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HB 2729 seeks to implement a new Kansas State Park Pass purchase program. The bill would be
effective January 1, 2013. The Department supports the provisions contained in the bill.

Upon implementation, the Kansas State Park Pass would allow for the voluntary annual purchase
of the Kansas State Park Pass at a rate of $15 until such time as the amount for such permit is changed
by rules and regulations of the Secretary of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism. Annual motor vehicle permits
will continue to be available for purchase over the counter by non-residents and those choosing not to
~ participate in the Kansas State Park Pass program at a rate of $22.50 plus appropriate administrative
fees.

This bill is largely designed to provide Kansas citizens-with more convenient access to our state
park system by allowing the purchase of the park pass at the time of their annual vehicle registration -
renewal. Revenue generated from this program would be used to make our state parks more self-
sufficient and reduce the impact of weather, blue green algae and other natural occurrences on revenues
generated during major park weekends.

Kansas Department of Wildlife, Park and Tourism has sought and received the support of this
program by the Secretary of Revenue and his staff. Prior to the drafting the proposal, the Department
also sought the feedback on this program by the Association of County Treasurers.

In summary, the Department appreciates the support of the Committee in passage of the
bill.
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Talking Points — KS State Park Pass Program

The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (KDWPT) is asking the
Kansas Legislature to consider implementing a Kansas State Park Pass program.
This program would enable citizens of Kansas to purchase their annual Kansas
State Park “Easy” Pass when renewing their annual vehicle registration renewal.

Currently, an annual or daily vehicle permit is required to enter a Kansas state
park.

Today our system is often considered cumbersome & intimidating. It discourages
many “would be” customers from experiencing our state parks. Holiday weekends
often result in lines in excess of 1 mile long to access our larger parks.

Currently, the daily permit is $4.20 during prime season (April-September) and
$3.70 October-March. An annual vehicle permit is $24.70 if purchased April-
September and $19.70 if purchased October-March. Annual permits are valid
through the calendar year. (Note: These rates include $1.50/$2.50 vendor
administration fees respectively.)

The Annual Park Pass would be a voluntary purchase of $15 at the time of vehicle
registration renewal, good for one year from time of purchase. It would be
available to residents only. County Treasurers have been consulted and have
agreed to cooperate. In return, the agency has included the potential for the -
county treasurer to charge an additional fee to the customer of no more than
S0.50 for administrative inconvenience.

That is a savings of S9, including issuance fees to the current prime time permit
fee.

To encourage the Park Pass purchase, the “over-the-counter” annual permit would
be increased to $22.50 ($25 with fees), and daily entrance permit fee increased to
$3.50 (S5 with fees) (Note: These administration fees are vendor fees).

Since 2007, there has been a 55.5% decrease in state funding of our Kansas State
Parks. Limited capital improvement has been approved by our state since 2003.



Miciugan has a similar program, and 27 percent of vehicle registrations included
the pass the first year it was offered.

If ten percent of Kansas passenger vehicle registrations opted for the Park Pass,
revenues would be approximately $3,400,000, a significant increase over current
vehicle entrance permit revenues.

Revenue generated from this program would be used in an effort to make our
state parks more self-sufficient and reduce the impact of weather, blue green

algae and other natural occurrences on revenues generated during major park
weekends.

More importantly, increased revenue could provide our Mmanagement team the
opportunity to create a vision for our parks that responds to customer needs and
market demands rather than operating merely in survival mode....This allows us to
set the tone for an enhanced visitor experience:

* Programmed activities for children and adults to engage the visitor in a

“Nature Experience”
e Cleaner more manicured/maintained facilities
e Enhanced customer service

During the first year of operation, KDWPT will offer pro-rata refunds to those
requesting and providing proof of purchase of both the Kansas State Park “Easy”
Pass and the traditional annual vehicle permit.

This recommendation has been discussed with members of the Department of
Revenue team including Secretary Jordan, Deb Wiley — Manager, Titles and
Registrations & Donna Shelite, Director of Vehicles. When asked about concerns
with this proposal, they indicated that there were some large counties that
expressed concern about an increased work load, (but that the Association of
County Treasurers have agreed to back the bill & pledge their support in the
implementation process.)

Initiatives such as a Park Perks program will be utilized in the future to encourage
participation by non-park users, serving as an economic driver for participating
businesses & communities.



