

Kansas	Overall Rank	To Governor	To State Senate	To State House	To Parties	To PACs
	31	32	33	39	35	1
Individual Giving		\$2,000/election	\$1,000/election	\$500/election	\$15,000/year	Unlimited
DAG Civing	43	31	35	40	43	
PAC Giving		\$2,000/election	\$1,000/election	\$500/election	\$5,000/year	
Party Giving		1	1	1		
	1	Unlimited	Unlimited	Unlimited		
Union Giving	21	18	18	23		
	21	\$2,000/election	\$1,000/election	\$500/election		
Corporate Giving		15	15	20		
	18	\$2,000/election	\$1,000/election	\$500/election		

Inflation Adjustment: No

HB 2054 does not keep pace with inflation

The last time Kansas adjusted candidate contribution limits for the governor or state legislative races was in <u>1990</u>, when the contribution limit for state senate races was delinked from house races and increased to \$1,000.

Kansas Contribution Limits (per election)						
Governor State Senate State House						
Current Limit	\$2,000	\$1,000	\$500			
Inflation Adjustment from 1990	\$4,850	\$2,450	\$1,200			
HB 2054	\$4,000	\$2,000	\$1,000			

Governor				dollar amount is listed pe	er	
Rank	State	Cycle-Adjusted Limit	electio	on cycle.		
1	Alabama	Unlimited	26	Michigan	\$8,325	
2	Alaska	Unlimited	27	Connecticut	\$7,000	
3	Indiana	Unlimited	28	South Carolina	\$7,000	
4	Iowa	Unlimited	29	Illinois	\$6,900	If HB 2054 becomes la
5	Mississippi	Unlimited	30	Oklahoma	\$6,600	Kansas will rank 27th
6	Nebraska	Unlimited	31	Florida	\$6,000	from 44th).
7	North Dakota	Unlimited	32	Hawaii	\$6,000	
8	Oregon	Unlimited	33	Maryland	\$6,000	
9	Pennsylvania	Unlimited	34	Minnesota	\$6,000	
10	Texas	Unlimited	35	Arkansas	\$5,800	
11	Utah	Unlimited	36	Missouri	\$5,650	
12	Virginia	Unlimited	37	West Virginia	\$5,600	
13	California	\$72,800	38	Arizona	\$5,400	
14	Ohio	\$30,999	39	Wyoming	\$5,000	
15	New Mexico	\$22,000	40	New Jersey	\$4,900	
16	Wisconsin	\$20,000	41	Washington	\$4,800	
17	New York	\$18,000	42	Vermont	\$4,480	
18	Georgia	\$16,800	43	Kentucky	\$4,200	
19	South Dakota	\$16,000	44	Kansas	\$4,000	
20	North Carolina	\$12,800	45	Massachusetts	\$4,000	
21	Idaho	\$10,000	46	Rhode Island	\$4,000	
22	Louisiana	\$10,000	47	Maine	\$3,900	
23	Nevada	\$10,000	48	Montana	\$2,000	
24	New Hampshire	\$10,000	49	Colorado	\$1,450	
25	Tennessee	\$9,800	50	Delaware	\$1,200	

aw, up (up

	State Senate		*The d	lollar amount is liste	ed per	
Rank	State	Cycle-Adjusted Limit	electio	n cycle.		
1	Alabama	Unlimited	26	Arizona	\$5,400	
2	Alaska	Unlimited	27	New Jersey	\$5,200	
3	Indiana	Unlimited	28	Louisiana	\$5,000	
4	Iowa	Unlimited	29	Missouri	\$4,800	
5	Mississippi	Unlimited	30	Kentucky	\$4,200	
6	Nebraska	Unlimited	31	Hawaii	\$4,000	
7	North Dakota	Unlimited	32	Tennessee	\$3,600]
8	Oregon	Unlimited	33	Wyoming	\$3,000	If HB 2054 becomes law,
9	Pennsylvania	Unlimited	34	Michigan	\$2,450	Kansas will rank 31st, tying
10	Texas	Unlimited	35	Washington	\$2,400	with one other state (up
11	Utah	Unlimited	36	Connecticut	\$2,000	from 39th).
12	Virginia	Unlimited	37	Florida	\$2,000	
13	Ohio	\$30,999	38	Idaho	\$2,000	
14	North Carolina	\$12,800	39	Kansas	\$2,000	
15	California	\$11,000	40	Massachusetts	\$2,000	
16	New Mexico	\$11,000	41	Minnesota	\$2,000	
17	Nevada	\$10,000	42	Rhode Island	\$2,000	
18	New Hampshire	\$10,000	43	South Carolina	\$2,000	
19	New York	\$10,000	44	South Dakota	\$2,000	
20	Illinois	\$6,900	45	Wisconsin	\$2,000	
21	Georgia	\$6,600	46	Vermont	\$1,680	
22	Oklahoma	\$6,600	47	Maine	\$950	
23	Maryland	\$6,000	48	Montana	\$900	
24	Arkansas	\$5,800	49	Delaware	\$600	
25	West Virginia	\$5,600	50	Colorado	\$450]

State House				*The dollar amount is listed per		
Rank	Limit			election cycle.		
1	Alabama	Unlimited	26	Arizona	\$5,400	
2	Alaska	Unlimited	27	New Jersey	\$5,200	
3	Indiana	Unlimited	28	Louisiana	\$5,000	
4	Iowa	Unlimited	29	Kentucky	\$4,200	
5	Mississippi	Unlimited	30	Missouri	\$4,000	
6	Nebraska	Unlimited	31	Tennessee	\$3,600	
7	North Dakota	Unlimited	32	Wyoming	\$3,000	
8	Oregon	Unlimited	33	Washington	\$2,400	
9	Pennsylvania	Unlimited	34	Florida	\$2,000	
10	Texas	Unlimited	35	Hawaii	\$2,000	
11	Utah	Unlimited	36	Idaho	\$2,000	
12	Virginia	Unlimited	37	Massachusetts	\$2,000	
13	Ohio	\$30,999	38	Rhode Island	\$2,000	
14	North Carolina	\$12,800	39	South Carolina	\$2,000	
15	California	\$11,000	40	South Dakota	\$2,000	
16	New Mexico	\$11,000	41	Michigan	\$1,225	
17	Nevada	\$10,000	42	Vermont	\$1,120	
18	New Hampshire	\$10,000	43	Kansas	\$1,000	
19	Illinois	\$6,900	44	Minnesota	\$1,000	
20	Georgia	\$6,600	45	Wisconsin	\$1,000	
21	Oklahoma	\$6,600	46	Maine	\$950	
22	Maryland	\$6,000	47	Montana	\$800	
23	New York	\$6,000	48	Delaware	\$600	
24	Arkansas	\$5,800	49	Connecticut	\$500	
25	West Virginia	\$5,600	50	Colorado	\$450	

If HB 2054 becomes law, Kansas will rank 34th, tying with seven other states (up from 43rd).