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65-171s. Same; violation of standards; penalties; procedure; hearing; judicial review. (a) Any
person who violates any provision of K.S.A. 65-171r, and amendments thereto, shall
incur, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, a civil penalty in an amount
not more than $5,000 for each violation. In the case of a continuing violation, every
day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation. The secretary,
upon a finding that a person has violated any provision of K.S.A. 65-171r, and
amendments thereto, may impose upon the person a civil penalty of not to exceed the
limitations provided in this section. In determining the amount of the civil penalty, the
secretary shall take into consideration all relevant circumstances, including but not
limited to, the extent of harm caused by the violation, the nature and persistence of
the violation, the length of time over which the violation occurs and any corrective
actions taken.

(b) All civil penalties assessed shall be due and payable within 35 days after written
notice of the imposition of a civil penalty is served on the person upon whom the
penalty is being imposed, unless a longer period of time is granted by the secretary or
unless the person appeals the assessment as provided in this section.

(c) No civil penalty shall be imposed under this section except upon the written
order of the secretary to the person upon whom the penalty is to be imposed, stating
the nature of the violation, the penalty imposed and the right of the person upon
whom the penalty is imposed to appeal to the secretary for a hearing on the matter. A
person upon whom a civil penalty has been imposed may appeal, within 15 days after
service of the order imposing the civil penalty, to the secretary. If appealed, a hearing
shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative
procedure act. The decision of the secretary shall be final unless review is sought
under subsection (d).

(d) Any action of the secretary pursuant to this section is subject to review in
accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

History: L. 1977, ch.212,§11; L. 1986, ch. 318, § 87; L. 1988, ch. 356, § 183; L.
2010, ch. 17, § 114; July 1.



