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Date
MINUTES OF THE SENATE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pete Brungardt at 10:30 a.m. on March 21, 2007 in Room
231-N of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Dennis Hodgins, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Ken Wilke, Revisor of Statutes Office
Connie Bums, Committee Assistant

Conferces appearing before the committee:
Sherry Diel, Kansas Real Estate Commission
Luke Bell, Kansas Association of Realtors
Others attending:

See attached list.

HB 2561 - Licensure of real estate brokers and salespersons

Chairman Brungardt opened the hearing on HB 2561.

Sherry Diel, Kansas Real Estate Commission, appeared in favor of the bill. (Attachment 1) This bill would
create two new sections and amend three existing sections of the Real Estate Brokers” and Salespersons’
License Act, KSA 58-3034 et seq.

Luke Bell, Kansas Association of Realtors, spoke in favor of the bill. (Attachment 2) The bill would change
the qualifications for obtaining a real estate salespersons’s license to eliminate the six-month temporary
salesperson license and the 30 hour post-license course and require all out-of-state real estate licensees who
apply for real estate licenses in the state of Kansas to pass the Kansas portion of the real estate examination
and complete a practice course related to Kansas-specific real estate law. An applicant for a broker’s license
would complete a four-hour course on Kansas-specific real estate law and compete the Kansas portion of the
real estate examination. This would ensure that consumers in the state of Kansas are receiving real estate
services from qualified real estate professionals.

The Revisor raised the question of the certain sections that were taken out of HB 2295 and those sections are
still in HB 2561. The two bills would have to be reconciled because of the conflicts in statutes.

Chairman Brungardt closed the hearing on HB 2561.

The meeting adjourned at 11:28 am. The next scheduled meeting 1s March 22, 2007.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transeribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1
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KANSAS

KANSAS REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
SHERRY C. DIEL, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERNOR

Memo To: Chairman Brungardt and Members of the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee
From: Sherry C. Diel, Executive Director

RE: HB 2561 Licensure of real estate salespersons and brokers

Date: March 21, 2007

The proposed legislation would create two new sections and amend three existing sections of the Real Estate
Brokers' and Salespersons’ License Act, K.S.A. 58-3034 et seq.

Amend licensure and pre-license education requirements (Sections 1 — 3, p. 1 — 8): The proposed legislation
would amend K.S.A. 58-3039 and 58-3046a by changing the qualifications for obtaining a salesperson's
license on or after July 1, 2007 to eliminate the 6-month temporary salesperson license and the 30-hour post-
license course. Instead, an original applicant for a salesperson’s license would take the 30-hour pre-license
course, a 30-hour practice course and the state portion of the licensure examination prior to filing the
application for licensure. The pre-license course can be taken up to one year prior to filing the application for
licensure. “The practice course and the licensure examination must be completed within six months prior to
filing the application for licensure.

If an applicant files an application for a salesperson license based upon limited reciprocity or education and
examination criteria from another jurisdiction that is equal to or higher than Kansas’ requirements, the applicant
must at least complete the 30-hour practice course and the Kansas portion of the salesperson licensure
examination. Kansas has worked with schools that teach both Kansas and Missouri students to avoid
duplicate course work as long as the student completed the courses from both states within the six months
immediately preceding the filing of the application.

If an applicant for a salesperson license filed a completed application and met the qualifications for licensure
prior to July 1, 2007, the proposed legislation provides for a transition period so that this group of persons
would follow the old rules and would become temporary salespersons, complete a post-license course and
then convert to a standard salesperson license in 6-9 months as current law now provides.

Broker applicants applying by equivalent requirements met on or after July 1, 2007 would at least be required
to complete a 4-hour course with a primary focus on the Kansas Brokerage Relationships in Real Estate
Transactions Act, K.S.A. 58-30,101 et seq., and complete the Kansas portion of the broker licensure
examination.

The Commission anticipates a one-time expenditure of approximately $25,000 for computer consulting
services to change the programming for the licensing database for changes that would become effective on
July 1, 2007. The computer consulting services for programming of the licensing database would be paid
through KSIP funds.

Trade name or business name (Section 4. p. 8 — 9): The proposed legisiation primarily codifies what is now
K.A.R. 86-3-3, which has been in place since 1981. The Commission sought to amend the regulation last year
and was advised that the Commission lacks statutory authority for the regulation. The proposed legislation
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would implement prior practice as required by K.A.R. 86-3-3 that required a supervising broker to register a
business or trade name with the Commission and obtain approval to use it. The legislation would authorize the
Commission to deny use of the name if it is misleading or confusing to the public. The proposed legislation
also sets forth standards for what is considered confusing or misleading. A branch office would be required to
use the same trade or business name as the primary office.

Amendments to K.S.A. 58-3047 (Section 5 - 6. p. 9 - 12: The amendments are clean up in nature and clarify
what steps are taken when a license is issued or cancelled and reinstated.

