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76-717. Admission of students. (a) The board of regents may adopt rules and
regulations for the admission of students at the state educational institutions. Except
as provided by subsection (f), the rules and regulations shall include the following:
(1) Each Kansas resident who has graduated from an accredited Kansas high school
and who is seeking admission to a state educational institution shall be admitted if the
applicant for admission has achieved at least one of the following:

(A) The applicant has completed the precollege curriculum prescribed by the board
of regents with a minimum grade point average of 2.0 on a 4.0 scale or has been
recognized by the board of regents as having attained a functionally equivalent level
of education; or

(B) the applicant has a composite American college testing program (ACT) score of
not less than 21 points; or

(C) the applicant ranks in the top 1/3 of the applicant's high school class upon
completion of seven or eight semesters.

(2) Each Kansas resident who has graduated from a non-accredited private
secondary school, as defined in K.S.A. 72-4345, and amendments thereto, and who is
seeking admission to a state educational institution shall be admitted if the applicant
for admission has a composite American college testing program (ACT) score of not
less than 21 points.

(3) Admission to all state educational institutions shall be granted to each Kansas
resident under 21 years of age who has earned the general educational development
(GED) certificate with an overall score of not less than 50 points.

(4) Admission to all state educational institutions shall remain open for each Kansas
resident who is 21 years of age or older and who has:

(A) Graduated from an accredited Kansas high school or a non-accredited private
secondary school; or

(B) earned the general educational development (GED) certificate with an overall
score of not less than 50 points.

(5) Each state educational institution shall establish and maintain a policy permitting
the admission of not more than 10% of the total number of freshman class admissions
to the state educational institution as exceptions to the minimum admissions
standards prescribed by this section. These exceptions shall only be applied to
students who are bona fide residents of Kansas in accordance with rules and
regulations of the board of regents and which rules and regulations are substantially
similar to law, rule or regulation relative to the determination of resident status for
tuition purposes. Such policy shall also provide that in determining which students to
admit as exceptions to the minimum admissions standards prescribed by this section,
the state educational institution shall give preference to persons who are in military
service. The board of regents shall adopt rules and regulations prescribing criteria
and guidelines to be applied on a system-wide basis to policies established by the
state educational institutions for the purpose of permitting freshman class admissions
to the institutions as exceptions to the minimum admissions standards prescribed by
this section. On or before January 31 of each year, the board of regents shall submit a
report to the legislature containing the number and percentage of freshman class
admissions permitted as exceptions to such standards during the preceding academic
year. The information contained in the annual report shall be disaggregated by
institution.

(6) Each Kansas resident who has earned at least 24 credit hours of transferable
course work with a cumulative grade point average of not less than 2.0 on a 4.0 scale
at an accredited community college, university or other college shall be admitted as a
transfer student to the state educational institutions. Each state educational
institution may permit the admission of not more than 10% of the total number of
such resident transfer admissions to the state educational institution as exceptions to
the minimum admission standards prescribed by this paragraph. In determining
which students to admit as exceptions to the minimum admissions standards
prescribed by this paragraph, the state educational institution shall give preference to
persons who are in military service. The board of regents shall adopt rules and



regulations prescribing criteria and guidelines to be applied on a system-wide basis
for the purpose of admitting students who have earned at least 24 credit hours of
transferable course work to state educational institutions as exceptions to the
minimum standards prescribed by this paragraph. On or before January 31 of each
year, the board of regents shall submit a report to the legislature containing the
number and percentage of transfer student admissions permitted as exceptions to
such standards during the preceding academic year. The information contained in the
report shall be disaggregated by institution.

(7) Each person who is not a resident of Kansas and who has graduated from an
accredited high school may be admitted as a freshman to any of the state educational
institutions if the person has achieved at least one of the following:

(A) The person has completed the precollege curriculum prescribed by the board of
regents with a minimum grade point average of 2.50 on a 4.0 scale or has been
recognized by the board of regents as having attained a functionally equivalent level
of education; or

(B) the person has a composite American college testing program (ACT) score of not
less than 21 points; or

(C) the person ranks in the top 1/3 of the person's high school class upon completion
of seven or eight semesters.

(8) Each person who is not a resident of Kansas and who has graduated from a non-
accredited private secondary school meeting requirements substantially equivalent to
K.S.A. 72-4345 through 72-4347, and amendments thereto, may be admitted to any
state educational institution if the person has a composite American college testing
program (ACT) score of not less than 21 points.

