
Chair Carpenter and Committee Members - 

My name is Leslie Roste with the Future of the Beauty Industry Coalition in support of HB 2068. 

I represent many employers in your state who hire cosmetologist and often have difficulty being 
able to stay fully staffed.  I am also a proud resident of the state of Kansas and eager to see this 
important legislation enacted.  This legislation, that is considered the gold standard for license 
mobility allows employers to draw from a larger pool of employees, allows cosmetologists who 
come to your state to get to work immediately and reduces workload related to reciprocity 
applications for the regulatory agency.   In addition, the compact’s use of a required 
comprehensive database, may also reduce license fraud and therefore improve health and 
public safety for your consumers.   

Currently, to move to Kansas as a licensee from another state you must complete a lengthy 
application, pay a $75.00 fee and either re-test both the written and practical examination or 
prove they have completed 1500 hours of cosmetology education and pass a written exam. As a 
part of the application, you must also include a copy of your social security card (no exceptions) 
and state issued ID as well as providing transcripts of your high school education, your full work 
history and full educational history. While these items may not seem cumbersome, copies of a 
social security card may require waiting on the social security administration to issue a new one 
and re-testing, particularly if you have been out of school for some time may be extremely 
difficult after specializing in one area for some period of time. For a military spouse trying to 
use the SCRA or Service Member Civil Relief Act pathway, there is no expediting of licensure or 
exceptions to work history requirements based on the fact that they may have moved 
frequently.  Finally, the application states that it takes 3 weeks at a minimum to be processed – 
time that many people cannot afford to simply not work at all. 

If the compact were passed, you would enact the only form of license mobility that is bi-
directional and is considered the gold standard for mobility by the military.  In fact, it is the only 
form of mobility that would benefit your actual constituents, allowing them the same benefits 
you currently give to licensees coming into your state.  While no state likes their citizens to 
leave, there are simply times when it must happen, and this compact would benefit that 
resident tremendously.   



While some of the benefits of the compact are obvious for licensees, including the military 
spouse and even the state, by reducing reciprocity processing and providing a licensure 
database, some of the other potential beneficiaries may not be so obvious but are very 
important.   We have heard extensive testimony about the very real benefits to survivors of 
domestic violence and licensees displaced by natural disasters.  For survivors of domestic 
violence the ability to move quickly and anonymously may be lifesaving and in this industry 
which is 85% female, the compact would provide the ability to work today and with tips, have 
money in your pocket tonight - which can provide groceries, a meal or even a hotel while they 
get on their feet.  In addition, as we have all seen lately, natural disasters like hurricane Helena 
and the current California wildfires create a displacement of people who need to work and may 
have resources like family in your state where they could move and not only begin working, but 
also fill vacancies that currently exist in.  

In your packets, I have provided some supporting materials including letters from the 
Professional Beauty Association and various employers as well as a map of our currently 
enacted states. 

The compact approach to license mobility provides clear benefits to licensees moving to your 
state, businesses in your state and even the state itself, but most importantly to your own 
constituents. 

Respectfully Submitted, 

 

Leslie Roste, RN 
Vice President, Government Affairs 
 
Leslie.roste@fbic.org 
816-955-1643 

mailto:Leslie.roste@fbic.org




 
 

 

  

January 30, 2025 
 
Chair Carpenter & Vice Chair Bryce 
Kansas State Capitol  
House Health and Human Services Committee 
Room 112-N 
Topeka, Kansas  
 
RE: HB 2068 Adopt the Cosmetology Licensure Compact 
 
Dear Chairman Carpenter, Vice Chair Bryce, and Honorable Members of the House Health and Human Services 
Committee, 
 
Thank you for your consideration of HB 2068, creating the Interstate Cosmetology Licensure Compact. I 
appreciate the opportunity to express support for HB 2068 on behalf of the Professional Beauty Association 
(PBA) and our members.  
 
PBA has existed for over one hundred years and is the only national non-profit organization representing  
licensed beauty professionals, small business salon and barbershop owners, distributors, and manufacturers. 
PBA strives to support the professional beauty industry by giving back to the community through our 
charitable foundation programs, education, mentorship, and advocacy.  
 