Expiration, suspension or revocation of license of the supervising broker or branch broker (Sections 7 — 12, p.
12 — 15): Sections 7 through 12 of the proposed legislation addresses the issues of what happens to the
licenses of salespersons or associate brokers who are employed by or associated with a supervising broker or
branch broker whose license expires or is suspended or revoked and how pending transactions must be
handled. Section 7 would provide that when the license of a supervising broker or branch broker expires, the
Commission would have authority to automatically deactivate the licenses of any salespersons or associate
brokers associated with or employed by that supervising broker or branch broker within five days after the
Commission issues written notice to the associated or employed licensee of the expiration of the supervising
broker's or branch broker's license. In the case of a suspension or revocation of a supervising broker's or
branch broker’s license, Section 8 would provide the Commission with authority to automatically deactivate the
license of any associated or employed licensee within five days after written notice is issued by the
Commission notifying the associated or employed licensee of the order of suspension or revocation of the
supervising broker's or branch broker's license. In the case of expiration of a supervising broker or branch
broker’s license, another supervising broker or branch broker may assume the role as the supervising broker
or branch broker to avoid deactivation of the affiliated licensees’ licenses if notification is provided to the
Commission prior to the expiration date of the change in supervising brokers or branch brokers. In the case of
a suspension or revocation of a supervising broker or branch broker, the Commission may, if it deems it is in
the public interest until pending transactions are closed, authorize another broker to act as the supervising
broker or branch broker during the period of suspension or revocation.

Section 9 is intended to clarify that a supervising broker or branch broker whose license is suspended or
revoked can be paid personally earned commission only if the commission was earned while the license was
on active status and prior to the effective date of the suspension or revocation. Nothing would prohibit a
supervising broker or branch broker whose license is suspended or revoked from receiving compensation from
his ownership interest in the brokerage.

Section 10 would provide that unless another broker assumes the role of supervising broker or branch broker
prior to the expiration date of the supervising broker's or branch broker’s license, the supervising broker or
branch broker must notify ail clients and customers that the broker and all affiliate licensees will not be able to
perform the terms of the listings and brokerage agreements and the client or customer may enter into another
listing or brokerage agreement with a broker of their choice. When the supervising broker’s or branch broker's
license is suspended or revoked, the supervising broker or branch broker must send the notice to all clients or
customers within five days after the effective date of the order of suspension or revocation, unless another
broker is appointed by the Commission to serve as the supervising broker or branch broker.

Section 11 would prohibit a supervising broker or branch broker whose license is expired or is suspended or
revoked from personally finalizing any pending closings. The legislation would require that the responsibility
for finalizing pending closings be transferred to another broker, an attorney, a financial institution or an escrow
company.

Section 12 would provide that if another supervising broker or branch broker has not been authorized by the
Commission to act as the supervising broker, all advertising under the supervising broker's name or trade
name, including signage, must be removed or covered within five days after the expiration date of the
supervising broker's or branch broker's license or the effective date of the suspension or revocation.
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Amend K.S.A. 58-3050 to authorize revocation of a license that is not renewed or is voluntarily surrendered
while disciplinary action is pending: This amendment would allow the Commission’s records to reflect that a
licensee had a disciplinary action rather than their license showing on our records as expired. The
Commission currently cannot accept a voluntary surrender of a license and, if we did so, the Commission
would want the records to reflect the disciplinary history. The licensee would be entitled to request a hearing
under KAPA pursuant to current law K.S.A. 58-3050(e).

| would be happy to address your questions.
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To: Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee

From: Luke Bell, KAR Director of Governmental Relations

Date: March 21, 2007

Subject: HB 2561 — Changes to the Licensure of Real Estate Salesperson and Brokers and

Technical Changes to the Real Estate Licensure Statutes

Chairman Brungardt and members of the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee, thank you for the
opportunity to appear today on behalf of the Kansas Association of REALTORS® (KAR) to offer
testimony in support of HB 2561, KAR is a trade association which has faithfully represented the 10,000
real estate professionals in the state of Kansas for over 85 years.

KAR applauds the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) for introducing this legislation to strengthen
the licensing and education requirements for real estate licensees in the state of Kansas. As the real estate
industry continues to evolve and become more complex, we feel that it is absolutely necessary to
continually update and strengthen the requirements for licensure to ensure that consumers are provided
with quality service by qualified and professional individuals. HB 2561, which would be a major step
forward in strengthening the licensing and education requirements for real estate licensees in the state of
Kansas, contains two major substantive modifications to current real estate licensing law.

First, HB 2561 would change the qualifications for obtaining a real estate salesperson’s license to
eliminate the six-month temporary salesperson license and the 30-hour post-license course. Currently, in
order to obtain a real estate salesperson’s license, an individual is required to pass the real estate
examination, complete a 30-hour pre-license course and complete a 30-hour post-license course within six
months of the issuance of a temporary license. However, HB 2561 would require the applicant to take a
30-hour pre-license course, a 30-hour practice course (also pre-license) and pass the real estate
examination all before applying for the real estate salesperson’s license. These changes are absolutely
necessary to ensure that individuals receive all the necessary education and training before they are
allowed to provide real estate services to members of the public.

Second, HB 2561 would require all out-of-state real estate licensees who apply for real estate licenses in
the state of Kansas to pass the Kansas portion of the real estate examination and complete a practice
course related to Kansas-specific real estate law. Specifically, HB 2561 would require that an applicant
for a salesperson license complete a 30-hour practice course (the exact same requirement for Kansas
residents) and pass the Kansas portion of the real estate examination. HB 2561 would require that an
applicant for a broker’s license complete a four-hour course on Kansas-specific real estate law and
complete the Kansas portion of the real estate examination. This will ensure that out-of-state licensees
who wish to provide real estate services in the state of Kansas will be knowledgeable about and follow
Kansas-specific real estate law.

In ciosmg, KAR would urge you to support HB 2561 and ensure that consumers in the state of Kaps
receiving real estate services from qualified real estate professionals.
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