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Brief*

Sub.  for  SB  7  would  create  or  amend  various 
administrative and criminal statutes related to driving under 
the influence (DUI).

Professional Licensing

The bill would create a statutory provision prohibiting a 
professional  licensing  body  from  suspending,  denying, 
terminating, or failing to renew a professional license solely 
because the licensee was convicted of,  pled guilty or  nolo 
contendere to, or entered into a diversion regarding a first-
time DUI. The provision clarifies that the licensing body, after 
proper procedures, may take alternative corrective measures 
regarding such violation, and the provision does not limit the 
authority  of  the  Division  of  Vehicles  of  the  Department  of 
Revenue  to  restrict,  revoke,  suspend  or  deny  a  driver's 
license or commercial driver's license.

Early Release and Treatment Provision

The bill would create a statutory provision requiring the 
Secretary of  Corrections  to  enter  into  a  written  agreement 
with any inmate committed to the Secretary's custody for a 
conviction of DUI or commercial DUI specifying treatment and 
other  programs  which,  upon  satisfactory  completion,  will 
prepare  the  inmate  for  early  release.  The  Secretary  is 
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required  to  report  satisfactory  completion  of  the  agreed 
programs to the Kansas Parole Board.

The  Parole  Board  would  be  allowed  to  release  an 
inmate  who  completed  the  agreed  programs,  if  the  Board 
believes the inmate is able and willing to fulfill the obligations 
of a law-abiding citizen and there is a reasonable probability 
the  inmate  can  be  released  without  detriment  to  the 
community or  the inmate.  The Board would be required to 
hold a hearing and, if  it  decides not to release the inmate, 
would have to state in writing the reasons for the decision. If 
the  inmate  is  released,  the  inmate  would  be  subject  to  a 
mandatory period of postrelease supervision. 

Saliva Testing

The bill would create a statutory provision requiring the 
Kansas  Bureau  of  Investigation  (KBI)  to  adopt  rules  and 
regulations  allowing  saliva  testing  for  law  enforcement 
purposes  and  listing  approved  saliva  testing  devices.  The 
implied  consent  statute  would  be  amended  to  add  saliva 
testing.

Commercial DUI

The commercial DUI statute, KSA 2010 Supp. 8-2,144, 
would be amended as follows:

● A first conviction would be increased from a class B to a 
class A, nonperson misdemeanor. Imprisonment would 
be increased from 48 hours-6 months to 90 days-1 year. 
The  fine  range  would  increase  from  $500-$1,000  to 
$1,000-$1,500.  The  person  convicted  would  have  to 
serve  at  least  five  consecutive  days'  imprisonment 
before being granted probation, suspension or reduction 
of sentence or parole or being otherwise released. The 
mandatory imprisonment requirement could be satisfied 
by serving 48 consecutive hours' imprisonment followed 
by six days in a work release program, or by serving 48 
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consecutive hours' imprisonment followed by ten days of 
house arrest.

● A second conviction would remain a class A, nonperson 
misdemeanor, as under current law. The fine would be 
increased  from  $1,000-$1,500  to  $2,500.   Ten 
consecutive  days'  imprisonment  would  be  required, 
which  could  be  satisfied  by  96  consecutive  hours' 
imprisonment  followed  by  either  12  days  in  a  work 
release program or 20 days of house arrest. 

● A third  or  subsequent  conviction  would  be  increased 
from a nonperson felony to a severity level 7, nonperson 
felony.

● Prior to sentencing for a first or second conviction, the 
court  would  be  required  to  order  the  defendant  to 
participate in an alcohol and drug evaluation conducted 
by a licensed provider and follow any recommendations 
made by the provider.

● The  sentence  for  any  conviction  for  commercial  DUI 
when one or more children under 14 years of age are in 
the vehicle at the time of the offense would be enhanced 
by  one  month,  which  the  judge  would  be  allowed  to 
order  served  on  house  arrest,  work  release,  or  other 
conditional release.

● Legal  use  of  drugs  would  not  be  a  defense  to 
commercial DUI of drugs.

● In lieu of payment of a fine under this section, the court 
would  be  allowed  to  order  the  defendant  to  perform 
community service. The defendant would receive credit 
on the fine of $5 per hour of community service, and the 
community service would be required to be performed 
within one year after imposition of the fine or earlier if so 
ordered. 

● Before  filing  a  complaint  alleging  commercial  DUI,  a 
prosecutor would be required to obtain criminal history 
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and motor vehicle violations records from the Division of 
Vehicles and KBI. 

