
Uninsured Motorists: Basic Questions and Answers

What does “uninsured” mean when speaking of uninsured motorists?  Kansas law 
requires that a vehicle operated on state highways be insured. Criteria differ from state to state, 
but in general the term “uninsured motorist” is applied to these groups:

● Motorists without insurance driving uninsured vehicles;
● Motorists with insurance driving uninsured vehicles;
● Motorists driving with insurance, but denied coverage;
● Motorists whose insurance carrier has become insolvent; and
● Unknown motorists who cause crashes, regardless of insurance (hit and run).

How many motorists are uninsured? No one knows for certain, in any state, and the 
answers depend on how the rate is measured.  Cross-checking between records of insured 
vehicles and records of registered vehicles is one method, but that rate will not include vehicles 
that are not registered. The Insurance Research Council (IRC) annually releases a rate that is 
based on uninsured motorist and bodily injury insurance claims. The graph below shows trends 
for Kansas and nearby states.

Rates of Uninsured Motorists, Kansas and Nearby States, 2005-2009

Sources: “Uninsured Motorists,” 2008 and 2011 Editions, Insurance Research Council

The IRC states that a 1 percent change in the unemployment rate, up or down, changed 
the uninsured motorist rate by 0.75 percent.

What does Kansas law say about motor vehicle insurance?  Kansas is among 49 
states  that  require  vehicles  operated on  public  roadways  to  be insured,  and the  50th  state 
(Vermont) requires “financial responsibility.” 

● A vehicle must be insured.  A vehicle must be insured before it can be registered and 
the owner must  “maintain financial  security continuously throughout  the period of 
registration.” (KSA 2010 Supp. 40-3118)

● Proof must be provided. A driver must show proof of financial security in the event of 
a crash (KSA 8-1604(a)) and at any time requested by a law enforcement officer 
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(KSA 2010 Supp. 40-3104(d)). Also, the Director of Vehicles (at the Department of 
Revenue) is authorized to require a vehicle owner or the owner's insurance company 
to provide records proving the continuous coverage.  Kansas law allows coverage to 
be proven at registration with various types of documents and, since 2001, on-line or 
electronically;  since  2004,  the  Insurance  Commissioner  has  been  authorized  to 
require companies to provide electronic verification. (KSA 8-173(d)).

● Punishments  include  fines,  jail  time,  and  suspension  or  revocation  of  a  driver's 
license, vehicle registration, or both.  In addition to fines of $300 to $1,000 for a first 
violation  and  $800  to  $2,500  for  a  subsequent  conviction  within  three  years,  a 
violator can be jailed for not more than six months. The Director of Vehicles may 
suspend a vehicle's registration and its owner's license when the Director has prima 
facie evidence  that  continuous  financial  security  was  not  maintained.  The 
reinstatement fee is $100 ($300 if  a subsequent  violation within one year).  (KSA 
2010 Supp. 40-3104, 40-3118) (For registration purposes, the Director may verify 
insurance coverage on-line or electronically. [KSA 8-173(d)])  In addition, under the 
terms of 2011 SB 136 (Session Laws Ch. 59),  an uninsured motorist operating a 
vehicle involved in a crash may not collect certain noneconomic damages (“no pay, 
no play”).

How  can  a  state  deter  motorists  from  driving  vehicles  that  are  not  insured? 
Research suggests states have taken combinations of three approaches:

● Create a culture of having insurance.   While not all factors that create such a culture 
are known, researchers say there appear to be links to consistent enforcement.

● Make insurance more affordable.   Approaches include the New Jersey “Basic” policy 
and California's eligibility-restricted Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program.

● Punish those who have been found to have no insurance.   However,  researchers 
have  not  found  a  direct  correlation  between  strict  statutes  and  lower  rates  of 
uninsured motorists.

How can insurance coverage be verified electronically?  Approaches to electronic 
verification use one or both of two main approaches: (1) the state creates and maintains a 
database or (2) the state checks against insurance companies' data. Under either scenario, the 
state usually is assisted by a vendor to use the data to determine whether a vehicle is insured. 
The state registration database, which contains information such as the vehicle identification 
number (VIN) and the owner's name, is the link between the license plate number entered by a 
law enforcement officer, Division of Vehicles employee, or court employee and the information 
about the vehicle.   Each approach has its advantages and disadvantages, and some states 
(such as California and Texas) use combinations.  

