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Brief*

House Sub. for SB 513 is a trailer bill to 2006 SB 418, the

recently-enacted Personal and Family Protection Act.  The bill is

intended to clarify aspects of the Act and make it easier to implement.

Major provisions of the trailer bill are the following:

! If a person is carrying a concealed weapon but is not carrying a

valid license to carry the weapon or fails to display the license

upon demand of a law enforcement officer, the license of the

person would be suspended for at least 30 days upon the first

violation and would be revoked for at least five years upon the

second or a subsequent violation.  Under 2006 SB 418, such a

violation is a class B nonperson misdemeanor, which is a more

serious criminal penalty.

! A process would be established by which a person who has been

ordered to receive treatment for mental illness or for an alcohol

or substance abuse problem would be allowed to obtain a

“certificate of restoration” from a court where treatment was

ordered which would allow the person to apply for a license to

carry a concealed weapon following treatment.  The certificate of

restoration could not be issued until at least five years after

treatment is ordered.  This provision does not change SB 418

with regard to who may be licensed to carry a concealed weapon

but does provide a process by which someone who has been

treated for mental illness or for an alcohol or substance abuse

could become eligible for licensure. 

! W hen a person is involuntarily committed for treatment for

mental illness or controlled substance abuse by a court, the clerk

of the district court must send a copy of the records to the

Kansas Bureau of Investigation, where they would be maintained
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in the National Criminal Information Center and other appropriate

databases.  SB 418 does not address how the Attorney General

would have access to that information.

! Records relating to persons issued licenses to carry concealed

weapons, except for those of individuals whose licenses have

been suspended or revoked, would be confidential and could not

be disclosed in any manner which would enable them to be

identified.  SB 418 requires the Attorney General to maintain a

list of licensees which would be available to law enforcement

agencies in Kansas, other states, and the District of Columbia,

but is subject to varying interpretations as to whether the list is

confidential or open to the public.   

! The bill adds to the list of individuals who would not be eligible for

licensure to carry a concealed weapon an individual who is on

the terrorist watch list maintained by the federal government.

! The bill provides that a person who wants to be certified by the

Attorney General as a weapons training instructor must pay an

application fee set by the Attorney General, up to $150.  Under

SB 418, individuals who want to become licensed to carry a

concealed weapon must take a weapons course approved by the

Attorney General, but the bill does not authorize the Attorney

General to charge instructors a fee to become an instructor.

! The bill requires that an applicant for a license to carry a

concealed weapon must provide his or her Kansas driver’s

license number or Kansas nondriver’s license identification

number.  SB 418 requires the applicant to provide his or her

name, social security number, place and date of birth, and

occupation.

! The bill sets the fee for initial licensure to carry a concealed

weapon at $150 and specifies that the fee must be paid by

cashier checks or money orders in two amounts–a $40 amount

paid to the sheriff of the county where the applicant resides and

$110 to the Attorney General.  The $40 amount paid to the

sheriff must be credited to a special fund of the sheriff’s office to

be used solely for law enforcement and criminal prosecution

purposes and not as a source of revenue to meet normal

operating expenses of the sheriff’s office.  A similar provision

would be established for license renewals, with the renewal fee

set at $100, of which $60 must be paid to the Attorney General

and $40 to the sheriff.  SB 418 establishes the $150 licensure



3-513

fee and the $50 renewal fee as a caps, not as the required fees,

and does not specify how the payments are to be made or how

they are to be handled at the local level.  

! Individuals who become licensed to carry a concealed weapon

must pay to the Kansas Department of Revenue the cost of the

license and the photograph to be placed on the license.  The

amounts by the Department charged must be the same as those

charged to obtain a driver’s license photograph and a driver’s

license replacement.  SB 418 contains no authorization for the

Department of Revenue to recoup its costs for licenses and

license photographs as the result of enactment of the Personal

and Family Protection Act.  

! The bill would authorize the Attorney General to adopt rules and

regulations concerning standards for signs used to post property

where carrying concealed weapons is restricted.

! The bill would make other changes which are technical,

clarifying, or conforming in nature.

Background

House Substitute for SB 518 was supported by Representatives

Candy Ruff and Gary Hayzlett and Senator Phil Journey. They

explained to the House Appropriations Committee that the Personal

and Family Protection Act, which now is law, has some areas that are

unclear which could cause problems as the Act is being implemented.

The purpose of the trailer bill is to address problems with the Act

quickly so that it can be implemented smoothly.

The House Appropriations Committee amended proposed

amendments to SB 418 into SB 513, which, in its original version,

concerned methods of paying state employee compensation.  
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