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Office of Revisor of Statutes, 2/13/2023 

MEMORANDUM 

To:    Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance 

From:    Office of Revisor of Statutes 

Date:    February 15, 2023 

Subject:  Bill Brief, SB 27 

 

SB 27 amends K.S.A. 40‐4905, 40‐4906, and 40‐5505, relating to certain fees charged by the insurance 

department. The bill would give the Commissioner of Insurance the ability to set the amount of these 

fees charged, with an upper limit provided by statute. 

 

Under current law, K.S.A. 40‐4905 requires that a person applying for a resident insurance agent pay a 

nonrefundable  fee  of  $30.  SB  27 would  amend  that  provision  to  state  that  a  person  applying  for  a 

resident agent  license would be required to pay a nonrefundable fee  in an amount not to exceed $30. 

The bill also would require that the Commissioner set the amount of the resident agent license fee for 

the next year and publish it in the Kansas register by December 1 of the year. 

 

Similarly, under  current  law, K.S.A. 40‐4906  requires  that a nonresident person who  is applying  for a 

nonresident agent license of $50. SB 27 would amend the provision to state that the nonresident person 

would be required to pay a nonrefundable fee in an amount not to exceed $50. And again, as with the 

previous statute, the Commissioner  is required to set the amount of the nonresident agent  license fee 

for the next year by December 1 of the year and publish it in the Kansas Register. 

 

Finally,  under  current  law,  K.S.A.  requires  and  applicant  for  a  public  adjuster  license  to  pay  an 

application fee of $100. SB 27 again would amend that provision to state that an applicant for a public 

adjuster license would be required to pay a fee in an amount not to exceed $100. And again, as before, 

the Commissioner is required to set the amount of the public adjuster application fee for the next year 

by December 1 of the year and publish it in the Kansas Register. 

 

If enacted, the bill would go into effect on July 1, 2023. 

 

 

 