● The  court  would  be  required  to  electronically  report 
every conviction or diversion agreement for commercial 
DUI and obtain criminal history information from the KBI 
before sentencing.      

● Upon  conviction,  the  Division  of  Vehicles  would  be 
required to suspend, restrict, or suspend and restrict the 
offender's driving privileges under KSA 8-1014. 

● No plea bargaining which permits a person charged with 
commercial  DUI  to  avoid  the  mandatory  penalties 
established by the section would be allowed.

● The  following  items  would  constitute  a  conviction  or 
factor  in  determining  whether  a  conviction  is  a  first, 
second, third or subsequent conviction of this section:
○ A test refusal while the offender was 18 years of 

age or older;
○ Convictions  or  diversions  for  DUI  under  KSA 8-

1567, occurring on or after July 1, 2001;
○ Lifetime convictions or diversions for commercial 

DUI, boating DUI, involuntary manslaughter while 
DUI, aggravated vehicular homicide while DUI, or 
vehicular battery while DUI;

○ Conviction under any ordinances,  resolutions,  or 
other state's laws, or code of military justice, which 
would constitute any of the above crimes;

○ Convictions,  diversions,  or  adjudications for  acts 
committed when the offender was under the age 
of 18 would be excluded from this determination. 

References  to  the  commercial  DUI  statute  would  be 
added  to  a  variety  of  other  statutory  provisions  to  ensure 
consistency with references to DUI under KSA 8-1567.  
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Urine Samples

The bill would amend the implied consent provision for 
collection  of  a  urine  sample  to  require  supervision  by  a 
person licensed to practice medicine and surgery, licensed as 
physician's  assistant,  or  acting  under  the direction  of  such 
licensed  person;  a  registered  nurse  or  licensed  practical 
nurse; or a law enforcement officer of the same sex as the 
person being tested.

Restructuring  of  Alcohol  and  Drug  Evaluations  and 
Treatment

The bill would remove many of the current provisions in 
KSA 8-1008  regarding  evaluation  and  supervision  of  DUI 
offenders under the alcohol and drug safety action program 
(ADSAP).  To  replace  ADSAP,  the  bill  would  require  the 
Department  of  Social  and Rehabilitation Services (SRS) to 
develop  a  standardized  substance  abuse  evaluation. 
Evaluation and treatment would be provided by a “licensed 
provider,” which would be defined as “a professional licensed 
by the behavioral sciences regulatory board to diagnose and 
treat  mental  disorders  at  the  independent  level,  or  a 
professional licensed by the behavioral  sciences regulatory 
board  under  the  supervision  of  a  professional  licensed  to 
diagnose and treat mental disorders at the independent level, 
who can demonstrate an expertise in the field of addictions 
through  addictions  licensure,  professional  credential  or 
continuing education.”

Definitions

The definitions  of  “alcohol  or  drug-related  conviction,” 
“other competent evidence,” and “test refusal” in KSA 2010 
Supp.  8-1013  would  be  updated  to  reflect  the  statutory 
changes made elsewhere in the bill.  
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Administrative Penalties

The administrative  penalties  for  test  refusal  would  be 
amended as follows:

● For  a  second test  refusal,  driving  privileges would  be 
suspended for one year, followed by a two-year ignition 
interlock  restriction.  The current  penalty  is  a two-year 
suspension.

● For  a  third  test  refusal,  driving  privileges  would  be 
suspended  for  one  year,  followed  by  a  three-year 
ignition  interlock  restriction.  The  current  penalty  is  a 
three-year suspension.

● For  a  fourth  test  refusal,  driving  privileges  would  be 
suspended for one year, followed by a four-year ignition 
interlock  restriction.  The  current  penalty  is  a  ten-year 
suspension.

The  administrative  penalties  for  test  failure  would  be 
amended as follows:

● For  a  third  test  failure,  driving  privileges  would  be 
suspended for one year, followed by a two-year ignition 
interlock  restriction.  The current  penalty is  a one-year 
suspension and one-year ignition interlock restriction.

● For  a  fourth  test  failure,  driving  privileges  would  be 
suspended  for  one  year,  followed  by  a  three-year 
ignition interlock restriction. The current penalty is a one-
year  suspension  and  one-year  ignition  interlock 
restriction.

A person subject  to administrative penalties under the 
current version of this section would be allowed to apply to 
have the new penalties applied retroactively.  There would be 
a $59 fee for such application.
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Any period of suspension or restriction pursuant to this 
section  would  not  be  counted  while  a  person  was 
incarcerated. 

