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Brief*

SB  155  concerns  career  technical  education  for 
secondary  students,  amends  the  powers  and  duties  of 
technical  college  boards  by  allowing  the  technical  college 
boards  to  acquire  property  by  lease-purchase,  makes 
changes  to  the  school  finance  formula  related  to  at-risk 
students, and revises the provision in the school finance law 
concerning  the  calculation  of  the  high-density  at-risk  pupil 
weighting.

Career Technical Education

The  bill  would  require  the  Kansas  State  Board  of 
Education (State Board) to conduct or contract for a study of 
the implementation of  a  new requirement  that  each school 
district maintain an individual career plan of study for each 
student  enrolled  in  grades  8  through 12.  The State  Board 
would  need  to  submit  findings  from  the  study  to  the 
Legislature by January 15, 2014. This provision would go into 
effect  on  July  1,  2013.  The  State  Board  also  would  be 
required to  report  to  the  Legislature  by January 15,  2014, 
regarding  a  proposed  strategy  and  a  proposed  plan  for 
providing state aid to career technical education programs or 
courses  in  school  districts  and  shall  consider  the  funding 
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scheme under the postsecondary tiered technical education 
state aid act.

The bill also would require the Kansas Board of Regents 
to establish a career technical education incentive program, 
which  would  award  $1,000,  subject  to  appropriation,  to  a 
school district for each high school graduate who graduates 
from that district with an industry-recognized credential in a 
high-need occupation, as identified by the Kansas Secretary 
of Labor, in consultation with the Kansas Board of Regents 
and the State Board. The bill would allow the Kansas Board 
of  Regents  to  adopt  rules  and  regulations  necessary  to 
administer the program.  A school district would reimburse a 
pupil  who  has  not  obtained  a  high  school  diploma and  is 
currently  or  previously  was  enrolled  in  a  career  technical 
education course or program in the district an amount up to 
half  of  the  cost  of  the  industry-recognized  credential 
assessment (assessment).  This  reimbursement  would  be 
taken out of the $1,000 incentive award to the school district. 
No school district would be required to pay for three or more 
assessments  for  the  same  or  substantially  the  same 
credential if  the pupil  fails to earn the credential within two 
attempts  of  taking  the  assessment.  After  payment  for 
assessments, the school district would be allowed to use any 
remaining  portion  of  the  $1,000  award  for  the  district's 
operating expenses. 

The  same provisions  would  apply  to  students  from a 
private secondary school, attending a community or technical 
college  or  institute  of  technology,  except  that  the  Kansas 
Board of Regents would reimburse a community or technical 
college or institute of technology for payment of the cost of 
assessments up to $1,000 per student. The bill also clarifies 
that  the  Kansas  Board  of  Regents  would  be  required  to 
distribute  state  funds  to  community  colleges,  technical 
colleges,  and the Washburn Institute of  Technology for  the 
costs  associated  with  secondary  students  enrolled  at 
postsecondary career technical educational programs, to the 
extent sufficient moneys are appropriated to the program.
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The bill would allow the governing board of a community 
college, technical college, or institute of technology to apply 
to the Kansas Board of Regents for permission to establish a 
career technical education program outside of the institution's 
service area if the program is not currently being offered in 
that service area. The provisions of this section would go into 
effect on July 1, 2013.

High school students admitted to a vocational education 
course  or  program  conducted  by  a  community  college, 
technical college, or institute of technology could be charged 
fees,  but  not  tuition.  Tuition for  secondary career technical 
education students would be subject to appropriations.

The bill would define "secondary student" as a pupil who 
has  not  attained  a  high  school  diploma  or  a  general 
educational development credential and is regularly enrolled 
in or attending a public or private secondary school. The term 
"institute of technology" would refer to the Washburn Institute 
of Technology.

The bill would require the Kansas Board of Regents to 
initiate the development of a statewide articulation agreement 
on career technical education programs among high schools, 
community  colleges,  technical  colleges,  and  the  Washburn 
Institute of Technology. This provision would go into effect on 
July 1, 2013.

The  bill  would  maintain  the  vocational  education 
program  weighting  of  0.5  in  current  law which  is  used  to 
compute the full-time equivalent enrollment in any approved 
vocational  education  program,  with  no  sunset  on  this 
provision.

Technical College Boards' Ability to Acquire Property by 
Lease-Purchase

Additionally, the bill would amend the powers and duties 
of technical college boards by allowing the boards to acquire 

3 - 155



any  property  by  lease-purchase  which  is  necessary  or 
desirable for technical college purposes. The lease purchase 
agreement is limited to ten years, may provide for annual or 
other payment of rent or rental fees, including maintenance or 
other expenses, and is subject to change or termination at 
any  time  by  the  Legislature  and  must  contain  a  clause 
containing such termination language.

