2023 Kansas Statutes

8-1,168. Masonic lodge license plate; procedure; requirements. (a) On and after January 1,
2013, any owner or lessee of one or more passenger vehicles or trucks registered for
a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less, who is a resident of Kansas, upon compliance
with the provisions of this section, may be issued one masonic lodge license plate for
each such passenger vehicle or truck. In addition to the license plate, a person issued
such license plate may request a decal of various masonic designations, such as
previous offices held in the organization and organizational affiliations, as determined
by the grand lodge of Kansas. Such license plates shall be issued for the same time as
other license plates upon proper registration and payment of the regular license fee
as provided in K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and either the payment to the
county treasurer of the logo use royalty payment established by the grand lodge of
ancient free and accepted masons of Kansas or the presentation of the annual logo
use authorization statement provided for in subsection (b).

(b) The grand lodge of ancient free and accepted masons of Kansas may authorize
the use of their logo to be affixed on license plates as provided by this section. Any
royalty payment received pursuant to this section shall be divided to support the
Kansas masonic library and museum and other charities through Kansas freemasons
charities, inc. Any motor vehicle owner or lessee annually may apply to the grand
lodge of ancient free and accepted masons of Kansas for use of such logo. Upon
annual application and payment to either: (1) The grand lodge of ancient free and
accepted masons of Kansas in an amount of not less than $25 or more than $100 as a
logo use royalty payment for each license plate to be issued, the grand lodge of
ancient free and accepted masons of Kansas shall issue to the motor vehicle owner or
lessee, without further charge, a logo use authorization statement, which shall be
presented by the motor vehicle owner or lessee at the time of the registration; or (2)
the county treasurer of the logo use royalty payment for each license plate to be
issued.

(c) Any applicant for a license plate authorized by this section may make application
for such plates not less than 60 days prior to such person's renewal of registration
date, on a form prescribed and furnished by the director of vehicles, and any
applicant for such license plates shall either provide the annual logo use authorization
statement provided for in subsection (b) or pay to the county treasurer the logo use
royalty payment established by the grand lodge of ancient free and accepted masons
of Kansas. Application for registration of a passenger vehicle or truck and issuance of
the license plate under this section shall be made by the owner or lessee in a manner
prescribed by the director of vehicles upon forms furnished by the director.

(d) No registration or license plate issued under this section shall be transferable to
any other person.

(e) The director of vehicles may transfer Masonic lodge license plates from a leased
vehicle to a purchased vehicle.

() Renewals of registration under this section shall be annually, upon payment of
the fee prescribed in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 8-132, and amendments thereto. No
renewal of registration shall be made to any applicant until such applicant either
provides to the county treasurer either the annual logo use authorization statement
provided for in subsection (b) or the payment of the logo use royalty payment as
established by the grand lodge of ancient free and accepted masons of Kansas. If such
logo use authorization statement is not presented at the time of registration or faxed
by the masonic lodge, or the annual logo use royalty payment is not made to a county
treasurer at the time of registration, the applicant shall be required to comply with
K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and return the license plate to the county
treasurer of such person's residence.

(g) The grand lodge of ancient free and accepted masons of Kansas shall:

(1) Pay the initial cost of silk-screening plates authorized by this section; and

(2) provide to all county treasurers a toll-free telephone number where applicants
can call the grand lodge of Kansas for information concerning the application process
or the status of their license plate application.

(h) The grand lodge of ancient free and accepted masons of Kansas, with the



approval of the director of vehicles and subject to availability of materials and
equipment, shall design a plate to be issued under the provisions of this section.

(i) A fee of $2 shall be paid for each decal issued under this section. Such decals
shall be affixed to the license plate in the location required by the director of vehicles.
(j) As a condition of receiving the Masonic lodge license plate and any subsequent
registration renewal of such plate, the applicant must provide consent to the division
authorizing the division's release of motor vehicle record information, including the
applicant's name, address, logo use royalty payment amount, plate number and
vehicle type to the masonic lodge and the state treasurer.

(k) Annual royalty payments collected by county treasurers under this section shall
be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-
4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance the state
treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the
Masonic lodge royalty fund, which is hereby created in the state treasury and shall be
administered by the state treasurer. All expenditures from the Masonic lodge royalty
fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the
director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the state
treasurer or the state treasurer's designee. Payments from the Masonic lodge royalty
fund to the appropriate designee of the grand lodge of ancient and free accepted
masons of Kansas shall be made on a monthly basis.

History: L. 2012, ch. 130, § 8; July 1.



