2023 Kansas Statutes

25-4715. Appointment of arbitrator; when. (a) If the secretary of state does not render a
final determination within 90 days after the complaint is filed, or within any extension
to which the complainant consents, the complaint shall be resolved under this section.
(b) Within five days after a final determination was due, the secretary of state shall
designate the name of an arbitrator to resolve the complaint. The designation shall be
in writing and provided to both the complainant and respondent.

(c) The arbitrator may review the record compiled in connection with the complaint,
including the tape recording or any transcript of a hearing and any briefs or
memoranda, but shall not receive additional testimony or evidence.

(d) The arbitrator shall issue a written resolution within 10 days after the secretary
of state's determination was due. The final resolution of the arbitrator shall be mailed
to the secretary of state, the complainant, and each respondent, and published on the
secretary of state website. Pursuant to paragraph (3) of subsection (c) of K.S.A. 77-
603, and amendments thereto, the determination of the arbitrator under this section
shall be final and shall not be subject to review under the Kansas judicial review act.
History: L. 2004, ch. 25, § 31; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 43; July 1.



