2023 Kansas Statutes

17-7510. Failure to file business entity information report or pay annual report fee; forfeiture
of articles of incorporation or authority to do business in Kansas; notices; publication of
forfeiture, when; certificates of good standing, issuance. (a) In addition to any other
penalties, the failure of any domestic corporation to file the business entity
information report in accordance with the provisions of this act or to pay the fee
provided for within 90 days of the time for filing and paying the same or, in the case
of a report filing and fee received by mail, postmarked within 90 days of the time for
filing and paying the same, shall work the forfeiture of the articles of incorporation of
such domestic corporation. Within 60 days after the date such business entity
information report and fee are due, the secretary of state, by mail, shall notify any
corporation that has failed to submit such report and fee when due that its articles of
incorporation shall be forfeited unless the business entity information report is filed
and the fee is paid within 90 days from the date such report and fee were due. Any
corporation that fails to submit such report and fee within such time shall forfeit its
articles of incorporation, and the secretary of state shall notify the attorney general
that the articles of incorporation of such corporation have been forfeited.

(b) In addition to any other penalties, the failure of any foreign corporation to file
the business entity information report or pay the fee prescribed by this act within 90
days from the time provided for filing and paying the same or, in the case of a report
filing and fee received by mail, postmarked within 90 days of the time for filing and
paying the same, shall work a forfeiture of its right or authority to do business in this
state. Within 60 days after the date such business entity information report and fee
are due, the secretary of state, by mail, shall notify any corporation that has failed to
submit such report and fee when due that its authority to do business in this state
shall be forfeited unless the business entity information report * and fee is paid within
90 days from the date such report and fee were due. Any corporation that fails to
submit such report and fees within such time shall forfeit its authority to do business
in this state, and the secretary of state shall publish a notice of such forfeiture in the
Kansas register.

(c) This section shall not be construed to restrict the state from invoking any other
remedies provided by law.

(d) The secretary of state shall not issue certificates of good standing for any
corporation that has failed to file its business entity information report or pay the
required fee.

History: L. 1972, ch. 54, § 10; L. 1973, ch. 101, § 4; L. 1975, ch. 146, § 1; L. 1981, ch.
324,89; L. 2004, ch. 171, § 25; L. 2005, ch. 157, § 16; L. 2016, ch. 110, § 126; L.
2021, ch. 61, § 19; January 1, 2023.