● If a state maintains a database (an approach in use for many years), all the data is in 
a  single  place and in  a  single  format,  and coverage will  be  listed  regardless  of 
whether the insured has changed companies. However, data lag company records, 
and there are no national standards. The state has responsibility for proprietary data. 
Together,  HDI Solutions, Inc., and Insure-Rite, Inc., provide services of this type in 
states including Utah and Texas.

● The Insurance Industry Committee on Motor Vehicle Administration (IICMVA) has 
established standards for on-line verification of insurance company records. Data are 
as current as a company's files, and the company retains its data. MV Verisol is a 
leading  company  in  on-line  verification  using  the  IICMVA  model;  it  gave  a 
presentation  to  various  committees  during  the  2010  Legislative  Session.  The 
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company says  11  states  have  adopted this  model,  but  such a  system does  not 
appear to be fully functional in any state yet.

What priorities for an electronic verification system already have been determined 
for Kansas? In its third-year report, to the 2009 Legislature, Kansas’ Electronic Motor Vehicle 
Financial  Security  Verification  Task  Force  cited  four  goals  to  serve  as  the  framework  for 
addressing electronic real-time verification:

● Assist the Director of Motor Vehicles and county treasurers in registration of motor 
vehicles in compliance with motor vehicle financial security law; 

● Provide law enforcement  officers  with  roadside information  during traffic  stops to 
determine whether vehicles are in compliance with motor vehicle financial security 
law;

● Provide greater assurance to the motoring public that other vehicles on the road are 
insured as required by law; and 

● Offer convenient insurance policy interface and reporting for companies required to 
provide insurance policy information to the state. 

A  representative  of  the  Kansas  Department  of  Insurance,  also  representing 
representatives  of  the Department  of  Revenue,  also suggested twelve  requirements for  the 
system  design.  Those  suggestions  included  access  to  information  nationwide,  not  just  for 
vehicles registered in Kansas; a system that is easily, reliably and accurately accessible from a 
patrol  car  and  from  fixed  locations;  and  compatibility  with  nearly  all  state  and  insurance 
company systems. The suggested requirements also included that a new system be established 
legislatively. “Real-time” is not defined consistently, but IICMVA standards require a participating 
insurance company to reply within five seconds and make data available at all times.

How will one know whether an action the state takes reduces the rate of uninsured 
vehicles?  Measured  rates  would  decrease.  The  rates  measured  could  include  the  rate  of 
registered  vehicles  for  which  insurance  cannot  be  confirmed  and  the  IRC-determined  rate 
(based on claims).  Also, violations for no insurance would decrease. The following table shows 
trends in violations related to no vehicle insurance from data kept by the Division of Vehicles. 
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UNINSURED MOTORIST LEGISLATION

2005-2006

● 2005  HB  2305.  The  bill  would  have  amended KSA 40-284,  which  deals  with 
uninsured  motorist  coverage  and underinsured  motorists  and liability  protections. 
The bill would have removed the language that the insured may recover what the 
uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage exceeds in the bodily injury coverage of 
the other motorist. The language would have instead allowed the recovery to be to 
the  limits  of  the  amount  of  liability  actually  available  to  the  injured  insured. 
(Recommended by House Committee; failed on an HCOW vote.)

● SB  321. The  bill  would  have  required  a  real-time,  online  insurance  verification 
system  bill  with  an  implementation  deadline  (January  1,  2008)  for  the  Kansas 
Department of Revenue.

● SB 322. The bill  was the first  2006 legislative review of  the penalties under  the 
Kansas Automobile Injury Reparations Act (KAIRA). Among provisions of the bill, as 
introduced, was the proposed amendment that a third offense of a motorist being 
uninsured would result in a felony charge (currently there is no specific penalty for a 
third offense). The bill also increased fines. Senate Committee amendments added 
the contents of Sub. for HB 2690. Discussion of both SB 321 and SB 322 led to the 
introduction of SCR 1619.

