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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Mike O’Neal at 3:30 p.m. on March 10, 2004 in Room 313-
S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative Ward Loyd- excused
Representative Dean Newton- excused
Representative Dan Williams- excused

Committee staff present:
Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes
Diana Lee, Revisor of Statues
Jerry Ann Donaldson, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Cindy O’Neal, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Senator Barbara Allen
Jack Dickson, Survivors Ministry, 1* Methodist Church, El Dorado
Arlys-Marie Gilchrist, Survivors Ministry, 1* Methodist Church, El Dorado
Mike Farmer, Kansas Catholic Conference

The hearing on SB 460 - taxpayer identification can not be used to obtain drivers’ licenses or other
identification cards, was opened.

Senator Barbara Allen appeared as the sponsor of the proposed bill which would delete from current statute
the ability to use a taxpayer identification number as proof ofidentification if the person does not have a social
security number. The IRS does not verify applicants’ legal presence in the United States when i1t 1ssues
Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers. By passing the bill it would strengthen the security and
verifiability of state issued identifications (Attachment 1)

The hearing on SB 460 was closed.

The hearing on SB 436 - statute of limitations on childhood sexual abuse extended to 30 years, was
opened.

Jack Dickson, Survivors Ministry, 1* Methodist Church, El Dorado, appeared in support of the proposed bill
but requested an amendment which would strike the Senate amendment of 5 years and replace it with a 15
year statute of limitation because in many cases it takes more than 3 years to admit the abuse happened and
then the person needs extensive therapy and medical evaluations. The current 3 years 1s not a sufficient
amount of time for victims to bring their case to court. (Attachment 2)

Arlys-Marie Gilchrist, Survivors Ministry, 1* Methodist Church, El Dorado, told about her experience of
sexual abuse by her father and her medical conditions which are believed to be associated directly and
indirectly to that abuse. (Attachment 3)

Written testimony in support of the bill was provided by Mary Jo Grant, Survivors Ministry, 1% Methodist
Church, El Dorado, (Attachment 4)

Mike Farmer, Kansas Catholic Conference, preferred the current statute of limitations which is 3 years and
would be accepting of a 5 year standard but opposed anything more than 5 years. He was concerned that
overtime, the truth and recollections begin to fade and those who are involved might have passed away and
therefore not able to defend himself. (Attachment 5)

The hearing on SB 436 was closed.

The committee meeting adjourned. Then next committee meeting was scheduled for March11, 2004.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1
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Mr. Chairman:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today on SB 460. In my
view, our top priority with regard to Kansas Driver’'s Licenses (DL) and
ID Cards should be to ensure they are verifiable and secure, thus
protecting Kansans’ safety. SB 16, passed last year, was about
strengthening the security and verifiability of State-issued
identification.

An amendment added to SB 16 on the floor of the Senate last
year, which eventually became law, is the subject of SB 460. SBE 460
strikes the amendatory language that allows an applicant for a Kansas
DL or ID card to provide an individual taxpayer identification number
(ITIN) as proof of identification, if the applicant does not have a social
security number (SSN.)

The need for this statutory change became clear to me upon
review of a letter from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), addressed
to Sheila Walker, Director, Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles (OMV),
dated August 8, 2003. (attached.) That letter states:

"Several state government motor vehicle departments are
accepting IRS-issued Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers
(ITINs) as proof of identification for state driver’s licenses, prompting
us to issue this reminder - ITINs are not vaiid for identification
outside the tax system.”

Highlighted in your copy of the IRS letter is critically important
language regarding the use of ITINs as proof of identification for
Kansas DLs and ID cards.

"Although we require ITIN applicants to provide proof of identity
documents, we accept these documents at face value without
validating their authenticity with issuing agencies or conducting
appiicant background investigations. We do not require applicants to
appear in person, and third parties may submit appiications and
provide documentationi on behalf of others. Aiso, since we issue ITINs
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for tax filing purposes only, we do not verify applicants’ legal presence
in the U.S.” (emphasis added.)

The IRS clearly states the proof of identity documents used to
obtain an ITIN are not validated for authenticity, and in fact, the
person for whom the number is issued does not even have to show up
in person. A third party may obtain an ITIN on behalf of someone
else. An ITIN is not a reliable or verifiable form of identification for
obtaining a Kansas DL or ID card, because the underlying documents
used to obtain an ITIN are not validated for authenticity.

Furthermore, the IRS clearly states it does not verify applicants’
legal presence in the U.S. when it issues an ITIN. Kansas law requires
(K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 8-240; K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 8-1324) that an
applicant for a Kansas DL or ID card submit proof that the applicant is
lawfully present in the United States, and prohibits the division from
issuing identification to any person who is not lawfully present in the
United States. According to the IRS, an ITIN is not verifiable proof of
legal presence in the U.S. Therefore, the ITIN should not be allowed
as proof of identification for State-issued identification.

I also have attached to my testimony a letter from Janet
Schalansky, Secretary of SRS, dated February 11, 2004, that clarifies
the federal requirements concerning driver’s license applications and
SSNs. The SRS letter states:

“The state is required to have in effect laws which require any
applicant for a driver’s license to provide the applicant’s social security
number on the driver’s license application. S.B. 460, as introduced,
does not affect CSE’s compliance with federal law.”

SRS testified in support of SB 460 in the Senate Judiciary
Comittee. Passage of this bill, which would remove an applicant’s
ability to provide an ITIN to obtain a Kansas DL, would not affect
Kansas’ compliance with Title IV-D of the social security act, relating to
Child Support Enforcement.

At the time the language that is the subject of SB 460 was
offered as an amendment to SB 16, I cautiously supported the



amendment, based on Director Walker’s recommendation. The date of
the final vote on SB 16 was January 30, 2003. However, the letter
from the IRS to Director Walker, dated August 8, 2003, caused me to
withdraw my support of the amendatory language.

Specifically, the IRS letter states:

“If your state is considering legislation to accept ITINs as proof of
identity for driver’s licenses, please alert your legislators to potential
security risks. State-issued photo identification provides unrestricted
access to most U.S. air and ground transportation systems and entry
to public buildings.” (emphasis added.)

In summary, my sole purpose for bringing SB 460 before you
today is that Kansas DLs and ID cards must be a secure form of
identification. Last year, SB 16 went a long way in preventing Kansas
from being of one of the easiest states in the nation in which to obtain
false identification. I believe the language in current law, that allows
an applicant to submit an ITIN as proof of identification if the applicant
does not have an SSN, compromises the security and verifiability of
state-issued identification.

Accepting ITINs as proof of identity for DLs and ID cards is a
potential security risk. Passage of SB 460 would remove that risk. SB
460 passed the Senate 40-0 on February 27, 2004. I respectfully urge

your support. w

Barbara P. Allen
State Senator, District 8

Attachments:

1. IRS letter, August 8, 2003

2. K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 8-240; K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 8-1324
3. SRS letter, February 11, 2004

4, SB 460 vote, Senate Journal, February 27, 2004
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Shiela Walker, Director ﬁk;, g
Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles *Ci'
Docking State Office \ “\g\"@'

915 SW Harrison Street #162

Topeka, Kansas 66626

Dear Director Walker:

Several state government motor vehicle departments are accepting [RS-issued
[ndividual Taxpayer |dentification Numbers (ITINs) as proof of identification for state
driver's licenses, prompting us to issue this reminder - /TiNs are not valid for

identification outside the tax system.

The Internal Revenue Service issues ITINs for the sole purpose of enabling individuals
who do not qualify for Social Security numbers to meet their tax filing responsibilities.
Therefore, we do not subject ITIN applicants to the same rigorous document verification
standards as Social Security number or visa/passport applicants.

Although we require ITIN applicants to provide proof of identity documents, we accept
these documents at face value without validating their authenticity with issuing agencies
or conducting applicant background investigations. We de not require applicants to
appear in persen, and third parties may submit applications znd provide documentation
on behalf of others. Also, since we issue ITINs for tax filing purposes only, we do nct
verify applicants’ legal presence in the U.S. — the tax code classifies aliens based on
their physical presence (resident or non-resident), not their legal status in this country.

Unlike Social Security numbers, ITINs do not:
e Authorize an individual to work in the U.S;

« Endorse an individual’s legal status in this country; or
Entitle an individual to Social Security benefits or the Earmed Income Tax Credit.

If your state is considering legisiation to accept ITINs as proof of identity for driver's
licenses, please alert your legisiators to potential security risks. State-issued photo
identification provides unrestricted access to most U.S. air and ground transportation
systems and entry to public buildings.

If your state currently accepts ITiNs as procf of identity for driver’s licenses, please alert
your staifs that IRS issues ITINs for tax purposes only. Please do not direct driver's

license applicants to us for [TINs; we do not issue the numbers for non-tax reasons.
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Thank you for your help and support. For additional information about ITINs, visit our
website at http://www.irs.gov/individuais/article/0..id=96287.00.html or direct questions
to Anita Hill at (904) 865-1158, Bonnie Harrison at (859) 689-5538, or e-mail to
itinoroiectoffice@irs.qov.

