
Midwestern States' Civil Asset Forfeiture Laws
(as of December 2022)

State Standard of Proof* Burden of Proof
Law Enforcement 
Share of Proceeds Reporting Requirements General Notes

Laws Passed since 
2015 

(with link to bill) Notes on Latest Law(s)
Illinois In general, preponderance of the 

evidence. The standard of proof 
increases to clear and convincing 
evidence in certain situations where a 
related criminal case results in acquittal 
or non-indictment.

Owner 90 percent Seizing agencies must provide an inventory of drug-
related seizures to Dept. of State Police, and reports 
for all property seized for forfeiture to the 
appropriate county.

Forfeiture is not permitted for 
currency under $500 in drug cases 
and under $100 in all other cases.

2017 (HB 303) Removed burden on owners to prove property is not 
subject to forfeiture; required government to prove 
owners’ culpability or negligence—which is not a 
crime—at forfeiture trial, though innocent owners still 
bear the burden of proving their own innocence at 
pretrial innocent owner hearings; eliminated bond 
requirement for owners challenging administrative 
forfeiture; strengthened transparency requirements.

Indiana Preponderance of the evidence Depends on the 
property

Up to 93%, 
notwithstanding a 
state constitutional 
provision requiring 
that “all forfeitures” 
be paid into the 
Common School 
Fund.

The Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council is 
required to aggregate forfeiture reports submitted 
by judicial districts and, beginning July 2016, must 
submit a compiled report to the Legislature.

       2018 (SB 99) Made minor changes to prosecutors’ deadlines and 
forfeiture process; allowed innocent owners to 
petition for provisional release of a vehicle or real 
property during pending forfeiture actions; required 
prosecutors to report more details of forfeitures to the 
Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council.
Also codified the state’s practice of allowing law 
enforcement to keep nearly all forfeiture proceeds for 
expenses despite a state constitutional provision 
requiring that “all forfeitures” be paid into the 
Common School Fund. In 2019, the Indiana Supreme 
Court upheld the new law, effectively raising the 
state’s profit incentive from 0% to as much as 93%.

Iowa After the conviction provision is 
satisfied (see "General Notes"), 
prosecutors must show that the 
property is subject to forfeiture by 
clear and convincing evidence.

Government 100 percent Law enforcement agencies that acquire custody of 
property are required to adopt and comply with a 
"written internal control policy" that provides 
detailed information on the property, etc. The 
records must be open to public inspection.

Re: standard of proof - Conviction 
provision does not require 
conviction of an owner, but only “a 
conviction” of any person—and 
only for forfeitures of property 
worth less than $5,000 and only 
when a claim is filed.

2017 (SF 446) Raised standard of proof; created weak conviction 
provision; shifted burden of proof from innocent 
owners to government; adopted new transparency 
requirements.

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/billstatus.asp?DocNum=303&GAID=14&GA=100&DocTypeID=HB&LegID=99457&SessionID=91
https://iga.in.gov/legislative/2018/bills/senate/99/details
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislation/BillBook?ga=87&ba=sf446
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Kansas Preponderance of the evidence Owner 100 percent Adopted IJ’s model reporting legislation in 2018. The 

bill creates a new section within the Kansas Standard 
Asset Seizure and Forfeiture Act (SASFA) requiring 
the Kansas Bureau of Investigation to establish, on or 
before July 1, 2019, the Kansas Asset Seizure and 
Forfeiture Repository, to gather information 
concerning each seizure for forfeiture made by a 
seizing agency pursuant to SASFA; creates new 
reporting requirements for seizing agencies.

Kansas AG issued an opinion on 
Kansas' civil forfeiture law in Oct. of 
2018 concluding "forfeiture 
proceeds [100% of which go to law 
enforcement] may not be used for 
normal operating expenses such as 
salaries for regular employees."

2018 (HB 2459) See "Reporting Requirements"

2016 (HB 4629)

2019 (HB 4001)

2019 (SB 2)

2019 (HB 4002)

2017 (SB 151)

2021 (HF 63)

Re: standard of proof - Conviction 
provision does not require 
conviction of an owner, but only of
a “defendant”—and only for 
contested forfeitures of property 
worth less than
$50,000. 