● SCR 1619. This resolution called for a task force study of an electronic verification 
system (online insurance database system for verification of proof of insurance). The 
17-member  task  force  was  composed  of  insurance  company  representatives, 
legislators, and agency officials. The task force was to report its recommendations 
and conclusions on the feasibility of such system to the Legislature no later than the 
commencement of the 2007 Session. [ENACTED]

○ The Legislature again considered proposals to address uninsured motorists 
and  amendments  to  current  procedures  and  penalties.  The  resolutions 
reauthorizing  the  Electronic  Motor  Vehicle  Financial  Security  Verification 
System Task Force, 2007 SCR 1603 and 2008 SCR 1616, were enacted into 
law.  

● Sub.  for  HB  2690. The  bill  addressed  resuspension  and  revocation  of  drivers’ 
licenses. The language was placed into SB 322, after it was approved by the Senate 
Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance, and then placed in Senate Sub. 
for HB 2366. The conference report for Senate Sub. for HB 2366 was adopted by the 
first house. No action was taken by the second house. Sub. for HB 2690 previously 
had been incorporated, as a floor amendment, into HB 2938.

The language that passed through HB 2690-SB 322 and HB 2690-HB 2938 was 
placed into  Sub. for HB 2706 (conference report)  which passed the Legislature. 
However, the proposed penalties (fine increases, third offense felony, imprisonment) 
were not enacted by the 2006 Legislature. [ENACTED]
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● HB 2755. This bill  was introduced by the House Insurance Committee during the 
2006 Session, but did not have a hearing. The bill incorporated the language from 
2005 HB 2305 (right to recovery).

2007-2008

● SB 615.  The bill, as amended by the Senate Committee of the Whole, would have 
amended KAIRA to:
○ Require that a prosecution for permitting an uninsured motor vehicle to be 

operated on a highway,  or failure to provide proof of  financial security,  be 
stayed if evidence of financial security is presented to the court, unless there 
is a request from the defense attorney to set the matter for trial;

○ Require that if the Department of Revenue indicates the insurance was not in 
force on the date in question, the Department would be required to deliver a 
certified copy to any defense attorney;

○ Require  that  all  criminal  proceedings  would  be  stayed  and  eventually 
dismissed, if the person whose license is suspended or revoked and who is 
involved in an accident, enters into an agreement with any driver or driver’s 
insurer to pay for such damage and fulfills the agreement within 12 months;

○ Require that all criminal proceedings would be reinstated if the person whose 
license is suspended or revoked and who is involved in an accident, enters 
into an agreement with any driver or driver’s insurer to pay for such damage 
and defaults on the agreement;

○ Authorize  a  court  to  order  that  a  convicted  person’s  motor  vehicle  be 
impounded or immobilized for up to 30 days for failure to maintain financial 
security or liability insurance (see 2008 HB 2867);

○ Prohibit  the  owner  of  a  motor  vehicle  from recovering  the  first  $5,000  of 
property damage to his or her motor vehicle if the owner failed to maintain 
financial security on the vehicle;

○ Exempt a lienholder from the prohibition from recovering for property damage 
to a motor vehicle; and

○ Require that any moneys not paid by insurance companies to the uninsured 
motorist would be required to be paid to the Attorney General for deposit into 
the  Crime  Victims  Compensation  Fund.  (Adopted  by  Senate;  Hearing  in 
House Committee; died in Committee)

● HB 2378. The bill  would have amended KAIRA to prohibit  a  vehicle  owner  from 
recovering  property  damage  to  the  owner's  vehicle  if  the  owner  did  not  have 
insurance and was involved in  an accident  with  an insured vehicle.  In  situations 
where the accident was the fault of the insured driver, recovery of property damage 
would have been prohibited for  the uninsured vehicle.  (2007 Committee hearing; 
died in Committee)
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● HB 2867. The bill would have amended KAIRA to provide that the court, in addition 
to other penalties specified in current law, may order the convicted person’s vehicle 
be impounded or  immobilized up  to  30  days  for  the  failure  to  have  or  maintain 
financial security. The vehicle owner would be responsible for towing, impoundment, 
and  storage  fees.  The  court  would  have  been  required  to  consider,  prior  to 
impoundment, whether the impoundment would result in the loss of employment of 
the convicted person or  member  of  the person’s  family or  whether the owner  or 
family member would be impaired from attending school or obtaining medical care. 
Provisions  also  were  made  for  personal  property  retrieval  and  lease  vehicles. 
(Introduced in 2008, died in Committee).