Sincerely

Hen ¢0Q. Lamar, Jr.

cc: Governor Kathleen Sebelius
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DRIVERS' LICENSES 3-240

plates under the provisions of K.S.A. 8-161, 8-
177a, 8-177c, 8-1,139, 8-1,140, 8-1,145 or 8-1,146,
and amendments thereto, the surviving spouse or
other family member, if there is no surviving
spouse, shall be entitled to possession of any such
distinctive license plates. Such license plates shall
not be displaved on any vehicle unless otherwise
authorized by statute.

History: L. 1998, ch. 140, § 4; L. 2002, ch. 4,
§ 1; July L.

Article 2.—DRIVERS’ LICENSES

8-222.

CASE ANNOTATIONS
15. Negligence of driver under 16 years of age is imputed
to plaintiff parent permitting son to drive; summary judgment
granted on wrongtul death claim of parent. Yetsko v. Panure,
272 K. 741, 35 P.3d 904 (2001).

3-234.

Attorney General’s Opinions:
“Adult” supervising driving of person with restricted license
means licensed person at least 18 years of age. 2001-34.

3-235.

Attorney General’s Opinions:
“Motor scooters” — required to be registered, operators to
have driver’s license. 2001-39.

8-235d.

Attorney General’s Opinions:
“Adult” supervising driving of person with restricted license
means licensed person at least 18 years of age. 2001-34.

8-235e. Application for driver’s license,
instructional permit or nondriver’s identifi-
cation card constitutes consent to selective
service registration. (a) Any person, who is sub-
ject to registration under the provisions of section
3 of the military selective service act, 50 U.s.C.
App. section 453, as amended, and who applies
for any driver’s license or instructional permit un-
der the provisions of article 2 of chapter 8 of the
Kansas Statutes Annotated, or any nondriver’s
identification card under the provisions of K.S.A.
8-1324 through 8-1334, and amendments thereto,
or any renewal of such driver’s license, instruc-
tional permit or nondriver’s identification card
and who is at least 16 vears of age but less than
26 years of age shall consent to such applicant’s
registration in compliance with the requirements
of section 3 of the military selective service act, 30
U.S.C. App. section 453, as amended.

(b) The division of vehicles shall forward, in
an electronic format, the necessary personal in-

formation of the applicants identified in subsec-
tion (a), to the selective service system. The ap-
plicant’s signature on the application shall serve
as an indication that the applicant either has al-
ready registered with the selective service system
or that the applicant is authorizing the division of
vehicles to forward to the selective service system
the necessary information for such registration.
The division of vehicles shall notify the applicant
that the applicant’s submission of the application
will serve as the applicant’s consent to registration
with the selective service system, if such registra-
tion is required by federal law.
History: L. 2003, ch. 41, § 1; July 1.

3-236.

Attorney General’s Opinions:

“Motor scooters” — required to be registered, operators to
have driver’s license. 2001-39.
3-237.

Attorney General’s Opinions:
“Adult” supervising driving of person with restricted license
means licensed person at least 18 years of age. 2001-34.
“Motor scooters” — required to be registered, operators to
have driver’s license. 2001-39. ‘

8-240. Drivers’ licenses and imstruetion
permits; application for; proof of age and
identity; proof of lawful presence; examina-
tion tests; reexamination; drivers’ records;
fees; late application penalties. (a) Every ap-
plication for an instruction permit shall be made
upon a form furnished by the division of vehicles
and accompanied by a fee of $2 for class A, B, C
or M and $5 for all commercial classes. Every
other application shall be made upon a form fur-
nished by the division and accompanied by an ex-
amination fee of 33, unless a different fee is re-
quired by K.S.A. 8-241, and amendments thereto,
and by the proper fee for the license for which
the application is made. If the applicant is not re-
quired to take an examination the examination fee
shall not be required. The examination shall con-
sist of three tests, as follows: (1) Vision; (2) writ-
ten; and (3) driving. If the applicant fails the vision
test, the applicant may have correction of vision
made and take the vision test again without any
additional fee. If an applicant fails the written test,
the applicant may take such test again upon the
payment of an additional examination fee of $1.50.
If an applicant fails the driving test, the applicant
may take such test again upon the pavment of an
additional examination fee of $1.50. If an appli-
cant fails to pass all three of the tests within a
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3-240 AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES

period of six months from the date of original ap-
plication and desires to take additional tests, the
applicant shall file an application for reexamina-
tion upon a form furnished by the division, which
shall be accompanied by a reexamination fee of
$3, except that any applicant who fails to pass the
written or driving portion of an examination four
times within a six-month period, shall be required
to wait a period of six months from the date of the
last failed examination before additional exami-
nations may be given. Upon the filing of such ap-
plication and the payment of such reexamination
fee, the applicant shall be entitled to reexamina-
tion in like manner and subject to the additional
fees and time limitation as provided for exami-
nation on an original application. If the applicant
passes the reexamination, the applicant shall be
issued the classified driver’s license for which the
applicant originally applied, which license shall be
issued to expire as if the applicant had passed the
original examination.

(b) (1) For the purposes of obtaining amy
driver's license or instruction permit, an applicant
shall submit, with the application, proof of age or
proof of identity, or both, us the division may re-
quire. An applicant shall submit the agplicant’s
social security number or a taxpayer identification
number if the applicant does not have a social se-
curity number, which shall remain confidential
and shall not be disclosed, except as provided pur-
suant to K.S.A. 74-2012, and amendments
thereto. If the applicant deces not have a social
security number or a taxpayer identification num-
ber, the applicant shail submit a sworn statement.
with the application, stating that the applicant
does not have a social security number or taxpayer
identifieation number. The distinguishing number
assigned to the license or permit may be the ap-
plicant’s social security number or a taxpayeriden-
tification number if the applicant so requests in
writing. If the applicant is applying for an instruc-
tion permit or driver’s license and the applicant
otherwise meets the requirements for such li-
cense, the applicant shall receive a temporary li-
cense or instruction permit until the division ver-
ifies all facts relative to such applicant’s right to
receive an instruction permit or driver’s license.
including the age, identity, social security number,
taxpaver identification number and residency of
the applicant.

(2) An applicant who submits proof of age or
of identity issued by an entity other than a state
or the United States shall also submit such proef

as the division may require that the applicant is
lawfully present in the United States.

(3) The division shall not issue any driver’s li-
cense to any person who is not lawfully present in
the United States.

(4) The division shall not issue anv driver’s li-
cense to any person who is not a resident of the
state of Kansas, except as provided in K.S.A. 8-
9,148, and amendments thereto.

(5) The parent or guardian of an applicant un-
der 16 years of age shall sign the application for
any driver’s license submitted by such applicant.

(c) Every application shall state the name,
date of birth, sex and residence address of the ap-
plicant, and briefly describe the applicant, and
shall state whether the applicant has been licensed
as a driver prior to such application, and, if so,
when and by what state or country. Such appli-
cation shall state whether any such license has
ever been suspended or revoked, or whether an
application has ever been refused, and, if so, the
date of and reason for such suspension, revocation
or refusal. In addition, applications for commer-
cial drivers’ licenses and instruction permits for
commercial licenses must include the following:
The applicant’s social security number; the per-
son’s signature; the person’s color photograph;
certifications, including those required by 49
C.F.R. 383.71(a), effective January 1, 1991; a con-
sent to release driving record information; and,
any other information required by the division.

(d) When an application is received from a
person previously licensed in another jurisdiction,
the division shall request a copy of the driver’s
record from the other jurisdiction. When re-
ceived, the driver’s record shall become a part of
the driver’s record in this state with the same force
and effect as though entered on the driver's rec-
ord in this state in the original instance.

(e) When the division receives a request for a
driver’s record from another licensing jurisdiction
the record shall be forwarded without charge.

(f) A fee shall be charged as follows:

(1) For a class C driver's license issued to a
person at least 21 years of age, but less than 65
years of age, $18;

(2) for a class C driver’s license issued to a
person less than 21 years of age or 65 years of age
or older, or a farm permit, $12;

(3) for a class M driver’s license issued to a
person at least 21 vears of age, but less than 63

years of age, $12.50;
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DRIVERS' LICENSES

3-243

(4) for a class M driver’s license issued to a
erson less than 21 years of age or 65 years of age
or older, $9;

(5) foraclass A or B driver’s license issued to
a person who is at least 21 years of age, but less
than 65 vears of age, $24;

(6) foraclass A or B driver’s license issued to
a person less than 21 years of age or 65 years of
age or older, 816; or

(7) for any class of commercial driver's li-
cense, 318.

A fee of $10 shall be charged for each com-
mercial driver’s license endorsement, except air
brake endorsements which shall have no charge.

If one fails to make an original application or
renewal application for a driver’s license within
the time required by law, or fails to make appli-
cation within 60 days after becoming a resident of
Kansas, a penalty of $1 shall be added to the fee
charged for the driver's license.

