405, and amendments thereto;

(F) kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3420, prior to its repeal, or subsection 

(a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto;

(G) aggravated kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3421, prior to its repeal, or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto;

(H) criminal  restraint,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3424,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5411, and amendments thereto, except by a parent, and only when 

the victim is less than 18 years of age; or

(I) aggravated  human  trafficking,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3447,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, if not 

committed in whole or in part for the purpose   of the sexual gratification of the defendant   

or another;

(2) on or after July 1, 2006, is convicted of any person felony and the court 

makes a finding on the record that a deadly weapon was used in the commission of such 

person felony;

(3)  has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in 

this subsection, any out of state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state 

would be an offense defined in this subsection; or
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(4) is convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in 

K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their  repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5301,  21-5302  and  21-5303,  and  amendments  thereto,  of  an  offense  defined  in  this 

subsection.

(f) "Drug offender" means any person who has been convicted of:

(1) Unlawful  manufacture  or  attempting  such  of  any controlled  substance  or 

controlled substance analog as defined in K.S.A. 65-4159, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 

Supp. 21-36a03, prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5703, and amendments 

thereto;

(2) possession of ephedrine,  pseudoephedrine,  red phosphorus,  lithium metal, 

sodium  metal,  iodine,  anhydrous  ammonia,  pressurized  ammonia  or 

phenylpropanolamine, or their salts, isomers or salts of isomers with intent to use the 

product to manufacture a controlled substance as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 65-

7006,  prior  to  its  repeal,  subsection  (a)  of  K.S.A.  2010 Supp.  21-36a09,  prior  to  its 

transfer, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5709, and amendments thereto;

(3) K.S.A. 65-4161, prior to its repeal, subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 

21-36a05, prior to its transfer, or subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5705, and 

amendments thereto.  The provisions of this  paragraph shall  not apply to violations of 

subsections (a)(2) through (a)(6) or (b) of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a05 which occurred 

on or after July 1, 2009, through April 15, 2010;

(4) an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in this subsection, any out 
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of state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state would be an offense 

defined in this subsection; or

(5) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 

21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 

21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.

(g) Convictions or adjudications which result  from or are connected with the 

same act,  or result from crimes committed at the same time, shall be counted for the 

purpose of this section as one conviction or adjudication. Any conviction or adjudication 

set aside pursuant to law is not a conviction or adjudication for purposes of this section. A 

conviction or adjudication from any out of state court shall constitute a conviction or 

adjudication for purposes of this section.

(h) "School" means any public or private educational institution, including, but 

not limited to, postsecondary school, college, university, community college, secondary 

school, high school, junior high school, middle school, elementary school, trade school, 

vocational school or professional school providing training or education to an offender 

for three or more consecutive days or parts of days, or for 10 or more nonconsecutive 

days in a period of 30 consecutive days.

(i) "Employment"  means  any  full-time,  part-time,  transient,  day-labor 

employment  or  volunteer  work,  with  or  without  compensation,  for  three  or  more 

consecutive days or parts of days, or for 10 or more nonconsecutive days in a period of 

30 consecutive days.
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(j) "Reside" means to stay, sleep or maintain with regularity or temporarily one's 

person and property in  a  particular  place other  than a location where the offender  is 

incarcerated. It shall be presumed that an offender resides at any and all locations where 

the offender stays, sleeps or maintains the offender's person for three or more consecutive 

days  or  parts  of  days,  or  for  ten  or  more  non-consecutive  days  in  a  period  of  30 

consecutive days.

(k) "Residence"  means  a  particular  and  definable  place  where  an  individual 

resides. Nothing in the Kansas offender registration act shall be construed to state that an 

offender may only have one residence for the purpose of such act.

(l) "Transient" means having no fixed or identifiable residence.

(m) "Law enforcement agency having initial jurisdiction" means the registering 

law enforcement  agency of  the  county or  location of  jurisdiction  where the offender 

expects to most often reside upon the offender's discharge, parole or release. 

(n) "Registering law enforcement  agency"  means the sheriff's  office or  tribal 

police department responsible for registering an offender.

(o) "Registering entity" means any person, agency or other governmental unit, 

correctional facility or registering law enforcement agency responsible for obtaining the 

required information from, and explaining the required registration procedures to, any 

person required to register pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act. "Registering 

entity" shall include, but not be limited to, sheriff's offices, tribal police departments and 

correctional facilities.
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(p) "Treatment  facility"  means  any  public  or  private  facility  or  institution 

providing inpatient mental health, drug or alcohol treatment or counseling, but does not 

include a hospital, as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and amendments thereto.

(q) "Correctional  facility"  means  any  public  or  private  correctional  facility, 

juvenile detention facility, prison or jail.

(r) "Out of state" means: the District of Columbia; any federal, military or tribal 

jurisdiction,  including those within this state; any foreign jurisdiction; or any state or 

territory within the United States, other than this state.

(s) "Duration of registration" means the length of time during which an offender 

is required to register for a specified offense or violation.

Sec. 30. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4906 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-

4906. (a) (1) Except as provided in subsection (c), if convicted of any of the following 

offenses, an offender's duration of registration shall be, if confined, 15 years after the date 

of parole, discharge or release, whichever date is most recent, or, if not confined, 15 years 

from the date of conviction:

(A) Sexual  battery,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3517,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(B) adultery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3507, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5511, and amendments thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 

years of age;

(C) patronizing a prostitute, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3515, prior to its repeal, or 
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K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6421, and amendments thereto prior to its   amendment by this act   

on July 1, 2013, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;

(D) lewd and lascivious  behavior,  as  defined in  K.S.A.  21-3508,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5513, and amendments thereto, when one of the parties 

involved is less than 18 years of age;

(E) capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;

(F) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;

(G) murder  in  the second degree,  as  defined in  K.S.A.  21-3402,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;

(H) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;

(I) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5405, and amendments thereto;

(J) criminal restraint, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3424, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5411, and amendments thereto, except by a parent, and only when the 

victim is less than 18 years of age;

(K) any act which has been determined beyond a reasonable doubt to have been 

sexually  motivated,  unless  the  court,  on  the  record,  finds  that  the  act  involved non-

forcible sexual conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not 
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more than four years older than the victim;

(L) conviction of any person required by court order to register for an offense 

not otherwise required as provided in the Kansas offender registration act;

(M) conviction of any person felony and the court makes a finding on the record 

that a deadly weapon was used in the commission of such person felony;

(N) unlawful  manufacture  or  attempting  such  of  any controlled  substance  or 

controlled substance analog as defined in K.S.A. 65-4159, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 

Supp. 21-36a03, prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5703, and amendments 

thereto;

(O) possession of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, red phosphorus, lithium metal, 

sodium  metal,  iodine,  anhydrous  ammonia,  pressurized  ammonia  or 

phenylpropanolamine, or their salts, isomers or salts of isomers with intent to use the 

product to manufacture a controlled substance as defined by subsection (a) of K.S.A. 65-

7006,  prior  to  its  repeal,  subsection  (a)  of  K.S.A.  2010 Supp.  21-36a09,  prior  to  its 

transfer, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5709, and amendments thereto;

(P) K.S.A. 65-4161, prior to its repeal, subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 

21-36a05, prior to its transfer, or subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5705, and 

amendments thereto; or

(Q) any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-

3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 

and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.
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(2) Except as otherwise provided by the Kansas offender registration act,  the 

duration of registration terminates, if not confined, at the expiration of 15 years from the 

date of conviction. Any period of time during which any offender is incarcerated in any 

jail or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all 

requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration 

of registration.

(b)  (1)   Except  as  provided  in  subsection  (c),  if  convicted  of  any  of  the 

following offenses, an offender's duration of registration shall be, if confined, 25 years 

after the date of parole, discharge or release, whichever date is most recent, or, if not 

confined, 25 years from the date of conviction:

(A) Criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 21-3505, prior to 

its repeal, or subsection (a)(1) or (a)(2) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments 

thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;

(B) indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its 

repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

(C) electronic solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3523, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5509, and amendments thereto;

(D) aggravated  incest,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3603,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto;

(E) indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its 

repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;
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(F) unlawful sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3520, prior to its repeal, 

or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5512, and amendments thereto;

(G) sexual exploitation of a child,  as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the victim is 14 or 

more years of age but less than 18 years of age;

(H) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, 

or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;

(I) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its  repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto prior to its   amendment by this act   

on July 1, 2013, if the prostitute person selling   sexual relations   is 14 or more years of age 

but less than 18 years of age; or

(J) any attempt,  conspiracy or criminal  solicitation,  as defined in K.S.A. 21-

3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 

and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.

(2) Except as otherwise provided by the Kansas offender registration act,  the 

duration of registration terminates, if not confined, at the expiration of 25 years from the 

date of conviction. Any period of time during which any offender is incarcerated in any 

jail or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all 

requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration 

of registration.

(c) Upon a second or subsequent conviction of an offense requiring registration, 
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an offender's duration of registration shall be for such offender's lifetime.

(d) The duration of registration for any offender who has been convicted of any 

of the following offenses shall be for such offender's lifetime:

(1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5503, and amendments thereto;

(2) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child,  as defined in K.S.A. 21-3511, 

prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments 

thereto;

(3) aggravated indecent  liberties  with a  child,  as defined in  K.S.A. 21-3504, 

prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments 

thereto;

(4) criminal sodomy, as defined in subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505, 

prior  to  its  repeal,  or  subsection (a)(3)  or (a)(4)  of K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5504, and 

amendments thereto;

(5) aggravated  criminal  sodomy,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3506,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;

(6) aggravated  human  trafficking,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3447,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto;

(7) sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  21-3516,  prior  to  its 

repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the victim is less than 

14 years of age;
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(8) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its  repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto prior to its   amendment by this act   

on July 1, 2013, if the prostitute person selling   sexual relations   is less than 14 years of 

age;

(9) kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3420, prior to its repeal, or subsection 

(a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto;

(10) aggravated kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3421, prior to its repeal, or 

subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto; or

(11) commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  section    4,  and   

amendments thereto; or

(11) (12) any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 

21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A.  2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-

5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.

(e) Any person who has been declared a sexually violent predator pursuant to 

K.S.A.  59-29a01  et  seq.,  and  amendments  thereto,  shall  register  for  such  person's 

lifetime.

(f) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this  section,  for an offender less 

than  14  years  of  age  who  is  adjudicated  as  a  juvenile  offender  for  an  act  which  if 

committed by an adult would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in subsection 

(c) of K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, the court shall:

(1) Require  registration  until  such  offender  reaches  18  years  of  age,  at  the 
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expiration of five years from the date of adjudication or, if confined, from release from 

confinement, whichever date occurs later. Any period of time during which the offender 

is incarcerated in any jail, juvenile facility or correctional facility or during which the 

offender  does  not  comply  with  any  and  all  requirements  of  the  Kansas  offender 

registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration;

(2) not  require  registration  if  the  court,  on  the  record,  finds  substantial  and 

compelling reasons therefor; or

(3) require registration, but such registration information shall not be open to 

inspection by the public or posted on any internet website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-

4909, and amendments thereto. If the court requires registration but such registration is 

not open to the public,  such offender shall  provide a copy of such court order to the 

registering  law  enforcement  agency  at  the  time  of  registration.  The  registering  law 

enforcement agency shall forward a copy of such court order to the Kansas bureau of 

investigation.

If such offender violates a condition of release during the term of the conditional 

release, the court may require such offender to register pursuant to paragraph (1).

