
 

 

M E M O R A N D U M 
 

 
 
To: The Honorable Mike Petersen   

Chair, Transportation Committee 
Kansas Senate 
State Capitol, Room 345-S 
Topeka, Kansas 66612 

 
From: Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation 
 Kansas Corporation Commission   
 
Date: January 16, 2013   
 
Re: Applicability of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs), 

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) regulations 
and the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) to Farm operations operating in both 
intrastate and interstate commerce. 

 
 
I have attached the current state and federal compliance regulations for your review. 
These regulations apply to farmers operating in both intrastate and interstate commerce.  
Over the past several years, the Transportation Division has partnered with Farm Bureau, 
Kansas State and others to promote the state’s Commercial Motor Carrier Safety 
Education program to our Ag partners. Our education program is designed to inform the 
state’s farmers and ranchers that operate commercial motor vehicles (CMV) in both 
intrastate and/or interstate commerce about the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
(FMCSR) and the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration’s (PHMSA) 
regulations. Each part of the regulation required by the Transportation Division or the 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration is discussed in more detail below. 
 
 
Thank you. 
 
 
Cc:  Patti Petersen-Klein, Executive Director 
       Tom Day, Legislative Liaison 
       Jesse Borjon, Director Public Affairs 
 



 

 

 

Part 367, “Standards for Registration with States” 
 
 
Intrastate agriculture operations are exempt.  
 
Farmers operating CMVs as defined in Part 390.5 in interstate commerce are required to pay the annual Unified Carrier Registration 
(UCR) fees based on the number of CMVs operated in interstate commerce.  
 
The federal UCR agreement requires all for-hire motor carriers transporting property or passengers, and motor private carriers transporting 
property in interstate commerce, as well as brokers, freight forwarders, and leasing companies to register with the United States Department of 
Transportation and pay UCR fees.   
 
Exempt Motor Carrier Operations Include: 

1. Motor carriers that receive USDOT numbers under the PRISM program as “registrants” but have no interstate operating authority; 
2. Purely intrastate carriers; and 
3. Private motor carriers transporting only passengers are not subject to UCR fees. 

 
The UCR fee schedule is as follows:  
 

Fleet Size (Power Units) Fee Per Company 

From To ($) 

0 2 $76.00 

3 5  $227.00 

6 20 $452.00 

21 100 $1,576.00 

101 1,000 $7,511.00 

More than 1,000   $73,346.00 



 

 

Part 382, “Substance and Alcohol Testing Requirements” 
 
Farmers who operate commercial drivers license (CDL) class CMVs as defined in Part 383.5 beyond 150 miles from the farm or ranch 
in a state or any point across state lines in a state that does not have a reciprocity agreement to: 

 
• Have a controlled substance (drug) and alcohol testing program for ALL drivers that drive CDL class motor vehicles; 
• Pre-employment (completed and receipt of negative test documentation prior to operating a commercial motor vehicle); 
• Tests are also required randomly, 50% controlled substances and 10% alcohol; reasonable suspicion; post accident; and return 

to duty; and  
• Maintain semi-annual summaries of testing.  

 
Post Accident Requirements  
 

Type of accident involved Citation issued to 
the CMV driver 

Test must be performed 
by employer 

Human fatality YES YES 
NO YES 

Bodily injury with immediate 
medical treatment away from 
the scene 

YES YES 
NO NO 

Disabling damage to any motor 
vehicle requiring tow away 

YES YES 
NO NO 

 
Part 382.303 (d)(1) Alcohol tests. If a test required by this section is not administered within two hours following the accident, the 
employer shall prepare and maintain on file a record stating the reasons the test was not promptly administered. If a test required by 
this section is not administered within eight hours following the accident, the employer shall cease attempts to administer an alcohol 
test and shall prepare and maintain the same record. Records shall be submitted to the FMCSA upon request. 
 
(d)(2) Controlled substance tests. If a test required by this section is not administered within 32 hours following the accident, the 
employer shall cease attempts to administer a controlled substances test, and prepare and maintain on file a record stating the reasons 
the test was not promptly administered. Records shall be submitted to the FMCSA upon request.  



