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MINUTES OF THE _Houseé  COMMITTEE ON

February 11, 1987

Date

Transportation

The meeting was called to order by

Representative Rex Crowell

at

Chairperson

_1:30 sem/p.m. on January 20

All members were present X%

Committee staff present:
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes

Hank Avila, Legislative Research
Donna Mulligan, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Mr. Jim Sullins,
Mr. David H. Moses,

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Rex Crowell,

1987 in room _519=S _ of the Capitol.

Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association
Sedgwick County District Attorney's Office

and the

first order of business was a hearing on HB-2026 concerning bonding
requirements for vehicle dealers and vehicle brokers.

Hank Avila, Legislative Research, briefed the
and explained that the 1986 Interim Committee
studied the issue of whether the State should
on new and used vehicle dealers. He said the

Committee on the bill
on Transportation
require surety bonds
Committee concluded

that a bonding requirement should be imposed for the purpose of
protecting consumers.

Chairman Crowell requested that Mr. Avila discuss the findings of the
Interim Committee on Transportation concerning the cost of the bonds.
Mr. Avila said insurance companies were contacted to determine the price
of writing a bond and it was found that one company charges $20 per
$1,000 of coverage. However, the consensus was that the average cost
for the surety bond was $10 per $1,000 coverage.
Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association, testified in
(See Attachment 1)

Mr. Jim Sullins,
support of HB-2026.

Mr. Sullins said that enactment of a mandatory bonding requirement
for motor vehicle dealers will help customers feel more confident
when purchasing a vehicle since they will know protection is being
afforded them should the vehicle not be as it was represented.

Mr. Sullins said that dealer accountability will be fostered through
a bonding requirement, as the State will be serving notice to any
applicant for license that they are expected to treat the customer
fairly and honestly.

He reported many states already require dealers to be bonded, and
pointed out Missouri has had the bonding requirement for four years
and there have been no instances where a dealer was unable to obtain
a bond, to the best of his knowledge.

Sedgwick County District Attorney's Office, gave
(See Attachment 2)

Mr. David H. Moses,
favorable testimony concerning HB-2026.

He said over a l7-month period, from January 1, 1985 through May of
1986, the Consumer Fraud Division of Sedgwick County handled 137
consumer protection cases involving new or used auto dealers. Mr.
Moses reported 58 percent of the cases involved charges of
misrepresentation; 10 percent involved failure to deliver title, and
another 10 percent were warranty related.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim, Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for
editing or corrections.
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CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE __House COMMITTEE ON Transportation

room 21975 Statehouse, at _ 1330 s /p.m. on January 20 1987

Mr. Moses stated he believes bonding as provided in HB-2026 is an
important step towards protecting the consumer, and implementation

of increased penalties for repeat offenders will help further deter
violations.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

ex Crowell, Chairman
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STATEMENT BEFORE THE
HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION
BY THE
KANSAS MOTOR CAR DEALERS ASSOCIATION

TUESDAY, JANUARY 20, 1987

HOUSE BILL 2026

'Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, I am Jim Sullins, Executive
Vice President of the 370 member Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association,
the state trade association representing the franchised new car and new
truck dealers of Kansas. We appreciate the opportunity to come before

you today in support of House Bill 2026.

The Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association has been working with
this issue since the 1985 session when major reforms took place within
the Dealers-Manufacturer-Salesman Licensing Act. In both 1985 and 1986,
the Kansas Senate has sent legislation to the House of Repre;entatives
similar to House Bill 2026, and both years this Committee failed to

approve the previous proposals.

This year, you have before you yet another bill addressing this
subject, however this bill was fostered by a summer-long study conducted
by the Special Interim Committee on Transportation. After days of

testimony by some twelve different groups, the interim committee concluded

that, ''a bonding requirement ... to be a consumer protection device..."

The Committee report goes on to say that it is the Committee's judgment

that, 'the protection afforded by a bonding requirement merits its imposition."
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I would point out at the outset that this decision by the Committee
was not made hastily and without due consideration. The Committee met
on several different: occas ions during the summer to discuss this issue,

and in each instance the discussion became quite lengthy and detailed.

As pointed out in the Committee Report, the merits of imposing such
a requirement must be weighed against the financial hardship that would
be placed on low-volume dealers. A chief concern of not only the Committee,
but KMCDA and many other of the conferees,was what effect this requirement
would have on the smaller dealers, and would the added cost of doing
business have the effect of forcing closure of small, but reputable,
dealerships. After considering the issue and hearing from all of the
conferees, some several times, the Committee report states specifically,

"No convincing testimony was presented to the Committee that this would
g Y P

occur."

Even with that, the Committee still proceeded cautiously, and left
open other means for dealers . who 1) might not qualify for a bond, 2) have

a hard time finding a company to write a bond, or 3) want to provide their

financial security by means other than a bond.