(g) Notwithstanding  any other  provisions  of  this  section,  for  an  offender  14 

years  of  age  or  more  who is  adjudicated  as  a  juvenile  offender  for  an  act  which  if 

committed by an adult would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in subsection 

(c) of K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, and such crime is not an off-grid felony 

or a felony ranked in severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, 
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prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6804, and amendments thereto, the court 

shall:

(1) Require  registration  until  such  offender  reaches  18  years  of  age,  at  the 

expiration of five years from the date of adjudication or, if confined, from release from 

confinement, whichever date occurs later. Any period of time during which the offender 

is incarcerated in any jail, juvenile facility or correctional facility or during which the 

offender  does  not  comply  with  any  and  all  requirements  of  the  Kansas  offender 

registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration;

(2) not  require  registration  if  the  court,  on  the  record,  finds  substantial  and 

compelling reasons therefor; or

(3) require registration, but such registration information shall not be open to 

inspection by the public or posted on any internet website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-

4909, and amendments thereto. If the court requires registration but such registration is 

not open to the public,  such offender shall  provide a copy of such court order to the 

registering  law  enforcement  agency  at  the  time  of  registration.  The  registering  law 

enforcement agency shall forward a copy of such court order to the Kansas bureau of 

investigation.

If such offender violates a condition of release during the term of the conditional 

release, the court may require such offender to register pursuant to paragraph (1).

(h) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, an offender 14 years of 

age or more who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which if committed by an 
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adult would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 22-

4902, and amendments thereto, and such crime is an off-grid felony or a felony ranked in 

severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6804, and amendments thereto, shall be required to register for 

such offender's lifetime.

(i) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if a diversionary agreement or 

probation order, either adult or juvenile, or a juvenile offender sentencing order, requires 

registration  under  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act  for  an  offense  that  would  not 

otherwise require registration as provided in subsection (a)(5) of K.S.A 22-4902, and 

amendments  thereto,  then  all  provisions  of  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act  shall 

apply, except that the duration of registration shall be controlled by such diversionary 

agreement, probation order or juvenile offender sentencing order.

(j) The duration of registration does not terminate if the convicted or adjudicated 

offender again becomes liable to register as provided by the Kansas offender registration 

act during the required period of registration.

(k) For any person moving to Kansas who has been convicted or adjudicated in 

an out  of state  court,  or  who was required to  register  under  an out of  state  law,  the 

duration of registration shall be the length of time required by the out of state jurisdiction 

or  by  the  Kansas  offender  registration  act,  whichever  length  of  time  is  longer.  The 

provisions of this subsection shall apply to convictions or adjudications prior to June 1, 

2006, and to persons who moved to Kansas prior to June l, 2006, and to convictions or 
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adjudications on or after June 1, 2006, and to persons who moved to Kansas on or after 

June l, 2006.

(l) For any person residing, maintaining employment or attending school in this 

state who has been convicted or adjudicated by an out of state court of an offense that is 

comparable  to  any  crime  requiring  registration  pursuant  to  the  Kansas  offender 

registration act, but who was not required to register in the jurisdiction of conviction or 

adjudication, the duration of registration shall be the duration required for the comparable 

offense pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act. The duration of registration shall 

begin upon establishing residency, beginning employment or beginning school.

Sec. 31. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2202 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-

2202.  As  used  in  the  revised  Kansas  code  for  care  of  children,  unless  the  context 

otherwise indicates:

(a) "Abandon" or "abandonment" means to forsake, desert or, without making 

appropriate provision for substitute care, cease providing care for the child.

(b) "Adult  correction facility"  means any public or private facility,  secure or 

nonsecure, which is used for the lawful custody of accused or convicted adult criminal 

offenders.

(c) "Aggravated circumstances" means the abandonment, torture, chronic abuse, 

sexual abuse or chronic, life threatening neglect of a child.

(d) "Child in need of care" means a person less than 18 years of age at the time 

of filing of the petition or issuance of an  ex parte protective custody order pursuant to 
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K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2242, and amendments thereto, who:

(1) Is without adequate parental care, control or subsistence and the condition is 

not due solely to the lack of financial means of the child's parents or other custodian;

(2) is without the care or control necessary for the child's physical, mental or 

emotional health;

(3) has been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected or sexually 

abused;

(4) has been placed for care or adoption in violation of law;

(5) has been abandoned or does not have a known living parent;

(6) is  not  attending  school  as  required  by  K.S.A.  72-977  or  72-1111,  and 

amendments thereto;

(7) except in the case of a violation of K.S.A. 41-727, subsection (j) of K.S.A. 

74-8810, subsection (m) or (n) of K.S.A. 79-3321, or subsection (a)(14) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-6301, and amendments thereto, or, except as provided in paragraph (12), does 

an act which, when committed by a person under 18 years of age, is prohibited by state 

law, city ordinance or county resolution but which is not prohibited when done by an 

adult;

(8) while less than 10 years of age, commits any act which if done by an adult 

would constitute the commission of a felony or misdemeanor as defined by K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5102, and amendments thereto;

(9) is willfully and voluntarily absent from the child's home without the consent 
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of the child's parent or other custodian;

(10) is  willfully  and  voluntarily  absent  at  least  a  second  time  from a  court 

ordered or designated placement, or a placement pursuant to court order, if the absence is 

without the consent of the person with whom the child is placed or, if the child is placed 

in a facility, without the consent of the person in charge of such facility or such person's 

designee;

(11) has been residing in the same residence with a sibling or another person 

under  18  years  of  age,  who has  been  physically,  mentally  or  emotionally  abused  or 

neglected, or sexually abused;

(12) while less than 10 years of age commits the offense defined in subsection 

(a)(14) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6301, and amendments thereto; or

(13) has had a permanent custodian appointed and the permanent custodian is no 

longer able or willing to serve.

(e) "Citizen review board" is a group of community volunteers appointed by the 

court and whose duties are prescribed by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2207 and 38-2208, and 

amendments thereto.

(f) "Civil custody case" includes any case filed under chapter 23 of the Kansas 

Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, the Kansas family law code, article 11, of 

chapter 38 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, determination of 

parentage, article 21 of chapter 59 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments 

thereto,  adoption  and  relinquishment  act,  or  article  30  of  chapter  59  of  the  Kansas 
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Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, guardians and conservators.

(g) "Court-appointed special advocate" means a responsible adult other than an 

attorney guardian ad litem who is appointed by the court to represent the best interests of 

a  child,  as  provided  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  38-2206,  and  amendments  thereto,  in  a 

proceeding pursuant to this code.

(h) "Custody" whether temporary, protective or legal, means the status created 

by court order or statute which vests in a custodian, whether an individual or an agency, 

the right to physical possession of the child and the right to determine placement of the 

child, subject to restrictions placed by the court.

(i) "Extended out of home placement" means a child has been in the custody of 

the  secretary  and  placed  with  neither  parent  for  15  of  the  most  recent  22  months 

beginning 60 days after the date at which a child in the custody of the secretary was 

removed from the home.

(j) "Educational institution" means all schools at the elementary and secondary 

levels.

(k) "Educator"  means  any  administrator,  teacher  or  other  professional  or 

paraprofessional  employee  of  an  educational  institution  who has  exposure  to  a  pupil 

specified in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 72-89b03, and amendments thereto.

(l) "Harm" means physical or psychological injury or damage.

(m) "Interested party" means the grandparent of the child, a person with whom 

the child has been living for a significant period of time when the child in need of care 
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petition is filed, and any person made an interested party by the court pursuant to K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 38-2241, and amendments thereto, or Indian tribe seeking to intervene that is 

not a party.

(n) "Jail" means:

(1) An adult jail or lockup; or

(2) a facility in the same building or on the same grounds as an adult jail or 

lockup,  unless  the  facility  meets  all  applicable  standards  and  licensure  requirements 

under law and there is: (A) Total separation of the juvenile and adult facility spatial areas 

such that there could be no haphazard or accidental contact between juvenile and adult 

residents in the respective facilities; (B) total separation in all juvenile and adult program 

activities within the facilities, including recreation,  education,  counseling,  health care, 

dining, sleeping and general living activities; and (C) separate juvenile and adult staff, 

including  management,  security  staff  and  direct  care  staff  such  as  recreational, 

educational and counseling.

(o) "Juvenile detention facility" means any secure public or private facility used 

for the lawful custody of accused or adjudicated juvenile offenders which must not be a 

jail.

(p) "Juvenile  intake  and  assessment  worker"  means  a  responsible  adult 

authorized to perform intake and assessment services as part of the intake and assessment 

system established pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7023, and amendments thereto.

(q) "Kinship care" means the placement of a child in the home of the child's 
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relative or in the home of another adult with whom the child or the child's parent already 

has a close emotional attachment.

(r) "Law enforcement  officer"  means any person who by virtue  of  office  or 

public employment is vested by law with a duty to maintain public order or to make 

arrests for crimes, whether that duty extends to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes.

(s) "Multidisciplinary team" means a group of persons, appointed by the court 

under K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2228, and amendments thereto, which has knowledge of the 

circumstances of a child in need of care.

(t) "Neglect"  means  acts  or  omissions  by  a  parent,  guardian  or  person 

responsible for the care of a child resulting in harm to a child, or presenting a likelihood 

of harm, and the acts or omissions are not due solely to the lack of financial means of the 

child's parents or other custodian. Neglect may include, but shall not be limited to:

(1) Failure  to  provide  the  child  with  food,  clothing  or  shelter  necessary  to 

sustain the life or health of the child;

(2) failure to provide adequate supervision of a child or to remove a child from a 

situation which requires judgment or actions beyond the child's level of maturity, physical 

condition or mental abilities and that results in bodily injury or a likelihood of harm to the 

child; or

(3) failure to use resources available to treat a diagnosed medical condition if 

such  treatment  will  make  a  child  substantially  more  comfortable,  reduce  pain  and 

suffering, or correct or substantially diminish a crippling condition from worsening. A 
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parent legitimately practicing religious beliefs who does not provide specified medical 

treatment for a child because of religious beliefs shall not for that reason be considered a 

negligent  parent;  however,  this  exception shall  not preclude a court  from entering an 

order  pursuant  to  subsection  (a)(2)  of  K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  38-2217,  and  amendments 

thereto.

(u) "Parent" when used in relation to a child or children, includes a guardian and 

every person who is by law liable to maintain, care for or support the child.

(v) "Party" means the state, the petitioner, the child, any parent of the child and 

an Indian child's tribe intervening pursuant to the Indian child welfare act.

(w) "Permanency goal" means the outcome of the permanency planning process 

which may be reintegration, adoption, appointment of a permanent custodian or another 

planned permanent living arrangement.

(x) "Permanent custodian" means a judicially approved permanent guardian of a 

child pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2272, and amendments thereto.

(y) "Physical,  mental  or  emotional  abuse"  means  the  infliction  of  physical, 

mental or emotional harm or the causing of a deterioration of a child and may include, 

but shall not be limited to, maltreatment or exploiting a child to the extent that the child's 

health or emotional well-being is endangered.

(z) "Placement"  means  the  designation  by  the  individual  or  agency  having 

custody of where and with whom the child will live.

(aa) "Relative" means a person related by blood, marriage or adoption but, when 
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referring to a relative of a child's parent, does not include the child's other parent.

(bb) "Secretary"  means the secretary of  social  and rehabilitation  services the 

department for children and families or the secretary's designee.

(cc) "Secure facility" means a facility, other than a staff secure   facility   which is 

operated or structured so as to ensure that all entrances  and exits from the facility are 

under the exclusive control of the staff of the  facility, whether or not the person being 

detained has freedom of movement within the perimeters of the facility, or which relies 

on locked rooms and buildings, fences or physical restraint in order to control behavior of 

its residents. No secure facility shall be in a city or county jail.

(dd) "Sexual abuse" means any contact or interaction with a child in which the 

child is  being used for the sexual  stimulation of the perpetrator,  the child or another 

person. Sexual abuse shall include allowing, permitting or encouraging a child to engage 

in prostitution the sale of   sexual relations or commercial sexual exploitation of a child,   or 

to be photographed, filmed or depicted in pornographic material.

