SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1758

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2023-2024 Hutchinson Community College Women's Basketball Team for an outstanding season and for winning the National Junior College Athletic Association Division 1

Women's Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, On April 1, 2024, the Hutchinson Community College women's basketball team won the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division 1 Championship by defeating Northwest Florida State 88-80; and

WHEREAS, The team finished with a perfect 37-0 season, setting school records for the longest win streak and the most single season wins in program history. The team also secured the 2023-2024 Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference (KJCCC) title; and

WHEREAS, The team's roster was composed of Kahlen Norris, Peyton Mosley, Journey Armstead, Hailey Jackson, Akaysha Muggeridge, Madi Denison, Monae Duffy, Jada Pleasant, Bree Horyna, Brynn McCormick and Kiki Smith; and

WHEREAS, The KJCCC All-Conference Team included Kiki Smith, Journey Armstead, Monae Duffy, Hailey Jackson and Akaysha Muggeridge. Kiki Smith was named the KJCCC Freshman of the Year, Player of the Year, NJCAA Division 1 All-American and broke the program's freshman season scoring record; and

WHEREAS, Hailey Jackson and Journey Armstead made the NJCAA All-Tournament Team, and Kiki Smith was named NJCAA Tournament Most Valuable Player; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach John Ontjes is a native of Nickerson, Kansas, and has lead the Blue Dragons for 17 years. Coach Ontjes was named as KJCCC Coach of the Year and NJCAA Coach of the Tournament; and

WHEREAS, The coaching staff also includes 23-year assistant Travis Kirk from Haven, Kansas and 10-year assistant Phil Anderson from McPherson, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Hutchinson needed three last-second free throws from Hailey Jackson to send the game into overtime, and in the team's first overtime game of the season, they secured the program's inaugural national championship: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Hutchinson Community College Women's Basketball Team for an outstanding season and winning the NJCAA Division 1 Women's Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That we recognize the Athletic Director Josh Gooch, Assistant Athletic Director Steve Kappenman, Sports Information Director Steve Carpenter, Coordinator of Events Billy Watson, Athletics Business Manager Julie Reneau, administrative staff, training staff, coaches and players for an historic 2023-2024 season; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 15 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Steffen.

Senate Resolution No. 1758 was sponsored by Senator Mark Steffen.

i nereby certify that the above resolution origina	ted in the Serare, and was adopted by that body
	President of the Senat
	·

Secretary of the Senate.

I hereby certify that the above Resouttion originated in the Senate, and was adonted by that body