At-Risk Students

The bill also would make changes to the school finance 
formula related to at-risk students.  If  a  student  submits  an 
application for free meals under the National School Lunch 
Act,  and it  is  later  determined that  the  student  should  not 
have been eligible,  the school district  or the Department of 
Education would notify the State Board of Education. After the 
notification,  the  Board  would  recompute  the  general  fund 
budget  of  the  school  district  based  upon  the  adjusted 
enrollment, excluding the at-risk student. The amount of state 
aid to the affected district would be adjusted accordingly.

In addition, if a student became ineligible to receive free 
meals  under  the  National  School  Lunch  Act  for  failure  to 
submit,  in  a  timely  manner,  documentation  necessary  for 
verification of eligibility, the district would have until January 
14  of  the  school  year  to  submit  the  student’s  required 
documentation and avoid exclusion from the district’s at-risk 
student count.

This portion of the bill would not become effective until 
school year 2012–13.

High-Density At-Risk Pupil Weighting

Finally, the bill would revise the provision in the school 
finance law concerning the calculation of the high-density at-
risk pupil weighting.
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The bill would provide for a linear transition formula to 
calculate the high-density at-risk pupil weighting for districts 
having between 35.0 percent and 50.0 percent at-risk pupils. 
For those districts having an at-risk pupil percentage of 50.0 
percent or more, or for  districts having an enrollment  of  at 
least 35.1 percent at-risk pupils and an enrollment density of 
at  least  212.1  pupils  per  square  mile,  the  district  would 
multiply the number of at-risk pupils by 0.105 to determine the 
high-density  at-risk  weighting.  For  those  districts  having 
between 35.0 percent to less than 50.0 percent at-risk pupils, 
the district  would multiply the number of at-risk pupils by a 
factor of 0.7.

The medium-density at-risk weighting would expire on 
June 30, 2012.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee removed the contents of SB 
155  which  concerned  the  assessed  valuations  of  certain 
school districts. The Conference Committee then added the 
contents  of  Substitute  for  SB  393,  which  concerns  career 
technical  education  and  allows  technical  college  boards  to 
acquire property by lease-purchase, sections 1 through 9 and 
section 41, as it passed the House Committee of the Whole, 
with the following changes:

● The bill  would  maintain  the  vocational  education 
program weighting of  0.5 in  current  law which is 
used to compute the full-time equivalent enrollment 
in  any  approved  vocational  education  program, 
with no sunset on this provision; and

● A school district will reimburse a pupil who has not 
obtained a high school diploma and is currently or 
previously  was  enrolled  in  a  career  technical 
education  course  or  program  in  the  district  an 
amount  up  to  half  of  the  cost  of  the  industry-
recognized  credential  assessment.  This 
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reimbursement  will  be  taken  out  of  the  $1,000 
incentive award to the school district.

The Conference Committee also added the contents 
of HB 2017, as it passed the House Committee of the Whole, 
and  HB  2018,  as  it  passed  the  House  Committee  of  the 
Whole.

Background

SB 155 Issues

The original SB 155 from the 2011 Legislative Session 
related to the assessed valuation of the former Kansas Army 
Ammunitions Plant property to the first  consolidated unified 
school  district  (USD),  if  the boards  of  education  of  two or 
more  school  districts  form  one  consolidated  USD and  the 
State Board approves the consolidation before July 1, 2016. 

Sub. for SB 393 Issues

Sub. for SB 393, originally, was a portion of SB 361, the 
Governor's  Excellence  in  Education  Act.  At  the  Senate 
Education Committee hearing on SB 393, representatives of 
the  Kansas  Board  of  Regents,  Kansas  Restaurant  and 
Hospitality  Association,  and  United  School  Administrators 
testified as proponents. There was no other testimony.

The Senate  Committee  made  several  changes to  the 
bill, including the following:

● Eliminating a provision that would have abolished 
the current  vocational  education  weighting  in  the 
school  finance  formula  and  replacing  it  with  a 
career  technical  education  state  aid  payment 
program to be established by the State Board; and
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● Eliminating a provision that would have prohibited 
provision of career technical education state aid to 
secondary  career  technical  education  programs 
that  were  determined  by  the  State  Board  to  be 
duplicative  and  located  within  30  miles  of  a 
program offered by a postsecondary institution.

The Senate Committee recommended a substitute bill 
with the provisions described above and added definitions for 
"articulation  agreement,"  "fees  and  tuition,"  and  "individual 
career plan."

The  House  Education  Committee  made  several 
amendments to the substitute bill, including:

● Making a provision for reimbursement of industry-
recognized credential assessments;

● Eliminating the 0.5 vocational education weighting 
for the 2013–14 school year and years thereafter;

● Adding  the  Kansas  Board  of  Regents  and  State 
Board as consultants with the Kansas Secretary of 
Labor in determining high-need occupations; and

● Adding  definitions  for  "secondary  student"  and 
"institute of technology."

