2023 Kansas Statutes

65-7010. Civil penalties. (a) The secretary of the department of health and
environment or the director of the division of environment, if designated by the
secretary, upon a finding that a person has violated any provision of this act may
impose a penalty not to exceed $25,000 which shall constitute an actual and
substantial economic deterrent to the violation for which it is assessed and, in the
case of a continuing violation, every day such violation continues shall be deemed a
separate violation.

(b) No penalty shall be imposed pursuant to this section except after notice of
violation and opportunity for hearing upon the written order of the secretary or the
director of the division of environment, if designated by the secretary, to the person
who committed the violation. The order shall state the violation, the penalty to be
imposed and the right to appeal to the secretary for a hearing thereon. Any person
may appeal an order by making a written request to the secretary for a hearing within
15 days of service of such order. Proceedings under this subsection shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure
act.

(c) Any sum assessed under this section shall be deposited in the chemical control
fund.

(d) Any final action of the secretary pursuant to this section is subject to review in
accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

History: L. 1999, ch. 170, § 16; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 170; July 1.



