Newly Hired Employees; Child Support Enforcement; SB 306

SB 306 revises the information reported by employers for child support enforcement
purposes. Within 20 business days of the hiring, an employer must report to the Kansas
Secretary of Labor information pertaining to when a newly hired employee started working. The
bill also allows any other information to be reported which may be required in subsequent
amendments to section 453A of the Social Security Act. The bill defines a “newly hired
employee” to mean an employee who either has not previously been employed by the employer
or was previously employed by the employer but has been separated from employment for a
minimum of 60 days.

Kansas Legislative Research Department -1- 2012 Summary of Legislation