The Interstate Cosmetology Licensure Compact will ease the complexity and process for licensed beauty 
professionals moving to Kansas. Many students aspire to move out of state once they complete their program. 
Licensed beauty professionals would welcome the opportunity to be able to call Kansas home.  
 
The collaborative action and leadership of Kansas can help shape the direction and oversight for the Interstate 
Compact. This cooperative participation will support economic growth, and public safety while  allowing for 
true license mobility without the deterrent of extra steps in what could be a very lengthy process.  
  
The expected employment growth for professionals in the beauty industry coupled with the Interstate 
Cosmetology Licensure Compact will create a simple and welcoming invitation to new licensed professionals 
to pursue their career path in the state of Kansas. 
 
The Professional Beauty Association and our members encourage you to successfully pass HB 2068 out of 
committee, allowing the state of Kansas to be a leader with the Interstate Cosmetology Licensure Compact.  
 
Myra Y. Reddy 
Director of Government Affairs 
Professional Beauty Association  
 



 

 

We Support the Cosmetology Interstate Licensure Compact 

 

As business owners across the country we support implementation of the 
Cosmetology Interstate Licensure Compact that would support our 
businesses and our employees.  Benefits of the compact to the industry 
include: 

• Ability to utilize our best stylists for events like store openings, filling 
short term vacancies and meet high season needs. 

• Ability to hire from a broader area to meet staffing needs 
• Ability to put stylist to work immediately when they need to work and we 

need the stylist! 
• Ability to allow a stylist to move and stay with our company. 
• Potential increased interest in this career path by young people who 

want to be mobile 

 

Our businesses are dependent on being able to stay fully staffed and the 
Cosmetology Compact would help us to do just that!  We are W-2 employers 
that pay well, offer full employee benefits and grow your economy.  Please 
support the Cosmetology Compact! 



 

 

 

 

 



Potential Benefits/Beneficiaries – KS 

 

Military Spouses:  For military spouses that work in a licensed profession (36%), the 
unemployment rate is 25%.  With frequent moves, it is often impractical or impossible to get a 
license in the new state within a reasonable period of time.   Although a 2021 modification to the 
SCRA required states to expedite licensure for military spouses, the modifications did little to 
improve licensure in a new state.  States still require letters of certification from other states worked 
in as well as proof of education and testing, after which they will expedite the licensure process.  
Obtaining those records and letters is the most time-consuming part of the application process 
often taking several months before they can even apply in the new state.  The cosmetology compact 
would allow these military family members to begin work immediately upon moving to KS as well as 
allowing KS trained/licensed military spouses to begin working immediately in their new state upon 
relocation.  

Domestic Violence Survivors:  The cosmetology industry is one of the few industries where a 
licensee can work today and have money in their pocket at the end of the day to buy a meal or get a 
hotel room.  For a survivor of DV the ability to move anonymously and work immediately can be life 
critical.  The cosmetology industry is 85% female, and the compact would provide an immediate 
means of mobility for DV survivors when they need it most. 

Displaced Workers:  With the increasingly devastating natural disasters, we have heard numerous 
stories of cosmetologists who need to work in another state due to loss of their places of business 
or home.  The compact would allow these licensees to work immediately in another state to ensure 
financial stability in a time of need. 

Tracking of Fraudulent Schools:  The compact database provides member states with the ability 
to track licenses from their inception – including educational path.  This oversight along with the 
information from other member states will give visibility to potentially problematic schools. 

Tracking of License Fraud: The compact database provides member states with the ability to trach 
licenses from their inception.  The history this provides combined with the ability for member states 
to perform joint investigations will make identification of fraudulent licensees more possible. 

KS Licensees:  Cosmetologists trained in KS completed 1500 hours of education plus a theory and 
practical exam.  The compact is the only form of reciprocity that is bi-directional.  Current 
reciprocity benefits licensees coming into KS but does not benefit the residents of KS – the 
compact would benefit both licensees coming into KS as well as the constituents of the state. 

