Adam C. Proffitt, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

February 10, 2025

The Honorable Ken Rahjes, Chairperson House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 112-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Rahjes:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2172 by House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2172 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2172 would establish the Water Program Task Force to evaluate the state's water program to ensure financial resources are adequate. The bill would require the Task Force to report certain information to the Legislature and Governor on or before January 31, 2026.

The bill would specify that the Water Program Task Force include 29 members appointed by April 30, 2025 as follows: (1) the chair of the House of Representatives Committee on Water; (2) the chair of the House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources; (3) the chair of the House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations; (4) the chair of the Senate Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources; (5) the chair of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means; (6) the ranking minority member of the House of Representatives Committee on Water; (7) the ranking minority member of the Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee; (8) one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; (9) one Kansas resident appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; (10) one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker Pro Tem; (11) one Kansas resident appointed by the Speaker Pro Tem; (12) one member of the House of Representatives appointed by the House Minority Leader; (13) one Kansas resident appointed by the House Minority Leader; (14) one member of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate; (15) one Kansas resident appointed by the President of the Senate; (16) one member of the Senate appointed by the Vice President of the Senate; (17) one Kansas resident appointed by the Vice President of the Senate; (18) one member of the Senate appointed by the Vice President of the Senate; (19) one Kansas resident appointed by the Senate Minority Leader; (20) one member appointed by the Kansas Farm Bureau; (21) one member appointed by the Kansas Groundwater Management Districts Association; (22) one member of a Kansas Agricultural Commodity Organization appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture; (23) one member appointed by the Kansas Livestock Association; (24) one member appointed by Kansas Municipal Utilities; (25) one member appointed by the Kansas Association of Counties; (26) one member appointed by the Kansas Rural Water District Association; (27) two members appointed by the Kansas Chamber of Commerce with one appointment representing a business reliant on groundwater and one appointment representing a business that is reliant on surface water; (28) one member appointed by Kansans for Conservation. The bill would also add ten nonvoting ex officio Kansas resident members as follows: (1) the Secretary of Agriculture or the Secretary's designee; (2) the Director of the Division of Environment of the Kansas Department of Health and Environment or the Director's designee; (3) the Director of the Kansas Water Office or the Director's designee; (4) the Secretary of the Department of Revenue or the Secretary's designee; (5) the Director of the Kansas Geological Survey or the Director's designee; (6) the chairperson of the State Corporation Commission or Chairperson's designee; (7) the Director of the Kansas Water Institute or the Director's designee; (8) the Secretary of Wildlife and Parks or the Secretary's designee; (9) the Director of the Kansas Biological Survey or the Director's designee; and (10) the Chief Engineer of the Kansas Department of Agriculture Division of Water Resources or the Chief Engineer's designee.

Legislative Administrative Services indicates HB 2172, if enacted, would increase expenditures by \$15,111 for one meeting in FY 2025 and \$90,667 for six meetings in FY 2026, including \$60,484 for Legislator pay, \$25,872 for non-Legislator pay, \$4,221 for committee assistant pay, and \$90 for publication in the *Kansas Register*. Additionally, for FY 2027, Legislative Administrative Services indicates an increase of \$93,387 in expenditures, or 3.0 percent above FY 2026, with the provisions of the bill sunsetting afterward. Legislative Administrative Services notes that the nonvoting ex officio members would be paid by their respective state agencies.

The Kansas Geological Survey indicates that enactment of the bill would not have an immediate effect on the State General Fund, state revenues, and local revenues; however, the work of the Task Force could significantly affect future appropriations for how water would be allocated.

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment indicates there could be a fiscal effect associated with meetings at an estimated cost of \$1,000 per meeting held outside of Topeka. For meetings in or around Topeka, there would be no cost. However, a precise fiscal effect cannot be estimated.

The Kansas Department of Revenue and the Kansas Corporation Commission indicate that enactment of the bill would have a minimal fiscal effect on operations, with expenditures anticipated for mileage and subsistence for meetings which could be absorbed within existing resources by the agencies. The Honorable Ken Rahjes, Chairperson Page 3—HB 2172

The Kansas Water Office, Kansas Department of Agriculture, Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks, and Kansas Board of Regents indicate enactment of the bill would have no fiscal effect on operations. Any fiscal effect associated with HB 2172 is not reflected in *The FY 2026 Governor's Budget Report*.

The League of Kansas Municipalities and Kansas Association of Counties indicate enactment of the bill would have no fiscal effect on operations.

Sincerely,

A- C. - +

Adam C. Proffitt Director of the Budget

cc: Lita Biggs, Department of Agriculture Debra Jones, Kansas Water Office Amy Penrod, Department of Health & Environment Wendi Stark, League of Kansas Municipalities Jay Hall, Kansas Association of Counties Martin DeBoer, Department of Wildlife & Parks Jeff Dewitt, University of Kansas Lynn Retz, Kansas Corporation Commission Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue Tom Day, Legislative Services Becky Pottebaum, Board of Regents