(g) Any person who possesses an identifica-
tion card as provided in K.S.A. 8-1324, and
amendments thereto, shall surrender such iden-
tification card to the division upon being issued a
valid Kansas driver’s license or upon reinstate-
ment and return of a valid Kansas driver's license.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 7; L. 1938, ch. 13,
§ 1; L. 1949, ch. 104, § 11; L. 1953, ch. 51, § 1;
L. 1958, ch. 48, § 1 {Budget Session); L. 1959, ch.
49 § 7; L. 1963, ch. 402, § 3; L. 1969, ch. 52, §
1. L. 1973, ch. 30, § 1; L. 1975, ch. 36, § 13; L.
1982, ch. 42, § 1; L. 1986, ch. 38, § I; L. 1590,
ch. 42, § L; L. 1990, ch. 42, § 2; L. 1990, ch. 43,
§ 1; L. 1990, ch. 43, § 2: L. 1991, ch. 36, § 9 L.
1993, ch. 154, § 53; L. 1996, ch. 14, § 1; L. 1996,
ch. 219, § 1. L. 1997, ch. 36, § 1; L. 2000, ch. 179,
§ 10; L. 2003, ch. 5, § 1; L. 2003, ch. 158, § L;
July 1.

for by the applicant. Such license shall bear the
class or classes of motor vehicles which the li-
censee is entitled to drive, a distinguishing num-
ber assigned to the licensee, which, if the licensee
so requests in writing, may be the licensee’s social
security number, the name, date of birth, resi-
dence address, and a brief description of the li-
censee, a colored photograph of the licensee, a
facsimile of the signature of the licensee or a space
upon which the licensee shall write such licensee’s
usual signature with pen and ink immediately
upon receipt of the license and the statement pro-
vided for in subsection (b). No driver's license
shall be valid until it has been signed by the li-
censee. All drivers’ licenses issued to persons un-
der the age of 21 years shall be readily distinguish-
able from licenses issued to persons age 21 years
or older. In addition, all drivers’ licenses issued to
persons under the age of 18 years shall also be
readily distinguishable from licenses issued to per-
sons age 18 years or older. On and after July 1,
2004, the secretary of revenue shall implement a
vertical format to make drivers’ licenses issued to
persons under the age of 21 more readily distin-
guishable. Except as otherwise provided, on or af-
ter July 1, 2004, no driver’s license issued by the
division shall be valid until a colored photograph
of such licensee has been taken and verified be-
fore being placed on the driver’s license. The sec-
retary of revenue shall prescribe a fee of not more
than $4 and upon payment of such fee the division
shall cause a colored photograph of such applicant
to be placed on the driver’s license. Upon pay-
ment of such fee prescribed by the secretary of
revenue, plus payment of the fee required by
K.S.A. 8-246, and amendments thereto, for issu-
ance of a new license, the division shall issue to
such licensee a new license containing a colored
photograph of such licensee. A driver's license

| instance. Revisor’s Note: _ j ‘
s t for Seation was also amended by L. 2003, ch, 63, §2, but thar  which does not contain a colored photograph of
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R exempted from such requirement. Any such li-
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8-241.
Law Review and Bar Journa!l References:

2001 Legislative Wrap-Up,” Paul T. Davis, 70 [.K.B.A. No.
7, 14 (2001).

8-243. Issuance of licenses; contents;
signature; photograph, exception; fee; ana-
tomical gift statement; distinguishable li-
cense for deaf and hard of hearing. (2) Upon
payment of the required fee, the division shall is-
sue to every applicant qualifying under the pro-
visions of this act the driver’s license as applied

cense shall be valid for the purposes of the motor
vehicle drivers’ license act and the division shall
set forth upon such driver’s license the words
“valid without photo.” Any person who is outside
the state and for whom the division provides for
renewal of the driver's license by mail is exempt
from the requirement to have a colored photo-
graph of such person placed on such person’s
driver’s license. Any person belonging to a relig-
ious organization which has a basic objection to
having their picture taken may sign a statement to
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8-1002

AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES

8-1002.

Attorney General’s Opinions:

Conditions wherein peace officer can obtain warrantless ex-
traction of blood after subject has refused to submit to blood
test. 2002-26.

CASE ANNOTATIONS

43. Failure of police officer to complete suspension notice
form within 5-day requirement does not deprive department
of jurisdiction to conduct suspension hearing. Linenberger v.
Kansas Dept. of Revenue, 28 K.A.2d 794, 20 P.3d 1290 (2001).

2-1003.
Law Review and Bar Journal References:

“9001 Legisiative Wrap-Up,” Paul T. Davis, 70 J.K.B.A. No.
7, 14 (2001).
Attorney General’s Opinions:

Administrative judge may certify more than one alcohol and
drug safety action program but may not designate one as fi-
nancial administrator of program. 2002-22.

g-1012.

CASE ANNOTATIONS

2. Charge of refusal to submit to PBT hereunder was prop-
erly dismissed but court erred in dismissing DUI charge under
8-1567. State v. Gray, 270 K. 793, 18 P.3d 962 (2001).

3. Provision that arrest may be made solely or in part on
results of preliminary breath test is not significant interference
by legislature with judicial function. State v. Chacon-Bringuez,
28 K.A.2d 625, 18 P.3d 970 (2001).

8-1014.
Law Review and Bar Journal References:

2001 Legislative Wrap-Up,” Paul T. Davis, 70 ].K.B.A. No.
7,14 (2001).

3-1015.

Law Review and Bar Journal References:
“2001 Legislative Wrap-Up,” Paul T. Davis, 70 ].K.B.A. No.

7, 14 (2001).
3-1016.

Law Review and Bar Journal References:
"3001 Legislative Wrap-Up,” Paul T. Davis, 70 J.K.B.A. No,
7, 14 (2001).

8-102]1. Impoundment of motor vehicle
for 8-1567 violation; failure to pay fees or
take repossession; disposition of vehicle. If
the owner of a motar vehicle which has been im-
pounded pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1567 or K.S.A.
2003 Supp. 8-1022, and amendments thereto, re-
fuses to pay any towing, impoundment, storage or
other fees relating to the impoundment or im-
mobilization of such vehicle or fails to take pos-
sessicn of such vehicle within 30 davs following
the date of the expiration of the impoundment
period, such vehicle shall be deemed abandoned
and the vehicle may be disposed of by the person
having possession of such vehicle. If the person

having possession of such vehicle is a public
agency, disposition of such vehicle shall be in
compliance with the procedures for notice and
public auction provided by paragraph (2) of sub-
section (a) of K.S.A. 8-1102, and amendments
thereto. If the person having possession of such
vehicle is not a public agency, disposition of such
vehicle shall be in compliance with K.5.A. 8-1103
through 8-1108, and amendments thereto.
History: L. 2003, ch. 100, § 2; July 1.

8-1022. Permitting driving in violation
of 8-1014; penalties. (a) It shall be unlawful for
the owner of a motor vehicle to allow a person to
drive such vehicle when such owner knows or rea-
sonably should have known such person was driv-
ing in violation of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments
thereto.

(b) Violation of this section is an unclassified
misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than
3500 nor more than $1,000. In addition to the fine
imposed upon a person convicted of a violation of
this section, the court may order that the con-
victed person’s motor vehicle or vehicles be im-
pounded or immobilized for a period not to ex-
ceed one year and that the convicted person pay
all towing, impoundment and storage fees or
other immobilization costs. Prior to ordering the
impoundment or immobilization of any such mo-
tor vehicle, the court shall consider the factors es-
tablished in subsection (k)}(3) of K.S.A. 8-1567,
and amendments thereto. Any personal property
in a vehicle impounded or immobilized pursuant
to this section may be retrieved prior to or during
the period of such impoundment or immobiliza-
tion.

History: L. 2003, ch. 100, § 3; July L.

Article 13.—MISCELLANEOUS
PROVISIONS

8-1324. Nondriver’s identification card;
application for; proof of age, identity and
lawful presence; fees. (a) Any resident who does
not hold a current valid Kansas driver’s license
may make application to the division of vehicles
and be issued one identification card, certified by
the registrant and attested by the division as to
true name, correct age, photograph and other
identifying data as the division may require.

(b) An applicant who submits documentary
evidence under subsection (a), issued by an entity
other than a state or the United States shall also
submit such proof as the division may require that
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the applicant is lawfully present in the United
States. For the purposes of obtaining any identi-
fication card, an applicant shall submit, with the
application, proof of age or proof of identity, or
both, as the division mav require. An applicant
shall submit the applicant’s social security number
or a taxpayer identification number if the appli-
cant does not have a social security number, which
shall remain confidential and shall not be dis-
closed, except as provided pursuant to K.S.A. 74-
9012, and amendments thereto. If the applicant
does not have a social security number or a tax-
payer identification number, the applicant shall
submit a sworn statement, with the application,
stating that the applicant does not have a social
security number or taxpayer identification num-
ber. The distinguishing number assigned to the
identification card mayv be the applicant’s social
security number or a taxpayer identification num-
ber if the applicant so requests in writing. If the
applicant is applying for an identification card and
the applicant otherwise meets the requirements
for such card. the applicant shall receive a tem-
porary identification card until the division veri-
fies all facts relative to such applicant’s right to
receive an identification card, including the age,
identity, social security number, taxpayer identi-
fication number and residency of the applicant.

