Journal of the House

Hall of the House of Representatives, Topeka, KS, Monday, December 2, 2024, 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 46-142, Clay Barker, General Counsel, Kansas Secretary of State, called the pre-organizational meeting of the 2025 Session of the Kansas Legislature to order.

The roll was called by Mr. Barker from the list of members-elect as certified by the State Board of Canvassers:

State of Kansas Secretary of State

I, Scott Schwab, Secretary of State, do hereby certify that the following persons were elected members of the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas for a two year term beginning on the second Monday of January, A.D. 2025.

District		District	
1^{st}	Dale Helwig	26^{th}	Chip VanHouden
2^{nd}	Kenneth (Ken) Collins	27^{th}	Sean Edward Tarwater, Sr.
$3^{\rm rd}$	Charles (Chuck) Smith	28^{th}	Carl Turner
4^{th}	Rick James	29^{th}	Heather Meyer
5^{th}	Carrie Barth	30^{th}	Laura Williams
6^{th}	Samantha M. Poetter Parshall	31^{st}	Louis E. Ruiz
7^{th}	Dan Goddard		Pam Curtis
8^{th}	Chris Croft	$33^{\rm rd}$	Mike Thompson
9^{th}	Fred Gardner	34^{th}	Valdenia C. Winn
10^{th}	Susan Wikle	35^{th}	Wanda Brownlee Paige
11^{th}	Ron Bryce	36^{th}	Lynn Melton
12^{th}	Doug Blex	37^{th}	Melissa Oropeza
13^{th}	Duane Droge	38^{th}	Timothy H. Johnson
14^{th}	Charlotte Esau	39^{th}	Angela Stiens
15^{th}	Lauren N. Bohi	40^{th}	David Buehler
16^{th}	Linda Featherston	41^{st}	
17^{th}	Jo Ella Hoye	42^{nd}	Lance W. Neelly
18^{th}	Cindy Neighbor	$43^{\rm rd}$	Bill Sutton
19^{th}	Stephanie Sawyer Clayton	44^{th}	Barbara W. Ballard
20^{th}	Mari-Lynn Poskin	45^{th}	Mike Amyx
21^{st}	Jerry Stogsdill	46^{th}	Brooklynne Mosley
22^{nd}	Lindsay Vaughn	47^{th}	Ronald B. Ellis
23^{rd}	Susan Ruiz	48^{th}	Dan Osman
24^{th}	Jarrod Ousley		Nikki McDonald
25^{th}	Rui Xu	50^{th}	Kyle McNorton

District			District	
51 st	Megan D. Steele	88 th	Sandy Pickert	
52 nd	Jesse Borjon	89 th	KC Ohaebosim	
53 rd	Kirk R. Haskins	90 th	Steve Huebert	
54 th	Kirk K. Haskins Ken Corbet	91 st	Emil M. Bergquist	
55 th		92 nd	John Carmichael	
56 th	Tobias Schlingensiepen Virgil Weigel	93 rd	Brian Bergkamp	
57 th	John Alcala	94 th	Leo G. Delperdang	
58 th	Alexis Simmons	95 th	Tom Sawyer	
59 th	Rebecca Schmoe	96 th	Tom Kessler	
60 th	Mark Schreiber	90 97 th	Nick Hoheisel	
61 st		97 98 th		
62 nd	Francis Awerkamp Sean M. Willcott	98 99 th	Cyndi Howerton	
62 63 rd		100 th	Susan Humphries Daniel Hawkins	
64 th	Allen B. Reavis		Joe Seiwert	
65 th	Lewis (Bill) Bloom			
66 th	Shawn Chauncey		Kyler Sweely	
	Sydney Carlin		Angela Martinez	
67 th	Angel Roeser		Paul M. Waggoner	
68 th	Nathan (Nate) Butler		Jill Ann Ward	
69 th	Clarke Sanders		Lisa M. Moser	
70 th	Scott Hill		Dawn Wolf	
71 st	Steven K. Howe		Brandon Woodard	
72 nd	Avery Anderson	109 th	Troy L. Waymaster	
73 rd	Richard Wilborn		Ken Rahjes	
74 th	Mike King		Barb Wasinger	
75 th	Will Carpenter		Sherri Brantley	
76 th	Brad Barrett		Brett Fairchild	
77 th	Kristey S. Williams	114 th	Kevin D. Schwertfeger	
78 th	Robyn R. Essex	115 th	Gary White	
79 th	Webster T. Roth	116 th	Kyle D. Hoffman	
80^{th}	Bill Rhiley		Adam Turk	
81^{st}	Blake Carpenter		Jim Minnix	
82^{nd}	Leah Howell		Jason W. Goetz	
83^{rd}	Henry Helgerson		Adam Smith	
84^{th}	Ford Carr		John Resman	
85^{th}	Patrick A. Penn	122^{nd}	Lon E. Pishny	
86^{th}	Silas Miller		Bob Lewis	
87^{th}	Susan Oliver Estes	124^{th}	Martin (Marty) Long	
		125^{th}	Shannon Francis	

