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Brief*

House Sub. for Sub. for SB 296 establishes the Kansas No-call
Act and redefines what constitutes an unsolicited telephone call in the
State of Kansas. The bill authorizes the Attorney General to contract
with the Direct Marketing Association (DMA) to maintain the no-call list
of Kansas consumers. The list is to be part of the DMA’s national
do-not-call list and maintained by the DMA’s Telephone Preference
Service. The bill specifies the following:

No-Call Lists

e The DMA is to supply Attorney General with national no-call list
free of charge and shall update the list on a quarterly basis.

® Atelephone solicitor has 30 days to delete a consumer's number
after publication of the list. Consumers are admonished that it
may be up to 150 days from the time the consumer registered to
be on the no-call list before the consumer and the Attorney
General are able to enforce the provisions of the act.

® Telephone solicitors will be provided updates of the no-call lists
on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October as part of the contract
between the Attorney General and the DMA.

® Telephone solicitors, prior to accessing no-call list, are to submit
a fee and complete a subscription agreement.

® The DMA shall comply with any lawful subpoena or court order
directing disclosure of list.

*Conference committee summary reports are prepared by the
Legislative Research Department and do not express legislative
intent. No summary is prepared when the report is an agreement
to disagree.



Attorney General may contract with the DMA for a national no-call
list establishing certain conditions. The Attorney General also
may contract, under the competitive bidding process, with another
vendor to establish and maintain the no-call list, provided the
DMA does not agree to enter into a contract.

The DMA is prohibited from using the list for any other purpose
than as directed by the Attorney General.

The time period prior to the date of the next quarterly update in
which consumers must register in order to appear on the next
quarterly update of the no-call list is not to exceed 30 days.

The Attorney General may designate the federal trade commis-
sion no-call list as the Kansas No-Call List.

Registration

The DMA must offer consumers one free method of registration
valid for five years.

Consumers may contact the DMA, vendor, or Attorney General to
register. The Attorney General may compile a list of numbers of
consumers desiring to register and shall forward to the DMA
within 15 days, and no fee shall be charged to the Attorney
General by DMA for submitting the list.

The Attorney General and the DMA are to notify consumers that
telephone numbers may not be added to the no-call list for up to
120 days.

Violations

Telephone solicitors are prohibited from using the list for any
other purpose than to remove consumer's telephone number.

Telephone solicitors are liable for violations of the act if consum-
ers who have their numbers on no-call list are contacted, unless
the telephone solicitor can demonstrate non-liability due to certain
conditions. The conditions for an affirmative defense to a
violation are that the consumer listed to the public that the
consumer's residential number was a business number; the
telephone solicitor had knowledge that the consumer listed it as
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a business number; and the purpose of the call was directly
related to the consumer's business.

A telephone solicitor can use an affirmative defense only once
every 12 months.

Violations are considered an unconscionable act under the
Kansas Consumer Protection Act.

The DMA shall furnish information on all alleged violations to the
Attorney General at no cost.

Penalties and fees recovered from prosecution shall be paid to
the Attorney General.

Attorney General may convene a meeting with consumers to
notify, educate, and promote the availability of the no-call list and
solicitors' obligations.

The DMA will consent to subject itself to the jurisdiction of the
Kansas courts. The DMA will designate a resident agent for
service of process.

Reporting Requirements

The Attorney General shall report to Legislature on the status of
implementation of the act.

Effective Date

The act will take effect and be in force from and after publication
in the statute book.

Other Requirements

The bill defines an established business relationship as it applies
to unsolicited telephone calls. Such a relationship is defined as
one that is formed by a voluntary two-way communication
between a telemarketer and consumer with or without an
exchange of consideration. The communication must be based
on an application, purchase, or transaction by the consumer,
within the preceding 36 months. At any time, the consumer can
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object to a continuation of the relationship and can request that
the telephone solicitor cease calling.

® Telephone solicitors' telephone numbers shall not be required to
be displayed from a caller identification service prior to January 1,
2005.

