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Brief*

HB 2541 would amend existing law to establish that a person

who is 16 or 17 years of age may marry if they have the express

consent of one of the following:

! One parent or legal guardian and the consent of the judge; 

! Both parents and any legal guardian; 

! All then living parents and any legal guardian; or

! If parents are dead and there is no legal guardian, then a judge

of the district court may give consent after due investigation.

The bill would authorize a person who is 15 years of age to marry

in Kansas if a district court judge, after due investigation and upon a

finding that it is in the best interest of the person to marry, gives

consent and issues the marriage license.

In addition, the bill would authorize a person 16 or older to donate

blood voluntarily without parental consent as long as the donor

receives no compensation for the blood donation.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to the bill as passed by the

Senate Committee of the W hole and agreed to further amend the bill

to only authorize a marriage of a person who is 15 years old if the

person obtains judicial consent.  No one under 15 would be authorized

to obtain a marriage license in Kansas.

———————————

*Conference committee report briefs are prepared by the Legislative

Research Department and do not express legislative intent.   No

summary is prepared when the report is an agreement to disagree. The

conference committee summary report may be accessed on the Internet

at http://www.kslegislature.org
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Background

A 22 year-old Nebraska man impregnated a 13 year-old girl and

later brought her to Kansas to get married.  Nebraska law prohibits

marriage of people younger than 17 regardless of parental consent.

Kansas law does not have a minimum marriage age, therefore, the 13

year-old girl was married with her mother's consent.

Proponents of the bill in the House Committee included

Representative Robert Olson, the sponsor of the bill; a representative

of the Attorney General’s Office and a representative of the Governor’s

Office. 

The provisions of SB 426 (voluntary blood donation by a person

16 or older) were amended into HB 2541 by the Senate Committee of

the W hole.  In addition, the Senate Committee of the W hole authorized

a district court judge to issue a marriage license to a person under 16

years of age, after due investigation and upon a finding that it is in the

best interest of the person to marry.

m arriage age


	Page 1
	Page 2