(ee) "Shelter facility" means any public or private facility or home, other than a 

juvenile detention facility or staff secure facility, that may be used in accordance with this 

code for the purpose of providing either temporary placement for children in need of care 

prior to the issuance of a  dispositional order or longer term care under a dispositional 

order.

(ff) "Staff  secure  facility"  means  a  facility  described  in  section  6,  and 

amendments  thereto:  (1)  That  does  not  include  construction  features    designed  to   
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physically  restrict  the  movements  and activities  of  juvenile    residents  who are  placed   

therein; (2) that may establish reasonable rules   restricting entrance to and egress from the   

facility; and (3) in which the    movements and activities of individual juvenile residents   

may,  for    treatment  purposes,  be  restricted  or  subject  to  control  through  the  use  of   

intensive staff supervision. No staff secure facility shall be in a city or   county jail.  

(ff) (gg) "Transition  plan"  means,  when  used  in  relation  to  a  youth  in  the 

custody of the secretary, an individualized strategy for the provision of medical, mental 

health,  education,  employment  and  housing  supports  as  needed  for  the  adult  and,  if 

applicable,  for  any  minor  child  of  the  adult,  to  live  independently  and  specifically 

provides for the supports and any services for which an adult with a disability is eligible 

including, but not limited to, funding for home and community based services waivers.

(gg) (hh) "Youth residential facility" means any home, foster home or structure 

which provides 24-hour-a-day care for children and which is licensed pursuant to article 5 

of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 32. On January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2231 is hereby amended to 

read as follows: 38-2231. (a) A law enforcement officer or court services officer shall 

take a child under 18 years of age into custody when:

(1) The  law  enforcement  officer  or  court  services  officer  has  a  court  order 

commanding that the child be taken into custody as a child in need of care; or

(2) the law enforcement officer or court services officer has probable cause to 

believe that a court order commanding that the child be taken into custody as a child in 
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need of care has been issued in this state or in another jurisdiction.

(b) A law enforcement  officer  shall  take  a  child  under  18 years  of  age  into 

custody when the officer:

(1) The law enforcement officer Reasonably believes the child will be harmed if 

not immediately removed from the place or residence where the child has been found; or

(2) when the officer has probable cause to believe that the child is a  missing 

person and a verified missing person entry for the child can be  found in the national 

crime information center missing person system; or

(3) reasonably believes the child is a victim of human trafficking,    aggravated   

human trafficking or commercial sexual exploitation of a   child  .

(c)  (1) If  a  person provides  shelter  to  a  child  whom the  person knows is  a 

runaway,  such  person  shall  promptly  report  the  child's  location  either  to  a  law 

enforcement agency or to the child's parent or other custodian.

(2) If  a  person  reports  a  runaway's  location  to  a  law  enforcement  agency 

pursuant  to  this  section  and a  law enforcement  officer  of  the  agency has  reasonable 

grounds to believe that it  is  in the child's  best  interests,  the child may be allowed to 

remain in  the place where shelter  is  being provided,  subject to  subsection (b),  in  the 

absence of a court order to the contrary. If the child is allowed to so remain, the law 

enforcement  agency  shall  promptly  notify  the  secretary  of  the  child's  location  and 

circumstances.

(d) Except as provided in subsections (a) and (b), a law enforcement officer may 
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temporarily detain and assume temporary custody of any child  subject to compulsory 

school attendance, pursuant to K.S.A. 72-1111, and amendments thereto, during the hours 

school  is  actually in session and  shall  deliver  the child pursuant  to  subsection (g) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2232, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 33. On January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2232 is hereby amended to 

read  as  follows:  38-2232.  (a) (1) To the  extent  possible,  when  any law enforcement 

officer takes into custody a child under the age of 18 years without a court order, the child 

shall forthwith be delivered to the custody of the child's parent or other custodian unless 

there are reasonable grounds to believe that such action would not be in the best interests 

of the child. 

(2) Except  as provided in  subsection (b),  if  the child  is  not delivered  to  the 

custody of the child's parent or other custodian, the child shall forthwith be delivered to a 

shelter  facility  designated  by  the  court,  court  services  officer,  juvenile  intake  and 

assessment worker, licensed attendant  care center or other person or, if the child is 15 

years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years of age if the child has no identifiable parental 

or family resources or shows signs of physical, mental, emotional or sexual abuse, to  a 

facility or person designated by the secretary. 

(3) If, after delivery of the child to a shelter facility, the person in charge of the 

shelter facility at that time and the law enforcement officer determine that the child will 

not  remain  in  the  shelter  facility  and  if  the  child  is  presently  alleged,  but  not  yet 

adjudicated, to be a child in need of care solely pursuant to subsection (d)(9) or (d)(10) of 
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K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto, the law enforcement officer shall 

deliver the child to a juvenile detention facility or other secure facility, designated by the 

court, where the child shall be detained for not more than 24 hours, excluding Saturdays, 

Sundays, legal holidays, and days on  which the office of the clerk of the court is not 

accessible. 

(4) No child  taken  into  custody  pursuant  to  this  code  shall  be  placed  in  a 

juvenile detention facility or other secure facility, except as authorized by this section and 

by K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2242, 38-2243 and 38-2260, and amendments thereto. 

(5) It shall be the duty of the law enforcement officer to furnish to the county or 

district attorney, without unnecessary delay, all the information  in the possession of the 

officer pertaining to the child, the child's parents or other persons interested in or likely to 

be interested in the child and all other facts and circumstances which caused the child to 

be taken into custody.

(b) (1) When  any  law  enforcement  officer  takes  into  custody  any  child  as 

provided in subsection (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2231, and  amendments thereto, 

proceedings shall be initiated in accordance with the provisions of the interstate compact 

on juveniles, K.S.A. 38-1001 et seq., and amendments thereto, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-

1008, and amendments thereto, when effective. Any child taken into custody pursuant to 

the  interstate compact on juveniles may be detained in a juvenile detention  facility or 

other secure facility.

(2) When any law enforcement officer takes into custody any child as   provided   
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in subsection (b)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2231, and    amendments thereto, the law   

enforcement officer shall place the child in   protective custody and may deliver the child   

to a staff secure facility. The    law enforcement officer shall contact the department for   

children  and    families  to  begin  an  assessment  to  determine  safety,  placement  and   

treatment  needs  for  the  child.  Such child  shall  not  be  placed  in  a  juvenile    detention   

facility or other secure facility, except as authorized by this   section and by K.S.A. 2012   

Supp. 38-2242, 38-2243 and 38-2260, and   amendments thereto.  

(c) Whenever a child under the age of 18 years is taken into custody by a law 

enforcement  officer  without  a  court  order  and  is  thereafter  placed  as  authorized  by 

subsection  (a),  the  facility  or  person  shall,  upon  written  application  of  the  law 

enforcement  officer,  have  physical  custody and provide  care  and supervision  for  the 

child. The application shall state:

(1) The name and address of the child, if known;

(2) the  names  and  addresses  of  the  child's  parents  or  nearest  relatives  and 

persons with whom the child has been residing, if known; and

(3) the officer's belief that the child is a child in need of care and that there are 

reasonable grounds to believe that the circumstances or condition of the child is such that 

the child would be harmed unless placed in the immediate custody of the shelter facility 

or other person.

(d) A copy  of  the  application  shall  be  furnished  by  the  facility  or  person 

receiving the child to the county or district attorney without unnecessary delay.
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(e) The shelter facility or other person designated by the court who has custody 

of the child  pursuant to this  section shall  discharge the child not  later  than 72 hours 

following admission, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, legal holidays, and days on which 

the office of the clerk of the court is not accessible, unless a court has entered an order 

pertaining to temporary custody or release.

(f) In absence of a court order to the contrary, the county or district attorney or 

the placing law enforcement agency shall have the authority to direct the release of the 

child at any time.

(g) When any law enforcement officer takes into custody any child as provided 

in subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2231, and amendments thereto, the child shall 

forthwith  be  delivered  to  the  school  in  which  the  child  is  enrolled,  any  location 

designated by the school in  which the child is  enrolled or the child's  parent or other 

custodian.

Sec. 34. On January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2242 is hereby amended to 

read as follows: 38-2242. (a) The court, upon verified application, may issue ex parte an 

order directing that a child be held in protective custody and, if the child has not been 

taken into custody, an order directing that the child be taken into custody. The application 

shall state for each child:

(1) The applicant's belief that the child is a child in need of care;

(2) that the child is likely to sustain harm if not immediately removed from the 

home;
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(3) that allowing the child to remain in the home is contrary to the welfare of the 

child; and

(4) the facts relied upon to support the application, including efforts known to 

the applicant to maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary removal of the child 

from the child's home, or the specific facts supporting that an emergency exists which 

threatens the safety of the child.

(b) (1) The order of protective custody may be issued only after the court has 

determined there is probable cause to believe the allegations in the application are true. 

The  order  shall  remain  in  effect  until  the  temporary custody hearing  provided  for  in 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2243, and amendments thereto,  unless earlier  rescinded by the 

court.

(2) No  child  shall  be  held  in  protective  custody  for  more  than  72  hours, 

excluding Saturdays, Sundays, legal holidays, and days on which the office of the clerk of 

the court is not accessible, unless within the 72-hour period a determination is made as to 

the necessity for temporary custody in a temporary custody hearing. The time spent in 

custody  pursuant  to  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  38-2232,  and  amendments  thereto,  shall  be 

included in calculating the 72-hour period. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed 

to mean that the child must remain in protective custody for 72 hours. If a child is in the 

protective custody of the secretary, the secretary shall allow at least one supervised visit 

between the child and the parent or parents within such time period as the child is in 

protective custody. The court may prohibit such supervised visit if the court determines it 
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is not in the best interest of the child.

(c) (1) Whenever the court determines the necessity for an order of protective 

custody, the court may place the child in the protective custody of:

(A) A parent  or  other  person  having  custody  of  the  child  and  may  enter  a 

restraining order pursuant to subsection (e);

(B) a person, other than the parent or other person having custody, who shall not 

be required to be licensed under article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, 

and amendments thereto;

(C) a youth residential facility;

(D) a shelter facility; or

(E) a staff  secure facility,  notwithstanding  any other  provision of  law,    if  the   

child has been subjected to human trafficking or aggravated human   trafficking, as defined   

by  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5426,  and  amendments    thereto,  or  commercial  sexual   

exploitation of a child, as defined by section    4, and amendments thereto, or the child   

committed an act which, if   committed by an adult, would constitute a violation of K.S.A.   

2012 Supp.   21-6419, and amendments thereto; or  

(E) (F) the secretary, if the child is 15 years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years 

of age if  the child has no identifiable parental  or family  resources or shows signs of 

physical, mental, emotional or sexual abuse.

(2) If the secretary presents the court with a plan to provide services to a child or 

family which the court finds will assure the safety of the child, the court may only place 
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the child in the protective custody of the secretary until the court finds the services are in 

place.  The court  shall  have the authority to  require  any person or  entity agreeing to 

participate in the plan to perform as set out in the plan. When the child is placed in the 

protective custody of the secretary, the secretary shall have the discretionary authority to 

place the child with a parent or to make other suitable placement for the child. When the 

child is placed in the temporary   custody of the secretary and the child has been subjected   

to human   trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, as defined by K.S.A. 2012   Supp.   

21-5426,  and  amendments  thereto,  or  commercial  sexual    exploitation  of  a  child,  as   

defined by section 4, and amendments thereto,    or the child committed an act which, if   

committed by an adult, would   constitute a violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6419, and   

amendments   thereto, the secretary shall have the discretionary authority to place the   child   

in a staff secure facility, notwithstanding any other provision of law. When the child is 

presently alleged, but not yet adjudicated, to be a child in need of care solely pursuant to 

subsection (d)(9) or (d)(10) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto, the 

child may be placed in a juvenile detention facility or other secure facility pursuant to an 

order of protective custody for a period of not to exceed 24 hours, excluding Saturdays, 

Sundays, legal holidays, and days on which the office of the  clerk of the court is not 

accessible.