 



The following outlines requirements for Kansas licensure in cosmetology professions pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1904b: 
  Cosmetology – *Required Hours 1,500 

• 1,500 + Active license in another state = 20 question open book exam.
• 1,500 + no license or expired license = must take Board exams.
• Less than required hours + active license = must take Board exams.
• Less than required hours + no license or expired license = must get additional hours and must take Board exams (written and practical).

Esthetics – *Required Hours 1,000 
• 1,000 + Active license in another state = 20 question open book exam
• 1,000 + no license or expired license = must take Board exams.
• Less than required hours + active license = must take Board exams.
• Less than required hours + no license or expired license = must get additional hours and must take Board exams.

Electrology – *Required Hours 500 (school) or 1,000 (apprenticeship) 
• 500 (school) or 1000 Hour apprenticeship + Active license in another state = 20 question open book exam
• 500 (school) or 1000 Hour apprenticeship + no license or expired license = must take Board exams.
• Less than required hours + active license = must take Board exams.
• Less than required hours + no license or expired license = must get additional hours and must take Board exams.

Manicuring – *Required Hours 350 
• Must have 350 hours and must take written Board exams (theory and practical).

The following outlines the requirements for Kansas reciprocity licensure for the professions under the jurisdiction of the Board of 
Cosmetology pursuant to K.S.A. 48-3406. To qualify under this provision, applicants must be one of the following:
1. A reciprocity applicant who is a military member (active or honorably discharged) or a spouse of military member.
2. A reciprocity applicant who has established or intends to establish residency in KS.

 Applicants who work in a US State, District or Territory that requires licensure for the profession must:
• Hold valid license or certification from another US state, district or territory in the profession in which Kansas requires licensure.
• Have at least one-year work experience

Applicants who work in a US State, District or Territory in which the profession is not regulated and have a private certification must:
• Have worked at least two years prior to the application date in the profession in which Kansas requires licensure.
• Be in good standing with the private organization

Applicants who work in a US State, District or Territory in which the profession is not regulated and have no private certification must:
• Have worked at least three years in the last four years prior to the application date in the profession in which Kansas requires licensure.

Failure to complete all sections on this application and/or submit all supporting 
documentation as described below will result in significant licensing delays. Please read 

and complete ALL sections to ensure the fastest processing.
This application and all supporting documentation should be submitted to:

The Kansas Board Of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson St, Ste 100

Topeka, KS 66603
kboc@ks.gov

Last Revised 03/25/2024

APPLICATION FOR OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE 
Do not use this form to reinstate or renew a previously issued Kansas license. To renew or reinstate your Kansas license, please use the 

following link for available options. https://www.kansas.gov/kboc/licenses/license-renewal/

Kansas Board of Cosmetology
714 SW Jackson Suite 100 Topeka, KS 66603

Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002
Email: Kboc@ks.gov Website: www.kansas.gov/kboc
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMISSIONS 
Please read all directions in full as they correspond to each section on the application.

1. Section #1 Applicant Information
1. Legible photocopy of your current U.S. Government issued photo identification
Examples: State issued ID or Driver's License, Passport, Passport Card, Military ID (front and back)
2. Legible photocopy of your social security card
The name on the application and the identification documents must match. The name on the ID and social security card must match.
3. Legal name change documents (if applicable)
If you have had a legal name change, please include a copy of the legal documents verifying the change of name (marriage license, 
divorce decree, birth certificate, etc.) This documentation will be required if you have a previous name displayed on your High School 
equivalency document.

2. Section #2 Felony Convictions and Disciplinary Actions
1. Felony Convictions
The Board requires you to disclose all felony convictions even if they did not occur in Kansas or you were told they did not appear on a
background check. You MUST provide your case number(s) in order for your application to be considered.
When applicable, the following packet should be submitted along with your application: 77. Felony Reporting Packet
2. Prior Disciplinary Actions
The Board requires you to disclose all prior disciplinary actions.
When applicable, the following packet should be submitted with your application: 82. Disciplinary Action Disclosure Form
Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1908, failure to disclose may result in disciplinary action including the denial of licensure.

