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Brief*

SB 506 would amend the law dealing with sex offenders and sex

offenders registration as follows:

Restrictions on Location of Sex Predator Release Facilities

The bill would prohibit the location of transitional release or

conditional release facilities for sexually violent predators within 2,000

feet of facilities where children are located.

Transitional facilities and conditional release facilities for violent

sex predators would be required to comply with local zoning, building

code and subdivision regulations.

Prohibition of Local Restrictions on Sex Offender Residence

The bill would prohibit cities and counties from adopting

residential restrictions on sex offenders (e.g. no sex offender may

reside within 2,000 feet of a school).  This provision would expire on

June 30, 2008.

Sex Offender Annual ID Cards

The bill would require the Division of Vehicles of the Kansas

Department of Revenue to issue “readily distinguishable” drivers’

licenses and identification cards to registered sex offenders on an

annual basis.

The bill would require sheriffs, prison staff and others including

the court to inform sex offenders of their responsibility to obtain an

annual identification card or drivers’ license.

———————————

*Conference committee report briefs are prepared by the Legislative

Research Department and do not express legislative intent.   No

summary is prepared when the report is an agreement to disagree. The

conference committee summary report may be accessed on the Internet

at http://www.kslegislature.org
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Periodic Reporting of Sex Offenders to Sheriff

The offender also would be required to report in person during

the month of his or her birthday, and during the six months following,

to the sheriff’s office in the county where the offender resides for the

purpose of updating information, including a photograph.  On these

occasions, the offender would be required to pay $20 to the sheriff.

Lifetime Registration

The bill would add the following crimes where the victim is less

than 14 years of age requiring lifetime registration for the offender:

! Aggravated trafficking;

! Rape;

! Aggravated indecent liberties with a child;

! Aggravated criminal sodomy;

! Promoting prostitution; and

! Sexual exploitation of a child.

Juvenile Sex Offender Registration

A juvenile offender adjudicated for sexually violent crimes and

the crime is not an off grid felony or a severity level 1 felony, may be:

! Required to register by the court;

! Not be required to register by the court; or

! Be required to register with the sheriff but the registration

information would not be subject to inspection by the public or

posted on the Internet.

The juvenile subject to registration would be required to provide

a copy of the court order making the registration non-public to the

sheriff’s office at registration.  A copy of the judge’s order would then

be sent by the sheriff to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

Registration Requirements For Crimes Committed with a Deadly

W eapon-Miki’s Law

The bill would add a new registration requirement for persons

who commit person felonies when a court makes a finding that a

deadly weapon was used enacted the so-called “Miki’s Law”.
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Registration Length–Offenders W ho Move to Kansas

The bill would require a person convicted of a crime and required

to register from another state who moves to Kansas to register

according to that other state or Kansas, whichever registration length

of time is longer.

Sex Offender Policy Board-Studies Required

The Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Council would be

required to establish a Sex Offender Policy Board.  The Board would

be charged to study public notification issues related to sex offenders,

restrictions or residences, electronic monitoring and management of

juvenile sex offenders.

The Board would be required to submit a report the first day of

the 2007 Legislative Session.  The Board would be required to study

and submit a second report on the first day of the 2008 Legislative

Session regarding treatment and supervision standards for sex

offenders, suitability of lifetime release supervision and safety and

education and prevention strategies.

The Board would consist of the following: Secretary of

Corrections, the Commissioner of Juvenile Justice, the Secretary of

Social and Rehabilitation Services, the Director of the Kansas Bureau

of Investigation and the Chief Justice of th Supreme Court or the Chief

Justice’s designee and two persons appointed by the Criminal Justice

Coordinating Council, one shall be a mental health service provider

and the other shall be engaged in the provision of services involving

child welfare or crime victims.  The provision regarding the Board

would expire on June 30, 2008.

Conflicts Resolution

The bill would make a conflicts resolution to KSA 8-247.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to the House amendments

to SB 506 with the following changes:

! A clarification regarding the procedure for registration of juvenile

offenders when a judge determines the registration should not be

made public;
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! Resolve certain statutory conflicts; and

! Add registration requirements for offenders who commit a

person felony while using a deadly weapon i.e. Miki’s Law, which

was contained in HB 2754.

Background

SB 506 was supported by the Kansas Attorney General.

Testimony also was offered by the Secretary of Corrections and a

representative of the Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation

Services.

The Senate Committee amended the bill to delete a provision

prohibiting sex offenders from residing within 2,000 of facilities where

children are located, added a prohibition against cities and counties

imposing local restrictions on the residence of sex offenders and

added the requirement that the Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating

Council appoint a Board to study sex offenders.

The Senate Committee of the W hole added the expiration

provision (June 30, 2008) and the amendment permitting local

regulations of sex offenders residency already in effect to continue.

The House Committee amended the bill as follows:

! Deleted the provision whereby local units of government could

continue with residential restrictions on sex offenders that are

already in effect;

! Added the requirement for sex offenders to report to the sheriff’s

office for updating purposes;

! Permitted the options regarding registration for juvenile

offenders;

! Listed and defined the crimes that constitute the requirements for

lifetime registration; and

! Added the provision regarding registration for sex offenders from

another state.

The House Committee of the W hole amendments were technical

and clarifying in nature.
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The fiscal note on the original bill states that between $75,000

and $125,000 would be needed by the Department of Revenue to

implement the annual driver’s license and identification card

provisions.  Other fiscal effects of the bill cannot be determined.

HB 2754 was introduced by the House Committee on Federal

and State Affairs.  “Miki’s law” is name for 19 year old Mikiala “Miki”

Martinez who was found strangled and fatally shot after being

abducted at gunpoint by two men in Great Bend, Kansas.

The proponent of the bill who testified at the hearing is Ms.

Martinez’s father.  He brought a petition, signed by 3,000 individuals,

supporting the passage of this bill.  The opponent of the bill who

testified at the hearing is a criminal defense attorney.

Sex Offenders, Sex Offender Registration, Miki’s Law
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