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Brief*

HB  2568  would  make  several  amendments  to  the 
Kansas  Offender  Registration  Act.  The  bill  would  add 
"adjudications" alongside convictions throughout the bill and 
amend some key terms,  including the removal  of  hospitals 
from the definition of "treatment facility." 

The bill  also would provide that courts are required to 
register offenders at conviction or adjudication, rather than at 
sentencing or disposition, and clarify the other responsibilities 
of the court with respect to offender registration at that time, 
including additional requirements if the offender is released. 
The bill would clarify, however, that the court must ensure the 
age of the victim is documented in the journal entry at the 
time of sentencing, rather than at conviction, as there is no 
journal entry at the time of conviction. Similarly, the bill would 
revise the responsibilities with respect to offender registration 
of any correctional facility or the registering law enforcement 
agency's  designee;  the  staff  of  any  treatment  facility;  the 
registering  law enforcement  agency,  upon  the  reporting  of 
any offender; and the Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI). 

Additionally,  the  bill  would  revise  offender  registration 
requirements to remove the requirement if an offender is in 
the  care  or  custody  of  any  treatment  facility  and  amend 
requirements  with  respect  to  travel  outside  the  U.S.  and 
information that must be provided on the registration form.
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*Conference committee report briefs are prepared by the Legislative 
Research  Department  and  do  not  express  legislative  intent.  No 
summary is prepared when the report is an agreement to disagree. 
Conference committee report briefs may be accessed on the Internet 
at http://www.kslegislature.org/klrd 

http://www.kslegislature.org/klrd


Further,  the  bill  would  amend the 15-year  registration 
requirement  for  some crimes by removing the  requirement 
under sexual battery that one of the parties be less than 18 
years of age and adding convictions of any person required 
by  court  order  to  register  for  an  offense  not  otherwise 
required  by  the  Kansas  Offender  Registration  Act.  It  also 
would  amend  the  lifetime  registration  requirement  for  the 
crime  of  aggravated  human  trafficking  by  removing  the 
requirement the victim be less than 18 years of age.

The bill would provide no internet website sponsored or 
created by a registering law enforcement agency or the KBI 
would be allowed to contain the address of any place where 
the offender is an employee or any other information about 
where the offender works. Such a website, however, would 
be  required  to  contain  a  statement  that  employment 
information  is  publicly  available  and  may  be  obtained  by 
contacting  the  appropriate  registering  law  enforcement 
agency or by signing up for community notification through 
the KBI website. 

Finally,  the  bill  would  provide  when  a  court  orders 
expungement  of  a  conviction  or  adjudication  that  requires 
registration,  the  offender  would  be  required  to  continue 
registering,  although the registration  would  not  be  open to 
inspection  by  the  public  or  posted  on  the  internet.  If  the 
offender  has  an  additional  conviction  or  adjudication  that 
requires registration that is not expunged, registration for that 
conviction or  adjudication would remain open to the public 
and may be posted on the internet,  unless the registration 
has been ordered restricted.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to revert to current 
law with respect to the placement of "sexual battery" in the list 
that  classifies  a  person  as  a  "sex  offender,"  rather  than 
placing it in the definition of "sexually violent crime." Persons 
convicted  of  a  sexually  violent  crime  or,  with  some 
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exceptions, adjudicated as a juvenile offender of a sexually 
violent crime are also classified as sex offenders.

The House acceded to the Senate's other amendments 
to the bill, and the Conference Committee agreed to amend 
the bill  to  clarify that  if  a  court  orders expungement  of  an 
adjudication that requires registration, registration would still 
be  required  but  would  not  be  public.  Further,  if  such 
expungement  is  ordered  but  the  offender  has  another 
adjudication  that  requires  registration,  registration  for  the 
other adjudication would be public, unless ordered restricted.

Background

In  the  House Committee on Corrections  and Juvenile 
Justice,  representatives  of  the  The  KBI,  Kansas  Hospital 
Association,  and  the  Kansas  Department  of  Corrections 
offered testimony in support of HB 2568. The Committee also 
received testimony in opposition to the bill from the Kansas 
Association  of  Criminal  Defense  Lawyers  and  neutral 
testimony  from  the  Office  of  Judicial  Administration.  The 
Committee  amended  the  bill  by  adopting  several 
amendments proposed by the conferees. 

In the Senate Committee on Judiciary,  representatives 
of  the  KBI  appeared  as  proponents  of  the  bill.  A 
representative of the Kansas Association of Criminal Defense 
Lawyers offered testimony in opposition to the bill. 

The  Committee  amended  the  bill  by  adding  "sexual 
battery"  to  the  definition  of  "sexually  violent  crime"  and 
removing it  from the list  that  classifies  a  person as a sex 
offender. The Committee also amended the bill to clarify that 
the court must ensure the age of the victim is documented in 
the  journal  entry  at  the  time  of  sentencing,  rather  than  at 
conviction,  as  there  is  no  journal  entry  at  the  time  of 
conviction.
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Further, the bill was amended to provide when a court 
orders expungement of a conviction that requires registration, 
the offender still  would be required to continue registering, 
although the registration would not be open to inspection by 
the public or posted on the internet.  If  the offender has an 
additional  conviction  that  requires  registration  that  is  not 
expunged, registration for that conviction would remain open 
to the public and may be posted on the internet unless the 
registration has been ordered restricted.

Finally,  the  Committee  added  a  provision  to  require 
notice on the KBI website that employment information may 
be obtained by signing up for community notification through 
the KBI website.The fiscal note for HB 2568, as introduced, 
indicates passage would have no fiscal effect on the KBI. The 
League of Kansas Municipalities and the Kansas Association 
of  Counties  estimate  that  the  fiscal  effect  for  local 
governments would be negligible and could be handled within 
current  resources.  The  Kansas  Sentencing  Commission 
states the bill would have no effect on prison admissions or 
beds.Kansas Offender Registration Act
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