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REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

MR. SPEAKER:

The Committee  on  Federal  and State Affairs recommends  SB 277,  as  amended by 

Senate Committee, be amended on page 10, following line 16, by inserting:

"Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as follows:  41-311. (a) 

No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the liquor control act to a person:

(1) Who has not been a citizen of the United States for at least 10 years, except that the 

spouse of a deceased retail licensee may receive and renew a retail license notwithstanding the 

provisions of this subsection (a)(1) if such spouse is otherwise qualified to hold a retail license 

and is  a  United States  citizen  or  becomes a  United States  citizen  within  one  year  after  the 

deceased licensee's death;

(2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or 

the United States;

(3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of the liquor control 

act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration act or who has had any license issued 

under the cereal malt beverage laws of any state revoked for cause except that a license may be 

issued to a person whose license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at any time 

after the lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation;

(4) who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house of prostitution or 

has  forfeited  bond  to  appear  in  court  to  answer  charges  of  being  a  keeper  of  a  house  of 

prostitution;

(5) who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any 
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other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges 

for any of those crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7) who,  other  than  as  a  member  of  the  governing body of  a  city or  county,  appoints  or 

supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law enforcement official or who is an employee of the 

director;

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as agent of another;

(9) who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued under this act would not 

be eligible for the license upon a first application, except as provided by subsection (a)(12);

(10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under article 27 of chapter 41 of 

the Kansas Statutes Annotated unless the person agrees to and does surrender the license to the officer 

issuing the same upon the issuance to the person of a license under this act,  except that a retailer 

licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, shall be eligible to receive a retailer's 

license under the Kansas liquor control act;

(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or does not, at the time of 

application, have a written lease thereon;

(12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason other 

than citizenship, residence requirements or age, except that this subsection (a)(12) shall not apply in 

determining eligibility for a renewal license;

(13) whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime which would disqualify a 

person from licensure under this section and such felony or other crime was committed during the time 

that the spouse held a license under this act; or

(14) who does not provide any data or information required by K.S.A. 2011 Supp. 41-311b, 

and amendments thereto.
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(b) No retailer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) a person who has not been a resident of this state for at  least  four years immediately 

preceding the date of application;

(3) a person  who has  a  beneficial  interest  in  a  manufacturer,  distributor,  farm winery or 

microbrewery licensed under this act, except that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer's license may 

own and hold a farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both,  if  the spouse does not hold a 

retailer's license issued under this act;

(4) a person who has a beneficial interest in any other retail establishment licensed under this 

act,  except  that  the  spouse  of  a  licensee  may own and hold  a  retailer's  license  for  another  retail 

establishment;

(5) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) a corporation; or

(7) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under 

this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining 

whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(c) No manufacturer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation,  if  any  officer  or  director  thereof,  or  any  stockholder  owning  in  the 

aggregate  more  than  25%  of  the  stock  of  the  corporation  would  be  ineligible  to  receive  a 

manufacturer's license for any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements;

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have been residents of this state for at 

least  five  years  immediately preceding  the  date  of  application  and unless  all  the  members  of  the 

copartnership would be eligible to receive a manufacturer's license under this act;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under 
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this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining 

whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license;

(4) an individual who is not a resident of this state;

(5) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for at least five years immediately 

preceding the date of application; or

(6) a  person  who  has  a  beneficial  interest  in  a  distributor,  retailer,  farm  winery  or 

microbrewery licensed under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto.

(d) No distributor's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer, director or stockholder of the corporation would be ineligible 

to  receive  a  distributor's  license for  any reason other  than  citizenship and residence requirements, 

provided that at least one officer and one director of the corporation meets the citizenship and residence 

requirements.  It  shall  be unlawful for any stockholder of a corporation licensed as a distributor to 

transfer any stock in the corporation to any person who would be ineligible to receive a distributor's 

license for any reason, and any such transfer shall be null and void, except that: (A) If any stockholder 

owning stock in the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to whom stock of the corporation descends 

by  descent  and  distribution  or  by  will  is  ineligible  to  receive  a  distributor's  license,  the  legal 

representatives of the deceased stockholder's estate and the ineligible heir or devisee shall have 14 

months from the date of the death of the stockholder within which to sell the stock to a person eligible 

to receive a distributor's license, any such sale by a legal representative to be made in accordance with 

the provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any such corporation is the subject of any trust 

and any trustee or beneficiary of the trust who is 21 years of age or older is ineligible to receive a 

distributor's license, the trustee, within 14 months after the effective date of the trust, shall sell the stock 

to a person eligible to receive a distributor's license and hold and disburse the proceeds in accordance 

with the terms of the trust. If any legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail, refuse or neglect 
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to sell any stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall revert to and become the property of the 

corporation, and the corporation shall pay to the legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees the 

book value of the stock. During the period of 14 months prescribed by this subsection, the corporation 

shall not be denied a distributor's license or have its distributor's license revoked if the corporation 

meets all of the other requirements necessary to have a distributor's license;

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to receive a distributor's license;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under 

this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining 

whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license; or

(4) a  person  who  has  a  beneficial  interest  in  a  manufacturer,  retailer,  farm  winery  or 

microbrewery licensed under this act.

(e) No nonbeverage user's license shall be issued to a corporation, if any officer, manager or 

director of the corporation or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of 

the corporation would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage user's license for any reason other than 

citizenship and residence requirements.

(f) No microbrewery license or farm winery license shall be issued to a:

(1) Person who is not a resident of  this state;

(2) person  who  has  not  been  a  resident  of  this  state  for  at  least  one  year  immediately 

preceding the date of application;

(3) person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer or distributor licensed under this 

act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto;

(4) person, copartnership or association which has a beneficial interest in any retailer licensed 

under this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, except that the spouse of an applicant 

for a microbrewery or farm winery license may own and hold a retailer's license if the spouse does not 
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hold a microbrewery or farm winery license issued under this act;

(5) copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) corporation, unless stockholders owning in the aggregate 50% or more of the stock of the 

corporation would be eligible to receive such license and all other stockholders would be eligible to 

receive such license except for reason of citizenship or residency; or

(7) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under 

this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining 

whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(g) The provisions of subsections (b)(1), (b)(2), (c)(3), (c)(4), (d)(3), (f)(1), (f)(2) and K.S.A. 

2011 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto, shall not apply in determining eligibility for the 10th, or 

a subsequent, consecutive renewal of a license if the applicant has appointed a citizen of the United 

States  who  is  a  resident  of  Kansas  as  the  applicant's  agent  and  filed  with  the  director  a  duly 

authenticated copy of a duly executed power of attorney, authorizing the agent to accept service of 

process  from the  director  and  the  courts  of  this  state  and  to  exercise  full  authority,  control  and 

responsibility for the conduct of all  business and transactions within the state relative to alcoholic 

liquor and the business licensed. The agent must be satisfactory to and approved by the director, except 

that the director shall not approve as an agent any person who:

(1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or the United 

States;

(2) has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage laws of this or 

any other state revoked for cause, except that a person may be appointed as an agent if the person's 

license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 10 years have lapsed since the date of the 

revocation;

(3) has  been  convicted  of  being  the  keeper  or  is  keeping  a  house  of  prostitution  or  has 
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forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of being a keeper of a house of prostitution;

(4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any other 

crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for 

any of those crimes; or

(5) is less than 21 years of age.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

In line 18, after "41-310," by inserting "41-311,";

On page 1, in the title, in line 3, after "41-310," by inserting "41-311,"; and the bill be passed as 

amended.

_____________________________Chairperson