(d) The order of protective custody shall be served pursuant to subsection (a) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto,  on the child's  parents and any 

other person having legal custody of the child. The order shall prohibit the removal of the 
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child from the court's jurisdiction without the court's permission.

(e) If the court issues an order of protective custody, the court may also enter an 

order restraining any alleged perpetrator of physical, sexual, mental or emotional abuse of 

the child from residing in the child's home; visiting, contacting, harassing or intimidating 

the  child,  other  family member  or  witness;  or  attempting  to  visit,  contact,  harass  or 

intimidate  the child,  other  family member or witness.  Such restraining order  shall  be 

served by personal service pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2237, and 

amendments thereto, on any alleged perpetrator to whom the order is directed.

(f)  (1) The court  shall  not  enter  the  initial  order  removing a  child  from the 

custody of a parent pursuant to this section unless the court first finds probable cause 

that:  (A) (i)  The child is likely to sustain harm if  not immediately removed from the 

home;

(ii) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; 

or

(iii) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and

(B) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent 

the unnecessary removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists 

which threatens the safety to the child.

(2) Such findings shall be included in any order entered by the court. If the child 

is  placed in  the custody of the secretary,  the court  shall  provide the secretary with a 

written copy of any orders entered upon making the order.
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Sec. 35. On January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2243 is hereby amended to 

read as follows: 38-2243. (a)  Upon notice and hearing,  the court  may issue an order 

directing  who  shall  have  temporary  custody  and  may  modify  the  order  during  the 

pendency of the proceedings as will best serve the child's welfare.

(b) A hearing pursuant to this section shall be held within 72 hours, excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, legal holidays, and days on which the office of the clerk of the court 

is not accessible, following a child having been taken into protective custody.

(c) Whenever it is determined that a temporary custody hearing is required, the 

court shall immediately set the time and place for the hearing. Notice of a temporary 

custody hearing shall be given to all parties and interested parties.

(d) Notice of the temporary custody hearing shall  be given at  least  24 hours 

prior to the hearing. The court may continue the hearing to afford the 24 hours prior 

notice or, with the consent of the party or interested party, proceed with the hearing at the 

designated time.  If  an order  of temporary custody is  entered and the parent  or other 

person having custody of the child has not been notified of the hearing, did not appear or 

waive  appearance and requests  a  rehearing,  the  court  shall  rehear  the matter  without 

unnecessary delay.

(e) Oral notice may be used for giving notice of a temporary custody hearing 

where there is insufficient time to give written notice.  Oral notice is completed upon 

filing a certificate of oral notice.

(f) The court may enter an order of temporary custody after determining there is 



-130- ccr_2013_hb2034_s_2154

probable cause to believe that the: (1) Child is dangerous to self or to others; (2) child is 

not likely to be available within the jurisdiction of the court for future proceedings; or (3) 

health or welfare of the child may be endangered without further care; (4) child has been 

subjected to human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, as    defined by K.S.A.   

2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, or    commercial sexual exploitation of a   

child, as defined by section 4, and    amendments thereto; or (5) child committed an act   

which, if committed by   an adult, would constitute a violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-  

6419, and   amendments thereto  .

(g) (1) Whenever the court determines the necessity for an order of temporary 

custody the court may place the child in the temporary custody of:

(A) A parent  or  other  person  having  custody  of  the  child  and  may  enter  a 

restraining order pursuant to subsection (h);

(B) a person, other than the parent or other person having custody, who shall not 

be required to be licensed under article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, 

and amendments thereto;

(C) a youth residential facility;

(D) a shelter facility; or

(E) a staff  secure facility,  notwithstanding  any other  provision of  law,    if  the   

child has been subjected to human trafficking or aggravated human   trafficking, as defined   

by  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5426,  and  amendments    thereto,  or  commercial  sexual   

exploitation of a child, as defined by section    4, and amendments thereto, or the child   
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committed an act which, if   committed by an adult, would constitute a violation of K.S.A.   

2012 Supp.   21-6419, and amendments thereto; or  

(E) (F) the secretary, if the child is 15 years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years 

of age if  the child has no identifiable parental  or family  resources or shows signs of 

physical, mental, emotional or sexual abuse.

(2) If the secretary presents the court with a plan to provide services to a child or 

family which the court finds will assure the safety of the child, the court may only place 

the child in the temporary custody of the secretary until the court finds the services are in 

place.  The court  shall  have the authority to  require  any person or  entity agreeing to 

participate in the plan to perform as set out in the plan. When the child is placed in the 

temporary custody of the secretary, the secretary shall have the discretionary authority to 

place the child with a parent or to make other suitable placement for the child. When the 

child is placed in the temporary   custody of the secretary and the child has been subjected   

to human   trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, as defined by K.S.A. 2012   Supp.   

21-5426,  and  amendments  thereto,  or  commercial  sexual    exploitation  of  a  child,  as   

defined by section 4, and amendments thereto,    or the child committed an act which, if   

committed by an adult, would   constitute a violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6419, and   

amendments   thereto, the secretary shall have the discretionary authority to place the   child   

in a staff secure facility, notwithstanding any other provision of law. When the child is 

presently alleged, but not yet adjudicated to be a child in need of care solely pursuant to 

subsection (d)(9) or (d)(10) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto, the 
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child may be placed in a juvenile detention facility or other secure facility, but the total 

amount of time that the child may be held in such facility under this section and K.S.A. 

2012  Supp.  38-2242,  and  amendments  thereto,  shall  not  exceed  24  hours,  excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, legal holidays, and days on which the office of the clerk of the court 

is not accessible. The order of temporary custody shall remain in effect until modified or 

rescinded by the court or  an adjudication order is entered but not exceeding 60 days, 

unless good cause is shown and stated on the record.

(h) If the court issues an order of temporary custody, the court may also enter an 

order restraining any alleged perpetrator of physical, sexual, mental or emotional abuse of 

the child from residing in the child's home; visiting, contacting, harassing or intimidating 

the  child;  or  attempting  to  visit,  contact,  harass  or  intimidate  the  child,  other  family 

members  or  witnesses.  Such  restraining  order  shall  be  served  by  personal  service 

pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto, on 

any alleged perpetrator to whom the order is directed.

(i)  (1) The court  shall  not  enter  the  initial  order  removing a  child  from the 

custody of a parent pursuant to this section unless the court first finds probable cause 

that:  (A) (i)  The child is likely to sustain harm if  not immediately removed from the 

home;

(ii) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; 

or

(iii) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and
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(B) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent 

the unnecessary removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists 

which threatens the safety to the child.

(2) Such findings shall be included in any order entered by the court. If the child 

is placed in the custody of the secretary, upon making the order the court shall provide 

the secretary with a written copy.

(j) If the court enters an order of temporary custody that provides for placement 

of the child with a person other than the parent, the court shall make a child support 

determination pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2277, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 36. On January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2255 is hereby amended to 

read as follows: 38-2255. (a) Considerations. Prior to entering an order of disposition, the 

court shall give consideration to:

(1) The child's physical, mental and emotional condition;

(2) the child's need for assistance;

(3) the  manner  in  which  the  parent  participated  in  the  abuse,  neglect  or 

abandonment of the child;

(4) any relevant information from the intake and assessment process; and

(5) the evidence received at the dispositional hearing.

(b) Custody with a parent. The court may place the child in the custody of either 

of the child's parents subject to terms and conditions which the court prescribes to assure 

the proper care and protection of the child, including, but not limited to:
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(1) Supervision of the child and the parent by a court services officer;

(2) participation by the child and the parent in available programs operated by 

an appropriate individual or agency; and

(3) any special treatment or care which the child needs for the child's physical, 

mental or emotional health and safety.

(c) Removal of a child from custody of a parent. The court shall not enter the 

initial order removing a child from the custody of a parent pursuant to this section unless 

the court first finds probable cause that: (1) (A) The child is likely to sustain harm if not 

immediately removed from the home;

(B) allowing the child to remain in home is contrary to the welfare of the child; 

or

(C) immediate placement of the child is in the best interest of the child; and

(2) reasonable efforts have been made to maintain the family unit and prevent 

the unnecessary removal of the child from the child's home or that an emergency exists 

which threatens the safety to the child.

The court shall not enter an order removing a child from the custody of a parent 

pursuant to this section based solely on the finding that the parent is homeless.

(d) Custody of a child removed from the custody of a parent. If the  court has 

made the findings required by subsection (c),  the court  shall  enter an order awarding 

custody to: A relative of the child or to a person with whom the child has close emotional 

ties who shall not be required to be licensed under article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas 
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Statutes Annotated,  and amendments thereto, to; any other suitable person, to; a shelter 

facility, to; a youth residential facility; a staff secure facility,    notwithstanding any other   

provision  of  law,  if  the  child  has  been  subjected    to  human trafficking  or  aggravated   

human trafficking, as defined by   K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto,   

or commercial    sexual exploitation of a child, as defined by section 4, and amendments   

thereto, or the child committed an act which, if committed by an adult,   would constitute a   

violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6419, and   amendments thereto;   or, if the child is 15 

years of age or younger, or 16 or 17 years of age if the child has no identifiable parental 

or family resources or shows signs of physical, mental, emotional or sexual abuse, to the 

secretary. Custody awarded under this subsection shall continue until further order of the 

court.

(1) When custody is awarded to the secretary, the secretary shall consider any 

placement  recommendation  by  the  court  and  notify  the  court  of  the  placement  or 

proposed placement of the child within 10 days  of the order awarding custody.  After 

providing the parties or interested parties notice and opportunity to be heard, the court 

may determine whether the secretary's placement or proposed placement is contrary to 

the welfare or in the best interests of the child. In making that determination the court 

shall consider the health and safety needs of the child and the resources available to meet 

the needs of children in the custody of the secretary.  If  the court  determines that the 

placement or proposed placement is contrary to the welfare or not in the best interests of 

the  child,  the  court  shall  notify  the  secretary,  who  shall  then  make  an  alternative 
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placement.

(2) The  custodian  designated  under  this  subsection  shall  notify  the  court  in 

writing at least 10 days prior to any planned placement with a parent. The written notice 

shall state the basis for the custodian's belief that placement with a parent is no longer 

contrary to the welfare or best interest of the child. Upon reviewing the notice, the court 

may allow the custodian to proceed with the planned placement or may set the date for a 

hearing to determine if  the child shall  be allowed to return home. If  the court  sets a 

hearing  on  the  matter,  the  custodian  shall  not  return  the  child  home without  written 

consent of the court.

(3) The court  may grant any person reasonable rights  to visit  the child upon 

motion of the person and a finding that the visitation rights would be in the best interests 

of the child.

(4) The court may enter an order restraining any alleged perpetrator of physical, 

mental or emotional abuse or sexual abuse of the child from residing in the child's home; 

visiting, contacting, harassing or intimidating the child, other family member or witness; 

or attempting to visit,  contact,  harass or intimidate the child, other family member or 

witness. Such restraining order shall be served by personal service pursuant to subsection 

(a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2237, and amendments thereto, on any alleged perpetrator to 

whom the order is directed.

