2023 Kansas Statutes

74-32,161. Definitions; enrollment; eligibility; foster children; reimbursement to Kansas
education institution; report to legislative committees; tuition waiver gifts, grants and
reimbursements fund; expenditures; rules and regulations. (a) As used in this section:

(1) "Kansas educational institution" means a postsecondary educational institution
as defined by K.S.A. 74-3201b, and amendments thereto.

(2) "State board" means the state board of regents.

(b) Subject to appropriations therefor and except as otherwise provided by this
section, every Kansas educational institution shall provide for enrollment without
charge of tuition, undergraduate fees, including registration, matriculation and
laboratory fees for any eligible applicant. No Kansas educational institution shall be
required by this section to provide for the enrollment of more than five new
applicants in any academic year. An applicant who was in the custody of the Kansas
department for children and families on the date such applicant reached 18 years of
age, who has graduated from a high school or fulfilled the requirements for a general
educational development (GED) certificate while in foster care, was released from the
custody of the Kansas department for children and families prior to age 18 after
having graduated from a high school or fulfilled the requirements for a general
educational development (GED) certificate while in foster care placement and in the
custody of the Kansas department for children and families, or an applicant who was
adopted from a foster care placement on or after such applicant's 16th birthday, and
who is accepted to a Kansas educational institution within two years following the
date such applicant graduated from a high school or fulfilled the requirements for a
general educational development (GED) certificate shall be eligible for enrollment at
a Kansas educational institution without charge of tuition or such fees through the
semester the eligible applicant reaches 21 years of age not to exceed eight semesters
of undergraduate instruction, or the equivalent thereof, at all such institutions.

(c) Subject to appropriations therefor, any Kansas educational institution which at
the time of enrollment did not charge tuition or fees as prescribed by subsection (b),
and amendments thereto, of the eligible applicant may file a claim with the state
board for reimbursement of the amount of such tuition and fees. The state board shall
be responsible for payment of reimbursements to Kansas educational institutions
upon certification by each such institution of the amount of reimbursement to which
the educational institution is entitled. Such payments to Kansas educational
institutions shall be made upon vouchers approved by the state board and upon
warrants of the director of accounts and reports. Payments may be made by issuance
of a single warrant to each Kansas educational institution at which one or more
eligible applicants are enrolled for the total amount of tuition and fees not charged
eligible applicants for enrollment at that institution. The director of accounts and
reports shall cause such warrant to be delivered to the Kansas educational institution
at which such eligible applicant or applicants are enrolled. If an eligible applicant
discontinues attendance before the end of any semester, after the Kansas educational
institution has received payment under this subsection, the institution shall pay to the
state the entire amount which such eligible applicant would otherwise qualify to have
refunded, not to exceed the amount of the payment made by the state on behalf of
such applicant for the semester. All amounts paid to the state by Kansas educational
institutions under this subsection shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited
to the tuition waiver gifts, grants and reimbursements fund unless such amount was
from federal funds transferred under the authority of subsection (g) which funds shall
be returned to the director of accounts and reports for reposit to the originating
federal funding source.

(d) The chief executive officer of the state board shall submit a report to the house
and senate committees on education during the 2005 and 2007 regular session of the
legislature on the results, outcomes and effectiveness of the tuition waiver program
authorized by this section.

(e) The state board is authorized to receive any grants, gifts, contributions or
bequests made for the purpose of supporting the tuition waiver program authorized
by this section and to expend the same.



() There is hereby established in the state treasury the tuition waiver gifts, grants
and reimbursements fund. Expenditures from the fund may be made for the purpose
of payment of claims of Kansas educational institutions pursuant to this section and
for such purposes as may be specified with regard to any grant, gift, contribution or
bequest. All such expenditures shall be authorized by the chief executive officer of the
state board, or such officer's designee and made upon warrants of the director of
accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the chief executive
officer of the state board, or such officer's designee.

(g) During each year, the chief executive officer of the state board shall make one or
more certifications of the amount or amounts required to pay claims received from
Kansas educational institutions for tuition and fees under this section to the director
of accounts and reports and the secretary for children and families. Each certification
made by the chief executive officer shall include a provision stating that 20% of the
total amount or amounts required to pay claims received from Kansas educational
institutions for tuition and fees under this section are either cash, in-kind
contributions, state general funds or other nonfederal sources not used to match
other funds, and that the remaining 80% shall be paid from the federal award from
the foster care assistance federal fund. Upon receipt of each such certification, the
director of accounts shall transfer the amount certified from moneys received under
the federal Chafee foster care independence grant and credited to the foster care
assistance federal fund of the Kansas department for children and families to the
tuition waiver gifts, grants and reimbursements fund of the state board. Annual
expenditures for the tuition waiver program made by the Kansas department for
children and families shall not exceed a maximum of more than 30% of the amount of
the federal award in effect on July 1 of each state fiscal year.

(h) On or before the 10th of each month, the director of accounts and reports shall
transfer from the state general fund to the tuition waiver gifts and grants fund
interest earnings based on:

(1) The average daily balance of moneys in the tuition waiver gifts and grants fund
for the preceding month; and

(2) the net earnings rate for the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding
month.

(i) Applicants eligible for the benefits under this section shall be exempt from the
provisions of K.S.A. 76-717, and amendments thereto.

() The state board shall adopt rules and regulations requiring eligible applicants to
be enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student in good academic standing and to
maintain part-time employment to remain eligible and other rules and regulations, as
appropriate, for administration of the applicable provisions of this section. When
there is a candidate that appears to meet the eligibility guidelines for federal Chafee
funding administered by the Kansas department for children and families, the state
board shall notify the Kansas department for children and families. The Kansas
department for children and families shall notify the state board of approval of the
candidate's eligibility.

(k) The provisions of this section shall expire on June 30, 2006, except that any
eligible applicant who received a tuition waiver before June 30, 2006, and is deemed
by the state board to be eligible pursuant to this section shall be allowed to remain
eligible until such applicant completes such applicant's course of study or becomes
ineligible pursuant to the provisions of this section.

History: L. 2002, ch. 127, § 12; Revived and amended, L. 2004, ch. 185, § 25; L. 2014,
ch. 115, § 300; July 1.