 

 

Part 383, “Commercial Drivers License” 
 
Farmers who operate a CDL class CMVs as defined in Part 383.5 beyond 150 miles from the farm or ranch in a state or any point 
across state line in a state that doesn’t have a reciprocity agreement to possess a valid CDL and applicable endorsements. Within the 
150 mile radius the driver’s will be required to possess either a non-commercial Class A or B driver’s license. 

Part 383.5 Definition of CMV for CDL  
CMV means a motor vehicle or combination of motor vehicles used in commerce to transport passengers or property if the motor 
vehicle 

(1) Has a gross combination weight rating or gross combination weight of 26,001 pounds or more, whichever is greater, inclusive of a 
towed unit(s) with a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000 pounds, whichever is greater; or 

(2) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, whichever is greater; or 

(3) Is designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver; or  

(4) Is of any size and is used in the transportation of hazardous materials as defined in this section. 

Endorsement Descriptions: 
(1) Double/triple trailers; 
(2) Passenger vehicles; 
(3) Tank vehicles; 
(4) Used to transport hazardous materials as defined in § 383.5; or 
(5) School buses. 

CDL Driver Age Requirements: 
Intrastate Private Motor Carriers must be at least 16 years old; 
Interstate Private Motor Carriers operating within 150 mile radius of the farm must be at least 18 years old. 
Interstate Private Motor Carriers operating beyond the 150 mile radius of the farm must be at least 21 years old. 
 
The State of Kansas has signed CDL Reciprocity Agreements with the following states; Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma to permit 
farmers to operate CDL class farm vehicles across state lines without requiring commercial driver's licenses. Please review each 
agreement because they are unique to each state. The agreements are located at: http://kcc.ks.gov/trans/index.htm. 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrredirectpage.aspx?contentid=1972


 

 

Part 390, “General Applicability and Definitions” 
 

Intrastate agriculture operations are exempt. Farmers operating CMV’s as defined in Part 390.5 in interstate commerce are required to 
apply for a USDOT number and comply with the marking requirements. 

 
Part 390.5 Definition of CMV for Safety Applicability  
CMV means any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle used on a highway in intrastate and/or interstate commerce to transport 
passengers or property when the vehicle: 
   
(1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or gross combination weight, of 

10,001 pounds or more, whichever is greater; or 
(2) Is designed or used to transport more than 8 passengers (including the driver) for compensation; or 
(3) Is designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, and is not used to transport passengers for 

compensation; or 
(4) Is used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous under 49 U.S.C. 5103 and transported in 

a quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by the Secretary under 49 CFR, subtitle B, chapter I, subchapter C. 
 
Nature of marking: The marking must display the following information:  
(1) The legal name or a single trade name of the motor carrier operating the self-propelled CMV, as listed on the motor carrier 

identification report (Form MCS-150) and submitted in accordance with §390.19.  
(a) Before it begins operations; and 
(b) Every 24 months, according to the following schedule: 
 

Size, shape, location, and color of marking: The marking must:  
(1) Appear on both sides of the self-propelled CMV; 
(2) Be in letters that contrast sharply in color with the background on which the letters are placed; 
(3) Be readily legible, during daylight hours, from a distance of 50 feet (15.24 meters) while the CMV is stationary; and 
(4) Be kept and maintained in a manner that retains the legibility required by paragraph (c)(3) of this section. (d) Construction and 
durability. The marking may be painted on the CMV or may consist of a removable device, if that device meets the identification and 
legibility requirements of paragraph (c) of this section, and such marking must be maintained as required by paragraph (c)(4) of this 
section.  



 

 

Part 391, “Qualification of Drivers” 
 

Intrastate agriculture operations are exempt from Part 391 Qualification of Drivers. Also, interstate farm vehicle drivers operating 
straight trucks (no trailers) within 150 air-miles of the farm in interstate commerce are exempt. Farmers and Ranchers, operating a 
CMV’s as defined in Part 390.5 beyond 150 air-miles from the farm there are no exemptions to this rule. 
 