(5) The court  shall  provide  a  copy of  any orders  entered  within  10 days  of 

entering the order to the custodian designated under this subsection.
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(e) Further determinations regarding a child removed from the home. If custody 

has been awarded under subsection (d) to a person other than a parent, a permanency plan 

shall be provided or prepared pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2264, and amendments 

thereto.  If  a  permanency plan is  provided at  the dispositional hearing,  the court  may 

determine whether reintegration is a viable alternative or, if reintegration is not a viable 

alternative, whether the child should be placed for adoption or a permanent custodian 

appointed. In determining whether reintegration is a viable alternative,  the court  shall 

consider:

(1) Whether a parent has been found by a court to have committed one of the 

following crimes or to have violated the law of another state prohibiting such crimes or to 

have aided and abetted, attempted, conspired or solicited the commission of one of these 

crimes: (A) Murder in the first degree, K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto; (B) murder in the second degree, K.S.A. 21-

3402, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto; (C) 

capital murder, K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5401, and 

amendments thereto; (D) voluntary manslaughter, K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto; or (E) a felony battery that resulted 

in bodily injury;

(2) whether  a  parent  has  subjected  the  child  or  another  child  to  aggravated 

circumstances;

(3) whether  a  parent  has  previously  been  found  to  be  an  unfit  parent  in 
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proceedings under this code or in comparable proceedings under the laws of another state 

or the federal government;

(4) whether the child has been in extended out of home placement;

(5) whether the parents have failed to work diligently toward reintegration;

(6) whether the secretary has provided the family with services necessary for the 

safe return of the child to the home; and

(7) whether it is reasonable to expect reintegration to occur within a time frame 

consistent with the child's developmental needs.

(f) Proceedings  if  reintegration  is  not  a  viable  alternative. If  the  court 

determines that reintegration is not a viable alternative, proceedings to terminate parental 

rights  and permit placement of the child for adoption or appointment of a permanent 

custodian  shall  be initiated  unless  the  court  finds  that  compelling  reasons  have  been 

documented in  the case plan why adoption or appointment of a permanent custodian 

would not  be in  the  best  interests  of  the child.  If  compelling  reasons  have not  been 

documented, the county or district attorney shall file a motion within 30 days to terminate 

parental rights or a motion to appoint a permanent custodian within 30 days and the court 

shall hold a hearing on the motion within 90 days of its filing. No hearing is required 

when the parents voluntarily relinquish parental rights or consent to the appointment of a 

permanent custodian.

(g) Additional Orders. In addition to or in lieu of any other order authorized by 

this section:
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(1) The court may order the child and the parents of any child who has been 

adjudicated a child in need of care to attend counseling sessions as the court directs. The 

expense of the counseling may be assessed as an expense in the case. No mental health 

provider shall charge a greater fee for court-ordered counseling than the provider would 

have charged to the person receiving counseling if the person had requested counseling 

on the person's own initiative.

(2) If the court  has reason to believe that a child is  before the court  due,  in 

whole or in part, to the use or misuse of alcohol or a violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5701 through 21-5717, and amendments thereto, by the child, a parent of the child, or 

another person responsible for the care of the child, the court may order the child, parent 

of the child or other person responsible for the care of the child to submit to and complete 

an alcohol and drug evaluation by a qualified person or agency and comply with any 

recommendations. If the evaluation is performed by a community-based alcohol and drug 

safety program certified pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1008, and amendments thereto, the child, 

parent of the child or other person responsible for the care of the child shall pay a fee not 

to exceed the fee established by that statute. If the court finds that the child and those 

legally liable for the child's support are indigent, the fee may be waived. In no event shall 

the fee be assessed against the secretary.

(3) If child support has been requested and the parent or parents have a duty to 

support the child, the court may order one or both parents to pay child support and, when 

custody is awarded to the secretary, the court shall order one or both parents to pay child 
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support.  The  court  shall  determine,  for  each  parent  separately,  whether  the  parent  is 

already subject to an order to pay support for the child. If the parent is not presently 

ordered to pay support for any child who is subject to the jurisdiction of the court and the 

court has personal jurisdiction over the parent, the court shall order the parent to pay 

child  support  in  an  amount  determined  under  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  38-2277,  and 

amendments thereto. Except for good cause shown, the court shall issue an immediate 

income  withholding  order  pursuant  to  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  23-3101  et  seq.,  and 

amendments  thereto,  for  each  parent  ordered  to  pay  support  under  this  subsection, 

regardless of whether a payor has been identified for the parent. A parent ordered to pay 

child support under this subsection shall be notified, at the hearing or otherwise, that the 

child  support  order  may be  registered  pursuant  to  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  38-2279,  and 

amendments thereto. The parent shall also be informed that, after registration, the income 

withholding order may be served on the parent's employer without further notice to the 

parent  and the  child  support  order  may be enforced  by any method allowed by law. 

Failure to provide this notice shall not affect the validity of the child support order.

Sec. 37. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2312 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-

2312. (a) Except as provided in subsection (b) and (c), any records or files specified in 

this code concerning a juvenile may be expunged upon application to a judge of the court 

of  the  county  in  which  the  records  or  files  are  maintained.  The  application  for 

expungement may be made by the juvenile, if 18 years of age or older or, if the juvenile 

is less than 18 years of age, by the juvenile's parent or next friend.
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(b) There  shall  be  no  expungement  of  records  or  files  concerning  acts 

committed by a juvenile which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a violation of 

K.S.A.  21-3401,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or  K.S.A. 2012 Supp.  21-5402,  and amendments 

thereto, murder in the first degree; K.S.A. 21-3402,  prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto, murder in the second degree; K.S.A. 21-3403, 

prior to its repeal,  or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto, voluntary 

manslaughter; K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp.  21-5405, and 

amendments thereto, involuntary manslaughter; K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments  thereto, capital murder; K.S.A. 21-3442, 

prior to its repeal, or subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5405, and amendments 

thereto, involuntary manslaughter while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs; 

K.S.A.  21-3502,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or  K.S.A. 2012 Supp.  21-5503,  and amendments 

thereto, rape; K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-5506, and amendments thereto, indecent liberties with a child; K.S.A. 21-3504, prior 

to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto, 

aggravated  indecent  liberties  with  a  child;  K.S.A.  21-3506,  prior  to  its  repeal,  or 

subsection  (b)  of  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5504,  and  amendments  thereto,  aggravated 

criminal sodomy; K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its repeal,  or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto, indecent solicitation of a child; K.S.A. 21-3511, 

prior to its repeal, or  subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments 

thereto, aggravated indecent solicitation of a child; K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or 
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K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5510,  and amendments  thereto,  sexual  exploitation of  a  child; 

K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5604, and 

amendments thereto, aggravated incest; K.S.A. 21-3608, prior to its repeal, or subsection 

(a) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5601, and amendments thereto, endangering a child; K.S.A. 

21-3609, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5602, and amendments  thereto, 

abuse of a child; or which would constitute an attempt to commit a violation of any of the 

offenses specified in this subsection.

(c) Notwithstanding  any  other  law  to  the  contrary,  for  any  offender  who  is 

required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et 

seq., and amendments thereto, there shall be no expungement of any conviction or any 

part  of  the  offender’s  criminal  record  while  the  offender  is  required  to  register  as 

provided in the Kansas offender registration act.

(d) When a petition for expungement is filed, the court shall set a date for a 

hearing on the petition and shall give notice thereof to the county or district attorney. The 

petition shall  state:  (1) The juvenile's  full  name; (2) the full  name of the juvenile  as 

reflected in the court record, if different than (1); (3) the juvenile's sex and date of birth; 

(4) the offense for which the juvenile was adjudicated; (5) the date of the trial; and (6) the 

identity  of  the  trial  court.  Except  as  otherwise  provided  by  law,  a  petition  for 

expungement shall be accompanied by a docket fee in the amount of $100. On and after 

the effective date of this act through June 30, 2013, the supreme court may impose a 

charge,  not  to  exceed  $19 per  case,  to  fund the  costs  of  non-judicial  personnel.  All 
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petitions for expungement shall be docketed in the original action. Any person who may 

have relevant information about the petitioner may testify at the hearing. The court may 

inquire into the background of the petitioner.

(e) (1) After hearing, the court shall order the expungement of the records and 

files if the court finds that:

(A) (i) The juvenile has reached 23 years of age or that two years have elapsed 

since the final discharge; or

(ii) one year has elapsed since the final discharge for an adjudication   concerning   

acts  committed  by  a  juvenile  which,  if  committed  by  an  adult,    would  constitute  a   

violation of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6419, and   amendments thereto;  

(B) since the final discharge of the juvenile, the juvenile has not been convicted 

of a felony or of a misdemeanor other than a traffic offense or adjudicated as a juvenile 

offender under the revised Kansas juvenile justice code and no proceedings are pending 

seeking such a conviction or adjudication; and

(C) the circumstances and behavior of the petitioner warrant expungement.

(2) The court may require that all court costs, fees and restitution shall be paid.

(f) Upon entry of an order expunging records or files,  the offense which the 

records  or  files  concern  shall  be  treated  as  if  it  never  occurred,  except  that  upon 

conviction of a crime or adjudication in a subsequent action under this code the offense 

may be considered in determining the sentence to be imposed. The petitioner, the court 

and all  law enforcement officers and other  public offices and agencies shall  properly 
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reply on inquiry that no record or file exists with respect to the juvenile. Inspection of the 

expunged files or records thereafter may be permitted by order of the court upon petition 

by the person who is the subject thereof. The inspection shall be limited to inspection by 

the person who is the subject of the files or records and the person's designees.

(g) A certified copy of any order made pursuant to subsection (a) or (d) shall be 

sent to the Kansas bureau of investigation, which shall notify every juvenile or criminal 

justice agency which may possess records or files ordered to be expunged. If the agency 

fails to comply with the order within a reasonable time after its receipt, such agency may 

be adjudged in contempt of court and punished accordingly.

(h) The court  shall  inform any juvenile who has been adjudicated a juvenile 

offender of the provisions of this section.

(i) Nothing  in  this  section  shall  be construed  to  prohibit  the maintenance  of 

information relating to an offense after records or files concerning the offense have been 

expunged if the information is kept in a manner that does not enable identification of the 

juvenile.

(j) Nothing in this section shall be construed to permit or require expungement 

of  files  or  records  related to  a  child  support  order  registered pursuant  to  the revised 

Kansas juvenile justice code.

(k) Whenever the records or files of any adjudication have been expunged under 

the provisions of this section, the custodian of the records or files of adjudication relating 

to  that  offense shall  not  disclose the existence of such records or  files,  except  when 
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requested by:

(1) The person whose record was expunged;

(2) a private detective agency or a private patrol operator,  and the request is 

accompanied  by  a  statement  that  the  request  is  being  made  in  conjunction  with  an 

application for employment with such agency or operator by the person whose record has 

been expunged;

(3) a court,  upon a showing of a subsequent conviction of the person whose 

record has been expunged;

(4) the secretary of social and rehabilitation services the department   for children   

and families,  or  a designee of the secretary,  for the purpose of  obtaining information 

relating to employment in an institution, as defined in K.S.A. 76-12a01, and amendments 

thereto, of the department of social and rehabilitation services for children and families of 

any person whose record has been expunged;

(5) a  person  entitled  to  such  information  pursuant  to  the  terms  of  the 

expungement order;

(6) the Kansas lottery, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the 

request  is  being  made  to  aid  in  determining  qualifications  for  employment  with  the 

Kansas  lottery  or  for  work  in  sensitive  areas  within  the  Kansas  lottery  as  deemed 

appropriate by the executive director of the Kansas lottery;

(7) the  governor  or  the  Kansas  racing  commission,  or  a  designee  of  the 

commission,  and the request  is  accompanied by a  statement that  the request is  being 
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made to aid in determining qualifications for executive director of the commission, for 

employment with the commission, for work in sensitive areas in parimutuel racing as 

deemed appropriate by the executive director of the commission or for licensure, renewal 

of licensure or continued licensure by the commission;

(8) the Kansas sentencing commission; or

(9) the Kansas bureau of investigation, for the purposes of:

(A) Completing a person's criminal history record information within the central 

repository in accordance with K.S.A. 22-4701 et seq., and amendments thereto; or

(B) providing  information  or  documentation  to  the  federal  bureau  of 

investigation, in connection with the national instant criminal background check system, 

to determine a person's qualification to possess a firearm.

