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Brief*

HB 2435 would amend the Vocational Education
Scholarship, deal with state universities and negotiated
contracts, extend a sunset on private and out-of-state
postsecondary fees, change requirements related to remedial
education and the qualified admissions standards at state
education institutions, and authorize individual plans for
success for students admitted under the minimum admissions
standards.

Vocational Education Scholarship

The bill would replace the existing Vocational Education
Scholarship with the new Career Technical Workforce Grant.
The grant would be available for students at or accepted into
a designated career technical education program at the
postsecondary level as designated by the Board of Regents.
The Board of Regents, within the limits of appropriations,
could award grants to those applicants who exhibit financial
need. Under the bill, a grant for a full-time student would be
up to $1,000 per year, but could not exceed the cost of tuition
and fees.

The bill would allow the Board of Regents to adopt rules
and regulations. The Board of Regents would administer the
grant using guidelines detailed in the bill. The Career
Technical Workforce Grant would be evaluated by the Board
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of Regents each year and a report would be provided to the
Governor and the Legislature.

If a student were to discontinue attendance, the
refunded tuition and fees would go to the Career Technical
Workforce Grant Discontinued Attendance Fund to be used
for future grants. This also would be true for the state’s share
of any federal funding involved.

State Universities and Negotiated Contracts

The bill would allow a state university employee to
provide factual information, advice, or recommendations
related to the negotiated terms of a technology licensing
agreement or other research or development agreement
between the university and a company in which the employee
has a substantial interest, with two exceptions: employees
who have the authority to negotiate or to approve the
agreement on behalf of the university would not be allowed to
provide factual information, advice, or recommendations; and
employees acting in their capacity as a state university
employee and who would receive a direct financial benefit
would be limited to providing factual information in relation to
the negotiated terms of an agreement.

The bill would become part of the governmental ethics
laws.

Private and Out-of-State Postsecondary Fees

The bill would extend the authority until June 30, 2017,
for the Board of Regents to fix, charge, and collect fees for
Kansas private and out-of-state postsecondary institutions
operating in Kansas. Currently, this authority expires on June
30, 2012.
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Remedial Education, Qualified Admissions Standards, and
Individual Plans for Success

The bill would prohibit State General Fund dollars from
being used for remedial courses at state universities effective
August 15, 2015, but would not prohibit the courses from
being provided with funding from other sources. Exceptions
to this provision include a student who is in military service, is
21 years of age or older, or is an international student
enrolled in a remedial English as a second language course.
(State General Fund moneys could be used for remedial
courses offered to those in the exception categories.)

Also, the bill would allow the development of individual
student plans for success by each state educational
institution admitting a student under the 10.0 percent
exception to the minimum admissions standards. In
academic years 2012-2013 and 2013-2014, development of
the plans is voluntary. In academic year 2014-2015,
individual plans for success would become a requirement
prior to enrolliment of students admitted under the 10.0
percent exception window. An individual plan for success
would be reviewed by the student and the student's advisor at
least once during the 12-month period immediately preceding
the initial adoption of the plan. The plan could be revised
upon mutual agreement of the student and the student's
advisor.

An individual plan for success would be a written
statement jointly developed by the student, student's advisor,
and any other employee designated by the state educational
institution for the purpose of developing the plan. The plan
could address a student's extracurricular activities, financial
needs, and any other aspect of student life having a bearing
on a student's academic success.

The bill would require the Board of Regents to conduct a
study regarding the retention and graduation rates of students
who are accepted into state universities through the
exceptions to the minimum admissions standards. The Board
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would be required to report the study's findings to the Senate
and House Committees on Education by January 13, 2014.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee accepted the Senate
amendments to the bill and added several bills to HB 2435.
Those bills and the changes made to them in Conference
Committee are described below.

SB 258 related to state university employees providing
factual information, advice, or recommendations related to
the negotiated terms of a technology licensing agreement or
other research or development agreement between the
university and a company in which the employee has
substantial interest. The Conference Committee deleted the
sunset provision.

SB 261 related to private and out-of-state postsecondary
educational institution fees; the Conference Committee added
a sunset date of August 15, 2015.

HB 2745 would prohibit State General Fund dollars from
being used for remedial courses at state universities effective
August 15, 2015, but would not prohibit the courses from
being provided with funding from other sources. Exceptions
to this provision include a student who is in military service, is
21 years of age or older, or is an international student
enrolled in a remedial English as a second language course.

The Conference Committee added a provision which
would require the Board of Regents to conduct a study
regarding the retention and graduation rates of students who
are accepted into state universities through the exceptions
window. The Board would be required to report the study's
findings to the Senate and House Committees on Education
by January 13, 2014.
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The Conference Committee added a provision
authorizing the creation of “individual plans for success” for
students admitted under the minimum admissions standards.

Background

HB 2435 was introduced by the Legislative Educational
Planning Committee at the request of the Board of Regents.

Representatives from the Kansas Board of Regents, the
Kansas Hospital Association, and the Kansas Association of
Community College Trustees spoke in support of the bill.
There were no opponents.

The House Committee on Education Budget made
technical amendments to the bill, as recommended by the
Revisor of Statutes. The Senate Education Committee
defined a designated career technical education program.

On the bill, as introduced, the Division of the Budget
indicated there would be no fiscal impact as funding would be
dependent upon appropriations.

SB 258 Issues

The Kansas Board of Regents provided written
testimony in support of SB 258 and a representative from the
University of Kansas spoke in support of the original bill.

There were no opponents to the original bill.

The Senate Committee on Ways and Means amended
SB 258 to prohibit employees receiving a direct financial
benefit from providing advice or recommendations related to
these types of agreements.

The Senate Committee of the Whole amended the bill to
clarify the prohibition on advice or recommendations as
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applying only to state employees acting in their capacity as a
state employee providing advice or recommendations in
relation to the negotiated terms of an agreement.

The House Education Committee amended the bill by
adding a sunset date of July 1, 2016.

The Division of the Budget fiscal note on the original SB
258 indicated there would be no fiscal effect.

SB 261 Issues

SB 261 was introduced by the Legislative Educational
Planning Committee. Proponents of the bill included
representatives of the Kansas Board of Regents, the
University of Phoenix, National American University, Brown
Mackie College, and the Kansas Real Estate Commission.

A bill passed during the 2011 Legislative Session placed
an expiration date of June 30, 2012, on the Board of Regents'
fee schedule established for Kansas private and out-of-state
postsecondary education institutions operating in Kansas.
The Board of Regents requested elimination of this expiration
date in its 2012 package of legislative initiatives.

The House Committee on Education Budget amended
the bill to add a sunset date of June 30, 2017.

The Division of the Budget fiscal note on the original bill
indicated passage of the bill would not increase the amount of
revenue the Board of Regents received. The fiscal note went
on to say that if the bill does not pass, the source of funding
would be lost.

HB 2745 Issues

Speaker O'Neal spoke in favor of HB 2745 at the House
Committee on Appropriations' hearing. There were no
opponents.

6 - 2435



The House Committee of the Whole amended HB 2745
to give those in military service preference when determining
which students to admit under the exception.

Regarding HB 2745, the fiscal note provided by the
Division of the Budget indicates, if the universities were to
stop providing remedial courses, the estimated tuition and
fees revenue lost would be $3.3 million; however, the
estimated costs of providing the courses would be reduced by
$1.5 million, for a net reduction in revenue of $1.8 million. The
estimated loss in tuition from the reduction in the exception
rate from 10.0 percent to 5.0 percent is approximately
$525,252.
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