3. Section # 3 Fee Payment
Submit the $75 non-refundable fee by credit card, check, or money order
Record the Order ID# from your credit card receipt on your application

4. Section #4 Military Service
Military Service, Spouse, or Member
Submit a legible photocopy of your CAC, Military ID (front and back), or DD-214

5. Section #5 Citizenship Status
U.S. Citizen, non-immigrant with a visa, permanent resident/resident alien
Submit a legible photocopy of your resident alien card (front and back)

6.  Section #6 Licensure and Training Verification

1. License Verification:
Contact each US State, District or Territory licensing body board in which you have been licensed and/or completed professional 
training and request verification be sent to our office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from 
the licensing body, we cannot accept this documentation from applicants or from schools outside of Kansas. Board staff must be able 
to independently verify your license; in some cases, other official documents may be required by KBOC for licensure.
Professional training attained outside the United States:
If you completed any professional training outside of the United States, it must be verified and evaluated for training equivalence. The 
verification must include information regarding the duration of training, the number of instructional hours, and the subject matter of the 
training. Contact an educational credential evaluation company and request verification be sent directly to our office. We cannot accept 
this documentation from applicants. The Board will consider approval of credential evaluations on a case by case basis and does not 
guarantee acceptance. You can find lists of accredited educational credential service providers here:
https://www.naces.org/
https://aice-eval.org/
2. Private certification verification:
Contact the organization in which you are currently certified and request verification of good standing be sent to this office. The
organization providing the certification must be within another state or jurisdiction of the United States. The verification must be sent
directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the organization providing verification. We cannot accept this documentation from
applicants. The verification should include the organization name, contact information including address of business, the duration of
training, the number of instructional hours, the subject matter of the training and the requirements necessary for the practitioner to
remain in current good standing with the organization after receiving the certification.

9. Contact each state board in which you are currently licensed, have previously been licensed in the last five years, and any state in which 
you received instructional training, if other than a state you have been licensed in the last five years, and request the verification(s) be sent 
to this office. The verification(s) must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the state regulatory board providing 
verification of licensure or training. (Some states may take up to eight (8) weeks to forward verifications.) We cannot accept this 
documentation from applicants or from schools outside of Kansas. If you are in a state that provides online verification and is also willing to
verify additional information needed by KBOC Board staff directly, please copy or print your verification from their license verification 
website and submit it with your application. Some online verification websites do not provide all the information necessary to determine 
Kansas licensure requirements. Board staff must be able to verify your licensure online separately; in some cases, official documents may 
be required by KBOC for licensure.
Professional instructional/training attained outside the United States:
If you completed any professional instructional/training outside of the United States it is necessary, the training be verified and evaluated 
for instructional/training equivalence. The verification must include information regarding the duration of training, the number of
instructional hours, and the subject matter of the training. Contact Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc., (ECE) or AEQUO International 
(AEQUO) by using their websites. The Board only accepts verifications completed by ECE or AEQUO. The ECE or AEQUO verification 
must be sent to this office directly from ECE or AEQUO. We cannot accept this documentation from applicants.
ECE:https://www.ece.org/ECE AEQUO: https://aequointernational.com/

10. Verification of date of birth and Social Security No. (please do not fax):
Submit a copy of your social security card and your current, U.S. government issued photo identification reflecting your legal name. (ID 
Examples: current driver’s license, military identification card, valid alien resident card with photo, or a current Kansas identification card
with photo.) The name on the ID and social security card must match.
If your HS documents or other state documents will have a different name on them, please include a copy of the court documents verifying 
the name change.
PLEASE NOTE: The name on the application and the identification documents must match exactly.

Last Revised 03/25/2024
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1.High School Transcript
You must submit a high school transcript along with your application in order for it to be processed.High school transcripts may be held by 
the high school or they may be held by the school district office. To request your high school transcript, contact the high school office that 
maintains your graduation records and request a copy of your transcript.