2016 (HB 4629): Eliminated bond requirement for 
owners challenging forfeiture. 

2019 (HB 4001/SB 2): Prohibits civil asset forfeitures 
for crimes involving controlled substances unless a 
criminal proceeding is completed and the defendant is 
convicted or pleads guilty.

2019 (HB 4002): Requires the government to notify an 
individual if their property has been seized and places 
the burden on the government to prove that this 
forfeiture is justified. If it is not, the property must be 
returned to the owner within 14 days. Also imposes 
new burdens on owners claiming seized property.

Criminal conviction is required for civil 
forfeiture, and government must 
connect property to a crime by clear 
and convincing evidence

Owner 90 percent (60 
percent in cases 
involving prostitution 
or human trafficking)

Agencies are required to report their forfeitures to 
the state auditor on a monthly basis, and the State 
Auditor must then make annual reports to the 
Legislature. 
Minnesota adopted IJ's model reporting legislation in 
2021, which expanded what must be reported, and 
requires the State Auditor to post summary data on 
seizures, forfeitures and expenditure of proceeds on 
its website.

2017 (SB 151): Allowed innocent joint owners in DWI 
cases to challenge forfeiture in court.

2021 (HF 63): Strengthened transparency 
requirements by adopting IJ’s model reporting 
legislation; made other minor improvements, including 
waiving filing fees for owners requesting judicial 
determinations of forfeiture.

After the conviction provision is 
satisfied (see "General Notes"), 
property must be linked to drug crimes 
by clear and convincing evidence and 
to other crimes by a preponderance of 
the evidence.

Michigan Owner for drug-
related over 
$50,000; 
government for 
other types

100 percent in drug-
related forfeitures; 
75 percent in other 
forfeitures.

Agencies are required to file annual forfeiture 
reports with the State Police, which must compile at 
the county level, submit to the state Legislature, and 
beginning July 2017, publish online.

Minnesota

https://www.kslegislature.org/li_2018/b2017_18/measures/hb2459/
https://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(3dy5ixbfnw1kydm3isw5px2h))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=2015-HB-4629
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(o1p4f50favqszlrgvqfbmqj0))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=2019-HB-4001
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(o1p4f50favqszlrgvqfbmqj0))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=2019-SB-0002
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(o1p4f50favqszlrgvqfbmqj0))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectname=2019-HB-4002
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/bill.php?b=Senate&f=SF0151&ssn=0&y=2017
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF63&type=bill&version=2&session=ls92&session_year=2021&session_number=1
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Nebraska As of July 2016, criminal conviction is 

required for forfeiture, and 
government must connect property to 
a crime by clear and convincing 
evidence.  Accused must be convicted 
of an offense involving illegal drugs, 
child pornography or illegal gambling 
to forfeit cash, vehicles, firearms or 
real estate.

As of July 2016, 
owner must 
show he/she had 
no actual 
knowledge that 
property was 
used in crime.

50 percent As of July 2016, the appropriate law enforcement 
agency or  prosecuting attorney must provide a 
written report of the forfeiture to the Auditor of 
Public Accounts.

2016 (LB 1106) 2016 (LB 1106): abolished civil forfeiture and replaced 
it with criminal forfeiture; set a standard of clear and 
convincing evidence to forfeit property following a 
criminal conviction; imposed new limits on 
participation in federal equitable sharing; adopted new 
transparency requirements.

North 
Dakota

Once the conviction provision is 
satisfied (see "General Notes"), 
property must be linked to the crime 
by clear and convincing evidence. No 
conviction necessary if property can be 
connected to a crime beyond a 
reasonable doubt.

Owner Up to 100 percent North Dakota's 2019 law requires the attorney 
general to develop standard forms, processes, and 
deadlines for annual submission of forfeiture data by 
law enforcement agencies. By November first of 
each year, the attorney general must submit to the 
legislative management and the governor a written 
report summarizing activity in the state for the 
preceding fiscal year, the type, approximate value, 
and disposition of any civilly forfeited property, and 
the amount of proceeds received; the report must 
also be available on the attorney general's website.

