## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1710

A Resolution congratulating and commending the award-winning educators in Kansas.

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Award program, established by the Milken Family Foundation, recognizes and provides financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals and other educational professionals who further excellence in education; and

WHEREAS, Meredith Reid, an educator at Girard High School in Girard USD 248, has been selected as the Kansas recipient for the 2024 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching program is the highest recognition for a science, technology, engineering, mathematics and computer science teacher in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Six educators in Kansas were selected as National Finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching between 2021 and 2023; and

WHEREAS, The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching recipients for 2021 are: Erica Huggard, Secondary Science, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253; and Elizabeth Self, Secondary Mathematics, Kepley Middle School, Ulysses USD 214; and

WHEREAS, The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching recipients for 2022 are: Todd Flory, Elementary Science, Wheatland Elementary School, Andover USD 385; and Angela Gray, Elementary Mathematics, Atchison Elementary School, Atchison USD 409; and

WHEREAS, The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching recipients for 2023 are: Robin Anderson, Secondary Mathematics, Andover Middle School, Andover USD 385; and Jennifer Hendrix, Secondary Science, Dodge City High School, Dodge City USD 443; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, which is currently in its 25th year and is sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal, identifies and recognizes exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning elementary and secondary school educators across the state have been named Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The 2025 Region 1 Kansas Horizon Award recipients are: Dalton Kraus, Victoria Elementary School, Victoria USD 432; Emma Lidstrom, Coronado Elementary School, Salina USD 305; Angie Linden, Lyons Middle School, Lyons USD 405; Jessyka Mikkelson, Southeast of Saline Elementary School, Southeast of Saline USD 306; Rylie Sanders, Buhler High School, Buhler USD 313; Sarah Schlottman, Abilene High School, Abilene USD 435; Kiley Seidl, Haven Grade School, Haven USD 312; and Brayden Smith, Hays High School, Hays USD 489; and

WHEREAS, The 2025 Region 2 Kansas Horizon Award recipients are: Denise Acosta, Spring Valley Elementary School, Geary County USD 475; Jasmine Cole, Hillsboro Middle and High School, Durham-Hillsboro-Lehigh USD 410; Jason Dester, Topeka West High School, Topeka USD 501; Brennen Feeback, Fort Scott High School, Fort Scott USD 234; Makayla Gray, Burlington Elementary School, Burlington USD 244; Michael Lager, Junction City High School, Geary County USD 475; Alyssa Larson, Gray Hawk Elementary School, Basehor-Linwood USD 458; and Trenton Lowry, North Lawn Elementary School, Neodesha USD 461; and

WHEREAS, The 2025 Region 3 Kansas Horizon Award recipients are: Sarah Alas, Delaware Ridge Elementary School, Bonner Springs USD 204; Ryleigh Diskin, Ray Marsh Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Marie Jones, Scarborough Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Brock LaPlante, Spring Hill High School, Spring Hill USD 230; Tara Mulcahy, Broadmoor Elementary School, Louisburg USD 416; Steve Murray, Olathe West High School, Olathe USD 233; Allaire Pigg, Turner High School, Turner USD 202; and Eric Reece, Central Heights Middle School, Central Heights USD 288; and

WHEREAS, The 2025 Region 4 Kansas Horizon Award recipients are: Viridiana Arias, Maize South High School, Maize USD 266; Lexie Bullinger, Robert M. Martin Elementary School, Andover USD 385; Joshua Isaacs, West Elementary School, Valley Center USD 262; Tyler Kohlman, Amelia Earhart Elementary School, Goddard USD 265; Matt Miller, Truesdell Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Ann Patton, Augusta Middle School, Augusta USD 402; Hannah Reynolds, Eisenhower High School, Goddard USD 265; and Kelsy Sproul, Sedan Elementary School, Chautauqua USD 286: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend these outstanding educators; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 34 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1710 was sponsored by Senators Sykes, Argabright, Pette	ey and Starnes.	
I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted in the Senate, and was adopted to the senate of the senat	pted by that body	
	President of the Se	nate.

Secretary of the Senate.