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December 2, 2013

To: Joint Committee on Special Claims Against the State
From: Dezeree Hodish, Legislative Fellow

Re: Exoneree Compensation

EXONERATION OVERVIEW

The National Registry of Exonerations, a joint project of the University of Michigan Law
School and the Center on Wrongful Conviction at Northwestern University Law School, maintain
the country’s largest database of exonerations. According to the Registry, there-have been
1,245 exonerations since 1989. The majority of exonerees are African Américan males
convicted by juries for homicide and sexual assault. DNA evidence contributed to the release of
30 percent of the exonerated, while non-DNA evidence was used to release 70 percent of the
exonerated. Perjury, false accusation, and official misconduct were the most common factors
that led to wrongful convictions. Other factors include mistaken witness identification, false or
misleading forensic evidence, and false confessions. The Registry estimates that the average
time from conviction to exoneration is 11.9 years, and 13.0 years from arrest to exoneration.
There have been four exonerations in Kansas, three of which resulted in compensation for the
exoneree.

EXONEREE COMPENSATION

Twenty nine states, Washington, D.C., and the federal government have laws that allow
an exoneree to submit a claim for compensation. These laws provide compensation for felony
convictions that resulted in incarceration. Thirteen states also provide compensation for
incarceration that resulted from non-felony convictions. Four states (Colorado, Massachusetts,
Virginia, Washington) offer compensation to juveniles who would have faced a felony conviction
if tried as adults.

All but one state (Montana) provide monetary compensation to the exoneree. Montana
provides a tuition waiver at community colleges and state universities. Monetary compensation
is typically calculated at a rate per day or per year that the exoneree was incarcerated. The rate
of per day compensation ranges from $50 to $100. The rate of per year compensation ranges
from $20,000 to $75,000. Colorado, Texas, Washington, and the federal government provide
additional compensation for time spent sentenced to execution or time spent on parole,
probation, or a sex offender registry. In 14 states and Washington, D.C. where a daily or yearly
rate is unspecified, legislatures have granted the supervising authority of the claims process the
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right to determine appropriate compensation, although an upper limit is often specified.
Supervising authorities include claims boards, claims commissioners, superior courts, and
courts where original convictions were obtained. In addition to financial compensation, the
majority of states provide support services. These can include tuition waivers at community
colleges and state universities; full health insurance coverage; payment for physical and mental
health care costs; compensation for child support payments owed by the exoneree that became
due during incarceration; payment for unemployment training; and attorney’s fees.

In order to receive compensation, an individual must often file a claim for compensation
no later than two years after the date of receiving a pardon, vacated sentence, or reversal. Laws
place the burden of proof on the individual to prove his or her own innocence by demonstrating
that the claimant did not intentionally contribute to the bringing about of his or her own arrest or
conviction for the crime with which he or she was charged. Some laws detail specific actions
that prevent an individual from receiving compensation. These can include: pleading guilty to
the offense charged, or to any lesser offense; committing perjury; fabricating evidence; and
making false statements. Three states (Missouri, Montana, and Vermont) require that a claimant
provide DNA evidence that proves innocence. The majority of states prohibit an exoneree from
the receipt of compensation for any portion of a sentence in prison during which the individual
was also serving a concurrent sentence for the conviction of another crime. Compensation is
revoked if the exoneree is convicted of a felony offense after the date compensation was
issued.

The enclosed table provides a comparative overview of monetary and support services
that are provided to those whose crimes were exonerated. Please contact me if | can be of
further assistance.

Enclosure

DMH/rc

2-2-

Kansas Legislative Research Department 2 Exoneree Compensation - December 2, 2013



EXONEREE COMPENSATION

Alabama
(Ala. Code § 29-2-150
et seq.)

$50,000 for each year of incarceration. Committee on Compensation for
Wrongful Incarceration may award supplemental funds if circumstances
warrant such an award.

California
(Cal. Pen. Code § 4900
et seq.)

$100 per day of incarceration.

Colorado

(Col. Rev. Stat. § 13-
65-101 et seq., § 13-3-
114, § 23-1-132, § 39-
22-104)

$75,000 for each year of incarceration. An additional $50,000 for each year
incarcerated and sentenced to execution. $25,000 for each year served on
parole, on probation, or as a registered sex offender.

*Exoneree must complete a personal financial management class prior to
receiving funds.

*Compensation will be reduced if exoneree does not provide proof of
health insurance coverage.

Tuition waiver at state institutions for exoneree and
exoneree’s children. Compensation for child support
payments owed by the exoneree that became due during
incarceration. Payment of attorney’s fees.

Connecticut
(Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann.
§ 54-102uu)

Claims Commissioner determines amount based on evidence, damages
suffered, professional misconduct or negligence (if any).

May include payment for employment training and
counseling, tuition and fees at state institutions, and other
services needed to facilitate reintegration into the
community.

Washington, D.C.
(D.C. Code Ann. § 2-
421)

Court determines amount.

Florida
(Fla. Stat. Ann. §
961.01 et seq.)

$50,000 for each year of incarceration. Maximum: $2,000,000 (includes
monetary and support services).

Tuition waiver for up to 120 credits at career center,
community college, or state institution. Payment of fines,
penalties, and costs paid by the exoneree. Payment of
attorney’s fees.

lllinois

(. Com. Stat. Ann. §
505/8, 1015/2, 1710-
125).

Court determines amount. No more than $85,350 for incarceration up to
five years. No more than $170,000 for incarceration up to 14 years. No
more than $199,150 for incarceration exceeding 14 years.