(¢) The division shall not issue an identifica-
tion card to any person who is not lawfully present
in the United States nor to any person who holds
a current valid Kansas driver’s license unless such
driver's license has been physically surrendered
pursuant to the provisions of subsection (e} of
K.S.A. 8-1002, and amendments thereto.

(d) The parent or guardian of an applicant un-
der 16 years of age shall sign the application for
an identification card submitted by such applicant.

{(e) The division shall require payment of afee
of 814 at the time application for an identification
card is made, except that persons who are 65 or
more vears of age or who are handicapped, as de-
fined in K.S.A. 8-1,124. and amendments thereto,
shall be required to pay a fee of only $10.

(f) For the purposes of K.S.A. 8-1324 through
8-1328. and amendments thereto, a person shall
be deemed to be a resident of the state if:

(1) The person owns, leases or rents a place
of domicile in this state;

(2) the person engages in a trade, business or

-

profession in this state:
(3) the person is registered to vote in this

state;
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(4) the person enrolls the person’s child in a
school in this state; or

(5) the person registers the person’s motor
vehicle in this state.

History: L. 1973, ch. 31, § 1; L. 1983, ch. 39,
§ 1; L. 1986, ch. 36, § 12; L. 1990, ch. 42, § 4; L.
2000, ch. 179, § 13; L. 2003, ch. 5, § 3; L. 2003,
ch. 158, § 2; July L.
Revisor’s Note:

Section was also amended by L. 2003, ch. 63, {4, but that
version was repealed by L. 2003, ch. 138, §11.

8-1325. Same; expiration; renewal; fee;
anatomical gift; organ and tissue registry. (a)
Every identification card shall expire, unless ear-
lier canceled, on the sixth birthday of the applicant
following the date of original issue, except as oth-
erwise provided by K.5.A. 8-1329, and amend-
ments thereto. Renewal of any identification card
shall be made for a term of six years and shall
expire in a like manner as the originally issued
identification card, unless surrendered earlier.
For any person who has only been issued an iden-
tification card, the division shall mail a notice of
expiration or renewal at least 30 days prior to the
expiration of such person’s identification card at
the address shown on such identification card.
The division shall include with such notice, writ-
ten information required under subsection (b).
Any application for renewal received later than 90
days after expiration of the identification card
shall be considered to be an application for an
original identification card. The division, at the
end of six years and six months after the issuance
or renewal of an identification card, shall destroy
any record of the card if it has expired and has not
been renewed. The division shall require payment
of a fee of $14 for each identification card re-
newal, except that persons who are 65 or more
years of age or who are persons with a disability,
as defined in K.S.A. 8-1,124, and amendments
thereto, shall be required to pay a fee of only $10.

(b) The division shall provide the following in-
formation under subsection (a):

(1) Written information explaining the per-
son’s right to make an anatomical gift in accord-
ance with K.S.A. 8-1328, and amendments
thereto, and the uniform anatomical gift act;

(2) written information describing the organ
donation registry program maintained by the Kan-
sas federally designated organ procurement or-
ganization. The written information required un-

der this paragraph shall include, in a type, size and



JANET SCHALANSKY, SECRETARY K A N S A S KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERNOR
SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES

February 11, 2004

The Honorable John-Vratil

Chairman, Senate Judiciary Committee
300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 522-S
Topeka, KS 66612-1504

RE: Senate Bill 460

Dear Senator Vratil:
| am writing in support of Senate Bill 460, Senator Allen’s bill amending K.S.A. 8-240.

My purpose is to provide the Senate Judiciary Committee with information about the federal requirement that
applies o the SRS Child Support Enforcement program {CSE) and relates to drivers’ license applications and
social security numbers. The federal law is found at 42 U.S.C. 666(a)(13), part of Title IV-D of the social
security act. The State is required to have in effect laws which require any applicant for a driver's license to
provide the applicant’s social security number on the driver’s ficense application.

This requirement was fully addressed in 2003 by amendments to K.S.A. 8-240(b). S.B. 460, as introduced,
does not affect CSE’s compliance with federal law.

The federal statute itself does not address the matter of applicants who have no social security number, but
there is no reason to believe that the Congress intended for states to refuse drivers’ licenses to all such
applicants. If the applicant has no social security number, federal law does not require any identifying number
to be furnished. Federal regulators have approved state plans that provide a reasonable alternative for those
circumstances, such as accepting a sworn statement that the applicant has no social security number.
K.S.A. 8-240 presently provides the alternative of a sworn statement, a measure which would remain in effect

under Senator Allen’s proposal.
| hope this information is of assistance as the Committee considers S.B. 460.
Sincerely,

_ A AL

net Schalansky
Secretary

JSJLC

DOCKING STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 815 SW HARRISON ST., ROOM 803-N, TOPEKA, KS 66612-1570
Voice 785-296-3271  Fax785-296-4635  www srskansas.org
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SB 4533, An act concerning the regulation of child care facilities; relating to exemptions
therefrom; amending K.5.A. 65-301 and 72-3236 and repealing the existing sections, was
considered on final action,

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 36, Navs 4, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Clark,
Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Goodwin, Helgerson, Hensley, Jackson. Jordan. Journey,
Kerr, Lee, Morris, O'Connor, Oleen, Pugh, Salmans, Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Tad-
diken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle.

Nays: Gilstrap, Haley, Huelskamp, Lyon.

The bill passed, as amended.

SB 460, An act concerning drivers’ licenses and other identification cards: relating to
taxpaver identification numbers; amending K.S.A. 2003 Supp. 8-240 and 8-1324 and re-
pealing the existing sections, was considered on final action.

On 1ol call, the vote was: Yeas 40, Nays 0, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Adkins, Allen, Barnett. Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Clark,
Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Helgerson, Hensley, Huel-
skamp, Jackson, Jordan, Journey. Kerr, Lee, Lyon, Morris, O'Connor, Oleen, Pugh, Salmans,
Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratl, Wagle.

The bill passed. ‘

SB 461, An act concerning eminent domain: relating to acquisition of land for certain
purposes by a port authority or county; amending K.S.A. 12-3408 and K.S.A. 2003 Supp.
12-3402, 12-3406 and 19-101a and repealing the existing sections, was considered on final
action.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 39, Nays 0, Present and Passing 1. Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Clark,
Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Helgerson, Henslev, Huel-
skamp, Jackson, Jordan, Journey, Kerr, Lee, Lyon, Morris, O'Connor, Oleen, Pugh. Salmans,
Schmidt, Schodort, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil.

Present and Passing: Wagle.

The bill passed, as amended.

SB 466, An act concerning driver’s licenses; relating to medical information reported to
the division; amending K.5.A. 8-255¢ and repealing the existing section. was considered on
tinal action.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 34, Nays 6, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Cor-
bin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Helgerson, Hensley, Jackson,
Jordan, Kerr, Lee, Morris, O’Connor, Oleen, Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken,
Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle.

Nays: Clark, Huelskamp. Journey, Lyon, Pugh, Salmans.

The bill passed, as amended.

SB 469, An act concerning crimes, punishment and criminal procedure; relating to of-
fender registration; requiring investigation and report of findings regarding investigation
into the circumstances of inmate deaths in department of corrections facilities and jails;
amending K.5.A. 2003 Supp. 22-4909 and repealing the existing section, was considered on
final action.

On roll call. the vote was: Yeas 40, Nays 0, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Clark,
Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haleyv, Helgerson, Henslev. Huel-
skamp, Jackson, Jordan, Journey, Kerr, Lee, Lyen, Morris, O°Connor, Oleen, Pugh. Salmans,
Schmidt. Schodort, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle.

The bill passed. as amended.

| -12



Senate Bill #4436
Testimony of Jack M. Dickson
Befere the House or Representatives Judiciary Committee
March 16, 2004

Preposed amendment: Section 1 (a) Ne action for recovery of damages suffered as a
result of childhood sexual abuse shall be commenced mere than Three 30 five 15
{proposed change) years after the date the persen attains 18 vears vears of age.

All language in every other section of the SB 436 shall remain as approved by the
senate of the State of Kansas.

Reason for proposal:

1. Other states have recently revised the statute of hmitations for adulf survivers to
seek civil penalty for this abuse. Specifically refer to attachment # 1 for
infermation en revisions to law in Connecticut, IHlinois, and Missouri.

2. The time peviod of {ive years from age of majority does not allow sufficient thme
for victims to discover abuse that has been repressed for long periods of time.

“Traumatic amuesias {Post traumatic stress) are age- and dose-related: the
younger the age at the time of the travma and the more prolonged the traumatic
event, the greater the likelihood of significant amnesia. Generally, recall is
triggered by exposure to sensory or affective stimuli that match sensory or
affective clements associated with the trauma.” Van der Kolk and Fisler
Dissociation and the Fragmentary Nature of Tranmatic Memories (Harvard
Medical School Journal, 1995).

