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65-34,151. Fee on purchase or acquisition of drycleaning solvent; disposition of proceeds. (a)
Subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 65-34,152, and amendments thereto, there is
hereby imposed a fee on the purchase or acquisition of drycleaning solvent by any
owner of a drycleaning facility. The fee shall be paid to the director of taxation by the
person who distributes the solvent.

(b) The amount of the fee imposed by this section on each gallon of drycleaning
solvent shall be an amount equal to the product of the solvent factor for the
drycleaning solvent and the fee rate of $3.50 plus .25 added on January 1 of each
calendar year, beginning in 1996, until the fee rate reaches a maximum of $5.50 per
gallon.

(c) The solvent factor for each drycleaning solvent is as follows:

Drycleaning solvent Solvent FactorPerchloroethylene 1.00Chlorofluorocarbon-

113 1.001,1,1-trichloroethane 1.000ther chlorinated drycleaning solvents 1.00Any
nonchlorinated drycleaning solvent 0.10

(d) In the case of a fraction of a gallon, the fee imposed by this section shall be the
same fraction of the fee imposed on a whole gallon.

(e) No person who distributes drycleaning solvent shall sell any such solvent for use
in a drycleaning facility unless such person first obtains the registration number of
the owner of such facility.

(f) The secretary of revenue shall remit the fees paid pursuant to this section to the
state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments
thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the
entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the fund. For the purpose of this
section, the proceeds of the fee shall include all funds collected and received by the
director of taxation pursuant to this section, including interest and penalties on
delinquent fees.

(g) Subject to rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this section, the fees
imposed by this act shall be paid to the director of taxation for the same reporting
period and on the same reporting date as the purchaser or user of the solvent reports
Kansas retailers' sales tax, as prescribed in K.S.A. 79-3607, and amendments thereto.
The fees imposed by this section shall be reported on a form prescribed by the
secretary of revenue.

(h) Subject to rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this section, all fees
imposed under the provisions of this section and not paid on or before the 25th day of
the month succeeding the reporting period in which the solvent was purchased shall
be deemed delinquent and shall bear interest at the rate prescribed by subsection (a)
of K.S.A. 79-2928, and amendments thereto, from the due date until paid. In addition,
there is hereby imposed upon all amounts of such fees remaining due and unpaid
after the due date a penalty on the unpaid balance of the fees due in the amounts and
percentages prescribed by K.S.A. 79-3615, and amendments thereto.

(i) Whenever any person liable to pay the fee imposed by this section refuses or
neglects to pay the fee, the amount of the fee, including any interest or penalty, shall
be collected in the manner provided by law for collection of delinquent taxes under
the Kansas retailers' sales tax act.

() Insofar as not inconsistent with this act, the provisions the Kansas retailers' sales
tax act shall apply to the fees imposed by this section.

(k) The secretary of revenue is hereby authorized to administer and enforce the
provisions of this section and to adopt such rules and regulations as may be necessary
to carry out the responsibilities of the secretary of revenue under this section.
History: L. 1995, ch. 162, 8§ 11; L. 1999, ch. 102, § 6; L. 2001, ch. 5, § 253; July 1.