While the bill is several pages long, all of the changes can be found
on pages 4 and 5, beginning on line 135. Basically, the bill requires
that every applicant.or current licensee that is or wants to be a new
vehicle dealer, used vehicle dealer, or broker, must maintain a $25,000

surety bond during the license period. That has been the proposal for

the last two years.

Something new this yean however, is that a few alternatives are found

in lines 155 through 163. This would allow the applicant or licensecs to



satisfy the bonding requirements by providing, instead of a bond, one of

the following:

1. Negotiable bonds of the U.S. or Kansas; or,

2. Negotiable certificates of deposit; or

2

3. An irrevocable letter of credit from any
federal or state bank.

This section was added to provide options to those applicants or licensees

who either could not or did not want to purchase a bond.

The bond itself is conditioned on the applicant or licensee complying
with the provisions of the statutes applicable to the licensee, which in
this case is the dealer licensing law, K.S.A. 8-2401 et seq. If the
dealer does this according to the law, and does not violate any of these
statutes, the bond will never come into play. However, if a dealer does
violate one of these statutes and a consumer is injured, the consumer
would have a remedy by which their money could be recovered either in
whole or part. Of course, the only time the bond would come into play

even in this situation would be if the dealership was either closed or

out of business.

If T might, I would like to briefly walk you through a situation
which might make all of this easier to understand. For example, let's
say the Chairman purchased a used vehicle from a dealership. However, at the
time of purchase he did not receive title to the vehicle, instead was told
that the title was in process with the state, and would be delivered in
a couple of wecks. This, by the way, is legally permissible under Kansas
statutes, and as you know, you have 30 days to titlc and register the vehicle
in the new owners name. About 3 weeks later, thc Chairman starts to become
concerned since he still doesn't have his title and hasn't heard anything

from the dealership. He goes back, and is told not to worry, that the



title will be in any day. Four weeks now pass, and still no title. The
Chairman goes back to the dealership again, but this time finds that the
dealership no longer exists. They are gone, out of business, and he's
stuck with a car to which he has no title. Additionally, he's out the
money he paid for the vehicle and possibly has an obligation to pay of

the lending institution if he borrowed the money.

Without a bonding requirement, he's stuck. The state won't issue
title without an assigned title. If he doesn't pay for the vehicle
his credit rating will be ruined with the lending institution and with
any other borrower since he would have defaulted on a loan.

However, with a bonding requirement, he has a way to recoup his
loss. Granted, he would have to have an attorney file suit on his
behalf, which will cost some money, but if the court finds in his
favor, which it would, the bonding company would have to repurchase
the vehicle thereby paying him for his loss. After that, he's taken
care of and any further litigation is between the bonding company and

the dealer who purchased the bond.

This is just one example of how a customer could be stuck without
anywhere to turn. Other things which could lead to an injured consumer
include fraud; failure to perform pursuant to a written agreement with
the consumer; misrepresentation of the vehicle; fraudulent practices
concerning the retail installment contracf; and, cross-titling of the
vehicle, plus others. Any act which could cause the decaler to lose

his license to operate in the state of Kansas would trigger the bond

if a consumer had been injured.



As to the cost of the bond to the dealer, testimony provided
during the interim consistantly showed that a bond of this type
would cost approximately $10 per $1000 of insurance, or in this
case, approximately $250 per year. Additionally, at least one
major insurance company offers bonds to new vehicle dealers at a
rate of §7 per thousand rather than the standard §10 rate. Most
insurance/bonding companies require the applicant to have a net
worth at twice thé value of the bhond, or $50,000. Also, some
have working capital requirements, while others do not have a
working capital requirement. The price of the bond, as well as
the financial requirements, seem to be fairly consistant nationwide
concerning those states that already have dealer bonding requirements.
Prices of the bond may vary from state to state, but that is due to
the specific risk within those states. For the most part, the price

of the bonds within the Midwest fall in the $10 per $1000 range.

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committeé, over the past few
years several reforms have taken place in the motor vehicle industry
in an effort by the Legislature and the industry itself to 'clean up"
the industry. Stronger licensing and dealer tag provisions, combined
with stepped up enforcement by the Division of Vehicles, have led
the way in this clean up. The next step, we feel, is the enactment

of a mandatory bonding requirement for vehicle dealers.

We believe that customer confidence will be heightened by a
bonding requirement. Customers will feel more confident in buying
a vehicle if they know that protection is being afforded them should

the vehicle not be what it was represented to be.



We also feel that dealer accountability wili be fostered through
a bonding requirement. Effectively the state will be serving notice
to any applicant for license that they are expected to treat the
customer fairly and honestly. Thé state, we believe, will also be
telling dealers that the '"here today, gone tomorrow' way that some
individuals conduct business will no longer be accepted in Kansas, .

and that simply closing the buisness would not relieve them of their

obligations to their customer.