Background

House Sub. for Sub. for SB 296 as it passed the House Commit-
tee amended the Kansas Consumer Protection Act. The bill went
through many versions. The main issue the Committee dealt with was
whether to use the DMA or the Information Network of Kansas (INK)
to maintain the no-call list. The House Committee on Utilities deleted
the provisions of Sub. for SB 296 and inserted the provisions of Sub.
for HB 2100.

The Senate Committee on Judiciary amended the original SB 296
by deleting the provisions of the original bill and inserting provisions of
SB 538 requiring the establishment of a no-call list by INK. The Senate
Committee of the Whole amended Sub. for SB 296 by deleting the
provisions of the original bill and inserting provisions requiring the
establishment of a no-call list by the DMA.

The Conference Committee resolved the following disputed
issues:

® Thedefinition of an established business relationship between the
telephone solicitor and the consumer. The relationship must be
based on an application, purchase, or transaction by the con-
sumer during the preceding 36 months.

® The amount of time before consumers actually can expect results
from having registered. It may be up to 150 days from the time
the consumer registered to be on the no-call list before the
consumer and the Attorney General are able to enforce the
provisions of the act.

® The time period in which consumers must register in order to
appear on the next quarterly update of the no-call list. That time
period is limited to the 30 days prior to the date of the next
quarterly update of the no-call list.
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® The methods by which consumers mayregister. Consumers may
contact the DMA, vendor, or Attorney General to register. The
Attorney General may compile the list and shall forward to DMA
within 15 days and no fee shall be charged to the Attorney
General by DMA for submitting the list.

® The conditions for an affirmative defense to a violation. The
conditions were expanded to include: the consumer's residential
number listed in the phone book also was used as a business
number; the telephone solicitor had knowledge that the consumer
listed it as a business number; and the purpose of the call was
directly related to the consumer's business.

® The time frame in which telephone solicitors' numbers are
required to be displayed from a caller identification service. The
date was changed from January 1, 2004 to January 1, 2005.

® The manner in which the DMA will consent to subject itself to the
jurisdiction of the Kansas courts. The DMA will designate a
resident agent for service of process.

The Conference Committee also added provisions of SB 382
relating to profiteering from disasters. SB 382 makes it an unconscio-
nable act within the meaning of the Kansas Consumer Protection Act
for any supplier to profiteer from a disaster.

"Profiteer from a disaster" means unjustifiably increasing during
a time of disaster the price of any necessary property or service
offered for sale to consumers. In determining whether the price
increase is unjustified, the court is required to consider all relevant
circumstances including, but not limited to, the following:

® \Whether the price charged by the supplier grossly exceeded the
price charged by the supplier for similar property or services
immediately prior to the disaster, and an increase of more than 25
percent shall be prima facie evidence of gross excess;

® Whether the amount charged by the supplier grossly exceeded
the price at which the same or similar property or services were
readily obtainable by other consumers in the trade area, and a
price difference of more than 25 percent shall be prima facie
evidence of gross excess; and
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® Whether the increase in the amount charged by the supplier was
attributable to additional costs incurred by the supplier in connec-
tion with the sale of the product or service, and proof the supplier
incurred such additional costs shall be prima facie evidence that
the price increase was justified.

"Time of disaster" means a state of emergency declared by the
President of the United States, the Governor, or any local official
authorized to declare a state of local emergency.

"Necessary property or service" means any property or service for
which consumer demand does, or is likely to, increase as a conse-
quence of the disaster and includes consumer food items or property,
property or services for emergency cleanup, emergency supplies,
communication supplies and services, medical supplies and services,
home heating fuel, building materials and services, freight, storage
services, housing, lodging, transportation, and motor fuels.

The Attorney General's office estimates that the fiscal impact of
implementing House Sub. for Sub. for SB 296 would be $240,125 in
FY 2003, and $194,250 in FY 2004, and would be funded from the
Court Cost Fund. Four FTE positions, at a cost of $153,900 in FY
2003, would be needed: 1.0 Office Assistant, 1.0 Assistant Attorney
General, 1.0 Legal Assistant, and 1.0 Special Agent. The estimated
amountin FY 2003 for other operating expenditures would be $86,225.
These amounts would be in addition to those included in The FY 2003
Governor’s Budget Report.
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