(l) The provisions of subsection (k)(9) shall apply to all records created prior to, 

on and after July 1, 2011.

Sec. 38. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2361 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-

2361. (a) Upon adjudication as a juvenile offender pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-

2356, and amendments thereto, modification of sentence pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

38-2367, and amendments thereto, or violation of a condition of sentence pursuant to 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2368, and amendments thereto, and subject to subsection (a) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2365, and amendments thereto, the court may impose one or more 

of  the  following  sentencing  alternatives.  In  the  event  that  any  sentencing  alternative 

chosen constitutes an order authorizing or requiring removal of the juvenile from the 
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juvenile's home and such findings either have not previously been made or the findings 

are not or may no longer be current, the court shall make determinations as required by 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2334 and 38-2335, and amendments thereto.

(1) Place  the  juvenile  on  probation  through  court  services  or  community 

corrections for a fixed period, subject to terms and conditions the court deems appropriate 

consistent with juvenile justice programs in the community.

(2) Order the juvenile to participate in a community based program available in 

such judicial district subject to the terms and conditions the court deems appropriate. This 

alternative shall not be ordered with the alternative in paragraph (12) and when ordered 

with the alternative in paragraph (10) shall constitute a recommendation. Requirements 

pertaining to child support may apply if custody is vested with other than a parent.

(3) Place the juvenile in the custody of a parent or other suitable person, subject 

to terms and conditions consistent with juvenile justice programs in the community. This 

alternative  shall  not  be  ordered  with  the  alternative  in  paragraph  (10)  or  (12). 

Requirements pertaining to child support may apply if custody is vested with other than a 

parent.

(4) Order  the  juvenile  to  attend  counseling,  educational,  mediation  or  other 

sessions, or to undergo a drug evaluation pursuant to subsection (b).

(5) Suspend or restrict the juvenile's driver's license or privilege to operate a 

motor vehicle on the streets and highways of this state pursuant to subsection (c).

(6) Order the juvenile to perform charitable or community service work.
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(7) Order the juvenile to make appropriate reparation or restitution pursuant to 

subsection (d).

(8) Order the juvenile to pay a fine not exceeding $1,000 pursuant to subsection 

(e).

(9) Place the juvenile under a house arrest program administered by the court 

pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6609, and amendments thereto.

(10) Place the juvenile in the custody of the commissioner as provided in K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 38-2365, and amendments thereto. This alternative shall not be ordered with 

the  alternative  in  paragraph  (3)  or  (12).  Except  for  a  mandatory  drug  and  alcohol 

evaluation, when this alternative is ordered with alternatives in paragraphs (2), (4) and 

(9), such orders shall constitute a recommendation by the court. Requirements pertaining 

to child support shall apply under this alternative.

(11) Commit the juvenile to a sanctions house for a period no longer than 28 

days subject to the provisions of subsection (f).

(12) Commit  the  juvenile  directly  to  the  custody of  the  commissioner  for  a 

period of confinement in a juvenile correctional facility and a period of aftercare pursuant 

to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2369, and amendments thereto. The provisions of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 38-2365, and amendments thereto, shall not apply to juveniles committed pursuant 

to this provision, provided however, that 21 days prior to the juvenile's release from a 

juvenile correctional facility, the commissioner or designee shall notify the court of the 

juvenile's anticipated release date. The court shall set and hold a permanency hearing 
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pursuant to K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2365, and amendments thereto, within seven days after 

the juvenile's release. This alternative may be ordered with the alternative in paragraph 

(7). Requirements pertaining to child support shall apply under this alternative.

(b) If the court orders the juvenile to attend counseling, educational, mediation 

or other sessions, or to undergo a drug and alcohol evaluation pursuant to subsection (a)

(4), the following provisions apply:

(1) The court  may order the juvenile offender to participate in counseling or 

mediation  sessions  or  a  program of  education,  including  placement  in  an  alternative 

educational program approved by a local school board. The costs of any counseling or 

mediation may be assessed as expenses in the case. No mental health center shall charge 

a fee for court-ordered counseling greater than what the center would have charged the 

person receiving the counseling if the person had requested counseling on the person's 

own initiative. No mediator shall charge a fee for court-ordered mediation greater than 

what the mediator would have charged the person participating in the mediation if the 

person had requested mediation on the person's own initiative. Mediation may include the 

victim but shall not be mandatory for the victim; and

(2) if the juvenile has been adjudicated to be a juvenile by reason of a violation 

of a statute that makes such a requirement, the court shall order  and, if adjudicated for 

any other offense, the court may order the juvenile to submit to and complete a drug and 

alcohol  evaluation  by  a  community-based  drug  and  alcohol  safety  action  program 

certified pursuant to K.S.A.  8-1008, and amendments thereto, and to pay a fee not to 
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exceed the fee established by that statute for such evaluation. The court may waive the 

mandatory evaluation if the court finds that the juvenile completed a drug  and alcohol 

evaluation, approved by the community-based alcohol and  drug safety action program, 

within 12 months before sentencing.  If  the  evaluation occurred more than 12 months 

before sentencing,  the court  shall  order  the juvenile  to  resubmit  to  and complete  the 

evaluation and program as provided herein. If the court finds that the juvenile and those 

legally liable for the juvenile's support are indigent, the court may waive the fee. In no 

event shall the fee be assessed against the commissioner or the juvenile justice authority 

nor shall the fee be assessed against the secretary of social and rehabilitation services the 

department  for  children    and  families   or  the  department  of  social  and  rehabilitation 

services for    children and families   if the juvenile is in the secretary's care, custody and 

control.

(c) If the court orders suspension or restriction of a juvenile offender's driver's 

license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the streets and highways of this state 

pursuant to subsection (a)(5), the following provisions apply:

(1) The duration of the suspension ordered by the court shall be for a definite 

time period to be determined by the court. Upon suspension of a license pursuant to this 

subsection, the court shall require the juvenile offender to surrender the license to the 

court.  The  court  shall  transmit  the  license  to  the  division  of  motor  vehicles  of  the 

department of revenue, to be retained until the period of suspension expires. At that time, 

the licensee may apply to the division for return of the license. If the license has expired, 
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the juvenile offender may apply for a new license, which shall be issued promptly upon 

payment of the proper fee and satisfaction of other conditions established by law for 

obtaining a license unless another  suspension or revocation of the juvenile  offender's 

privilege to operate a motor vehicle is in effect. As used in this subsection, "highway" and 

"street"  have the meanings  provided by K.S.A. 8-1424 and 8-1473,  and amendments 

thereto. Any juvenile offender who does not have a driver's license may have driving 

privileges  revoked.  No Kansas  driver's  license  shall  be  issued  to  a  juvenile  offender 

whose driving privileges have been revoked pursuant to this section for a definite time 

period to be determined by the court; and

(2) in lieu of suspending a  juvenile offender's  driver's  license or privilege to 

operate a motor vehicle on the highways of this state, the court may enter an order which 

places conditions on the juvenile offender's privilege of operating a motor vehicle on the 

streets and highways of this state, a certified copy of which the juvenile offender shall be 

required to carry any time the juvenile offender is operating a motor vehicle on the streets 

and  highways  of  this  state.  The  order  shall  prescribe  a  definite  time  period  for  the 

conditions imposed. Upon entering an order restricting a juvenile offender's license, the 

court shall require the juvenile offender to surrender such juvenile offender's license to 

the court. The court shall transmit the license to the division of vehicles, together with a 

copy of the order. Upon receipt thereof, the division of vehicles shall issue without charge 

a driver's license which shall indicate on its face that conditions have been imposed on 

the juvenile offender's privilege of operating a motor vehicle and that a certified copy of 
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the order imposing the conditions is required to be carried by the juvenile offender when 

operating  a  motor  vehicle  on  the  streets  and  highways  of  this  state.  If  the  juvenile 

offender is a nonresident, the court shall cause a copy of the order to be transmitted to the 

division and the division shall forward a copy of it to the motor vehicle administrator of 

the juvenile offender's state of issuance. The court shall furnish to any juvenile offender 

whose driver's license has had conditions imposed on it under this section a copy of the 

order,  which  shall  be recognized as  a  valid  Kansas  driver's  license  until  the division 

issues the restricted license provided for in this subsection. Upon expiration of the period 

of  time  for  which  conditions  are  imposed  pursuant  to  this  subsection,  the  juvenile 

offender may apply to the division for the return of the license previously surrendered by 

the juvenile offender.  In the event  the license has expired,  the juvenile offender may 

apply to the division for a new license, which shall be issued immediately by the division 

upon payment of the proper fee and satisfaction of the other conditions established by law 

unless such juvenile offender's privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the streets and 

highways  of  this  state  has  been  suspended  or  revoked  prior  thereto.  If  any  juvenile 

offender  violates  any  of  the  conditions  imposed  under  this  subsection,  the  juvenile 

offender's  driver's  license  or  privilege  to  operate  a  motor  vehicle  on  the  streets  and 

highways of this state shall be revoked for a period as determined by the court in which 

the juvenile offender is convicted of violating such conditions.

(d) The following provisions apply to the court's determination of whether to 

order reparation or restitution pursuant to subsection (a)(7):
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(1) The court shall order the juvenile to make reparation or restitution to the 

aggrieved party for the damage or loss caused by the juvenile offender's offense unless it 

finds  compelling  circumstances  that  would  render  a  plan  of  reparation  or  restitution 

unworkable.  If  the court  finds compelling circumstances  that  would render  a  plan of 

reparation or restitution unworkable, the court shall enter such findings with particularity 

on the record. In lieu of reparation or restitution, the court may order the juvenile to 

perform  charitable  or  social  service  for  organizations  performing  services  for  the 

community; and

(2) restitution may include, but shall not be limited to, the amount of damage or 

loss caused by the juvenile's offense. Restitution may be made by payment of an amount 

fixed by the court or by working for the parties sustaining loss in the manner ordered by 

the court. An order of monetary restitution shall be a judgment against the juvenile that 

may be collected by the court by garnishment or other execution as on judgments in civil 

cases. Such judgment shall not be affected by the termination of the court's jurisdiction 

over the juvenile offender.

(e) If  the  court  imposes  a  fine  pursuant  to  subsection  (a)(8),  the  following 

provisions apply:

(1) The amount of the fine may not exceed $1,000 for each offense. The amount 

of the fine should be related to the seriousness of the offense and the juvenile's ability to 

pay. Payment of a fine may be required in a lump sum or installments;

(2) in determining whether to impose a fine and the amount to be imposed, the 
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court  shall  consider  that  imposition of  a  fine is  most  appropriate  in  cases  where the 

juvenile has derived pecuniary gain from the offense and that imposition of a restitution 

order is preferable to imposition of a fine; and

(3) any fine imposed by court shall be a judgment against the juvenile that may 

be collected by the court  by garnishment or other execution as on judgments in civil 

cases. Such judgment shall not be affected by the termination of the court's jurisdiction 

over the juvenile.

(f) If the court commits the juvenile to a sanctions house pursuant to subsection 

(a)(11), the following provisions shall apply:

(1) The court may order commitment for up to 28 days for the same offense or 

violation of sentencing condition. The court shall review the commitment every seven 

days and, may shorten the initial commitment or, if the initial term is less than 28 days, 

may extend the commitment;

(2) if, in the sentencing order, the court orders a sanctions house placement for a 

verifiable  probation  violation  and  such  probation  violation  occurs,  the  juvenile  may 

immediately be taken to  a  sanctions  house and detained  for  no more  than  48 hours, 

excluding Saturdays, Sundays, holidays, and days on which the office of the clerk of the 

court is not accessible, prior to court review of the placement. The court and all parties 

shall be notified of the sanctions house placement; and

(3) a juvenile over 18 years of age and less than 23 years of age at sentencing 

shall be committed to a county jail, in lieu of a sanctions house, under the same time 
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restrictions imposed by paragraph (1), but shall not be committed to or confined in a 

juvenile detention facility.