3. Evidence smggests that recall of traumatic events after a kindling experience is
extremely accurate.

“However, accuracy of memory is affected by the emotional valence of an
experience: Studies of people’s subjective reports of personally highly significant
events generally find that their memories are unusually accurate and that they
tend to remain so over time.” Christian and Bohanunon, The Stability and
Accuracy af Memories of Stressful Events (Harvard Medical School Journal,
1992).

4. Statistics indicate that we are talking about a significant number of Kansans
whe are victims of childhood sexual abuse. See attachment £ 2.

5. A family member or close personal friend abuses the majority of sexually abused
persens. Qur concern should be for the victims of abuse in a time when many of
their care systems are cut off.

Attachments: #I—revised law in three states, #2—childhood sexual abuse statistics,
#3—Iletter from Dr. Carcol Hammon-Paulsen, Ph. D, D. Min, ARNP-BC

House Judiciary Committee

3-10-04
Attachment 2



State Statute of limitations
Comparison of current statutes of limitations for civil actions
March 10, 2004

Connecticut:

Conn. Gen. Stat. §52-577d:

LIMITATION OF ACTICON FOR DAMAGES TO MINOR CAUSED BY SEXUAL
ABUSE, EXPLOITATION OR ASSAULT.

Notwithstanding the provisions of ssction 52-577, no action fo recover damagss
for personal injury to a minor, including emotional distress, caused by sexual
abuse, sexual exploitation or sexual assault may be brought by such person iater
than thirty years from the date such person attains the age of majority.

Missouri:

Missouri's Statute of Limitations for sexual abuse defines chiidhood sexual abuses as
sexual contact with a person under the age of 18.

The 2003 amendment o the limitations statute provides that civil claims must bs filed
either on or before reaching the age of 30, or within 3 years from the date the victim
discovers, or shouid have discovered, that physical or psychological injury was caused
by abuse. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 537.046. In Doe v. Roman Catholic Diocase, 852 S.W.2d
338 (Mo. en banc 19983) the Missouri Supreme Court ruled that the express language of
retroactivity in the underlying statute violated the State constitution and therefore the
statute could not be applied to cases for which the SOL had already run when the
special SOL was griginally passed in 1980.

[tlinois:

iiinois has a special statute of limitations for survivors of childhood sexual abuse. As
amended in 2003, lffincis Statutes § 13--202.2(b) provides:
An action for damages for personal injury based on childhood sexual abuse must b
commenced within 10 years of the date the person abused discovers or through the use of
reasonable diligence should discover that the act of childhood sexual abuse occurred and
that the injury was caused by the childhood sexual abuse.
The limitations period of section 13-202.2(b) does not begin to run until the afleged victim has
attained the age of 18 years. The previous version of the statute has been applied to perpetrators
and non-perpetrators. Hobert v. Covenant Children's Home, 309 TIl. App. 3d 640, 723 N.E.2d
384; 243 1l Dec. 352 (HiL. App. 3d 2000).

2



Childhood Sexual Abuse Statistics
March 10, 2004

Approximately 1 in 3 females, 1 in 5 males are victimized sexually prior to
their 18 birthday. T3 reatinig Abuse Today, October 1995,

A%;mximateiy 1in 4 females, 1 in 6 males are sexually abused prior to their
18" birthday. Child Welfare Institute, 2002.

I in 3 females, 1 in 5 males are sexually abused prior te their 18% birthday.
Nuational Crime Victins Research Center, 2002.

Approximately 3,000,000 children were sexually abused in the year 2000.
Child Help USA., 2002,

In the year 2000 there were 19,736 children reported as abused or neglected
in the state of Kansas. Ksattach.us/statistics, Dec. 3, 2003



Arlys-Marie Gilchrist
March 1'0, 2004 316.744 3104 & 316.250.7891
arlysmarie@worldnet att. net
1810 Denver Drive

Park City, Kansas 67219-1605

Presentation QOutline:

TIME FRAME EVENT

18 Months Old My birth father began to sexually, physically and emotional abuse me.

1. The abuse continued until a few months before my birth fathers death on
December 22, 1971.

2. In order to be able to cope what was being done to me, 1 developed
Dissociative Identity Disorder/Multiple Personality Disorder (DID/MPD).

3. From the beginning of the abuse, I repressed all memories of the abuse.
With this repression of abuse memories, the memory of the majority of my
18 months to 25 years Old life was lost to me forever.

33 years old Entered into psychotherapy because 'something’ was wrong.
35 years old During my first hospitalization, I regained my first repressed memory.
Correctly diagnosed with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) and
40 years old DID/MPD (Dissociative Identity Disorder/Multiple Personality Disorder).
45 years of age Integrated all of my different parts and overcame DID/MPD.
48 years of age Terminated therapy for DID/MPD.
1. Gave first public speech on incest and DID/MPD.
50 years of age 2. Became totally physically disabled.

Reached emotional stability to be able to survive the traumatic experience of]
testifying in a court of law against my birth father for the abuse he
53 years of age perpetrated on me.

The attached three (3) sheets are a part of what I must carry with me at all times. Since I am disabled,
there are so many different things that a doctor must know about me that there is just no way that I can
remember them all.

All of my medication, prescription or otherwise, are prescribed by my physician. My primary care
physician, Teresa K. Johnson, MD, a teaching physician at Kansas University School of Medical-Wichita and
Via Christi Regional Medical Center-St. Joseph Family Practice, has determined that all of my medical issues
are either directly or indirectly related to the abuse I suffered as a child.

From these three (3) sheets, you will note the following:
I require 30 different medications, 19 of them on a daily basis
1 have 46 different medical issues
I have had 19 surgical procedures

Thank you for allowing me to speak to you today.

Arlys-Marie Gilchrist

House Judiciary Committee
3-10-04
Attachment 3



Meds for Arlys-Marie Gilchrist (DOB 5/16/45)
Effective March 9, 2004

MEDICATION MORN. NOON | EVEN. BED PURPOSE

Allegra 180 mg chronic sinusits
' 1 puff 1 puff

Astelin Nazal Spray each side each side |chronic sinusits
|Bactroban 2% ointment 1 application; x3 -- PR.N. cuts, etc.

Bextra 20 mg inflammation

Biaxin XL 1000 mg chronic sinusits
Calcium 1500 mg |fibromyalgia

Century Senior 1 tablet nutritional supplement

400 mg 400 mg | 400 mg | 400 mg

Echinacea **Take for only 5 days at a time -- PRN**  |cold symptoms
Estradiol ***2 CC injection every 4 weeks*** replacement therapy
Fish Oil 3600 mg heart and health
Gluosamine Sulfate 1500 mg fibromyalgia
Guaifenesin 600 mg PRN chronic sinusits
Lexapro 20 mg depression
Magnesium 250 mg 250 mg | 250 mg | 250 mg |fibromyalgia
Melatonin 3mg |night time sleep aid
Nitroquick Tablets 1 tablet @ 15 minutes x 3 -- PR.N. rapid heart beat
Potassium 100 mg 100mg | 100 mg | 100 mg |nutritional supplement
Protonix or Nexium 40 mg H. pylori infection(Hx PUD
Proventil HFA Inhaler 1 puffevery 4 hrs. -- PR.N. asthma

RhoGAM Rho(D) Immune 1 injection Delivery of a Rho (D)
Globutin (Human) on June 9, positive baby.
Seroquel 50 mg |night time sleep aid
Singulair 10 mg asthma
|Skelaxin or Zanaflex | 800mg each 6 hrs. or 4mg each 12 hrs. PRN |muscle strain ]
TENS machine *#+%continuous use -- P.R.N.*** pain -
Tetnaus Injection May 25, 2002 cut on finger

Tiazac 180 mg | ‘ | rapid heart beat
Ultracet **75 mg/650 mg each 6 hrs. ---P R N.** pain

Vitamin B-6 | 100 mg ! | fibromyalgia

Bitamin B-12 (1000 MCG/milk) ***] CC by injection every month*** fibromyalgia

Vitamin E | 4001U. | | fibromyalgia

ALLERGIES

Aspirin

Neosporin

Leviquin

Page 1 of 7
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Medical Information for Arlys-Marie Gilchrist (DOB 5/16/45)

ONSET DATE DIAGNOSED BY DIAGNOSIS

October 1, 1967/ Don O'Donahue MD Lumbars 3, 4 & 5 lying on side

August 3, 1998 |Mary Lynch MD Sciatica, Piriformis Muscle Syndrome (Numbness)
August 3, 1998 |Mary Lynch MD Patella Tendinitis

August 3, 1998 |Mary Lynch MD Functional Ankle Instability

August 3, 1998 |Mary Lynch MD Chronic Mechanical Lumbar Strain

Nov. 18, 1989 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Bleeding Stomach Ulcer

Dec. 1, 1989 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Irritable Bowel Syndrome (no meds since Aug.200(

July 28, 1990

T.K.Johnson MD & Cyntlua Stmpson PhD.