Several states have considered, and some have adopted, a similar program for their state parks:

State Effective Date Approach | Fee | Equivalent to a vehicle Participation Rate
permit?
Montana 2004 Opt-Out $4 Yes (previously no fee) 2010: 80%
Michigan Oct. 2010 Opt-in $10 Yes (previously $24) 27%
Washington | Sept 2009 Opt-out $30 Yes (previously no fee) 2010: 40%; 201.1: significantly less, but would not-provide
information
Minnesota Current legislative Mandatory $6 Yes 100% No opt out option
proposal

Total “Realistic” Revenue Potential — Light Truck & Car Registrations

Total

As of 2/8/201 per DMV - KDOR 100% 10% 15% 20% 25%
Total Cars 1,683,282 168,328.2 - 252,492.3 336,656.4 420,820.5
Total Light Trucks (under 12k #) 619,477 61,947.7 92,921.55 123,895.4 154,869.25
Total Motorized RV's 10,917 1,091.7 1,637.55 2,183.4 2,729.25

2,313,676 231,367.6 347,051.4 462,735.2 578,419
Rate 15.00 S 15.00 S 15.00 S 15.00 S 15.00
Revenue potential S 34,705,140.00 $ 3,470,514.00 $5,205,771.00 $ 6,941,028.00 $ 8,676,285.00

Rate Comparison

Current Proposed
Jan 1- March 31 April 1 - Dec 31 Fee Annual Fee
Annual Park Pass N/A N/A N/A $ 15.00 S 050
Annual Vehicle Permit $ 17.20 $ 22.20 $ 250 $ 22.50 $ 250
Sr. Annual Permit S 8.60 [ 11.10 $ 2.50 $ 22.50 S 250
Daily Vehicle Permit S 2.70 S 2.70 S 1.50 $ 3.50 $ 150
Sr. Daily Permit 5 1.35 S 1.35 S 1.50 S 3.50 $ 150

Historical Revenue

Total Dept. SGF Parks Portion of SGF Annual Permit Sales Daily Permit Sales
2007 | $ 9,053,444.00 S 6,581,246.00 S 1,402,979.50 S 624,614.60
2008 | $10,724,154.00 $ 6,428,040.00 S 915,300.30 S 597,710.05
2009 | $ 8,204,229.00 S 6,371,197.00 $ 1,011,076.90 S 733,315.49
2010 | $ 5,438,265.00 S 3,478,824.00 S 1,022,391.50 $ 733,211.00
2011 | $§ 5,015,657.00 S 2,925,529.00 $ 1,011,641.10 S 671,210,.42

Historical Annual/Daily Permit Sales



If we assumed that 100% of the annual vehicle 'permuifs puré
only 2.73% of the potential registered light trucks and cars acquired the necessary permit.
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Total visitation for 2011 was 6,208,064.

This was an overall decrease of 796,514 or 11.4% from 2010.
This was an overall decrease of 1,046,490 or 14.5% from 2009.

SR/Dis Annual SR/Dis 2nd Total Annual SR/Dis Daily
Annual Vehicle Veh Second Veh Veh Permits Daily Vehicle Veh Total Daily Permits
2007 35,133 7,980 12,300 4,049 59,462 228,598 13,170 241,768
2007 | $703,387.60 $75,291.60 | $134,707.50 | $21,223.90 $  934,610.60 $607,144.10 | $17,470.50 $ 624,614.60
2008 34,335 7,816 12,706 4,027 58,884 220,381 9,876 230,257
2008 | $698,482.00 $75,317.60 | $141,500.70 | $21,362.20 $ 936,662.50 $584,709.70 | $13,000.35 $ 597,710.05
2009 38,099 8,475 13,553 4,420 64,547 227,819 7,349 235,168
2009 | $777,652.80 $81,605.00 | $151,819.10 | $23,413.25 $ 1,034,490.15 $720,453.55 | $12,861.94 3 733,315.49
2010 38,367 8,642 13,857 4,597 65,463 226,780 7,709 234,489
2010 | $784,417.40 $83,496.20 | $154,477.90 | $24,389.20 $ 1,046,780.70 $715,847.77 | $17,363.54 $ 733,211.31
2011 37,513 8,392 12,874 4,460 63,239 206,855 6,450 213,305 ~
2011 | $764,689.00 $80,859.00 | $142,583.00 | $23,511.00 $ 1,011,642.00 $656,478.00 | $14,733.00 $ 671,211.00
: b U
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15 States:

Free
AL
AR
HI
1A
IL
KY

MO
MT
NC
OH
OK
PA
RI
TN
Wv

17
States
$20 -
$49

AK
DE
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MA
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MN
MS
ND
NJ
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SD

WA
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12
States
$50 -
$99

1610)
CT
GA
LA
MD
ME

NY
SC
TX
uT
VA

5 States

$100 +
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