A person whose driving privileges have been suspended 
for  one  year  would  be  allowed  to,  after  45  days  of  such 
suspension, apply to the Division of Vehicles for an ignition 
interlock  restriction  for  the  remainder  of  the  suspension 
period for the purposes of getting to and from work, school, 
an  alcohol  treatment  program,  and  the  ignition  interlock 
provider  for  maintenance  purposes.  A  violation  of  the 
restrictions would add an additional year's suspension.

A person under an ignition interlock restriction would be 
permitted to operate an employer's vehicle without an ignition 
interlock device during normal business activities, as long as 
the person does not own or control the vehicle or business. 
This  provision  would  not  apply  to  an  interlock  ignition 
restriction  granted  for  the  remainder  of  a  one-year 
suspension period.

Ignition Interlock Devices

The  Division  of  Vehicles  would  be  required  to  adopt 
rules  and  regulations  regarding  photographic  capabilities, 
calibration,  maintenance,  credit  for  indigents,  and  notice 
requirements  related  to  ignition  interlock  devices.  The 
Division  would  be  responsible  for  approving  such  devices, 
and the devices would be maintained at the expense of the 
person subject to the interlock restriction.  

Administrative penalties for tampering with or requesting 
another  to  blow into  an  ignition  interlock  device  would  be 
amended from the current penalty of a two-year suspension 
to the following:

● On  a  first  conviction,  the  ignition  interlock  restriction 
would be extended 90 days; and

7-7



● On  a  second  or  subsequent  conviction,  the  original 
interlock restriction period would be restarted.

The administrative penalty for  blowing into an ignition 
interlock device on behalf of a person with restricted driving 
privileges would be changed from a two-year suspension to a 
two-year  ignition  interlock  restriction  for  the  purposes  of 
getting  to  and  from  work,  school,  an  alcohol  treatment 
program,  the  ignition  interlock  provider  for  maintenance 
purposes, or court or court-ordered supervision.

The administrative  penalty  for  operating  a  vehicle  not 
equipped with an ignition interlock device would be changed 
from  a  two-year  suspension  to  a  restart  of  the  original 
interlock restriction period. 

Administrative Hearing Fee

The bill  would  amend  the  DUI  administrative  hearing 
statute to add a $50 hearing fee to cover administrative costs 
of  the  hearing.  The  fee  would  be  required  regardless  of 
whether the hearing was in person or by telephone. 

DUI

The  DUI  statute,  KSA 2010  Supp.  8-1567,  would  be 
amended as follows:

● A first conviction would be increased from a class B to a 
class A, nonperson misdemeanor. Imprisonment would 
be increased from 48 hours-six months to 30 days-one 
year. The fine range would increase from $500-$1,000 
to $500-$2,500.

● A second conviction would remain a class A, nonperson 
misdemeanor,  as  under  current  law.  The  fine  range 
would  be  increased  from  $1,000-$1,500  to  $1,000-
$2,500.  The person convicted would have to serve at 
least five consecutive days' imprisonment before being 
granted probation, suspension or reduction of sentence 
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or parole or being otherwise released. The mandatory 
imprisonment requirement could be satisfied by serving 
48  consecutive  hours'  imprisonment  followed  by  six 
days  in  a  work  release  program,  or  by  serving  48 
consecutive hours' imprisonment followed by ten days of 
house arrest.

● A third  conviction  with  no  prior  conviction  within  ten 
years would be a class A, nonperson misdemeanor, with 
imprisonment  of  90  days  to  one  year  and  a  fine  of 
$2,500.  The person convicted would have to serve at 
least ten consecutive days' imprisonment before being 
granted probation, suspension or reduction of sentence 
or parole or being otherwise released. The mandatory 
imprisonment requirement could be satisfied by serving 
96 consecutive hours' imprisonment followed by 12 days 
in a work release program, or by serving 96 consecutive 
hours'  imprisonment  followed  by  20  days  of  house 
arrest.  

● A third conviction with a prior conviction within ten years 
would  be  a  nonperson  felony.  The  sentencing 
requirements would be the same as for a third conviction 
with no prior conviction. 

● A fourth or subsequent conviction would be a nonperson 
felony, with imprisonment of 180 days to one year and a 
fine  of  $2,500.  The  person  convicted  would  have  to 
serve at least 20 consecutive days' imprisonment before 
being  granted  probation,  suspension  or  reduction  of 
sentence  or  parole  or  being  otherwise  released.  The 
mandatory imprisonment requirement could be satisfied 
by  serving  192  consecutive  hours'  imprisonment 
followed by 24 days in a work release program, or by 
serving  192 consecutive  hours'  imprisonment  followed 
by 40 days of house arrest. 