Interstate agriculture operations operating within 150 air-miles of the farm or ranch are separated into two categories:  

• Drivers of straight trucks are exempt from Part 391; 
• Drivers of articulated motor vehicles must: 

–  Be at least 18 years old; 
–  Be able to communicate in English;  
–  Be trained to operate the motor vehicle being operated; 
–  Meet the USDOT physical requirements; 
–  Maintain a valid driver’s license.  

 
 
There are no exemptions for interstate farm vehicle drivers operating beyond 150 air-miles of the farm. They are required to maintain 
driver files that include: 
 

1. Driver application for employment; 
2. Motor Vehicle Record (MVR); 
3. Inquiry to previous employers; 
4. Copy of medical examiners certificate; 
5. Drivers road test documentation; 
6. Annual driver’s certification of violations and annual review of driving record; 
7. Driver data sheet (new employee or intermittent driver); 
8. Entry level driver training certificate. 

 



 

 

Part 392, “Operating CMVs” 
 
 

Intrastate agriculture operations are exempt.  
Interstate farm vehicle drivers and CMVs as defined in Part 390.5 are required to comply with: 
 

1. Sick or fatigued operator regulations; 
2. Alcohol and controlled substance prohibition; 
3. Seatbelt use; 
4. Operating of CMV; 
5. Emergency equipment; 
6. Inspection of Cargo. 

 
 

 

 
Part 393, “Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation” 

 
 

Intrastate agriculture operations are exempt, Interstate drivers and CMVs are required to comply with: 
 

1. Lighting devices, brakes and coupling devices; 
2. Emergency equipment; 

a. A mounted 5 B:C fire extinguisher or two 4 B:C fire extinguishers filled and accessible,  
b. Motor vehicles used to transport Hazardous Materials need to have at least a 10 B:C fire extinguisher; and 
c. Spare fuses if the vehicle doesn't have circuit breakers.  

 
3. Protection against shifting and falling cargo; 
4. Frames, wheels, steering and suspension. 



 

 

Part 395, “Hours of Service (HOS)” 
 

Intrastate agriculture operations are exempt from Part 395 HOS. Interstate agriculture operations are exempt from the HOS within 100 
air-miles of the farm, pursuant to Part 395.1(k). Beyond 100 air-miles of the farm, farm vehicle drivers are required to: 

1. Fill out a log book; 
2. Maintain six months of records of duty status reports at principal place of business. 

 
A motor carrier of property cannot allow or require any driver to drive: 
(1) More than 11 hours but it cannot be consecutive. No driving if more than 8 consecutive hours have passed since the last break of 
30 minutes; or 
(2) After being on duty 14 hours with 30 minute rest break; or 
(3) After being on duty more than 60/70 hours in any 7/8 consecutive days 
 
A motor carrier operating vehicles every day of the week cannot allow or require any driver to drive after being on duty more than 70 
hours in any 8 consecutive days; 
 
It is recommended that motor carriers and drivers keep a summary (recap) of drivers’ hours worked and hours available. This will 
prevent hours of service violations; 
 
Every motor carrier must require every driver to make a record of duty status (log), in duplicate, for each 24-hour period; 
 
Motor carriers and drivers who do not complete and keep records of duty status (logs) or who make false records of duty status (logs) 
can be prosecuted; 
 
The driver must give or send by mail the original of the driver’s record of duty status (log) to his/her motor carrier within 13 days after 
completing the record. The motor carrier must then keep the record of duty status (log) for 6 months; 
 
A driver may restart a 7/8 consecutive day period after taking 34 or more consecutive hours-off-duty. 



 

 

Part 396, “Inspection, Repair and Maintenance” 
 

Intrastate agriculture operations are exempt. Interstate operations are required to comply with: 
 

1. Lubrication; 
2. Unsafe operation forbidden; 
3. Inspection of vehicles in operation; 

a. Roadside Inspections are performed by city, county, state or federal enforcement officers, certified by the Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). The inspections are unannounced or random and will occur at roadside 
or weigh stations. The inspections are performed to improve safety, collect data for monitoring and to ensure 
compliance with all applicable regulations.  
 

b. The report shall identify the vehicle and list any defect or deficiency discovered by or reported to the driver which 
would affect the safety of operation of the vehicle or result in its mechanical breakdown. If no defect or deficiency is 
discovered by or reported to the driver, the report shall so indicate. In all instances, the driver shall sign the report. On 
two-driver operations, only one driver needs to sign the driver vehicle inspection report, provided both drivers agree as 
to the defects or deficiencies identified. If a driver operates more than one vehicle during the day, a report shall be 
prepared for each vehicle operated. 