The  bill  was  sent  to  the  House  Education  Budget 
Committee  by  the  House  Appropriations  Committee  where 
the bill was amended to include the contents of the following 
bills (No provisions of these bills,  except HB 2017 and HB 
2018, are included in this conference committee report):

● 2011  HB  2200,  as  amended  by  the  House 
Committee  of  the  Whole.  The  House  Education 
Budget Committee amended the dates by which a 
levy or  contractual  bond obligation were incurred 
from July 1, 2011, to January 1, 2013, for Capital 
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Improvement State Aid and from July 1, 2011,  to 
July 1, 2012, for Capital Outlay State Aid.

● 2011  HB  2017,  as  amended  by  the  House 
Committee on Education.

● 2012  HB  2018,  as  amended  by  the  House 
Committee  on  Education.  The  House  Education 
Budget Committee amended the effective date of 
the bill to the 2012–13 school year.

● 2012  House  Sub.  for  SB  28,  as  passed  by  the 
House Committee of the Whole.

● 2011  HB  2269,  as  amended  by  the  House 
Committee  of  the  Whole.  The  House  Education 
Budget  Committee  amended language in  the  bill 
passed by the House Committee of the Whole by 
requiring  the  district  to  adopt  a  local  operating 
budget  which  is  required  to  be  at  least  10.0 
percent,  but not more than 30.0 percent, of  state 
financial aid for the current year. A local operating 
budget in excess of 30.0 percent shall be adopted 
by  a  separate  resolution  and  approved  by  a 
majority of  qualified electors of the school district 
voting  at  election.  An  amount  equal  to  $420 
multiplied by the adjusted enrollment of the school 
district must be transferred to the general fund. The 
transferred funds must be expended first to at-risk 
(10.0 percent), second to bilingual education (10.0 
percent), and, lastly, to general operating expenses 
(any  remaining  funds).  These  funds  would  be 
deemed state moneys for  education  and support 
services for school districts.

● 2012  HB  2634,  as  passed  by  the  House 
Committee  of  the  Whole.  The  House  Education 
Budget  Committee  added  a  new  section  which 
would allow a teacher at a community or technical 
college to teach a career technical education class 
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at the secondary level without completing a teacher 
preparation program prior to certification.

The  bill  also  was  amended  by  the  House  Education 
Budget  Committee  to  allow  the  boards  of  a  community 
college, technical college, or institute of technology to acquire 
any  property  by  lease-purchase  which  is  necessary  or 
desirable for technical college purposes and to limit the lease-
purchase to ten years. Language also was included in the bill 
to  extend  the  sunset  provision  for  the  0.5  weighting  three 
years  and  to  require  the  State  Board  to  report  to  the 
Legislature  by  January  15,  2014,  regarding  a  proposed 
strategy and plan for providing state aid to career technical 
education  programs or  courses  in  school  districts.  The bill 
also includes clarifying language regarding the distribution of 
state  funds to  community  colleges,  technical  colleges,  and 
the Washburn Institute of Technology for the cost associated 
with  secondary  students  enrolled  in  postsecondary  career 
technical education programs as determined by the Kansas 
Board of Regents.

The  House  Committee  of  the  Whole  made  several 
amendments  including  establishment  of  an  extracurricular 
school  activities  budget,  prohibition  on  the  use  of 
supplemental general funds for engaging in or supporting any 
manner  of  school  finance  litigation,  establishing  a  Unified 
School District Contribution Program check off on individual 
income  tax  forms,  and  expanding  the  categories  those 
individuals  eligible  for  resident  tuition  at  Kansas  Board  of 
Regents  institutions,  as  well  as  conforming  amendments. 
(These  provisions  are  not  included  in  this  conference 
committee report.)

There  was  no  fiscal  note  on  the  substitute  bill.  The 
Division of the Budget fiscal note on the original version of SB 
393 indicated enactment would require total expenditures of 
$57,960,952  from  the  State  General  Fund  for  FY  2013, 
including $28.5 million for the Kansas Board of Regents and 
$29,460,952 for the Kansas Department of Education.
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HB 2017 Issues

This bill was introduced in the 2011 Legislative Session 
and  recommended  by  the  2010  Special  Committee  on 
Education. The House Committee on Education amended the 
bill by delaying its effects until the 2012–13 school year. The 
Division  of  the  Budget  fiscal  note  estimated  a  savings  of 
$3,293,050 in state aid for the bill as originally written.

HB 2018 Issues

HB  2018  was  introduced  during  the  2011  Legislative 
session. At the House Committee on Education's hearing on 
the bill  in 2011,  proponents included representatives of the 
Kansas Association of School Boards and the Kansas City, 
Kansas,  School  District.  There  were  no  opponents.  In  the 
2012  Legislative  Session,  the  House  Committee  on 
Education  made  technical  amendments  to  the  bill.  The 
Division of the Budget fiscal note on the original bill included 
an  estimate  of  $3,347,680  additional  State  General  Fund 
dollars for FY 2012. There was no fiscal note for the bill as 
further amended.
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