## **HOUSE BILL No. 2283**

By Representatives Waggoner, Schwertfeger, Seiwert and Sweely

2-5

AN ACT concerning the Kansas state fair board; relating to membership thereof; adding legislative leadership as appointing authorities for members appointed from the general public; requiring at least one such member to be a resident of Reno county; amending K.S.A. 2024 Supp. 74-520a and repealing the existing section.

1 2

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 2024 Supp. 74-520a is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-520a. (a) On and after March 15, 1995, The Kansas state fair board is hereby established. The Kansas state fair board shall consist of the following members:

- (1) The secretary of agriculture or the successor of the secretary of agriculture, or the secretary's designee;
  - (2) the secretary of commerce, or the secretary's designee;
- (3) the director of extension of Kansas state university of agriculture and applied science, or the director's designee;
- (4) one person appointed by the governor from three persons nominated by the Kansas chamber of commerce and industry;
- (5) one person appointed by the governor from three persons nominated by the travel industry association of Kansas;
- (6) one person appointed by the governor from three persons nominated by the Kansas fairs association; and
- (7) seven-people persons from the general public-appointed by the governor. Of such people appointed, one shall be from each of the five extension areas, as established in subsection (e), and two shall represent the state at large. Directors of each extension area shall submit three-nominations to the governor. Such persons nominated shall be actively involved in agriculture production or agribusiness as follows:
- (A) One person appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives to represent the state at large;
- (B) one person appointed by the majority leader of the house of representatives to represent the northwest extension area;
- (C) one person appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives to represent the southwest extension area;
- (D) one person appointed by the president of the senate to represent the south central extension area:

HB 2283 2

 (E) one person appointed by the majority leader of the senate to represent the southeast extension area;

- (F) one person appointed by the minority leader of the senate to represent the northeast extension area; and
- (G) one person who is a resident of Reno county appointed by the governor to represent the state at large.
- (b) Of the persons initially appointed by the governor under subsection (a), three appointed by governor shall have a term of one year, three appointed by the leadership of the house of representatives shall have a term of two years and three appointed by the leadership of the senate shall have a term of three years and until a successor is appointed and qualified. Thereafter, all members shall have terms of three years and until a successor is appointed and qualified.
- (c) Any vacancy occurring on the Kansas state fair board shall be filled as the original appointment was made.
- (d) If any of the members able to appoint a designee does so, the designee shall be appointed for a term of not less than one year.
- (e) For the purpose of this section the state shall be divided into five extension areas.
- (1) The northwest extension area shall include the following counties: Cheyenne, Rawlins, Decatur, Norton, Phillips, Smith, Osborne, Rooks, Graham, Sheridan, Thomas, Sherman, Wallace, Logan, Gove, Trego, Ellis, Russell, Barton, Rush and Ness.
- (2) The southwest extension area shall include the following counties: Greeley, Wichita, Scott, Lane, Pawnee, Hodgeman, Finney, Kearny, Hamilton, Edwards, Ford, Gray, Haskell, Grant, Stanton, Morton, Stevens, Seward, Meade, Clark, Comanche and Kiowa.
- (3) The south central extension area shall include the following counties: Lincoln, Ottawa, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Saline, Rice, McPherson, Marion, Reno, Harvey, Butler, Kingman, Sedgwick, Cowley, Sumner, Harper, Barber, Pratt and Stafford.
- (4) The southeast extension area shall include the following counties: Morris, Chase, Lyon, Osage, Franklin, Miami, Coffey, Anderson, Linn, Bourbon, Allen, Woodson, Greenwood, Elk, Wilson, Neosho, Crawford, Chautauqua, Montgomery, Labette and Cherokee.
- (5) The northeast extension area shall include the following counties: Jewell, Republic, Washington, Marshall, Nemaha, Brown, Doniphan, Mitchell, Cloud, Clay, Riley, Pottawatomie, Jackson, Atchison, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Wyandotte, Johnson, Douglas, Shawnee, Wabaunsee and Geary.
- (f) (1) The Kansas state fair board is authorized to establish a nonprofit corporation organized under section 501(c)(3) of the internal revenue code of 1986. The board of directors of the nonprofit corporation

HB 2283 3

3 4

5

6 7

shall consist of the members of the executive committee of the fair board, 1 the general manager and other directors designated by the fair board.

- (2) The purpose of the nonprofit corporation shall be to receive gifts, donations, grants and other moneys and engage in fundraising projects for the benefit of the Kansas state fair.
- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2024 Supp. 74-520a is hereby repealed.Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the statute book.