● A fourth  or  subsequent  conviction  where  the  offender 
has previously participated in assessment and treatment 
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as described below would constitute a severity level 7, 
nonperson felony.

● Upon expiration of a term of imprisonment, the offender 
would  be  placed  in  the  custody  of  the  community 
correctional services program for a mandatory one-year 
period  of  supervision,  during  which  time  the  offender 
would  be  required  to  participate  in  a  multidisciplinary 
model of services for substance use disorders facilitated 
by  an  SRS-designated  care  coordination  agency,  to 
include assessment and, if appropriate, treatment.   

● Legal use of drugs would not be a defense to DUI of 
drugs.

● Prior  to  sentencing for  a first  or  second conviction or 
third  conviction  with  no  prior  convictions  within  ten 
years, the court would be required to order the offender 
to  participate  in  an  alcohol  and  drug  evaluation 
conducted  by  a  licensed  provider,  and  to  follow  any 
recommendations  by  such  provider  after  evaluation, 
unless otherwise ordered by the court.

● The court would be able to order that any motor vehicle 
owned or operated, or both, by the convicted person be 
impounded or immobilized for up to two years.

● Diversion would not be available for any offender with a 
previous conviction of DUI or any DUI-related violation, 
as defined in the bill. 

● Any  offender  considered  for  or  eligible  for  diversion 
would be required to participate in an alcohol and drug 
evaluation  conducted  by  a  licensed  provider,  and  the 
diversion agreement would have to require the offender 
to  follow  any  recommendations,  unless  otherwise 
ordered by the court. 

● The  following  items  would  constitute  a  conviction  or 
factor  in  determining  whether  a  conviction  is  a  first, 
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second,  third,  fourth  or  subsequent  conviction  of  this 
section:
○ A test refusal while the offender was 18 years of 

age or older;
○ Convictions  or  diversion  under  this  section, 

occurring on or after July 1, 2001;
○ Lifetime convictions or diversions for commercial 

DUI, boating DUI, involuntary manslaughter while 
DUI, aggravated vehicular homicide while DUI, or 
vehicular battery while DUI;

○ Conviction under any ordinances,  resolutions,  or 
other state's laws, or code of military justice, which 
would constitute any of the above crimes;

○ Convictions,  diversions,  or  adjudications for  acts 
committed when the offender was under the age 
of 18 would be excluded from this determination. 

● Definitions  for  “alcohol  concentration,”  “imprisonment,” 
and “drug” would be added to the section.

Expungement

The bill would allow a petition for expungement of a DUI 
(under KSA 8-1567 or municipal equivalent) after ten years. 
Expungement for such offenses currently is not allowed.

Pretrial Release

The bill would amend the pretrial release statute to allow 
a magistrate to impose the following as conditions of release 
for a person charged with commercial DUI or DUI:

● Not operate or attempt to operate a vehicle without a 
valid driver's license and insurance;

● Not operate or attempt to operate a vehicle without first 
providing the court with proof of installation of an ignition 
interlock  device,  with  monitoring  reports  sent  to  the 
court;
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● Abstain from using alcohol and illegal drugs;

● Agree to submit to alcohol or drug testing when directed 
by the court; or

● Use an alcohol monitoring device.

KBI Central Repository

The bill would require the KBI director to adopt rules and 
regulations on or before July 1, 2012, requiring district courts 
to  report  to  the  central  repository  the  filing  of  all  cases 
alleging  a  DUI  or  commercial  DUI.  The  director  would  be 
required to adopt rules and regulations on or before July 1, 
2013, requiring such reporting to be electronic.

The  bill  would  create  in  the  state  treasury  the  KBI 
Central Repository Fund to upgrade and administer the KBI 
central repository. 

Liquor Enforcement Tax

To finance the necessary upgrades to the KBI central 
repository, the bill would increase the liquor enforcement tax 
rate found in KSA 79-4101 from 8 percent to 9 percent in FY 
2012,  FY 2013,  and FY 2014.  The bill  would  amend KSA 
2010  Supp.  79-4108  to  direct  that  the  additional  funds 
generated,  up to $3 million,  be credited to the KBI Central 
Repository  Fund,  with  the  remainder  credited  to  the  State 
General Fund.   

Sentencing and Criminal History Provisions

The  nondrug  sentencing  guidelines  law  would  be 
amended to:

● Allow a sentencing court to retain jurisdiction to modify 
the sentence imposed for a third DUI conviction with a 
prior conviction within ten years.