We think that after two years of discussion by the Legislature
and a summer-long investigation by the interim committee, the facts

are clear.

First, a dealer bonding requirement is definitely a consumer

protection issue.

Second, many states already require dealers to be bonded.

Third, bonds are readily available at a reasonable cost to the

dealer.

Fourth, no evidence has every been presented that existing
dealers would be forced out of business because of a bonding requirement

or inability to acquire a bond.

Fifth, in the unlikely event that a dealer or applicant would not
be able to purchase a bond, provisions have been included which allow

for alternatives to the required bond.



Sixth, the proposal has the long standing support of not only
consumer interest groups such as the Kansas Attorney General and
various district attorney's offices, but of the motor vehicle industry

itself, which in fact originally requested this requirement.

Mr. Chairman and Members 6f the Committee, what is left is a
policy question which only you can answer and act upon. That question,
simply put, is this: Do you want to afford the people of Kansas the

protection which a mandatory dealer bond would provide?

The Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association strongly feels the answer
to that question should be '"Yes'" and we urge you to give this your
strongest consideration and recommend HB 2026 favorable for passage

by the full House of Representatives.

Thank you for your time and attention, and I would be happy to

stand for questions.



SEDGWICK COUNTY DISTRICT ATTORNEY
18th Judicial District
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District Attorney Consumer Fraud and
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Henry H. Blase (316) 268-7921
Chief Deputy
TESTIMONY

TO: HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

FROM: DAVID H. MOSES, DIRECTOR, CONSUMER FRAUD & ECONOMIC
CRIME DIVISION OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY DISTRICT
ATTORNEY'S OFFICE

RE: HOUSE BILL 2026 - AN ACT AMENDING THE VEHICLE DEALERS'
AND MANUFACTURERS' LICENSING ACT

GIVEN: JANUARY 20, 1987 - STATE CAPITOL, TOPEKA, KANSAS

As Director of the Consumer Fraud Division of the Sedgwick County
District Attorney's Office, I would like to offer comment on House Bill
2026, as it pertains to Kansas auto dealers.

Over a seventeen month period, from January 1, 1985 through May of
1986, our oifice handled 137 consumer protection cases involving new or
used auto dealers. These cases constitute approximately twelve percent
of our total caseload for this period. Fifty-eight percent of these
cases involved charges of misrepresentation, while ten percent involved
failure to deliver title. Another ten percent were warranty related.
Clearly, there is a significant problem which needs to be addressed.

Attached to this testimony is a copy of my earlier testimony to
the Special Committee on Transportation presented on June 23, 1986.

The earlier testimony includes a study compiled of Consumer Fraud auto
cases.

House Bill 2026 provides persons the opportunity to recover for any
loss sustained by reason of any act by the licensee constituting grounds
for suspension or revocation of the license. This provision should provide
a viable option to these individuals.

The provisions of criminal penalties in New Sec. 3 is a very important
step to encourage compliance with K.S.A. 8-2401 through 8-2422. It has
been seen, however, in similar situations, that failure to provide for
enhanced penalties stifles effective enforcement. It is my recommenda-
tion that incremental increases in both the amount of fine and imprisonment
be provided for subsequent and repeat offenses. Failure to provide for
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enhanced penalties will make the fine of up to $500 and the possibility
of imprisonment merely an incidental cost of doing business. Although
imprisonment is an option, in all likelihood it will rarely be ordered.
The financial risk present if repeat violators are subjected to increased

fines, will serve as a greater deterent due to the economic impact on
the violator's business.

In conclusion, I believe bonding as provided by House Bill 2026 is
an important step towards protecting the consumer. Implementation of

increased penalties for repeat offenders will help further deter viola-
tions.

Respectfully submitted,

@mér%ﬂ&

DAVID H. MOSES

Assistant District Attorney
Director, Consumer Fraud &
Economic Crime Division
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STUDY OF CONSUMER FRAUD AUTO CASES
1/1/84-5/31/86

TOTAL 1984 1985 1986
NUMBER OF CLATMS 209 72 107 30
PERCENTAGE OF CASES HANDLED BY 11% 10% 147 10%
THIS OFFICE
NUMBER OF CAR DEALERS 75 35 47 23
PERCENTAGE OF MAJOR CAR DEALERS 547, 61% 55% 33%
!
i
PERCENTAGE OF MINOR CAR DEALERS 46% 39% 45% 63%
PERCENTAGE OF CASES THAT INVOLVED 58% 56% 62% 52%
MISREPRESENTATION
PERCENTAGE OF CASES THAT INVOLVED 10% 1% 13% 22%
FAILURE TO DELIVER TITLE
PERCENTAGE OF CASES THAT WERE 10% 7% 8% 22%
WARRANTY REIATED
PERCENTAGE OF CASES THAT HAD 22% 36% 17% 4%
QTHER MISCELILANEQUS CTAIMS