• How do I know if the Board will accept my High School Transcript?
Follow this link to review the Board's High School Guidelines

2.GED Verification:
Applicants who did not graduate from an accredited high school may meet this requirement by requesting to have their graduate equivalent 
diploma (GED) transcripts sent from the issuing party. Issuing party includes services obtained by the issuing party for sending education 
documents digitally such as Parchment, GED Diploma Sender, etc.
3.High school education attained outside the United States:
If you completed high school outside of the U.S., your high school transcript must be verified and evaluated for educational equivalency. 
Contact an educational credential evaluation company and request verification be sent directly to our office. We cannot accept this 
documentation from applicants. The Board will consider approval of credential evaluations on a case by case basis and does not guarantee 
acceptance. You can find lists of accredited educational credential service providers here: https://www.naces.org/  or  https://aice-eval.org/
Section #9 Attestation

The Board requires you to complete the attestation. A typed signature will NOT be accepted.

When should I expect an update?
The Board asks that you allow 7-10 business days to process all documentation received. Application status updates will be sent to the email address you provided. The out-
of-state license process typically takes no less than 3 weeks and is dependent on the submission of the required supporting documentation as outlined above. Please refrain 
from contacting our office more than once every 7-10 business days following a status update to ensure the fastest possible service.
Possible paths to licensure:
Submission of this application does not guarantee you will be issued a Kansas license. Board staff will review your individual circumstances upon receipt of this completed 
application, the non-refundable fee, and all supporting documentation. You can help ensure Board staff are able to provide you with the quickest and least restrictive path to 
a Kansas license by completing all required fields and requesting all supporting documentation. Incomplete applications will not be processed.
Possible outcomes:
After Board Staff has reviewed your application, you will receive an e-mail update outlining the quickest and least restrictive path to a Kansas license. This includes but is not 
limited to:
• Applicant qualifies for a license via self-test which will be emailed to the applicant upon completion of the application. You may download the Kansas laws and

regulations at www.kansas.gov/kboc.
• Applicant qualifies for a license via open book exam. The exam will be emailed to the applicant upon completion of the application. This is a 20-question exam based on

the Kansas laws and regulations that you must return to our office. You may download the Kansas laws and regulations at www.kansas.gov/kboc.
• Applicants may be required to earn additional training hours and/or take the Board exams to be issued a Kansas license. These applicants will receive their exam

information via email upon completion of the application. A temporary permit application will be offered to applicants at this time. Only applicants required to take exams
will be eligible for the temporary permit. Please use the following link to access information about examinations: Exam Info.

Section #7 Employment History:
Contact each place of employment and request an employment verification letter be sent directly to this office. The verification letter must 
be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the employer, we cannot accept this documentation from applicants. 
The verification letter must include the following:

1. The employer’s name and the full address of the business
2. Your full name
3. The dates of your employment
4. Your job title
You must provide your employment history relevant to the application and complete the employment verification affidavit stating that the
application information and employment history is true and accurate. Board staff must be able to independently verify your employment,
unverified employment will not be recognized.

Section #8 High School Education
If the applicant has held a current license in another jurisdiction, in the area of practice in which an applicant seeks a license, for 10 years or 
more, proof of high school equivalency will not be required.

7.

8.

Last Revised 05/17/2024
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Last Revised 03/25/2024

1. Non-refundable $75 application fee (check, money order, or credit card accepted)
2. Legible photocopy of your social security card and your current U.S. government issued photo identification (i.e. driver’s license, state identification card, or military 

identification). The name on the application and the identification documents must match. The name on the ID and social security card must match.
3. Supporting documentation for each section. Please see the instructions on pages 2 and 3 for submission requirement details.

#1 Applicant Information

License type for which you are applying: 

Full Legal Name:  ________________________________________________________________________ Male □ Female □ 
Last First Middle 

Address: 
  (Street) (City/State) (Zip) 

Phone Number: (_________)____________________Date of Birth: *Social Security Number:
  (mm/dd/yyyy) 

E-mail Address:________________________________________Application confirmation, updates, and testing information will be sent to the email address provided.

