2023 Kansas Statutes

76-1908. Persons eligible for admission; application; discharges, hearing; priorities for
admission. (a) The following, subject to the rules and regulations that may be adopted
by the director of the Kansas commission on veterans affairs office for the
management and government of the Kansas soldiers' home, shall be eligible to
admission to the Kansas soldiers' home:

(1) Any person who served in the active military service of the United States during
any period of war, or who served in the active military service of the United States
during peacetime and is entitled to veterans administration hospitalization or
domiciliary care under title 38, United States code and veterans administration rules
and regulations, and who has been discharged or relieved therefrom under conditions
other than dishonorable, who may be disabled by disease, wounds, old age or
otherwise disabled, and who, by reason of such disability, is incapacitated from
earning a living.

(2) The widow, mother, widower, father or minor child of any person who qualified
under paragraph (1) of subsection (a), if such widow, mother, widower, father or
minor child is incapable of self-support because of physical disability.

(b) No person shall be admitted to the soldiers' home except upon application to the
Kansas commission on veterans affairs office and approval of the application by the
director. No applicant shall be admitted to the soldiers' home who has not been an
actual resident of the state of Kansas for at least two years next preceding the date of
application.

(c) No person shall be admitted to or retained in the soldiers' home who has been
convicted of a felony, unless the director of the Kansas commission on veterans affairs
office finds that such person has been adequately rehabilitated and is not dangerous
to oneself or to the person or property of others.

(d) No child shall be admitted to or retained in the soldiers' home who is 16 years of
age or over, unless such child is incapable of supporting oneself.

(e) No child properly a member of the home shall be discharged under 16 years of
age.

(f) The director of the Kansas commission on veterans affairs office shall have
authority by resolution to discharge any member from the soldiers' home on a
showing that the member has gained admittance into the soldiers' home by
misrepresentation of the member's financial or physical condition, or a showing that
the financial or physical condition of such member has been so altered since
admittance so that the further maintenance of the member in the soldiers' home is not
justified. No such member shall be discharged without notice and opportunity to be
heard in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.
(g) The rules and regulations for admission of members to the Kansas soldiers'
home: (1) Shall require that a veteran who has no adequate means of support, and
such members of the family as are dependent upon such person for support, shall be
given priority over other applicants for admission; and (2) shall require that an
applicant for admission be given priority over patients transferred from state
institutions under the provisions of K.S.A. 76-1936, and amendments thereto.
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