12-7



● Create  a  special  sentencing  rule  for  a  third  and 
subsequent  commercial  DUI,  providing  for  a 
presumptive  imprisonment  sentence  and  setting  the 
following  minimum  grid  block  classifications:  3rd 
conviction, 7-H; 4th conviction, 7-G; 5th conviction, 7-F; 
6th conviction, 7-E; 7th conviction, 7-D; 8th conviction, 
7-C; and 9th or subsequent conviction, 7-B.

● Create  a  special  sentencing  rule  for  a  fourth  and 
subsequent  DUI,  providing  for  a  presumptive 
imprisonment  sentence  and  setting  the  following 
minimum grid block classifications: 4th conviction, 7-H; 
5th conviction, 7-G; 6th conviction, 7-F; 7th conviction, 
7-E; 8th conviction, 7-D; 9th conviction, 7-C; and 10th or 
subsequent conviction, 7-B.

The  bill  would  prohibit  downward  dispositional  or 
downward  durational  departure  sentences  for  a  third  or 
subsequent  commercial  DUI or  severity level  7,  nonperson 
felony DUI.

In  determining  criminal  history  for  a  conviction  of 
involuntary  manslaughter  while  DUI,  each  prior  adult 
conviction, diversion, or juvenile adjudication for the following 
crimes would count as one person felony: commercial DUI, 
DUI,  boating  DUI,  involuntary  manslaughter  while  DUI, 
aggravated  vehicular  homicide,  or  vehicular  battery  while 
DUI.

Persons convicted of DUI or commercial DUI would be 
subject to serving 24 months, plus any amount of good time 
and  program  credit  earned  and  retained,  on  postrelease 
supervision.  Persons  released  early  by  the  Parole  Board 
under  the  agreed  treatment  program  provision  would  be 
subject  to  serving  24  months,  plus  the  remainder  of  their 
sentence and any good time and program credit earned and 
retained, on postrelease supervision.  
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Municipal Courts and DUI Prosecution

Throughout  the  bill,  there  are  provisions  related  to 
prosecution of DUI and commercial DUI in municipal courts. 
These include:

● Any city ordinance or county resolution prohibiting DUI 
or commercial DUI would be required to have penalties 
within the range provided for the crimes under the state 
DUI code and authorize restitution.

● No city would be allowed to pass a DUI or commercial 
DUI ordinance unless the city's law enforcement reports 
arrests to the KBI;  the city's municipal  court  utilizes a 
standardized risk  assessment  instrument  approved by 
the  Kansas  Sentencing  Commission,  utilizes  a 
standardized substance abuse evaluation approved by 
SRS,  uses  the  results  of  these  assessments  and 
evaluations in determining disposition, can supervise the 
offender,  and  reports  the  case  disposition  to  the  KBI 
central repository; after July 1, 2012, the city's municipal 
court reports the case disposition electronically. 

● Any DUI or commercial DUI ordinance in any city that 
did not meet these requirements would be declared null 
and void on and after July 1, 2011.

● Upon  filing  a  DUI  or  commercial  DUI  complaint,  and 
before conviction, a city attorney would be required to 
obtain  records  of  prior  motor  vehicle  violations  and 
criminal history information from the Division of Vehicles 
and the KBI central repository.

● The city attorney would be required to refer any violation 
that would constitute a felony commercial DUI or a third 
or subsequent DUI to the appropriate county or district 
attorney,  and the  county or  district  attorney would  be 
required to pursue a disposition of the violation.
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● After July 1, 2011, the district court would have exclusive 
jurisdiction  over  any  violation  that  would  constitute  a 
third DUI, and cities would be prohibited from enacting 
an ordinance granting a municipal court jurisdiction over 
such offenses.

● In  DUI  or  commercial  DUI  cases,  a  municipal  court 
would  be  required  to  ensure  that  it  utilizes  a 
standardized risk  assessment  instrument  approved by 
the  Kansas  Sentencing  Commission,  utilizes  a 
standardized substance abuse evaluation approved by 
SRS,  uses  the  results  of  these  assessments  and 
evaluations in determining disposition, can supervise the 
offender,  and reports the case filing and disposition to 
the KBI central repository. On and after July 1, 2012, the 
municipal  court  would  be  required  to  report  the  case 
disposition electronically. On and after July 1, 2013, the 
municipal court would be required to report the filing of 
such case electronically.