 
4. Driver vehicle inspection reports;  

a. Every motor carrier shall require its drivers to report, and every driver shall prepare a report in writing at the 
completion of each day's work on each vehicle operated, except for intermodal equipment tendered by an intermodal 
equipment provider. The report shall cover at least the following parts and accessories:  

b. Service brakes including trailer brake connections, Parking brake, Steering mechanism, Lighting devices and reflectors, 
Tires, Horn, Windshield wipers, Rear vision mirrors, Coupling devices, Wheels and rims, and Emergency equipment. 
 

5. Periodic inspection and Inspector qualifications. 
a. Every commercial motor vehicle must be inspected as required by this section. The inspection must include, at a 

minimum, the parts and accessories set forth in appendix G of this subchapter. The term commercial motor vehicle 
includes each vehicle in a combination vehicle. For example, for a tractor semitrailer, full trailer combination, the 
tractor, semitrailer, and the full trailer (including the converter dolly if so equipped) must each be inspected. 

  



 

 

Part 397 and Parts 100 - 185 “Hazardous Materials (HM) Driving and Parking Rules” 
 
 

 
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has jurisdiction over both intrastate and interstate transportation of hazardous 
materials (HM). Farm vehicle drivers transporting placardable amounts of HM are subject to the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety 
Administration (PHMSA) regulations. Under certain circumstances, farmers may receive exemptions for the use of regulated Hazardous Materials. 
The following 
 
 
Application of the rules in this part 
 

(a) The rules in this part apply to each motor carrier engaged in the transportation of hazardous materials by a motor vehicle which 
must be marked or placarded in accordance with §177.823 of this title and to: 
 

(1) Each officer or employee of the motor carrier who performs supervisory duties related to the transportation of hazardous 
materials; and 
 

(2) Each person who operates or who is in charge of a motor vehicle containing hazardous materials. 
 

(b) Each person designated in paragraph (a) of this section must know and obey the rules in this part. 
 
Intrastate and/or interstate agriculture operations transporting HM “between fields of the same farm” or “to or from the farm” are 
encouraged to contact the Transportation Division for specific guidance prior to transporting the HM.  



 

 

K.S.A. 8-143.  Farm Registered Motor Vehicles: 
 
A vehicle licensed as a farm truck or truck tractor may be used by the owner thereof to transport, for charity and without compensation 
of any kind, commodities for religious or educational institutions. A truck which is licensed as a farm truck may also be used for the 
transportation of sand, gravel, slag stone, limestone, crushed stone, cinders, black top, dirt or fill material to a township road 
maintenance or construction site of the township in which the owner of such truck resides. Any applicant for registration of any farm 
truck or farm truck tractor used in combination with a trailer or semitrailer shall register the farm truck or farm truck tractor for a gross 
weight which shall include the empty weight of the truck or truck tractor or of the combination of any truck or truck tractor and any 
type of trailer or semitrailer, plus the maximum weight of cargo which will be transported on or with the same.  
 
The applicant for registration of any farm truck or farm truck tractor used to transport a gross weight of more than 54,000 pounds shall 
durably letter on the side of the motor vehicle the words "farm vehicle not for hire." If an applicant for registration of any farm truck 
or farm truck tractor operates such vehicle for any use or purpose not authorized for a farm truck or farm truck tractor, such applicant 
shall pay an additional fee equal to the fee required for the registration of all trucks or truck tractors not registered as local, 6,000-mile 
or farm truck or farm truck tractor motor vehicles, less the amount of the fee paid at time of registration. Nothing in this or the 
preceding paragraph shall authorize a gross weight of a vehicle or combination of vehicles on the national system of interstate and 
defense highways greater than permitted by laws of the United States congress. 
 
 
 
 