In Testimony Whereof, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed my official seal this 2nd day of December, A.D. 2024.

Scott Schwab
Secretary of State

General Counsel, Clay Barker, appointed Member-Elect Humphries to serve as temporary chairperson.

Mrs. Humphries announced that in accordance with K.S.A. 42-142 upon adjournment, the majority and minority parties will caucus and nominate their candidates for Speaker and Speaker pro tem for the next term and select their majority leader, minority leader and other caucus or party officers.

Mrs. Humphries declared: "There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned. The House will convene on Monday, January 13, 2025 at 2:00 p.m.."

JENNY HAUGH, JULIA WERNER, Journal Clerks. SUSAN W. KANNARR, Chief Clerk.

Subsequent to adjournment, the members-elect of the majority party met and caucused as required by KSA 46-142.

The caucus nominated Daniel Hawkins as Speaker of the House of Representatives and Blake Carpenter as Speaker Pro Tem of the House of Representatives.

The following caucus or party officers were selected:

Majority Leader, Chris Croft Assistant Majority Leader, Kyle Hoffman Majority Whip, Nick Hoheisel Caucus Chair, Kristey Williams

Also, the members-elect of the minority party met and caucused as required by KSA 46-142, and selected the following caucus or party officers:

Minority Leader, Brandon Woodard Assistant Minority Leader, Mike Amyx Minority Whip, Jo Ella Hoye Agenda Chairperson, Jerry Stogsdill Caucus Chairperson, Barbara W. Ballard Policy Chairperson, Dan Osman

INTERIM APPOINTMENTS

I Jennifer Cook, Assistant Secretary of State, hereby certify that Marty Long was appointed by the Governor, August 22nd, 2024, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of David Younger, State Representative for the 124th Legislative District.

Representative-elect Long came forward, took and subscribed, or affirmed his oath of office, administered by Assistant Secretary of State, Jennifer Cook as follows:

STATE OF KANSAS, COUNTY OF SHAWNEE, SS:

I do solemnly swear, or affirm, that I will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of Kansas, and will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of

KANSAS STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE 124th Legislative District so help me God.

MARTY LONG

Subscribed and Sworn to, or Affirmed, before me this 22nd day of August, 2024.

Jennifer Cook Assistant Secretary of State

I Rhonda Coronado, Notary Public, hereby certify that Wanda Brownlee Paige was appointed by the Governor, September 25th, 2024, to fill the vacancy created by the death of Marvin Robinson II, State Representative for the 35th Legislative District.

Representative-elect Brownlee Paige came forward, took and subscribed, or affirmed her oath of office, administered by Notary Public, Rhonda Coronado as follows:

STATE OF KANSAS, COUNTY OF WYANDOTTE, SS:

I do solemnly swear, or affirm, that I will support the Constitution of the United States, and the Constitution of the State of Kansas, and will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of

KANSAS STATE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE 35th Legislative District so help me God.

Wanda Brownlee Paige

Subscribed and Sworn to, or Affirmed, before me this 25th day of September, 2024.

Rhonda Coronado Notary Public