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MEMORANDUM
To: Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance
From: Office of Revisor of Statutes
Date: February 15, 2023
Subject: Bill Brief, SB 76

SB 76 amends K.S.A. 40-4903 and K.S.A. 40-5512 and creates an exception to the continuing education
requirements for certain insurance producer licensees and certain public adjuster licensees.

Under current law, licensed insurance agents and public adjusters are required to earn a minimum of 18
C.E.C.s that include at least three hours of instruction in insurance ethics. SB 76 would create an
exception to the requirement for the following individuals:

Any licensee who has earned a minimum of 85 career points and has been continuously licensed in the
state of Kansas for the immediately preceding 15 years; or

Any licensee who has not been continuously licensed in Kansas for the immediately preceding 15 years,
but would otherwise qualify for exemption based on career points earned, and who provides
certification from the insurance department of all states where the licensee was licensed for the
immediately preceding 15 years stating periods where the agent was licensed and any periods where
the licensee's license was suspended, revoked, lapsed or otherwise disciplined.

As used in the bill:
"Career points" means the age of the insurance producer in whole years added to the number of years
that the insurance producer has been continuously licensed.

"Continuously licensed" means a period of time, in years, during which an insurance agent was licensed,
and such license was not subject to suspension, revocation, lapse or other such discipline by the Kansas

insurance department or the insurance department of any other state.

If enacted, SB 76 would go into effect on July 1, 2023.
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