
Professional Employer Organization Registration; Senate Sub. for HB 2077

Senate Sub. for HB 2077 creates the Professional Employer Organization (PEO) Act. A 
person or business that enters into an ongoing co-employment relationship with an employer-
client is defined as a PEO. Prior to providing professional employee-related services for client 
businesses,  a  PEO  shall  register  with  the  Commissioner  of  Insurance  (Commissioner)  by 
providing the following applicant information:

● Names by which the PEO conducts business;

● Principal address and the address of any field office in the state;

● Taxpayer or employer identification number;

● A list, by jurisdiction, of each name under which the PEO has operated in the 
preceding five years;

● A statement of ownership from owners with 15.0 percent or more equity in the 
business;

● A statement of management, including the names and business experience of 
senior executive officers; and

● A financial statement, which would include the latest annual audit and evidence 
of:

○ Positive working capital; or

○ If  there  is  insufficient  working  capital,  the  submission  of  a  bond,  an 
irrevocable  letter  of  credit,  or  securities  with  a  minimum market  value 
which would be equal to positive working capital plus $100,000. Such a 
bond would be held by a depository designated by the Commissioner.

PEOs already doing business in the state shall register within 60 days after the bill’s 
enactment date. Each PEO is required to renew its annual registration within 60 days after the 
end of its fiscal year. If a PEO discovers a client has covered employees in Kansas, the PEO 
either may decline to provide services or notify the Commissioner within five business days after 
the discovery and file for a limited registration or a full registration if there were more than 50 
covered employees. An annual, limited registration is applicable to a PEO that:

● Is located outside Kansas and registered as a PEO in another state;

● Does not have a presence in Kansas or directly solicits clients in the state; and

● Does not have more than 50 covered employees in any one day.
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A professional employer group, composed of two or more PEOs owned or controlled by 
the same person, may register on behalf of its members, provided each PEO has the ability to 
guarantee its financial capacity obligations.

The Kansas Insurance Department maintains a list of registered PEOs that is available 
to the public.  An initial  application fee may not  exceed $1,000.  Fees for  renewal  or  limited 
registration, either for initial or renewal applications, may not exceed $500. Moneys collected 
from fees and penalties are deposited in the newly created Professional Employer Organization 
Fee Fund. The fund is under the control of the Commissioner for administration of the bill.

Under  the  PEO  Act,  an  employer  may  not  knowingly  enter  into  a  co-employment 
relationship that either covers less than a majority of the employer’s in-state employees or in 
which less than half of the employer’s Kansas payroll is attributable to covered employees. A 
PEO  provides  written  notice  of  the  professional  employer  arrangement  to  each  covered 
employee. Neither the bill nor any professional employer agreement affects:

● Collective bargaining agreements;

● The rights of covered employees;

● The contractual relationship between a covered employee and any client;

● The creation of new enforceable rights for a covered employee against a PEO;

● Any licensing, registration, or certification requirement of the employer-client or 
the covered employee; 

● An employer-client’s  designation as woman,  minority-owned,  veteran,  service-
disabled veteran, or small business enterprise; and

● An  employer-client's  eligibility  for  state  or  local  economic  development  or 
incentive programs.

The  PEO  and  the  employer-client  are  responsible  for  sponsoring  retirement  and 
employee welfare benefit plans. A professional employer agreement may require the PEO to 
make payments for covered employees’ benefits. A professional employer agreement between a 
PEO and its employer-client includes:

● The allocation of rights, duties, and obligations;

● The PEO’s responsibility to pay the wages of  covered employees,  along with 
payroll-related withholding and unemployment taxes; and

● The PEO’s right to hire, discipline, or terminate a covered employee.

Unless a professional employer agreement specified differently, the relationship between 
an employer and a PEO may:

Kansas Legislative Research Department -2- 2012 Summary of Legislation



● Allocate rights, duties, and obligations between the employer-client and the PEO;

● Assign  to  the  PEO  the  responsibility  to  pay  wages  for  covered  employees, 
withhold and remit funds for taxes, and pay for benefits;

● Assign to  the  PEO the  right  to  exercise  employment  decisions  over  covered 
personnel;

● Assign to the employer-client the responsibility for the employees’ production of 
goods and services. The employer-client is not liable for an employee when that 
person is acting under the direction and control of the PEO;

● Classify a covered employee to not be an employee of the PEO for liability or 
workers compensation purposes;

● Prohibit  a  PEO from selling  insurance on behalf  of  an employer-client,  but  it 
sponsors health and workers compensation plans for its covered employees from 
an insurance carrier  admitted  to  do business  in  Kansas (if  such policies  are 
canceled  or  non-renewed,  the  PEO must  notify  affected  clients  within  seven 
days); 

● With  regard  to  any  gross  receipts  tax  imposed  upon  a  PEO,  exclude  gross 
income derived from professional employer services performed for an employer-
client; and 

● Assign to the employer-client the responsibility for collecting sales tax and paying 
any tax imposed on a per-employee basis.

If it is determined in a civil hearing by the Commissioner that a person or PEO violated 
the bill or promulgated rules and regulations, the result may be:

● Denial of application for registration;
● Revocation of, restriction of, or refusal to renew a registration;
● A civil fine not to exceed $10,000 per violation;
● Probation; or
● A Cease and Desist Order issued by the Commissioner.

The Commissioner is required to adopt rules and regulations to implement the provisions 
of the PEO Act. 
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