Re: standard of proof - Requires 
the owner’s conviction but does 
not apply if the owner fails to 
contest forfeiture, putting the 
burden on owners to engage in a 
costly legal battle and making it 
easy for the government to forfeit 
without a conviction. It also does 
not apply if the owner has agreed 
to help investigators in exchange 
for immunity or a reduced 
sentence. 

2019 (HB 1286) 2019 (HB 1286): Raised standard of proof; created 
weak conviction provision; adopted new transparency 
requirements; banned forfeiture of homesteaded real 
property and vehicles worth less than $2,000 unless 
modified to conceal contraband or cash; established 
proportionality hearing.

Ohio Clear and convincing evidence Depends on the 
property (see 
"General Notes"). 

Up to 100 percent 
(up to 90 percent in 
juvenile cases)

Agencies must maintain an inventory of seized 
property

Re: Burden of Proof: For legally 
titled or registered property and in 
cases involving property valued 
over $15,000 (adjusted annually for 
inflation), the government bears 
the burden. In all other cases, the 
owner bears the burden of proof. 

2017 (HB 347) 2017 (HB 347): Raised standard of proof; shifted 
burden of proof from innocent owners to government; 
imposed new limits on participation in federal 
equitable sharing.

South 
Dakota

Preponderance of the evidence Owner 100 percent (see 
"General Notes")

South Dakota's 2022 law requires law enforcement 
agencies to issue a report to the attorney general 
within a time specified and in a form prescribed by 
the attorney general, containing information about 
any property seized or forfeited. The attorney 
general, no more than 120 days after the close of the 
fiscal year, must post on a searchable public website 
a report containing an itemized list of each property 
seized and forfeited for the preceding fiscal year.

Re: Law Enforcement Share of 
Proceeds - forfeiture proceeds go 
to the attorney general’s “drug 
control fund” and are then 
distributed to law enforcement for 
drug enforcement efforts.

2022 (HB 1328) 2022 (HB 1328): Adopted new transparency 
requirements (see "Reporting Requirements").

https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/bills/view_bill.php?DocumentID=28590
https://ndlegis.gov/assembly/66-2019/regular/bill-overview/bo1286.html?bill_year=2019&bill_number=1286
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/131/hb347
https://sdlegislature.gov/Session/Bill/23481
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Wisconsin After the conviction provision is 

satisfied (see "General Notes"), 
property must be linked to the crime 
by clear and convincing evidence

Government None. All forfeiture 
proceeds go to fund 
schools. However,
agencies can retain 
up to 50% of 
proceeds to pay for 
forfeiture expenses.

If the agency seizing the property uses any of the 
proceeds to pay for forfeiture expenses, they must 
provide an itemized report of the costs and submit 
the report to the department of administration to 
make it available on the department’s website.

Re Standard of Proof: Conviction 
provision does not require 
conviction of an owner, but only of 
“a person,” and a court can waive 
the provision if the owner fails to 
contest forfeiture or in other 
situations, including when a 
defendant enters into an immunity 
agreement with prosecutors in 
exchange for assisting law 
enforcement. 

2018 (SB 61) 2018 (SB 61): Raised standard of proof; created weak 
conviction provision; shifted burden of proof from 
innocent owners to government; imposed modest 
limits on participation in federal equitable sharing; 
adopted new transparency requirements; required 
agencies to document expenses paid with forfeiture 
funds; required prosecutors to file criminal charges 
within six months or return seized property; 
established pretrial hearing for owners; created 
limited right to attorney fees for owners.

Probable cause:

Preponderance of the evidence:

Clear and convincing evidence:

Beyond resonable doubt: Highest standard used as the burden of proof in Anglo-American jurisprudence and 
typically only applies in criminal proceedings and when considering aggravating 
circumstances in criminal proceedings.

Sources: Policing for Profit: The Abuse of Civil Asset Forfeiture, 3rd Edition, Institute for Justice (Dec. 2020); IJ website and CSG-Midwest research

*Legal standards of proof, from lowest to highest: 
A relatively low standard of proof, which is used in the United States to determine 
whether a search, or an arrest, is warranted.

The standard is satisfied if there is greater than fifty percent chance that the 
proposition is true

The evidence presented by a party during the trial must be highly and substantially 
more probable to be true than not and the trier of fact must have a firm belief or 
conviction in its factuality.

https://legiscan.com/WI/text/SB61/2017
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