● A city attorney would be prohibited from entering into a 
diversion agreement on a complaint alleging an alcohol 
related  offense  if  the  defendant  had  a  previous 
conviction  of  or  diversion  for  DUI  or  any  DUI-related 
violation.  A  person  receiving  a  diversion  would  be 
required to participate in an alcohol and drug evaluation 
by  a  licensed  provider  and  to  follow  any 
recommendations made by the provider. 

● Municipal  DUI  or  commercial  DUI  convictions  or 
diversions  would  be  equivalent  to  convictions  or 
diversions under the state DUI code for the purposes of 
determining  prior  convictions  and  enforcing  various 
administrative and sentencing provisions. 

Technical Changes

Throughout  the  statute,  various  references  and  other 
language  are  revised  to  ensure  statutory  consistency  and 
reflect current law.
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Background

In  response  to  public  concerns  regarding  repeat  DUI 
offenders, the 2008 Legislature created the Substance Abuse 
Policy  Board  (SAPB)  to  consult  and  advise  the  Kansas 
Criminal Justice Coordinating Council concerning issues and 
policies pertaining to the treatment, sentencing, rehabilitation 
and supervision of substance abuse offenders. In a January 
2009 report, the SAPB recommended the Legislature create 
a  commission  to  conduct  a  comprehensive  review  of  DUI 
statutes,  review effective  means  of  changing  DUI  offender 
behavior,  and  develop  a  legislative  proposal  to  assure 
highway safety by changing DUI offender behavior. 

The 2009  Legislature  accordingly  created the  Kansas 
DUI Commission through KSA 21-4802 (2009 Senate Sub. 
for HB 2096). The Commission was charged with reviewing 
DUI  statutes  in  Kansas  and  other  states,  DUI-related 
proposals introduced in the 2009 Legislative Session, other 
DUI-related subjects as referred to the Commission, effective 
strategies  in  changing  the  behavior  of  DUI  offenders,  and 
other  information  related  to  DUI  to  determine  if  results  or 
conclusions  have  been  found  to  address  the  issues.  The 
Commission also  was directed to  develop a balanced and 
comprehensive  legislative  proposal  that  would  centralize 
recordkeeping  to  ensure  accountability,  assure  highway 
safety by changing behavior  by DUI  offenders as early  as 
possible,  and  provide  significant  restrictions  on  personal 
liberty at some level of frequency and quantity of offenses. 
The  Commission  was  directed  to  submit  its  report  and 
recommendations to the Legislature on or before the first day 
of the 2011 Session.

The  Commission  split  into  four  subcommittees: 
Substance Abuse Evaluation and Treatment, Criminal Justice, 
Law Enforcement and Recordkeeping,  and Legislative.  The 
Commission and its subcommittees met 19 times in 2009 and 
2010 to work through the issues assigned to the Commission 
and  to  craft  proposed  legislation  incorporating  its 
recommendations. The resulting legislation was introduced by 
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the Senate Committee on Judiciary as SB 7. Additionally, the 
Commission included in its report several recommendations 
that were either did not require Legislative action or else were 
not included in the proposed legislation.  

The Senate Committee on Judiciary held a hearing on 
SB  7  over  four  days.  The  Chairperson  of  the  Committee, 
Senator Tim Owens, served as the Chairperson of the DUI 
Commission,  and presented the DUI  Commission report  to 
the  Committee  while  explaining  the  Commission's 
background, process, and findings.  

Proponents of  the bill  who testified before the Senate 
Committee  included  representatives  of  the  Kansas 
Association  of  Chiefs  of  Police,  Kansas  Association  of 
Addiction Professionals, and Mothers Against Drunk Driving; 
the  Lenexa  city  prosecutor;  and  a  private  citizen.  Written 
testimony supporting the bill  was submitted by the Kansas 
Department  of  Transportation,  the  Kansas  Bureau  of 
Investigation,  a criminal  defense attorney,  the Leavenworth 
County  Attorney,  the  Pacific  Institute  for  Research  and 
Evaluation, the Kansas Highway Patrol, the Kansas Ignition 
Interlock Association, SRS Deputy Secretary Ray Dalton, and 
a private citizen.  

Opponents  of  the  bill  who testified  before the  Senate 
Committee included a criminal defense attorney who served 
on the DUI Commission and representatives of the Kansas 
Association  of  Criminal  Defense  Lawyers,  National 
Association  of  Social  Workers  (Kansas  Chapter),  Kansas 
Licensed  Beverage  Association,  and  American  Beverage 
Institute. Written testimony opposing the bill was submitted by 
Sedgwick County Commissioner Karl Peterjohn, speaking for 
himself.   