Clinical Depression

October 1, 199(

Tom Troilo DDS

Paradontial Disease

October 1, 1990

Tom Troilo DDS & Rodger Baker DDS

TMD (Tempromandibular Dysfunction)

Sept. 1, 1991

T.K.Johnson MD & James Gilbaugh MD

Incontinence

Feb. 1, 1992

T.K.Johnson MD & Y. Leitner MD

Chronic Sinusits

January 6, 1993

T.K. Johnson MD & George Lucas MD

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome-Bilateral Upper Extremiti

{March 16, 1993

George Lucas MD & Pedro Murati MD

Right Media Nerve Decompression

March 16, 1993

George Lucas MD

Arthritis - Bilateral Upper Extremities

Chronic de Quervan's, secondary to status post
carpal metacarpal arthroplasty with tendon

March 5, 1994 |George Lucas MD & Pedro Murati MD |interposition grafting - Right
July 24, 1994  |Teresa K. Johnson MD Lyme Disease
Sept. 1, 1994 | George Lucas MD & Pedro Murati MD |Left Media Nerve Decompression

April 28, 1995

George Lucas MD & Pedro Murati MD

Chronic de Quervan's, secondary to status post
carpal metacarpal arthroplasty with tendon
interposition grafting - Left

June 1, 1998 |T. K. Johnson MD & Chad Cohoon DC |Fibromyalgia Syndrome

March 1, 2000 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Hypoglycemia

Oct. 13,2000 |TeresaK.JohnsonMD ~~~ |Rosacea
Oct. 21,2000 |(T.K.Johnson MD & Chad Cohoon DC |Head Trauma/Concussion

Oct. 22,2000 |T.K.Johnson MD & Chad Cohoon DC |Head Trauma

Oct. 26, 2000 |T K. Johnson MD & Chad Cohoon DC |Head Trauma/Concussion

Nov. 6,2000 |T.K.Johnson MD & Chad Cohoon DC |Head Trauma

Nov. 29, 2000 [T K. Johnson MD & Michelle Brown MD Rapid Heart Beat

Dec. 1,2000 |T.K. Johnson MD & James French MD |Gallbladder maifunction

Dec. 7, 2000  |Michelle Brown MD Slightly Enlarged Right Side of Heart
Dec. 12, 2000 |Michelle Brown MD Mitral Valve

Dec. 15, 2000 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Asthma

Jan. 22, 2001 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Chronic Sinus Infection

Jan. 22,2001 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Arthritis - Left Hip

Feb. 3, 2001 T.K.Johnson MD & Cynthia Simpson PhD | Post Concussion Syndrome

Feb. 8, 2001 Robert Cusick MD Snapping Tendon Syndrome Greater Tricater Left Hip
Oct. 10, 2002 |T K. Johnson MD & Robert Cusick MD | Arthritis - Left Knee

Continued on Page 3
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Medical Information for Arlys-Marie Gilchrist (DOB 5/16/45)

ONSET DATE

DIAGNOSED BY

DIAGNOSIS

| August 29, 2002

T. K. Johnson MD, James Gilbaugh MD

& Patricia Wyatt Harris MD

Cystourethrocele

August 29, 2002

T. K. Johnson MD, James Gilbaugh MD

& Patricia Wyatt Harris MD

Bladder Defect

Sept. 5, 2002

T.K. Johnson MD & Robert Cusick MD

Left Meniscus Tear

T. K. Johnson MD, James Gilbaugh MD

{Oct. 2, 2002  |& Patricia Wyatt Harris MD Rectocele
Oct. 21,2002 |T. K. Johnson MD & Marilyn Holm OD |Cataracts, Left & Right
Jan. 19,2003 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Stenosis of Spinal Canal between L3 & L4
Jan. 19, 2003 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Cyst on Spine between L3 & L4
July 21, 2003 | Teresa K. Johnson MD H. pylori Infection (Hx PUD)
Oct. 27, 2003 |Teresa K. Johnson MD Arthritis - Right Clavicle
Oct. 28, 2003 |Marilyn Holm OD Dry Eye Syndrome
Prior Surgery for Arlys-Marie Gilchrist (DOB 5/16/45)
DATE SURGEON TYPE OF SURGERY
Nov. 7, 1967 |Don O'Donahue MD Lumbar Fusion (#3, 4 & 5 to S1)
Nov. 16, 1989 |Unknown Upper digestive track scope
|Nov. 17, 1989 |Unknown Colon scope
March 16, 1993 |George Lucas MD Carpal Tunnel Release - Right
Carpal Metacarpal Arthropasty with Tendon Interposition
Feb. 21,1994 |George Lucas MD Grafting - Right
Carpal Metacarpal Arthropasty with Tendon Interposition
{April 18, 1995 |George Lucas MD Grafting - Left
August 14, 1998 James French MD Colon scope
Oct. 21, 1998 |Ann Hentzen Paige MD Complete Hysterectomy
Oct. 21, 1998 |James Gilbaugh MD Bladder Repair
August 24, 1999 Frank Galbraith DPM Repair of hammertoe second and third toe of left foot
Incision of matatarsal of second toe and correction of bunion -
Nov. 19, 1999 |Frank Galbraith DPM left foot
Jan. 12,2000 |Frank Galbraith DPM Removal of support implant, second toe, left foot
April 17,2002 |James French MD Removal of Gallbladder
Oct. 14,2002 |Robert Cusick MD Left Meniscus Repair Arthroscopy/surgery
Oct. 30,2002 |James Gilbaugh MD Cystoscopy
Oct. 30, 2002 |James Gilbaugh MD Bladder Defect Repair
Oct. 30, 2002 |James Gilbaugh MD Repair of Urethia with Vaginal Sling
Oct. 30, 2002 |Patricia Wyatt Harris MD Repair of Rectocele
April 1,2002 |Raymond Grundmeyer Ill MD|Laminectomy, L2, L3 & L4 with hardward and stabilization
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MEMO

FROM: The Outreach Ministry to Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse
First United Methodist Church
El Dorado, Kansas

TO: Judiciary Committee of the Kansas House of Representatives
Mike O’Neal, Chairman
2004 Session

DATE: March 10, 2004
RE: Amendment and passage of Senate Bill 436

We have researched Statutes of Limitations for childhood sexual abuse for many other states
and have found that many states have made improvements in their statutes in the last few years: among
them are Missouri, Oklahoma, Illinois and Connecticut.

The current Kansas Statute K.S.A. 60-523 provides 3 years to bring an action after turning 18
or 3 years from the date the person discovers or reasonably should have discovered that the injury or
illness was caused by childhood sexual abuse whichever occurs later. Senate Bill 436 as passed by the
Senate amended this Statute to provide 5 years for the initial Statute of Limitations and 5 years for
the proviso paragraph but it is submitted that the 5 years in the first part of the Statute still excludes
a sizeable number of those persons that is meant to protect. The unique characteristics that most
victims display simply cannot meet the criteria of the 5 years stated in the first part of the Statute even
though the tolling provision attempts to do that. We are suggesting that the first 5 year limitation
period be changed to 15 years.

KEY POINTS

@® A problem with the present Kansas Statute is that the Kansas Supreme Court has interpreted
it to require a plaintiff to take action within the time limitation period after turning 18 years
of age or to prove THAT THEIR PRESENT DISABILITY WAS CAUSED BY CHILD
ABUSE TO A COURT OR JURY BEFORE THEY CAN EVEN GET INTO COURT. In
other words, the statute has been interpreted to require that in order to have one’s day in
court, one must first go to court to prove that they are not barred by the Statute of

Limitations and many abuse victims simply cannot surmount that hurdle.

® Young victims are so traumatized that they cope by forgetting or dissociating or repressing
memories of the trauma which do not surface until something triggers them and they surface
much later in life (typically by ages 30 or 40).

@® Almost all victims develop PTSD or Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, which is explained in
the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Psychiatric Disorders IV as a disabling disorder
that includes flashbacks of actual events, numbing out,dissociation, recurrent distressing

dreams, distortion of reality, denial, body memories (trauma is stored in tissue) hyper arousal,
rage and suicidal ideology. Most victims bury the trauma until it is triggered and dominates
conscious reality.

House Judiciary Committee
3-10-04
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® The present Kansas Statute is based on the assumption that victims know and
and can articulate what happened to them. A five or six year old hasn’t the
vocabulary or maturity to process the trauma. The reality is that most victims
cannot. Many do not remember for years even though the trauma is producing
disturbing physical and psychological symptoms.

® One in three females and one in five males experience sexual abuse by age 18
(National Crime Victims Research Center 2002).

@® n 2000, 19,736 children were reported as abused or neglected in Kansas
(Kansas ATTACH December 3, 2003). It is estimated that only 1/3 of
abuse cases are reported.

@ We need a revision of the statute which will relax the burden of taking immediate
action to recover for the disabling consequences of childhood sexual abuse the way
other states have done. The statute is designed to help only in civil and not
criminal cases.

