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Brief*

House Sub. for SB 217 would amend a number of statutes in the

State Pharmacy Act by establishing a licensing requirement for

entities that distribute prescription drugs in Kansas.  The bill also would

require the State Board of Pharmacy to undertake a study of

implementation of a drug pedigree system that would result in a report

and recommendations to the 2007 Legislature.

Prescription Drug Distributor Licensure

Kansas-based wholesalers who ship prescription drugs to

another state would have to be licensed by that state prior to

distributing wholesale drugs. Four classes of distributor licenses would

be established by the bill:  (1) Class A distributors would be  authorized

to deliver any prescription drug for human use; (2) Class B distributors

would be authorized to deliver nonprescription drugs intended for

human use; (3) Class C distributors would be authorized to deliver

articles, devices, or medical gases that require a prescription, medical

order, or that are restricted to use by a practitioner; and (4) Class D

distributors would be licensed to distribute veterinary drugs or devices.

The Board of Pharmacy would be authorized adopt rules and

regulations establishing standards that each class of distributor or

distributors’ employees would have to meet to qualify for licensure.

The bill would prescribe information that must be provided by

applicants for licensure.  

Prior to issuing a license to an applicant located in Kansas, the

Board would be required to conduct a physical inspection of the

applicant's facility.  The Board also would be required to determine that

a Class A applicant's designated representative meets the following

qualifications:
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! Is at least 21 years of age;

! Has been employed full time for at least three years in a

pharmacy or with a wholesale distributor in a capacity related

to the dispensing and distribution of and record keeping

related to prescription drugs;

! Is employed by the applicant full time in a managerial

position;

! Is actively involved in daily operation of the distributor;

! Is physically present at the applicant's facility during regular

business hours;

! Serves as the designated representative of only one

applicant; and

! Has not been convicted of any felony or a violation of any

local, state or federal law regarding drug samples, wholesale

or retail prescription drug distribution or distribution of

controlled substances.

A Class A distributor license applicant would be required to file

a minimum $100,000 bond or other surety to secure payment of any

fines or penalties imposed by, or fees and costs incurred by the state

regarding the applicant unless the applicant has a comparable bond

in place in another state in which the applicant holds a valid license.

The state would be able to make claims against the bond, if one is filed

in Kansas, until a year after a license expires.  The bond or surety

would be held in the Drug W holesaler Trust Fund that would be

created by the bill.  The Fund would be administered by the Executive

Secretary of the State Board of Pharmacy.  An applicant for a

wholesale distributor license would be required to pay a maximum fee

of $500 for an initial license issuance and not more than $400 for

issuance of a renewal license. 

The bill would amend current law to require that certain

wholesaler distributors of prescription drugs, other than certain

registered manufacturers, and each of their facilities be licensed

annually by the State Board of Pharmacy, unless the requirement for

licensure is waived by the Board.  A waiver could be implemented via
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rules and regulations if the Board determines that the waiver would be

consistent with public health and safety.  

Information submitted to the Board by license applicants could

not be disclosed to anyone other than a government board or agency

that needs the information for licensing or monitoring purposes.  

Existing provisions of the Pharmacy Act regarding regulation of

the Board's registrants and licensees would be extended to licensed

distributors.  

Study of Prescription Drug Pedigrees

The bill also would require the Board of Pharmacy to conduct a

study of pedigrees for prescription drugs and possible penalties for

violation of pedigree requirements.  The study would have to be

presented to the Legislature with a pedigree plan and recommended

legislation by January 15, 2007.

Background

SB 217 as passed by the Senate would have required

tuberculosis evaluation of certain students attending college in Kansas.

The substance of that bill was enacted by the 2005 Legislature.

The subject matter of House Sub. for SB 217 was introduced in

2005 HB 2397 and in 2006 HB 2820.  After the House Health and

Human Services Committee hearings on those bills, HB 2820 was

assigned to a subcommittee.  The recommendation of the

Subcommittee was amended into SB 217 and this substitute bill was

created.

Proponents of the concepts embodied in HB 2397 and HB 2820

at the House Committee hearings included representatives of the

Healthcare Distribution Management Association and Pfizer.  No

opponents to the bill presented testimony to the House Committee.

The fiscal notes prepared by the Division of the Budget for 2005

HB 2397 and 2006 HB 2820 stated that the Board of Pharmacy

assumed that any costs related to implementation would be passed

through to distributors.   A fiscal impact estimate for the House

Substitute bill was not available at the time the House Committee took

action on the bill.
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