The  following  parties  provided  neutral  testimony: 
representatives  of  Secretary  of  Corrections  Ray  Roberts, 
Kansas  Association  of  Counties,  and  Kansas  Real  Estate 
Commission. Written neutral testimony was submitted by the 
City of Wichita and a private citizen.  
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In an effort to reduce the fiscal impact of SB 7, Senator 
Owens introduced a substitute bill for SB 7 during final action 
in  the  Senate  Committee.  The  substitute  bill:  eliminated 
provisions  contained  in  the  original  bill  that  would  have 
created  new  crimes  of  “refusing  to  submit  to  a  test  to 
determine the presence of alcohol or drugs” and “aggravated 
battery while DUI”; adjusted the severity level of a third DUI 
with  prior  conviction  within  ten  years;  left  ignition  interlock 
duties with the Division of  Vehicles rather than transferring 
them to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment; 
and added an alcohol gallonage tax.

The Senate modified the substitute bill by: changing the 
approved assessment and treatment providers from providers 
authorized  by  the  SRS  to  providers  licensed  by  the 
Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders; changing the lookback period for prior DUI 
convictions  or  diversions  from 1996 to  2001;making a  test 
refusal  by  a  person  over  18  years  of  age  a  factor  to  be 
considered in  determining  the  number  of  prior  convictions; 
reducing  the  grid  block  classifications  for  the  special 
sentencing rules by one letter; eliminating lookback for any 
conviction or adjudication for an act or crime committed when 
a  person  was  under  the  age  of  18;  eliminating  ignition 
interlock requirements for a first-time offender; and changing 
the gallonage tax to a liquor  enforcement tax.  The Senate 
Committee recommended Sub. for SB 7 be passed.  

The fiscal note on the bill, as introduced, indicated the 
following fiscal impact (any fiscal effect associated with SB 7 
is not reflected in The FY 2012 Governor's Budget Report):

Prison Bed Costs

The Kansas Sentencing Commission estimated that SB 
7 would require an increase of 775 to 1,257 adult prison beds 
in FY 2012 and an increase of 1,456 to 2,210 adult prison 
beds by FY 2021. 
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The  current  number  of  male  inmates  exceeds  the 
available  bed  capacity  of  8,259,  and  based  on  Kansas 
Sentencing Commission projections, it is estimated that at the 
end of FY 2011 and FY 2012, the number of male inmates will 
exceed  available  capacity  by  235  beds  and  394  beds, 
respectively. The Governor's recommended FY 2012 budget 
includes  $2.5  million  for  contract  prison  beds  to  address 
these  issues.  If  facility  construction  is  necessary,  the 
Department  of  Corrections  has  identified  two  capacity 
expansion projects: two high medium security housing units 
at  El  Dorado  Correctional  Facility  that  would  provide  512 
beds with a construction cost  of  $22,687,232 ($44,311 per 
bed X 512) and operating costs of $9,339,904 ($18,242 per 
bed  X  512);  and  one  minimum  security  hosing  unit  at 
Ellsworth Correctional  Facility that  would provide 100 beds 
with a construction cost of  $5,935,000 ($59,350 per bed X 
100) and operating costs of $1,832,000 ($18,320 per bed X 
100).

Any  capacity  needed  beyond  these  options  would 
require  additional  contract  or  construction  costs.  Actual 
construction costs would depend upon the security level of 
the beds to be constructed and when construction is actually 
undertaken,  while the actual operating costs would depend 
upon the base salary amounts, fringe benefit rates, per meal 
costs,  per  capita  health  care  costs,  and other  cost  factors 
applicable at the time the additional capacity is occupied. 

Department of Corrections

The Department of Corrections estimated the bill would 
require adding 46.00 parole officer FTE positions with salary 
and wages costs of $2,192,000 and $270,000 for 15 vehicles. 
$182,597  would  be  required  for  4.00  FTE  positions  for 
processing journal entries, parole forms, and DUI sentencing 
computations. $411,865 would be required for programming 
and ongoing operating costs. Total: $3,056,463.
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Office of Judicial Administration

OJA projects at least 4,832 new cases to district courts, 
representing  3,337  cases  from an  estimate  assuming  only 
cities of the first class would be able to adhere to the bill's 
requirements for prosecuting DUI cases, 818 cases resulting 
from the provision requiring felony DUI cases to be filed in 
district courts, and 677 cases from the new crimes created in 
the bill. OJA also projects approximately 5,000 expungement 
petitions. The increased caseload would require the following 
expenditures:  $517,105  for  14.90  trial  clerk  FTE  positions 
(14.90 positions X $34,705 cost per position); $994,458 for 
6.00 judge FTE positions (6.00 positions X $165,743 cost per 
position);  $342,606  for  6.00  court  reporter  FTE  positions 
(6.00 positions  X $57,101 per  position);  $244,650 for  6.00 
administrative  assistant  FTE  positions  (6.00  positions  X 
40,775 per position); and $1,784,053 for 35.50 court services 
officer  FTE positions (35.50 X $50,255 per position).  Total: 
$3,882,872.

