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79-3496. Bond of licensee; additional bonds; financial statements; release of surety, when;
suspension or revocation of license; hearing. No license shall be granted and issued until
the person applying therefor has filed with the director a bond, payable to the state of
Kansas in such amount as shall be fixed by the director, but in no event less than
$1,000, in such form as the director may prescribe. The director may at any time
require any LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer to furnish such additional bond as shall be
necessary to secure at all times the payment by such user or dealer to the state of all
tax, penalties and interest due under the provisions of this act. If any LP-gas user or
LP-gas dealer fails to file such additional bond within 10 days after receipt of written
notice mailed or otherwise delivered to such dealer by the director, the director may
suspend or revoke the license, issued to such dealer, and collect all tax, penalties and
interest accrued against such LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer. Any person who is
licensed as an LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer shall be required to file with the director
a bond payable to the state of Kansas in such amount as shall be fixed by the director,
but in no event less than $1,000. Such bond shall cover any LP-gas tax payable or
accrued. Such bond shall be in such form as the director may prescribe. For the
purpose of determining whether or not an existing bond is sufficient, the director may
at any time, by written notice, mailed or otherwise delivered, require any LP-gas user
or LP-gas dealer to furnish a financial statement in such form as the director may
prescribe.

Upon failure of any LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer to furnish a sworn financial
statement within 20 days after receipt of such written notice, the director may
suspend or revoke any or all licenses issued to such dealer, and shall collect all tax,
penalties, and interest accrued against such LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer. Any surety
on a bond furnished by an LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer as provided herein shall be
released and discharged from any and all liability to the state accruing on such bond
after the expiration of 60 days from the date upon which such surety shall have
lodged with the director a written request to be released and discharged, but this
provision shall not operate to relieve, release, or discharge the surety from any
liability already accrued or which shall accrue before the expiration of the 60-day
period. Upon receiving any such request, the director shall promptly notify the LP-gas
user or LP-gas dealer who furnished the bond; and unless the LP-gas user or LP-gas
dealer shall on or before the expiration of such 60-day period, file with the director a
new bond fully complying with the provisions of this act, the director shall forthwith
revoke and cancel such LP-gas user's or LP-gas dealer's license and notify the LP-gas
user or LP-gas dealer thereof by registered mail or otherwise.

Whenever any LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer is 10 days delinquent in the making of
any report, or the payment of any tax, penalty or interest, or makes any false report
or statement or application purporting to be under the provisions of this act, or makes
any false statement in any application, report or statement required by or purporting
to be under the provisions of this act, or purporting to be under the rules and
regulations promulgated by the secretary of revenue under such provisions, or the
director has reason to believe that any LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer shall have
willfully or persistently violated any of the provisions of this act or of any regulation
made thereunder, the director may upon conducting a hearing as provided in this
section and upon finding to the director's satisfaction upon such hearing that the LP-
gas user or LP-gas dealer has been delinquent, or has violated provisions of this act,
suspend the license issued to the LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer for a fixed time or until
such LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer shall fully comply with such provisions of law. If
such LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer remains delinquent, or fails or refuses to comply
with, or violates, such requirements for a period of 10 days following the suspension
of such license, the director may, upon conducting a hearing as provided in this
section, if such a hearing be requested in writing by the LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer,
revoke such license. All requests for hearing shall be filed with the director. Hearings
under this section shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas
administrative procedure act.

Upon any such hearing for revocation or suspension, the director may suspend the



license of such LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer for such period as the director deems
proper, or revoke such license. In the event that such director either suspends or
revokes any license, the LP-gas user or LP-gas dealer to whom such license was
issued shall immediately, upon service of the director's order, surrender the same to
the director and cease using any LP-gas. Nothing in K.S.A. 79-34,103 and
amendments thereto shall be construed to prevent the director from suspending or
revoking any license issued under authority of the liquefied petroleum motor fuel tax
law in the manner provided in this section, and conviction of a misdemeanor under
K.S.A. 79-34,103 and amendments thereto or any other law shall not be a condition to
or prerequisite to suspension or revocation of any license.

History: L. 1959, ch. 405,§ 7; L. 1963, ch. 489, § 1; L. 1973, ch. 402, § 13; L. 1978,
ch. 414, § 3; L. 1988, ch. 356, § 340; July 1, 1989.