® The unique Connecticut Statute comes the closest, in our opinion, to taking all
aspects of childhood sexual abuse into account. [t gives the victim 30 years from
age 18 to bring civil action against the abuser. [t seems a realistic, reasonable,
and compassionate time allowance when all the life-long injury resulting from
the trauma of abuse to a child is taken into consideration.

@® Perpetrators have had a measure of protection trom their crimes for too long. It
s time to protect the victims. A revision of the current statute would hold the
abuser accountable longer than 5 years and gives the victims a chance to heal so
that they are able to bring legal action.

® A brief description of statutes of other states which have recently been changed to
address this problem are attached hereto, and reference is made to the web site
below for others.

Respectfully submitted,

J/zwcvfzgm& @Mﬂ%

Mary Jo Grant, Ph.D."
First United Methodist Church
El Dorado, Kansas

/

o——

Web site: For information about other state statutes
http://www.smith-lawfirm.com/sol_(enter state name). html
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ATTACHMENT TO MEMO TO
JUDICIARY COMMITTEE FROM THE
OUTREACH MINISTRY TO SURVIVORS OF
CHILDHOOD SEXUAL ABUSE

Bref outlines of recent statutory changes from selected states:

Conn. Gen. Statutes 52-577 (d) Sec. 52-577d. Limitation of action for damages to minor
caused by sexual abuse, exploitation or assault.

Notwithstanding the provisions of section 52-377, no action to recover damages for personal
injury to a miner, including emotional distress, caused by sexual abuse, sexual exploitation or sexual
assault may be brought by such person later than thirty years from the date such person attains the
age of majority.

llinois Statutes #13-202.2 (b) Sec. 15 the code of civil procedures amended by changing section
13-202.2 as follows:

Sec. 13-202.2. Childhood sexual abuse.,

(a)

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, an action for damages for personal injury
based on childhood sexual abuse must be commenced within 10 years of the date the limitation period
begins to run under subsection (d) or within 5 years of the date the person abused discovers or
through the use of reasonable diligence should discover both (i) that the act of childhood sexual abuse
occurred and (1) that the injury was caused by the childhood sexual abuse. The fact that the person
abused discovers or through the use of reasonable diligence should discover that the act of childhood
sexual abuse occurred is not, by itself, sufficient to start the discovery period under this subsection

6. An action based on intentional conduct brought by any person for recovery of

damages for injury suffered as a result of childhood sexual abuse incidents or exploitation as defined

by Section 7102(10-7102)of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes or incest can only be brought within
the latter of the following periods:

O (Not applicable)
b. ... SUT (Not applicable)

Provided further, any action based on intentional conduct specified in paragraph 6 of
this section must be commenced within twenty (20) years of the victim reaching the age of eighteen

(18);

4.3



Missouri Revised Statutes #537.046. Childhood sexual abuse. {Amended in 2003 to provide
that)

Civil claims must be filed either or before reaching the age of 30, or within 3 years from the
date the victim discovers, or should have discovered, that physical or psychological injury was caused
by abuse.

</
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House Judiciary Committee
Testimony on SB 436 (Informational)

Chairman O’Neal and members of the committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify this morning on Senate Bill 436 which, as amended by the
Senate, would increase the statute of limitations from 3 years to 5 years past the age of 18 on recovery of
damages from child abuse, and from 3 years to 5 years past the date of discovery. My name is Mike
Farmer and I am the Executive Director of the Kansas Catholic Conference, the public policy office of
the Catholic Church in Kansas.

I testified in opposition to this bill in its original form in front of the Senate Judiciary Committee last
month. It originally would have increased the statute of limitations from 3 years to 30 years past the age
of 18. While our preference would be to not change the existing statutes, I appear here today with

informational testimony only and will not oppose the current form of this bill as long as the time frame
is not increased past 5 years.

I have included with my testimony that offered by Mr. John J. Jurcyk, Jr., attorney for the Archdiocese
of Kansas City in Kansas, which he gave to the Senate Judiciary Committee. I believe the points he
raised are still valid and I would hope members of this committee would take his comments under

consideration when working this bill. Mr. Jurcyk was not able to be here today, but he does concur in
my testimony this afternoon.

It is my understanding that statutes of limitations exist in order to balance the rights of the victim and the
accused. They also exist because the truth is more difficult to determine as time passes and recollections
fade. If a claim is not asserted until years after an event took place, it is more likely that witnesses may
have become deceased or moved away, and other relevant evidence may no longer exist. Even witnesses
who are still alive may no longer accurately recall the underlying events that formed the basis for a
claim. In such cases, it would be difficult if not impossible to ascertain what actually occurred.

The vast majority of cases that have been brought forth involving child sexual abuse by the clergy
occurred in excess of 20 years ago, at a time when psychiatry, law and medicine believed that child
sexual abuse was a moral lapse, rather than an incurable disease. That fact points to another reason for

MOST REVEREND GEORGE K. FITZSIMONS, D.D. MOST REVEREND JAMES P. KELEHER, S.T.D. MOST REVEREND THOMAS J. OLMSTED, J.C.D., D.D.
DIOCESE OF SALINA Chairman of Board DIOCESE OF WICHITA
ARCHDIOCESE OF KANSAS CITY IN KANSAS
MOST REVEREND RONALD M. GILMORE, S.T.L., D.D. MOST REVEREND EUGENE J. GERBER, S.T.L., D.D.
DIOCESE OF DODGE CITY RETIRED
MOST REVEREND MARION F. FORST, D.D. MICHAEL P. FARMER MOST REVEREND IGNATIUS J. STRECKER, S.T.D.
RETIRED Executive Director
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statutes of limitation, which is to assure that the accused will be judged by knowledge and understanding
available at the time an injury occurred.

As Mr. Jurcyk points out in his testimony, sexual abuse is not a Catholic Church problem. It is a societal
problem. Unfortunately the Catholic Church has received the notoriety, even though statistical evidence
points out that 90 percent of child sexual abuse is committed by parents or relatives. With that in mind I
would like to take a few minutes to update you on the recent actions taken by the Catholic Church to
prevent any future situations of child abuse by priests or other church ministers and volunteers.

On June 12, 2002 the Bishops of the Unites States took decisive action by adopting a Charter for the
Protection of Children and Young People. The Charter mandated that every diocese in the United States
put into place certain structures and procedures to assure the safety of children and young people in the
future. Some of the provisions of the Charter include reporting any allegation of sexual abuse of a
person who is a minor to public authorities, criminal background checks on all church personnel who
regularly minister to children, the establishment of a diocesan Victim Assistance Coordinator, diocesan
seminars or workshops on the nature of child sexual abuse and its prevention, the formation of a lay
review board to assist the Bishop when allegations arise, the implementation of age-appropriate
educational programs for children to prevent future victimization, the establishment of a national Office
of Child and Youth Protection, and the permanent removal of any priest or deacon who is proven guilty
of child sexual abuse.

Recently an audit was conducted to determine the compliance of each diocese with the mandates of the
Charter. A national, independent, auditing firm that employs former F.B.I. agents and other
professionals who have been involved in law enforcement conducted this audit. The auditing firm
conducted onsite visits of every diocese in the country. The results were released to the media two
months ago. All four dioceses in Kansas were found to be in full compliance with the dictates of the
Charter. The official results of the audit for each diocese can be found on the United States Bishops
website at www.uscch.org. I am very proud of the steps that my church has taken in this regard.

We continue to pledge our assistance toward reaching our mutual goal of increasing the protection of all
the children in the State of Kansas, even though the bill you are currently considering does not appear to
increase protection so much as it expands the liability of institutions, school districts, churches, and the
many public and private entities that serve children and vulnerable adults.

Thank you,

4 )
e /)/ ¢ /"J
N —Jeetnnda_—~

Michael P. Farmer
Executive Director
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STATEMENT OF JOHN J. JURCYK, JR., ATTORNEY FOR THE

ROMAN CATHOLIC ARCHDIOCESE OF KANSAS CITY IN KANSAS, A

NON-PROFIT CORPORATION, A KANSAS CORPORATION BEFORE

THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON THE JUDICIARY

Re: S.B. 436
February 16, 2004

Chairman Vratil and Members of the Committee:

My name is John J. Jurcyk, Jr. I am with a law firm in Kansas City, Kansas,
called McAnany, Van Cleave & Phillips, P.A. I am the general counsel for The
Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas. The Archdiocese comprises
21 counties in northeast Kansas. The Catholic population of this area is over
192,000. In Kansas, there are three other Catholic dioceses, namely Wichita, Salina,
and Dodge City. I represent the Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas.

I am reminded of the old Polish proverb that says, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix
it.” K.S.A. 60-253, I submit, is not broken and does not need fixing.

I am not aware of any compelling reasons that require the present K.S.A. 60-
253 to be amended to increase the limitation period to 30 years. Sexual abuse is not

a Catholic Church problem. It is a societal problem. Statistical evidence that 90
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percent of child sexual abuse is committed by parents or relatives. The Catholic
Church has received the notoriety. It has taken unprecedented action for a church
organization to remedy the matter.