Board of Indigent Defense Services

BIDS estimated $877,500 in State General Fund dollars 
in  FY 2012  would  be  needed  to  hire  13.50  attorney  FTE 
positions  (13.50  positions  X  $65,000  cost  per  position). 
$328,950 would be needed for drug and alcohol evaluations 
as required by the bill (2,193 X $150 per evaluation). Total: 
$1,206,450.   

Kansas Bureau of Investigation

KBI estimated it would need State General Fund funding 
in  FY  2012  to  upgrade  the  central  repository  and  data 
exchanges  in  the  following  amounts:  $175,000  to  develop 
detailed  system  requirements  and  designs;  $300,000  to 
develop  a  DUI  portal;  $325,000  to  build  the  required 
interfaces;  $650,000  to  expand  the  central  repository; 
$375,000 to develop notification and management functions; 
$375,000 to link to document imaging systems; $450,000 for 
project  management,  testing,  documentation,  and  training; 
and $225,000 for hardware and software. Total: $2,875,000.
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Social and Rehabilitation Services

SRS estimated 225 individuals would require treatment 
under the bill, costing $176,045 from the State General Fund 
in  FY 2012.  DUI  specialty provider  licensing would  require 
$190,946  for  salary,  wages,  administration,  IT,  travel,  and 
training expenses. Total:  $366,991.

Department of Revenue

The  Department  of  Revenue  estimated  the  new 
application  and  hearing  fees  would  generate  $713,000  in 
revenue  for  the  Vehicle  Operating  Fund.  There  would  be 
costs  of  $20,000  to  create  and  provide  new  forms  and 
$10,800  to  modify  the  driver's  license  system.  Total:  +
$692,200.  

Kansas Department of Health and Environment

KDHE estimated $40,500 from the State General Fund 
would be required to approve ignition interlock devices, which 
includes salary and wages for a .50 Laboratory Improvement 
Specialist  FTE position  and $10,500 for  travel,  equipment, 
training, and database revision expenses.  Total:  $40,500.

Cities and Counties

County jails  could  see  savings  because  of  provisions 
requiring  incarceration  in  state  correctional  facilities  for  4+ 
DUI  convictions.  However,  any savings  would  be offset  by 
additional costs from offenders sentenced to county jails for 
new  crimes  under  the  bill.  The  Kansas  Association  of 
Counties is unable to estimate the precise savings or costs 
under the bill. 

Some municipalities could see court cost reductions due 
to  decreased  DUI  caseloads  as  more  cases  are  filed  in 
district court under the bill. However, revenue from filing fees 
and fines would also be eliminated. The League of Kansas 
Municipalities is unable to determine a precise fiscal effect for 
cities.
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Effect of Substitute Bill

There is no fiscal note available for Sub. for SB 7.   A 
revised bed impact  statement  from the Kansas Sentencing 
Commission  indicates  Sub.  for  SB  7  would  require  an 
increase of 73 to 80 prison beds in FY 2012 and 968 to 1227 
prison beds by FY 2021.

Sub. for SB 7 was designed to reduce the fiscal impact 
from SB 7, as introduced.  The substitute bill  is intended to 
reduce the projected costs to the KDOC, OJA, and BIDS by 
eliminating  the  new crimes  of  test  refusal  and  aggravated 
battery while DUI from the bill language and making some of 
the sentencing provisions less severe. The substitute bill  is 
intended to eliminate the projected cost to KDHE by leaving 
ignition interlock responsibility in the Department of Revenue. 
Finally, the 1 percent increase in the liquor enforcement tax 
proposed  in  the  substitute  bill  is  projected  to  generate  a 
three-year total of $19.12 million ($6.25 million in FY 2012, 
$6.38  million  in  FY 2013,  $6.49  million  in  FY 2014).  The 
revenues of this tax would first be directed to cover the cost 
to  the  KBI  of  upgrading  the  central  repository,  with  the 
remainder  of  the  revenues  deposited  in  the  state  general 
fund.
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