(9) Each person who is not a resident of Kansas and who has earned at least 24
credit hours of transferable course work with a cumulative grade point average of not
less than 2.0 on a 4.0 scale at an accredited community college, university or other
college may be admitted as a transfer student to any of the state educational
institutions. Each state educational institution may permit the admission of not more
than 10% of the total number of such non-resident transfer admissions to the state
educational institution as exceptions to the minimum admission standards prescribed
by this paragraph. In determining which students to admit as exceptions to the
minimum admissions standards prescribed by this paragraph, the state educational
institution shall give preference to persons who are in military service. The board of
regents shall adopt rules and regulations prescribing criteria and guidelines to be
applied on a system-wide basis for the purpose of admitting students who have
earned at least 24 credit hours of transferable course work to state educational
institutions as exceptions to the minimum standards prescribed by this paragraph. On
or before January 31 of each year, the board of regents shall submit a report to the
legislature containing the number and percentage of transfer student admissions
permitted as exceptions to such standards during the preceding academic year. The
information contained in the report shall be disaggregated by institution.

(10) (A) For those students admitted under an exception to the minimum admissions
standards prescribed by this subsection for academic years 2012-2013 and 201 3-
2014, each state educational institution may require each such student to adopt an
individual plan for success.

(B) For those students admitted under an exception to the minimum admissions
standards prescribed by this subsection for academic year 2014-2015 and each
academic year thereafter, each state educational institution shall require each such
student to adopt an individual plan for success prior to enrollment.

(C) Any individual plan for success adopted pursuant to this paragraph shall be
reviewed by the student and the student's advisor at least once during the 12-month
period immediately succeeding the initial adoption of such plan. Upon completion of
such review, the plan may be revised as mutually agreed to by the student and the
student's advisor. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed as prohibiting any
plan from being reviewed at any other time while the student is attending such state
educational institution, or from being reviewed more than once during any academic
year.

(b) The board of regents may prescribe a precollege curriculum which includes, but
need not be limited to, four units of English, three units of mathematics, three units of



social studies and three units of natural science.

(c) When a Kansas high school is organized in a manner that provides for
documentation of a student's performance in terms other than units of credit or grade
point averages, or both, the board of regents shall determine for the students of such
school a level of education that is functionally equivalent to the completion of the
precollege curriculum with the required grade point average on a 4.0 scale. The
determination of a functionally equivalent level of education required under this
subsection shall be made by the board of regents after consultation with the state
board of education and the board of education or other governing authority having
jurisdiction over the students of the affected school.

(d) The board of regents shall determine a level of education that is functionally
equivalent to the completion of the precollege curriculum with the required grade
point average on a 4.0 scale for persons who are not residents of Kansas.

(e) The board of regents may authorize the chief executive officer of each state
educational institution to adopt additional rules and policies relating to admissions of
students so long as such rules and policies are not in conflict with the provisions of
this section.

() The board of regents may adopt rules and regulations establishing standards for
the admission of students to state educational institutions that differ from the
standards set forth in subsection (a). Rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this
subsection that are more rigorous than those set forth in subsection (a) shall not be
effective prior to the first day of the fourth academic year following the year in which
the rules and regulations are adopted.

(g) Information in reports required to be compiled and submitted to the legislature
by this section may be compiled and submitted to the legislature in a single report.
(h) For purposes of this section:

(1) "Individual plan for success" means a written statement for each student
admitted under an exception to the minimum admission standards prescribed in
subsection (a) that is jointly developed by the student, the student's advisor and any
other employee designated by the state educational institution for the purposes of
establishing an individualized plan for such student to assist the student in achieving
such student's academic goals. In addition to academic coursework, such plan may
also address such student's extracurricular activities, financial needs and any other
aspect of such student's life which may have a bearing on the student's academic
success at the state educational institution. Any such plan may be revised after its
initial adoption as mutually agreed to by the student and the student's advisor.

(2) "Military service" means: (A) Any active service in any armed service of the
United States; or (B) membership in the Kansas army or air national guard.

History: L. 1970, ch. 371, 8§ 7; L. 1977, ch. 237, § 30; L. 1996, ch. 110, § 2; L. 2009, ch.
37,8 1; L.2012, ch. 168, § 11; July 1.