List ALL other last names or legal names you have had: 
If you have had a legal name change, please include a copy of the legal documents verifying the change of name (marriage license, divorce decree, government issued ID, etc.). 

* Disclosure is mandatory for licensure and authorized by KSA 74-148 and 74-139. It is used to verify identity and license individuals lawfully residing in the U.S. Upon request of the
director of taxation, each such authority shall provide to the director of taxation a listing of all such applicants, along with such applicants social security number and address. 

Credit Card Payment $75
1). Go to the Board website: www.kansas.gov/kboc 
2). Select Payment Portal from the Top Menu Bar 
3). Transaction Item = Practitioner Initial License Fee 
4). Record your Order ID # from your emailed receipt below 
Order ID # _______________________

Check or Money Order Payment $75
1). Complete this form 
2). Make Check or Money Order Payable to the Kansas Board of 
Cosmetology 
3). Mail form and payment to the Board office at the address provided 
above.

#4  Military Service (Complete if applicable)

___ Military Service (Provide  a copy of your CAC card or your Military ID) 

___ Military Spouse (Provide a copy of your CAC card or your Military ID)

___ Military Service Member  (Provide your  DD-214 and separation date 
below) Separation Date: __________

Complete this application by typing into the fields below.  Forward the completed application to the Board with the following documentation: 

APPLICATION FOR OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE 

#3 Fee Payment $75

#2 Felony Conviction and Disciplinary Actions

Have you been convicted of a felony?  Yes ___   No ___    If yes, you must provide your case number(s):  _________________ 

If this is the first time you have notified the Board of this conviction, you must submit form #77 Felony Reporting Packet, which can be found on our website on the 
Forms and Applications page. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1908, failure to disclose all felony conviction(s) may result in disciplinary action. 

Have you had a license certificate or permit revoked, suspended or limited, or had other disciplinary action taken by the State of Kansas or any other state against 
any professional or occupational license, certificate or permit held by you; or has an application for any professional or occupational license, certificate or permit 
been denied by the State of Kansas or proper regulatory authority of another state, territory, District of Columbia or another country? 

Yes ___   No ___    

If yes, you must submit form #82 Disciplinary Action Disclosure Form, which can be found on our website on the Forms and Applications page.  Pursuant to 
K.S.A. 65-1908, failure to disclose all disciplinary actions may result in disciplinary action.

Cosmetologist: ___ Esthetician: ___ Manicurist: ___ Electrologist: ___ Instructor: ___

Do you reside or intend to reside in Kansas? __________
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#6 Licensure and Training Verification

#5 Citizenship Status 
Pursuant to federal law, a person who is not a U.S. citizen is not eligible for licensure unless the person is a qualified alien or a nonimmigrant. I am: 

□ a permanent resident/resident alien (include a front and back

copy of your card with this application).

□ a U.S. Citizen.

□ a nonimmigrant with a visa: ______________________. (Type of Visa e.g. F-1; F-2; H-1B)

□ a nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States.

 __ I hold a valid license in another US State, District, or Territory in the area of practice in which I am applying for. List all states where you have held a license 
(an additional page may be attached if needed):

State: ____________  License Number: __________ Issue Date: _____________ Expiration Date: _____________
Contact the state board and request verification be sent to this office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the state 
regulatory board providing verification of licensure. 

State: ____________  License Number: __________ Issue Date: _____________ Expiration Date: _____________
Contact the state board and request verification be sent to this office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the state 
regulatory board providing verification of licensure. 

State: ____________  License Number: __________ Issue Date: _____________ Expiration Date: _____________
Contact the state board and request verification be sent to this office. The verification must be sent directly to the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the state 
regulatory board providing verification of licensure.

 __ I do not hold a valid license in another US State, District, or Territory in the area of practice in which I am applying for. I hold a private certification and the 
state (county or city) that I was practicing in does not require a license to practice this profession. 

