Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612

Adam C. Proffitt, Director

Kansas
Division of the Budget

Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

February 7, 2025

The Honorable Shannon Francis, Chairperson House Committee on Transportation 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 582-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Francis:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2168 by House Committee on Transportation

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2168 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2168 would create the Blackout distinctive license plate. The bill would allow any Kansas resident who is the owner of a passenger vehicle or truck with a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less, to be issued one Blackout distinctive license plate for each vehicle or truck on and after January 1, 2026. The distinctive plate would be issued upon proper registration and payment of the regular license fee as provided in KSA 8-143. Any applicant or renewal of registration for a Blackout license plate would be required to pay an annual fee of \$50 to the county treasurer for each Blackout license plate issued. The bill would establish the License Plate Replacement Fund, which would be administrated by the Secretary of Revenue. All fund expenditures would be for costs associated with replacing license plates when the lifespan of the license plates has been exhausted as determined by the Director of Vehicles.

The Department of Revenue estimates enactment of HB 2168 would increase its expenditures by \$2,890 in FY 2026 for administrative costs related to designing and manufacturing the new plate. The Department estimates the bill would decrease revenues to the State Highway Fund by \$4,000 in FY 2026. Any fiscal effect associated with HB 2168 is not reflected in *The FY 2026 Governor's Budget Report*.

Sincerely,

'Adam C. Proffitt

Director of the Budget

- C. ~ \$

cc: Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue Brendan Yorkey, Department of Transportation Jay Hall, Kansas Association of Counties