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55-1639. Violations, penalties; commission authority. (2) The commission, upon a finding
that a person has violated any provision of K.S.A. 2023 Supp. 55-1637, and
amendments thereto, or rules and regulations adopted thereunder, may impose a
penalty not to exceed $10,000 per violation which shall constitute an economic
deterrent to the violation for which it is assessed and, in the case of a continuing
violation, every day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation.
(b) No penalty shall be imposed pursuant to this section except after an opportunity
for hearing upon the written order of the commission to the person who committed
the violation. The order shall state the violation and the penalty to be imposed.

(c) Whenever the commission or the commission's duly authorized agents find that
the escape of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere from injection of carbon dioxide is
not being prevented or that the soil or waters of the state are not being protected
from pollution resulting from injection of carbon dioxide, the commission or the
commission's duly authorized agents shall issue an order prohibiting such injection.
Any person aggrieved by such order may request in writing, within 15 days after
service of the order, a hearing on the order. Upon receipt of a timely request, a
hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas
administrative procedure act.

(d) Any action of the commission pursuant to this section is subject to review in
accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

History: L. 2007, ch. 73, §4; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 102; July 1.