(g) Any order  issued by the judge pursuant  to this  section shall  be in  effect 

immediately upon entry into the court's minutes.

(h) In  addition  to  the  requirements  of  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  38-2373,  and 

amendments thereto, if a person is under 18 years of age and convicted of a felony or 

adjudicated  as  a  juvenile  offender  for  an  offense  if  committed  by  an  adult  would 

constitute the commission of a felony, the court shall forward a signed copy of the journal 

entry to the commissioner within 30 days of final disposition.

(i) Except as further provided, if a juvenile has been adjudged to be a juvenile 

offender for an offense that if committed by an adult would constitute the commission of: 

(1) Aggravated human trafficking, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5426, and amendments thereto,  if the victim is less than 14 years of age; (2) rape, as 

defined in subsection (a)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto; (3) 

aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in subsection (b)(3) of K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto; (4) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in 

subsection (b)(1) or (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto; (5) 

promoting  prostitution,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6420,  and  amendments 

thereto, if the prostitute commercial sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in section   4,   

and amendments thereto, if the victim is less than 14 years of age; (6) sexual exploitation 

of a child, as defined in subsection (a)(1) or (a)(4) of  K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5510, and 
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amendments  thereto,  if  the  victim  is  less  than  14  years  of  age;  or  (7)  an  attempt, 

conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 or 

21-5303, and  amendments thereto,  of an offense defined in parts  (1) through (6);  the 

court shall issue an order prohibiting the juvenile from attending the  attendance center 

that the victim of the offense attends. If only one attendance center exists, for which the 

victim and juvenile are eligible to attend, in the school district where the victim and the 

juvenile reside, the  court shall  hear testimony and take evidence from the victim, the 

juvenile,  their families and a representative of the school district as to why the juvenile 

should or should not be allowed to remain at the attendance center attended by the victim. 

After such hearing, the court may issue an order prohibiting the juvenile from attending 

the attendance center that the victim of the offense attends.

(j) The sentencing hearing shall  be open to the public as provided in K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 38-2353, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 39. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-

311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the liquor control act to a 

person:

(1) Who has not been a citizen of the United States for at least 10 years, except 

that  the  spouse  of  a  deceased  retail  licensee  may receive  and  renew a  retail  license 

notwithstanding  the  provisions  of  this  subsection  (a)(1)  if  such  spouse  is  otherwise 

qualified to hold a retail license and is a United States citizen or becomes a United States 

citizen within one year after the deceased licensee's death;
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(2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other 

state or the United States;

(3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of the liquor 

control act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration act or who has had any 

license issued under the cereal malt beverage laws of any state revoked for cause except 

that a license may be issued to a person whose license was revoked for the conviction of 

a  misdemeanor  at  any  time  after  the  lapse  of  10  years  following  the  date  of  the 

revocation;

(4) who  has  been  convicted  of  being  the  keeper  or  is  keeping  a  house  of 

prostitution any property, whether real or personal, where sexual   relations are being sold   

or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of   age or older   or has forfeited bond to 

appear  in  court  to  answer  charges  of  being  a  keeper  of  a  house  of  prostitution any 

property, whether real or    personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for   

sale by a   person who is 18 years of age or older  ;

(5) who  has  been  convicted  of  being  a  proprietor  of  a  gambling  house, 

pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to 

appear in court to answer charges for any of those crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7) who, other than as a member of the governing body of a city or county, 

appoints or supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law enforcement official or 

who is an employee of the director;
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(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as agent of 

another;

(9) who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued under this 

act would not be eligible for the license upon a first application, except as provided by 

subsection (a)(12);

(10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under article 27 of 

chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments   thereto,   unless the person 

agrees to and does surrender the license to the officer issuing the same upon the issuance 

to the person of a license under this act, except that a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 

41-2702, and amendments thereto, shall be eligible to receive a retailer's license under the 

Kansas liquor control act;

(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or does not, at 

the time of application, have a written lease thereon;

(12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any 

reason other than citizenship, residence requirements or age, except that this subsection 

(a)(12) shall not apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license;

(13) whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime which would 

disqualify a person from licensure under this section and such felony or other crime was 

committed during the time that the spouse held a license under this act; or

(14) who does not provide any data or information required by K.S.A. 2012 

Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto.
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(b) No retailer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) a person who has not been a resident of this state for at  least four years 

immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, distributor, farm 

winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except that the spouse of an applicant for 

a retailer's license may own and hold a farm winery license, microbrewery license, or 

both, if the spouse does not hold a retailer's license issued under this act;

(4) a  person  who  has  a  beneficial  interest  in  any  other  retail  establishment 

licensed under this act, except that the spouse of a licensee may own and hold a retailer's 

license for another retail establishment;

(5) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) a corporation; or

(7) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a 

license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall 

not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(c) No manufacturer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any stockholder owning 

in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to 

receive  a  manufacturer's  license  for  any  reason  other  than  citizenship  and  residence 

requirements;



-160- ccr_2013_hb2034_s_2154

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have been residents of this 

state for at least five years immediately preceding the date of application and unless all 

the members of the copartnership would be eligible to receive a manufacturer's license 

under this act;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a 

license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall 

not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license;

(4) an individual who is not a resident of this state;

(5) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for at least five years 

immediately preceding the date of application; or

(6) a person who has a beneficial interest in a distributor, retailer, farm winery or 

microbrewery  licensed  under  this  act,  except  as  provided  in  K.S.A.  41-305,  and 

amendments thereto.

(d) No distributor's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation,  if  any  officer,  director  or  stockholder  of  the  corporation 

would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for any reason. It shall be unlawful 

for any stockholder of a corporation licensed as a distributor to transfer any stock in the 

corporation to any person who would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for 

any  reason,  and  any  such  transfer  shall  be  null  and  void,  except  that:  (A)  If  any 

stockholder owning stock in the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to whom stock of 

the corporation descends by descent and distribution or by will is ineligible to receive a 
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distributor's license, the legal representatives of the deceased stockholder's estate and the 

ineligible  heir  or  devisee  shall  have  14  months  from  the  date  of  the  death  of  the 

stockholder within which to sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's 

license,  any  such  sale  by  a  legal  representative  to  be  made  in  accordance  with  the 

provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any such corporation is the subject of 

any trust and any trustee or beneficiary of the trust who is 21 years of age or older is 

ineligible  to  receive  a  distributor's  license,  the  trustee,  within  14  months  after  the 

effective date of the trust, shall sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's 

license and hold and disburse the proceeds in accordance with the terms of the trust. If 

any legal representatives,  heirs,  devisees or trustees fail,  refuse or neglect to sell  any 

stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall revert to and become the property of 

the corporation, and the corporation shall pay to the legal representatives, heirs, devisees 

or trustees the book value of the stock. During the period of 14 months prescribed by this 

subsection,  the  corporation  shall  not  be  denied  a  distributor's  license  or  have  its 

distributor's  license  revoked  if  the  corporation  meets  all  of  the  other  requirements 

necessary to have a distributor's license;

(2) a  copartnership,  unless  all  of  the  copartners  are  eligible  to  receive  a 

distributor's license;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a 

license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall 

not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license; or
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(4) a  person  who  has  a  beneficial  interest  in  a  manufacturer,  retailer,  farm 

winery or microbrewery licensed under this act.

(e) No nonbeverage user's license shall be issued to a corporation, if any officer, 

manager or director of the corporation or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more 

than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage 

user's license for any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements.

(f) No microbrewery license, microdistillery license or farm winery license shall 

be issued to a:

(1) Person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) person  who  has  not  been  a  resident  of  this  state  for  at  least  one  year 

immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer or distributor licensed 

under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto;

(4) person, copartnership or association which has a beneficial interest in any 

retailer licensed under this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, except 

that the spouse of an applicant for a microbrewery or farm winery license may own and 

hold a retailer's license if the spouse does not hold a microbrewery or farm winery license 

issued under this act;

(5) copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) corporation, unless stockholders owning in the aggregate 50% or more of the 

stock  of  the  corporation  would  be  eligible  to  receive  such  license  and  all  other 
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stockholders would be eligible to receive such license except for reason of citizenship or 

residency; or

(7) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a 

license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall 

not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(g) The provisions of subsections (b)(1), (b)(2), (c)(3), (c)(4), (d)(3), (f)(1), (f)

(2)  and  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  41-311b,  and  amendments  thereto,  shall  not  apply  in 

determining eligibility for the 10th, or a subsequent, consecutive renewal of a license if 

the applicant has appointed a citizen of the United States who is a resident of Kansas as 

the  applicant's  agent  and filed  with  the  director  a  duly authenticated  copy of  a  duly 

executed power of attorney, authorizing the agent to accept service of process from the 

director  and  the  courts  of  this  state  and  to  exercise  full  authority,  control  and 

responsibility for the conduct of all business and transactions within the state relative to 

alcoholic  liquor  and  the  business  licensed.  The  agent  must  be  satisfactory  to  and 

approved by the director, except that the director shall not approve as an agent any person 

who:

(1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or 

the United States;

(2) has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage 

laws of this or any other state revoked for cause, except that a person may be appointed 

as an agent if the person's license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 
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10 years have lapsed since the date of the revocation;

(3) has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house of prostitution 

any property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations   are being sold or offered   

for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or    older   or has forfeited bond to appear in 

court to answer charges of being a keeper of a house of prostitution any property, whether 

real or personal,   where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who   

is 18 years of age or older;

(4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or 

any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court 

to answer charges for any of those crimes; or

(5) is less than 21 years of age.

Sec. 40. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 41-2601 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-

2601. As used in the club and drinking establishment act:

(a) The following terms shall have the meanings provided by K.S.A. 41-102, 

and amendments thereto: (1) "Alcoholic liquor"; (2) "director"; (3) "original package"; 

(4) "person"; (5) "sale"; and (6) "to sell."

(b) "Beneficial  interest"  shall  not  include  any interest  a  person may have as 

owner, operator, lessee or franchise holder of a licensed hotel or motel on the premises of 

which a club or drinking establishment is located.

(c) "Caterer"  means  an  individual,  partnership  or  corporation  which  sells 

alcoholic  liquor  by the  individual  drink,  and  provides  services  related  to  the  serving 
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thereof, on unlicensed premises which may be open to the public, but does not include a 

holder of a temporary permit, selling alcoholic liquor in accordance with the terms of 

such permit.

(d) "Cereal malt beverage" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2701, and 

amendments thereto.

(e) "Class A club" means a premises which is owned or leased by a corporation, 

partnership, business trust or association and which is operated thereby as a  bona fide 

nonprofit social,  fraternal or war veterans' club, as determined by the director, for the 

exclusive use of  the corporate  stockholders,  partners,  trust  beneficiaries  or  associates 

(hereinafter referred to as members) and their families and guests accompanying them.

(f) "Class  B  club"  means  a  premises  operated  for  profit  by  a  corporation, 

partnership or individual, to which members of such club may resort for the consumption 

of food or alcoholic beverages and for entertainment.

(g) "Club" means a class A or class B club.

(h) "Drinking establishment" means premises which may be open to the general 

public,  where alcoholic liquor by the individual drink is  sold.  Drinking establishment 

includes a railway car.

(i) "Food" means any raw, cooked or processed edible substance or ingredient, 

other than alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, used or intended for use or for sale, in 

whole or in part, for human consumption.

(j) "Food service establishment" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 36-501, 
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and amendments thereto.

(k) "Hotel"  has  the  meaning  provided  by  K.S.A.  36-501,  and  amendments 

thereto.

(l) "Individual  drink" means a beverage containing alcoholic  liquor  or cereal 

malt  beverage served to an individual for consumption by such individual or another 

individual, but which is not intended to be consumed by two or more individuals. The 

term "individual drink" includes beverages containing not more than: (1) Eight ounces of 

wine; (2) thirty-two ounces of beer or cereal malt beverage; or (3) four ounces of a single 

spirit or a combination of spirits.