Job and placement services, including assessment, resume
assistance, interview preparation, occupational and labor
market information, referral to employers, job training, and
program providers. Access to re-entry services program to
assist exoneree in obtaining mental health services.
Payment of attorney’s fees up to 25 percent of
compensation award.

TN
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EXONEREE COMPENSATION

lowa
(lowa Code. Ann. §
663A.1)

$50 per day of incarceration plus lost wages, salary, or other earned
income up to $25,000 a year.

Payment of attorney’s fees.

Louisiana
(La. Rey, Stat. Ann. §
15:572.8)

$25,000 per year of incarceration. Max: $250,000.

Up to $80,000 for job skills training for three years, medical
and counseling services for six years, and tuition waiver at
community colleges and state universities.

Maine
(Me. Rev. Stat. Ann.§
8241 et seq.)

Superior Court determines amount. Maximum: $300,000.

Maryland
(Md. Code, Fin.& Proc.
§ 10-501)

Board of Public Works determines amount based on damages suffered by
exoneree.

Board of Public Works may grant a reasonable amount for
any financial or other appropriate counseling for the
exoneree, due to incarceration.

Massachusetts
(Mass. Gen. Laws Ann.
§ 10-501)

Court determines what is fair and reasonable compensation. Maximum:
$500,000.

Court may grant funding for services that are reasonable
and necessary to address physical and emotional conditions
related to incarceration, and a tuition reduction of 50 percent
at state universities and community colleges.

Mississippi
(Miss. Code. Ann § 11-
44-1 et seq.)

$50,000 for each year of incarceration. Maximum: $500,000.

Payment of attorney’s fees at various levels of
compensation.

Missouri
(Mo. Ann. Stat. §
650.058)

$50 per day of post-conviction confinement.

Montana
(Mont. Code Ann. § 53-
1-214)

Tuition waiver at community colleges and state universities.

Nebraska
(Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann §
29-4601 et seq.)

Court determines amount based on damages resulting from wrongful
conviction. Maximum: $500,000.

New Hampshire
(N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
541-B:1 et seq.)

Board of Claims determines amount. Maximum: $20,000.
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EXONEREE COMPENSATION

New Jersey
(N.J. Stat. Ann. §
52:4C-1 et seq.)

Twice the amount of the claimant’s income in the year prior to incarceration
or $20,000 for each year of incarceration, whichever is greater

Payment of reasonable attorney’s fees.

New York
(N.Y. U.C.C. Law § 8-b)

Court determines what is fair and reasonable compensation.

North Carolina
(N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. §
148-82 et seq.)

$50,000 per year of incarceration. Maximum: $750,000.

Court may grant funding for job skills training for at least one
year through an appropriate state program, and tuition
waiver at community college or state institution.

Ohio
(Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §
2305.02, 2743.48)

$40,333 per year or amount determined by state auditor for lost wages,
salary, and earned income.

Payment of attorney’s fees.

Oklahoma
(Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 51
§ 154)

Court determines amount. Maximum: $175,000.

Tennessee
(Tenn. Code Ann. § 9-
98-108)

Board of Claims determines amount based on exoneree’s physical and
mental suffering and loss of earnings. Maximum: $1,000,000.

Exoneree is eligible for group health benefit plan through
the Department of Criminal Justice. Compensation for child
support payments owed by the exoneree that became due
during incarceration.

Texas

(Tex. Civ. Prac. &
Rem. Ann. Code §
103.001 et seq.)

$80,000 for each year of incarceration. An additional $25,000 for each year
served on parole or as a registered sex offender.

Tuition waiver for up to 120 credits at career center or public
institution of higher education.

U.S. Government
(28 U.S.C. § 2513)

Court of Federal Claims determines amount. Maximum: $50,000 per year
of incarceration. $100,000 per year of incarceration sentenced to
execution.

Utah
(Utah Code Ann. §
78B-9-405)

For each year of incarceration, up to a maximum of 15 years, exoneree will
receive the average annual non-agricultural payroll wage in Utah.
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EXONEREE COMPENSATION

Vermont
(Vt. Stat. Ann. tit.13 §
55672 et seq.)

Superior Court determines amount between $30,000 and $60,000 per year
for each year of incarceration.

Superior Court may grant eligibility for up to ten years of the
Vermont Health Access plan, compensation for re-
integrative services, mental and physical health care costs,
and reasonable attorney’s fees. Court can award economic
damages, including lost wages and costs incurred by the
claimant for his or her criminal defense and for efforts to
prove his or her innocence.

Virginia 90% of the Virginia per capita personal income for up to 20 years. Transition assistant grant of $15,000. Reimbursement, up to
(Va. Code Ann. § 8.01- $10,000, for career and technical training at a community
195.10 et seq.) college.

Washington $50,000 for each year of incarceration, including time spent awaiting trial. | Compensation for child support payments owed by the

(Wash. Rev. Code. §
4.92.130, 28B.15,
72.09)

An additional $50,000 for each year incarcerated and sentenced to
execution.

exonerated person that became due during incarceration.
Reimbursement for all restitution, assessments, fees, and
court costs paid by exoneree as required by pretrial orders,
judgment, and sentence. Payment of attorney fees, up to 10
percent of compensation award, for successfully bringing
the wrongful conviction claim (Maximum: $75,000).

West Virginia
(W.V. Code Ann. § 14-
2-13a)

Court determines what is fair and reasonable compensation.

Wisconsin
(Wisc. Stat. Ann. §
775.05)

Claims Board determines amount. Maximum: $25,000, $5,000 per year.
Additional compensation may be awarded, but must be approved by
legislature.




