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46-922. Same; payment by state agencies for certain personal injuries and property damages
or losses authorized; limitations. (a) As used in this section and in K.S.A. 46-923, and
amendments thereto, the term "state agency" shall have the meaning ascribed thereto
in K.S.A. 75-3701, and amendments thereto.

(b) The head of any state agency is authorized to make payment to the officers or
employees of such state agency for property damage or loss occurring while that
officer or employee is acting within the scope of such office or employment if such
property loss or damage, in the opinion of the state agency head, did not occur as a
result of negligence of the claimant.

(c) Except as otherwise provided by this section, the head of any state agency is
authorized to make payment to any other person for personal injury or property
damage or loss occurring under circumstances which establish, in the state agency
head's opinion, that such damage or loss was caused by the negligence of the state or
any agency, officer or employee thereof. The secretary for children and families is
authorized to make payment from funds appropriated to the secretary for the
homemaker program to any person for personal injury or property damage or loss
caused by an act of a homemaker employed by the secretary.

(d) Except as otherwise provided by this section, no payment shall be made under
this section on any claim for an amount in excess of $1,000 or in any amount on a
claim by a person who is an insurer and who is making the claim as a subrogee for all
or part of any amount paid to such person's insured.

(e) The vice-chancellor of the university of Kansas medical center is authorized to
make payment in an amount of not more than $2,500 to any other person for a claim
made against the hospital of the university of Kansas medical center for personal
injury or property damage or loss occurring under circumstances which establish, in
the vice-chancellor's opinion, that such damage or loss was caused by the negligence
of the hospital of the university of Kansas medical center or any officer or employee
thereof or that such damage or loss occurred at the hospital of the university of
Kansas medical center and it is in the best interests of such hospital to make such
payment. No payment shall be made under this subsection in any amount on a claim
by a person who is an insurer and who is making the claim as a subrogee for all or
part of any amount paid to such person's insured.

() No payment shall be made under this section for any loss sustained to a state
employee's personal conveyance, or any related expense, when the conveyance was
used on official state business.

(g) The superintendent of the Kansas highway patrol is authorized to make payment
in an amount of not more than $2,500 to any other person for a claim made against
the Kansas highway patrol for personal injury or property damage or loss occurring
under circumstances which establish, in the superintendent's opinion, that such
damage or loss occurred during law enforcement efforts by the Kansas highway
patrol to persons who were not negligent during such effort. No information filed
pursuant to this subsection, testimony or evidence presented to the Kansas highway
patrol, or determination, finding or recommendation of the superintendent shall be
admissible in any subsequent civil or criminal proceeding. The Kansas highway patrol
is authorized to adopt rules and regulations to implement this subsection.

History: L. 1980, ch. 254, § 3; L. 1983, ch. 175, § 1; L. 1984, ch. 190, § 1; L. 1988, ch.
183, § 2; L. 1992, ch. 149, § 1; L. 1994, ch. 274, § 3; L. 2006, ch. 129, § 2; L. 2014, ch.
115, § 196; July 1.