2009-2010

● H. Sub. for SB 260 would have required the Secretary of Revenue, in consultation 
with the Insurance Commissioner,  to implement a motor vehicle financial  security 
verification and compliance system by March 1,  2011.  The system,  among other 
things,  would  have  been  required  to  utilize  data  reported  by  insurers  and  send 
requests  to  insurers  for  verification  of  insurance  via  services  established  by the 
insurers with enhancements,  additions,  and modification as required by the state 
agencies.  The bill also would have required the Department of Revenue, after the 
system was operational  for  two years,  to  report  to  the Legislature regarding the 
benefits and costs of the verification system to the State, insurers, and the public and 
the effectiveness of the program [system] in reducing the number of uninsured motor 
vehicles.   The substitute bill  died  on general  orders  in  the House.   SB 260,  as 
amended by Senate Committee of  the Whole,  would  have  provided that  anyone 
operating an uninsured vehicle who, at the time of auto accident, had not maintained 
personal injury protection (PIP) benefits coverage is prohibited from having a cause 
of action for non-economic loss. This provision would not have applied to persons 
who failed to maintain coverage for a period of 30 days or less and had maintained 
continuous coverage for at least one year prior to this coverage lapse.  The bill also 
would have barred persons convicted of, or having pled guilty to, an alcohol or drug-
related violation in connection with an auto accident from this recovery.

● SB  392  and HB  2474,  as  introduced,  were  nearly  identical  bills  directing  the 
Secretary of Revenue, in consultation with the Insurance Commissioner, to develop 
and implement an on-line motor vehicle and financial security verification system. 
The bills did not specify the type of system to be utilized and instead required the 
Secretary to select and enter into a contract with a third party contractor to develop, 
implement,  operate,  and maintain the system.  Insurance companies would have 
been required to submit policy information to this contractor on a daily basis. There 
was  no  committee  action  on  SB  392;  HB  2474  was  modified  by  the  House 
Committee  on  Insurance  and  recommended  as  H.  Sub.  for  SB  260  (described 
above).

● SCR  1631,  as  amended  by  the  Senate  Committee  of  the  Whole, would  have 
reactivated  the  task  force  created  by  2008  SCR 1616  to  study  the  design  and 
implementation of an electronic motor vehicle financial security verification system. 
The bill passed the Senate and was referred to House Committee.  The bill died in 
committee.
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2011-2012

● SB 136.  The bill provided that anyone operating an uninsured vehicle who, at the 
time of auto accident, had not maintained personal injury protection (PIP) benefits 
coverage is prohibited from having a cause of action for non-economic loss (see 
2009 SB 260,  as amended by SCOW).  Amended by House Committee,  the bill 
specified that this prohibition would not apply if the court finds that the person did not 
knowingly drive a motor vehicle that was without PIP coverage.  [ENACTED]

● HB  2291.  The  bill  would  amend  KSA 40-284  to  extend  underinsured  motorist 
coverage to “any occupant of the insured vehicle or their heirs at law.”  Additionally, 
these individuals would be permitted to recover from the owner or operator another 
vehicle the same limits of the policy as are available to the owner of the vehicle they 
are occupying.  Current law pertains only to the policyholder (does not address the 
vehicle's occupants).  The bill was referred to the House Committee on Insurance. 
No action, to date, has been taken on this matter.

KLRD, September 2011. More detail  on this topic is available in the article “Uninsured Motorists: Questions and  
Answers for States” available through the KLRD website, under “Capitol Ideas,” then “Transportation.” Additional data  
with that article include IRC rates for all states.
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