2023 Kansas Statutes

44-570. Same; employer's liability for no-dependent deaths; awards to fund; duties of
commissioner of insurance; refund. (a) In the event that subsection (d) of K.S.A. 44-510Db,
and amendments thereto, is inapplicable, every employer in the state of Kansas
operating a trade or business under the provisions of the workers compensation act
shall pay within 30 days after the award is made the sum of $18,500 to the
commissioner of insurance in every case where death results from the accident and
where there are no dependents who are entitled to compensation under the workers
compensation act.

(b) The commissioner of insurance shall remit all moneys received under this section
to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and
amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall
deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the workers'
compensation fund.

(c) Upon rendering an award under this section, the director shall transmit
immediately a certified copy thereof to the commissioner of insurance. In case
payment is, or has been made, under the provisions of this section and dependency
later is shown, or if payment is made by mistake or inadvertence, or under such
circumstances that justice requires a refund thereof, the commissioner of insurance is
hereby authorized to refund such payment to the employer, or if insured, to the
employer's insurance carrier.

History: L. 1945, ch. 221, § 6; L. 1949, ch. 287, § 1; L. 1967, ch. 280, § 15; L. 1974,
ch. 203, § 50; L. 1982, ch. 213, § 10; L. 1998, ch. 120, § 6; L. 2000, ch. 160, § 19; L.
2001, ch. 5, § 138; July 1.



