2023 Kansas Statutes

8-1,143. Hunter permit; requirements; application; fee. (a) As used in this section,
"Apportioned fleet registration" shall include apportioned registrations completed
under the terms of the international registration plan. The international registration
plan is a registration reciprocity agreement among states of the United States and
provinces of Canada providing for payment of registration fees on the basis of fleet
miles operated in various jurisdictions.

(b) The owner of any motor vehicle which was duly and legally registered in Kansas
on an apportioned basis with the division of vehicles, but which cannot legally be
operated on Kansas highways because of lease cancellation, may, in lieu of the
payment of other registration fees for such vehicle and upon proof of ownership and
appropriate insurance, obtain a hunter's permit from the division of vehicles. Such
permit shall authorize the operation of the vehicle on the highways of this state and
the highways of all member jurisdictions of the international registration plan for a
period not to exceed 30 days. Any vehicle operated under a hunter's permit issued in
accordance with this section shall only be operated while empty and shall only be
operated for the purpose of securing a new lease agreement under which proper
registration may be obtained. No vehicle may be operated on the highways of this
state when the registration of such vehicle has been canceled, unless the vehicle
owner shall have been issued a hunter's permit for such vehicle. Operation of any
vehicle without proper registration or a hunter's permit shall constitute a
misdemeanor.

(c) No owner operating such a vehicle without proper registration or a hunter's
permit shall be allowed to operate the vehicle until the owner has purchased a
hunter's permit or otherwise obtained proper registration.

(d) Application for a hunter's permit shall be made upon forms prescribed by the
director. Application shall be made to the division of vehicles. Before such a permit
may be issued, the applicant shall provide: (1) A release signed by the previous
registrant in such form as is acceptable to the division of vehicles, that the owner has
surrendered all plates, cab cards and other evidence of previous registration to the
previous registrant; and (2) evidence that appropriate insurance currently is in force
in the vehicle owner's name.

(e) The fee for a hunter's permit shall be $26 and shall be collected by the division of
vehicles and deposited by the division as provided in K.S.A. 8-146, and amendments
thereto. When such fee has been paid, no other registration fee shall be required for
any trailer or semitrailer owned by the permit applicant and which is being towed by
such permitted vehicle.

(f) Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to change the vehicle
owner's duty to timely file any necessary fuel reports and to pay any fuel taxes owed.
(g) The secretary of revenue may adopt such rules and regulations for the
administration of this section.

History: L. 1994, ch. 114, § 1; July 1.