(m) "Minibar"  means a  closed cabinet,  whether  nonrefrigerated or  wholly or 

partially refrigerated, access to the interior of which is restricted by means of a locking 

device which requires the use of a key, magnetic card or similar device.

(n) "Minor" means a person under 21 years of age.

(o) "Morals charge" means a  charge involving  prostitution the sale of    sexual   

relations;  procuring  any person;  soliciting  of  a  child  under  18  years  of  age  for  any 

immoral act involving sex; possession or sale of narcotics,  marijuana, amphetamines or 

barbiturates; rape; incest; gambling; illegal  cohabitation; adultery; bigamy; or a crime 

against nature.

(p) "Municipal corporation" means the governing body of any county or city.

(q) "Public venue" means an arena, stadium, hall or theater, used primarily for 

athletic or sporting events, live concerts, live theatrical productions or similar seasonal 
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entertainment events, not operated on a daily basis, and containing:

(1) Not less than 4,000 permanent seats; and

(2) not less than two private suites, which are enclosed or semi-enclosed seating 

areas,  having  controlled  access  and separated  from the  general  admission areas  by a 

permanent barrier.

(r) "Railway  car"  means  a  locomotive  drawn  conveyance  used  for  the 

transportation and accommodation of human passengers that is confined to a fixed rail 

route and which derives from sales of food for consumption on the railway car not less 

than 30% of its gross receipts from all sales of food and beverages in a 12-month period.

(s) "Restaurant" means:

(1) In  the  case  of  a  club,  a  licensed  food  service  establishment  which,  as 

determined by the director, derives from sales of food for consumption on the licensed 

club premises not less than 50% of its gross receipts from all sales of food and beverages 

on such premises in a 12-month period;

(2) in the case of a drinking establishment subject to a food sales requirement 

under K.S.A. 41-2642, and amendments thereto, a licensed food service establishment 

which, as determined by the director, derives from sales of food for consumption on the 

licensed drinking establishment premises not less than 30% of its gross receipts from all 

sales of food and beverages on such premises in a 12-month period; and

(3) in the case of a drinking establishment subject to no food sales requirement 

under K.S.A. 41-2642, and amendments thereto, a licensed food service establishment.
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(t) "RV resort" means premises where a place to park recreational vehicles, as 

defined  in  K.S.A.  75-1212,  and amendments  thereto,  is  offered  for  pay,  primarily to 

transient guests, for overnight or longer use while such recreational vehicles are used as 

sleeping or living accommodations.

(u) "Secretary" means the secretary of revenue.

(v) "Temporary permit" means a temporary permit issued pursuant to K.S.A. 41-

2645, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 41. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 60-4104 is hereby amended to read as follows: 60-

4104. Conduct and offenses giving rise to forfeiture under this act, whether or not there is 

a prosecution or conviction related to the offense, are:

(a) All offenses which statutorily and specifically authorize forfeiture;

(b) violations  involving  controlled  substances,  as  described  in  K.S.A.  2012 

Supp. 21-5701 through 21-5717, and amendments thereto;

(c) theft, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto;

(d) criminal discharge of a firearm, as defined in subsections (a)(1) and (a)(2) of 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6308, and amendments thereto;

(e) gambling,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6404,  and  amendments 

thereto, and commercial gambling, as defined in subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 

21-6406, and amendments thereto;

(f) counterfeiting, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5825, and amendments 

thereto;
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(g) unlawful possession or use of a scanning device or reencoder, as described in 

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6108, and amendments thereto;

(h) medicaid  fraud,  as  described  in  K.S.A.  2012 Supp.  21-5925 through 21-

5934, and amendments thereto;

(i) an act or omission occurring outside this state, which would be a violation in 

the place of occurrence and would be described in this section if the act occurred in this 

state, whether or not it is prosecuted in any state;

(j) an act or omission committed in furtherance of any act or omission described 

in this section including any inchoate or preparatory offense, whether or not there is a 

prosecution or conviction related to the act or omission;

(k) any solicitation or conspiracy to commit any act or omission described in 

this  section,  whether  or not there  is  a prosecution or conviction related to the act  or 

omission;

(l)  furtherance of terrorism or illegal use of weapons of mass destruction, as 

described in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5423, and amendments thereto;

(m) unlawful conduct of dog fighting and unlawful possession of dog fighting 

paraphernalia, as defined in subsections (a) and (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6414, and 

amendments thereto;

(n) unlawful conduct of cockfighting and unlawful possession of cockfighting 

paraphernalia, as defined in subsections (a) and (b) of K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6417, and 

amendments thereto;
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(o) prostitution selling sexual relations,  as defined in K.S.A. 2012  Supp. 21-

6419, and amendments thereto,  promoting  prostitution the sale    of sexual relations  ,  as 

defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6420,  and  amendments  thereto,  and  patronizing  a 

prostitute buying  sexual  relations,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-6421,  and 

amendments thereto; 

(p) human trafficking and aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto;

(q) violations  of  the  banking  code,  as  described  in  K.S.A.  9-2012,  and 

amendments thereto; 

(r) mistreatment of a dependent adult, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5417, 

and amendments thereto; 

(s) giving a worthless check,  as  defined in  K.S.A. 2012 Supp.  21-5821,  and 

amendments thereto;

(t) forgery, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5823, and amendments thereto;

(u) making false  information,  as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5824, and 

amendments thereto;

(v) criminal use of a financial card, as defined in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-5828, 

and amendments thereto;

(w) unlawful acts concerning computers, as described in K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-

5839, and amendments thereto;

(x) identity theft  and identity fraud,  as  defined in  subsections  (a)  and (b)  of 



-171- ccr_2013_hb2034_s_2154

K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 21-6107, and amendments thereto;

(y) electronic  solicitation,  as  defined  in  K.S.A.  2012  Supp.  21-5509,  and 

amendments thereto; and

(z) felony  violations  of  fleeing  or  attempting  to  elude  a  police  officer,  as 

described in K.S.A. 8-1568, and amendments thereto; and

(aa) commercial  sexual  exploitation  of  a  child,  as  defined  in  section    4,  and   

amendments thereto.

Sec. 42. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 68-2255 is hereby amended to read as follows: 68-

2255. (a) As used in this section:

(1) "Adult  cabaret"  means  a  nightclub,  bar,  restaurant  or  similar  commercial 

establishment which regularly features:

(A) Persons who appear in a state of nudity or semi-nudity;

(B) live  performances  which  are  characterized  by  the  exposure  of  specified 

anatomical areas or by specified sexual activities; or

(C) films,  motion  pictures,  video  cassettes,  slides  or  other  photographic 

reproductions which are characterized by the depiction or description of specified sexual 

activities or specified anatomical areas;

(2) "nudity" or a "state of nudity" means the showing of the human male or 

female genitals,  pubic area,  vulva,  anus,  anal  cleft  or  cleavage with less than a fully 

opaque covering, the showing of the female breast with less than a fully opaque covering 

of any part of the nipple or the showing of the covered male genitals in a discernibly 
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turgid state;

(3) "semi-nudity" means a state of dress in which opaque clothing fails to cover 

the genitals,  anus,  anal  cleft  or  cleavage,  pubic  area,  vulva,  nipple  and areola  of  the 

female breast below a horizontal line across the top of the areola at its highest point. 

Semi-nudity shall  include the entire lower portion of the female breast,  but shall  not 

include any portion of the cleavage of the human female breast exhibited by wearing 

apparel provided the areola is not exposed in whole or part;

(4) "sexually-oriented  business"  means  any business  which  offers  its  patrons 

goods of which a substantial portion are sexually-oriented materials. Any business where 

more than 10% of display space is used for sexually-oriented materials shall be presumed 

to be a sexually-oriented business;

(5) "sexually-oriented  materials"  means  any  textual,  pictorial  or  three 

dimensional  material  that  depicts  nudity,  sexual  conduct,  sexual  excitement  or 

sadomasochistic  abuse  in  a  way  which  is  patently  offensive  to  the  average  person 

applying contemporary adult community standards with respect to what is suitable for 

minors;

(6) "sign"  or  "outdoor  advertising"  means  any outdoor  sign,  display,  device, 

notice,  bulletin,  figure,  painting,  drawing, message,  placard,  poster,  billboard or other 

thing  which  is  designed,  intended  or  used  to  advertise  or  inform,  any  part  of  the 

advertising or informative contents of which is located within an adjacent area, and is 

visible from the state highway.
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(b) No  sign  or  other  outdoor  advertising,  for  an  adult  cabaret  or  sexually-

oriented business shall be located within one mile of any state highway except if such 

business is located within one mile of a state highway then the business may display a 

maximum of  two  exterior  signs  on  the  premises  of  the  business,  consisting  of  one 

identification sign and one sign solely giving notice that the premises are off limits to 

minors. The identification sign shall be no more than 40 square feet in size and shall 

include no more than the following information: Name, street address, telephone number 

and operating hours of the business.

(c) Signs existing at  the time of the effective date of this act,  which did not 

conform to the requirements of this section, and amendments thereto, may be allowed to 

continue as a nonconforming use, but should be made to conform within three years from 

July 1, 2006.

(d) Any owner of such a business who violates the provisions of this section 

shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor. Each week a violation of this section continues 

to exist shall constitute a separate offense.

(e) This section is designed to protect the following public policy interests of 

this state, including, but not limited to:

(1) To mitigate the adverse secondary effects of sexually-oriented  businesses; 

(2) to improve traffic safety; (3) to limit harm to minors; and (4) to reduce prostitution the 

sale of sexual relations, crime, juvenile delinquency, deterioration in property values and 

lethargy in neighborhood improvement efforts.
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(f) The attorney general shall represent the state in all actions and proceedings 

arising from this  section,  and amendments thereto.  All  costs  incurred by the attorney 

general to defend or prosecute this section, including payment of all court costs, civil 

judgments and, if necessary, any attorneys fees, shall be paid from the state general fund.

Sec.  43. K.S.A. 22-2530 and K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 12-4106, 12-4120, 12-4516, 

21-5301, 21-5302, 21-5303, 21-5401, 21-5502, 21-6419, 21-6420, 21-6421, 21-6614, 21-

6626, 21-6627, 21-6806, 21-6815, 22-2515, 22-3601, 22-3717, 22-3901, 22-4902, 22-

4906, 38-2202, 38-2312, 38-2361, 41-311, 41-2601, 60-4104 and 68-2255 are hereby 

repealed.

Sec. 44. On January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 38-2231, 38-2232, 38-2242, 

38-2243 and 38-2255 are hereby repealed.";

And by redesignating sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, by striking all in lines 1 through 3 and inserting:

"AN ACT concerning  crimes,  punishment  and  criminal  procedure;  relating  to 

human trafficking; human trafficking advisory board; establishing the human trafficking 

victim assistance fund; creating the crime of commercial sexual exploitation of a child; 

relating to selling sexual relations, promoting sexual relations, buying sexual relations; 

children in need of care; staff secure facilities; amending K.S.A. 22-2530 and K.S.A. 

2012 Supp. 12-4106, 12-4120, 12-4516, 21-5301, 21-5302, 21-5303, 21-5401, 21-5502, 

21-6419, 21-6420, 21-6421, 21-6614, 21-6626, 21-6627, 21-6806, 21-6815, 22-2515, 22-

3601, 22-3717, 22-3901, 22-4902, 22-4906, 38-2202, 38-2231, 38-2232, 38-2242, 38-
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2243, 38-2255, 38-2312, 38-2361, 41-311, 41-2601, 60-4104 and 68-2255 and repealing 

the existing sections.";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

___________________________

___________________________

___________________________
Conferees on part of Senate

___________________________

___________________________

___________________________
Conferees on part of House