 __ I do not hold a valid license in another US State, District, or Territory in the area of practice in which I am applying for. I do not hold a private certification and 
the state (county or city) I was practicing in does not require a license to practice this profession. 

List all states and/or countries in which you have received training for your licensure: ________________________________________________

KBOC will only recognize training hours verified by the state regulatory Board of the state in which they were obtained. KBOC must be able to verify training hours directly with the 
regulatory Board. Unverified training will not be accepted.

Date of Request(s): _______________ 

Cos/NT/Esth School Graduated From:___________________________________________________________________ City:_____________________ 

Dates of attendance From : _______________________  To: _______________________  Hours Attained: _______________________ 

Additional Cos/NT/Esth School Attended: ________________________________________________________________ City:______________________

Dates of attendance From : _______________________  To: _______________________  Hours Attained: _______________________ 

If you attained professional training outside the US, it is your responsibility to have the training verified by an educational credential evaluator. This verification must include the number 
of training hours received, duration of training, and subject matter of training.

Stop and review your application. Failure to complete ALL fields will result in an incomplete 
application and subsequent licensing delays. Please see the instructions on pages 2 and 3 

for submission requirement details.
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□ I have been licensed in another state or jurisdiction in the area of practice in which I am applying for licensure for 10 years or more.

If the applicant has held a current license in another state or jurisdiction in the area of practice in which the applicant seeks a license for 10 years or more, high school 
diploma or GED verification will not be required. 

□ US Diploma: Name of Accredited High School: _______________________________________ Date of Request: ____________
Please contact the high school from which you graduated and request a copy of your transcript be sent to our office.

□ General Education Diploma (GED):  State: Date of Request: 

Please contact the testing facility or the State Board of Education where you attained a GED and request verification be sent to our office.

□ Foreign Diploma: Country: Date of Request: 

If you completed high school outside of the United States, it is your responsibility to have the training verified by an educational credential evaluator.

#9 Attestation

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Kansas that I have read and understand the application, and that the 
information provided is true and correct. 

Signature Required: Date:

#8 High School Education

Out of state applications are complex and require additional staff time. Processing of each application will not begin until ALL 
documentation is received. Please refrain from sending board staff multiple correspondence to ensure the fastest possible service.  If 

you have not been contacted within 15 business days regarding a status update, you may send an email to kboc@ks.gov. 

 If you have questions about this form, please e-mail KBOC@ks.gov

#7 Employment History

List your complete employment history in reverse order, beginning with your present status as pertains to the area of practice in which you are applying for. 

Employer Name: _______________________  Your Job Title:_______________________ Employer Phone Number: _________________

Employer Address: _______________________  City:_______________________  State:  _____  Zip:_________   Employer Email: _________________    

Employment Start Date: __________________   Employment End Date:__________________ Total Months of Employment: ________

Employer Name: _______________________  Your Job Title:_______________________ Employer Phone Number: _________________

Employer Address: _______________________  City:_______________________  State:  _____  Zip:_________   Employer Email: _________________    

Employment Start Date: __________________   Employment End Date:__________________ Total Months of Employment: ________

Employer Name: _______________________  Your Job Title:_______________________ Employer Phone Number: _________________

Employer Address: _______________________  City:_______________________  State:  _____  Zip:_________   Employer Email: _________________    

Employment Start Date: __________________   Employment End Date:__________________ Total Months of Employment: ________

Employment must be verified. You must contact each place of employment and request an employment verification letter be sent directly to this office. The verification letter must be 
sent directly from the Kansas Board of Cosmetology from the employer, we cannot accept this documentation from applicants. The verification letter should include the employer’s name 
and the full address of the business, your full name, the dates of your employment, and your job title. You must provide your employment history relevant to the application and 
complete the employment verification affidavit stating that the application information and employment history is true and accurate. Unverified employment will not be recognized. 

Failure to complete ALL fields will result in an incomplete application which cannot be processed. 

Last Revised 03/25/2024
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Kansas Board of Cosmetology
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Telephone: (785) 296-3155 Fax: (785) 296-3002
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