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 HB 2201 provides for the FFA distinctive license plate. 

 HB 2201 provides that a vehicle owner may be issued a FFA license plate for every vehicle 

or truck upon proper registration and payment of the regular license fees pursuant to K.S.A. 8-143. 

Additionally, the applicant for a license plate must pay either the county treasurer the logo use 

royalty fee established by the Kansas FFA foundation or present a logo use authorization statement 

to the county treasurer that was provided to such applicant from the Kansas FFA foundation upon 

payment to them of the same fee. The logo use royalty fee established by the Kansas FFA 

foundation must be between $25 and $100 and is an annual fee. 

 These license plates, like all distinctive license plates unless exempted, are subject to the 

provisions of K.S.A. 8-1,141. Under current law in K.S.A. 8-1,141, distinctive license plates will 

not be issued until there is an initial issuance of 250 license plates and payment by the sponsoring 

organization of the initial design costs for the license plates up to $5,000. Distinctive license plates 

are also subject to the personalized license plate fee prescribed in K.S.A. 8-132. The sponsoring 

organization must also provide a design for the license plate and provide a phone number or email 

address where people can inquire about the license plate. 

 All logo use royalty payments made to county treasurers are remitted to the State Treasurer 

and will then be credited to a newly created royalty fund for the Kansas FFA foundation pursuant 

to K.S.A. 8-1,141(h). Payments from the royalty fund shall be made on a monthly basis to the 

Kansas FFA foundation. 

 The provisions of HB 2201 become effective July 1, 2025, but applications for the license 

plate will begin on January 1, 2026. 