1. Public Policy And Statutes of Limitations.

A statute of limitations is any law which fixes the time within which parties
must take judicial action to enforce rights or else thereafter be barred from enforcing
them.

Statutes of limitation are deadlines. They are intended to promote timely and
efficient litigation of claims. The right to be free from a claim upon which the statute
of limitations has expired is as important as an aggrieved party’s right to file an action.
The defense of the statute of limitations stands upon the same place as any other legal
defense; it is legitimate and meritorious. 51 Am. Jur. 2d Limitations of Action §§ 2,
6.

The Kansas Supreme Court has said that statutes of limitation are enacted to
prevent fraudulent and stale claims from springing up at great intervals of time and
surprising the parties or their representatives when all proper vouchers and evidence
are lost or the facts have become obscure from the last lapse of time or defective
memory, death, or removal of witnesses. Boftt v. Equitable Life Assurance Society

of the United States, 147 Kan. 671 (1938).
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A federal court sitting in Kansas has also said that statutes of limitation
represent a pervasive legislative judgment that it is unjust to fail to put the adversary
on notice to defend within a specified period of time and that the right to be free of
stale claims in time comes to prevail over the right to prosecute them. Statutes of
limitation protect defendants and the courts from having to deal with cases in which
the search for truth may be seriously impaired by the loss of evidence, whether by
death or disappearance of witnesses, fading memories, or disappearance of document
or otherwise. City of Wichitav. Aero Holdings, Inc., 177 Fed. Supp. 2d 1153, 1178
(D. Kan. 2000). CF. United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111, 117 (1979).

A treatise on statutes of limitation has said that the primary purpose of a
statute of limitations is to compel the exercise of a right of action within a reasonable
time so that the opposing party has a fair opportunity to defend, that is, to present
without undue delay the bringing of a suit or claim and to encourage promptness and
diligence in bringing actions. Statutes of limitation reflect the understanding that a
party will generally choose to pursue available claims rather than wait indefinitely to
do so. 51 Am. Jur. 2d, Limitations, § 14, 16, 17.

Statutes of limitation are designed, in part, to protect potential defendants
from the fear of litigation and to promote repose and security by bringing finality to

disputes. Statutes oflimitation are intended, in part, to prevent burdening courts with
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stale claims and to promote judicial economy.

The public policy of Kansas as announced through the courts is that claims
should be pursued timely, diligently, and efficiently and that the courts should not
have to deal with stale claims where witnesses, documents, and evidence are lost or
unavailable and memories are faded.

2. Kansas Statute of Limitations.

At the present time, the Kansas statute of limitations for contract cases is five
years and two years for tort actions. If a person under 18 is involved in a car
accident, for example, that person may bring that action at any time up to his or her
18th birthday, and after his or her 18th birthday, that person may bring the action
within one additional year.

The current K.S.A. 60-253 provides for a greater period of time in cases of
childhood sexual abuse to a minor. The statute permits the minor to bring the action
at any time after the incident and has an additional three years after his or her 18th
birthday to bring the action. The statute also provides that if the damage from the
alleged sexual abuse is not known, and the person later discovers it, he or she has
three years from the date of discovery of the injury or three years from the date that
the person should have reasonably known about it. This last provision, I understand,

is an exception for the so-called repressed memory syndrome.
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3. Senate Bill 436.

Senate Bill 436, as proposed, would give the minor 30 years after the person’s
18th birthday to file suit. So that person could file up to his or her 48th birthday.

In essence, this means that a person who was allegedly abused at age 16 could
file a suit at any time for the next 30 years after the 18th birthday. And the person
would only be time-barred after the 48th birthday. But ifthere is a repressed memory
syndrome injury, then the case could be brought at any time within the three years of
discovering the injury.

Not only does the statute give the right for anyone to proceed with a case for
the next 30 years; the statute goes further to say that any claims that occurred prior
to the date of the enactment of the statute within the last 30 years may also be
brought. Consequently, in my judgment, the longstanding Kansas public policy as
proclaimed by the Kansas courts that claims should be pursued timely and efficiently
and that courts should not deal with stale claims, dead witnesses, and lost evidence
is being violated.

Please keep in mind that the statute does not deal with claims of sexual abuse
mmvolving only ministers and priests; it covers everyone. A 30-year time limit could
create unforseen consequences.

For example, let’s take a high school coach of a girls’ softball team. The
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coach is 50 years old. A girlis 15 years old. Thirty-three years later, the girl, at age
48, brings a claim that the coach, now 83, abused her sexually while on a trip to a
high school softball tournament. The coach, now 83 years old, if he is still living, is
going to have to defend himself. His school district will have to defend itself. What
insurance policy is applicable? Is the policy itself still in existence? What is covered
by the policy? Where are the witnesses? The records are gone. The witnesses, if
available, have scattered. It is simply not fair to allow suits 33 years after the alleged
incident. What will we lose as a society? Who will want to volunteer to work with
youth groups or coach teams?

The popular media complains that there we live in a litigious society. For
example, there was a hue and cry about the $200,000 plus verdict against McDonalds
in a case where a lady went through the McDonalds drive-through and put the cup of
hot coffee between her legs while driving away from the drive-up window. The
coffee spilled and her legs were burned. The woman sued McDonalds and the jury
rewarded her. You will note that all McDonalds coffee cups now have a warning
stating the obvious, that the coffee is hot.

By extending the statute to 30 years, Kansas courts could be deluged with a
torrent of cases, some of which may be meritorious, and some not. However, the

policy ofthe state of Kansas as announced in its courts is that stale claims should not
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be pursued, that there ought to be a time when a person may no longer pursue a
claim.

In preparation for my testimony, I visited with an attorney in Los Angeles,
California. The California legislature recently passed a one-year moratorium of the
statute of limitations for sexual abuse cases. The Los Angeles Archdiocese has now
been sued over 500 times. Those cases go back to the 1930s, ‘40s, ‘50s, “60s, 70s,
‘80s, and the ‘90s.

How does one evaluate, defend, or try to settle claims occurring in 1930 when
the alleged perpetrator is deceased? Who among you could go back and determine
the name of your insurance carrier 30 years ago and what the policy covered or did
not cover? Most institutions do not keep their records forever. In one case in Los
Angeles, they compared the date of the alleged incident with the priest’s records and
they found that at the time of the date of the claim, the priest would have been two
years old. This is not to say that all of those claims are not without merit; however,
the opportunity for claims that are without merit is there.

How does an insurance company underwrite a policy if the statute of
limitations is 30 years? Is that policy affordable? How much is the premium?

Another problem presented in permitting stale claims to be brought is that

prior to 1985, there were no cases on the law books where any church or organization
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was held responsible for the individual sexual misconduct of an employee or minister
because it was clear that such conduct was not in the scope ofthat person’s job duties
with the church or employer. Since 1985, the laws have changed somewhat, and what
may happen is actions occurring in the 1930s, ‘40s, ‘50s, and ‘60s, will be judged by
today’s standards. For example, can you fault a manufacturer of 1940 automobiles
for not having seat belts which are required today?

Extending the time period to 30 years may involve what I call the law of
unintended consequences. For example, a person might open a car window in the
garage to air out the car, but the motor is running and carbon monoxide enters the
vehicle and the person becomes ill.

The amendments to House Bill 436, while intending to help victims of sexual
misconduct, might have the opposite effect. It seems to me that the best thing for
people who claim to have been abused sexually is to come forward and come to terms
with their victimization. I submit that one ofthe reasons for not extending the statute
of limitations is that it does not help a victim begin the process of healing to be
waiting for 30 years to pursue justice. Ifanything, victims should be supported by the
law to come forward sooner. If there are perpetrators, delaying the statute of
limitations would allow those perpetrators to continue in their activities with the

victims and, potentially, others.
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Coming forward takes courage, but that courage should be encouraged by the
law because the sooner the better for all concerned. The goal of American justice has
always been to be swift, timely, efficient, and fair. Nor does delay assist the
organization in dealing with the problem.

The work to stop victimization is best applied in prevention and education.
The Boy Scouts of America and the Catholic Church are two examples of
organizations doing that.

We live in a world of limitations. Ifa person is in a car wreck, he or she has
two years in which to bring a case. Ifa minor is in a car wreck, he or she may bring
the case at any time and has one year after his or her 18th birthday in which to bring
a case.

Periodically, people come to my office with potential motor vehicle personal
injury claims. The claims are meritorious; however, [ am forced to tell them when the
statute of limitations has expired.

Our courts are backlogged under the current statute of limitations. K.S.A. 60-
253 is not broken and does not need fixing. Extending the limitations for 30 years,
in my judgment, will dramatically increase litigation and insurance costs and is not fair
to everyone concerned. There are no compelling reasons for the amendments to

K.S.A. 60-253. The amendments are not fair and do not afford due process to all
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concerned.
I recommend that K.S.A. 60-253 remain as it is.

Thank you.
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