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MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE 

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Mike Petersen at 8:30 am on Thursday, January 21, 
2016, 546-S of the Capitol. 

All members were present except: 
Senator Steve Fitzgerald – Excused 
Senator Anthony Hensley – Excused 
Senator Jacob LaTurner – Excused 

Committee staff present: 
Scott Wells, Office of Revisor of Statutes 
Jill Shelley, Legislative Research Department 
Whitney Howard, Legislative Research Department 
Adam Siebers, Office of Revisor of Statutes 
Carolyn Long, Kansas Legislative Committee Assistant 

Conferees appearing before the Committee: 
Tom Whitaker, Executive Director, Kansas Motor Carriers Association 

Others in attendance: 
See Attached List

Possible bill introductions 
Chairman Petersen opened the meeting and asked if there were any bill introductions.

Colonel Mark Bruce, Superintendent, Kansas Highway Patrol asked the Committee for a bill that 
would increase vehicle registrations fees in the amount of $2 in order to create a fund for Patrol staffing 
and training. After Colonel Bruce provided some clarifying answers to questions by the Committee, 
there were no objections by the Committee.

Dan Murray, representing custom harvesters, asked for legislation creating a hazmat exemption if the 
person is transporting 1000 gallons or less of fuel, to mirror a recent change in federal law. There were 
no objections from the Committee. 

Presentation on: 
Chairman Petersen welcomed Tom Whitaker, Executive Director, Kansas Motor Carriers Association 
(Attachment 1) . Mr. Whitaker said that his presentation would be to inform the Committee on the 
latest ruling by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) as directed by the Moving 
Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) which was approved by Congress and signed by 
the President on July 6, 2012, requiring the use of electronic logging devices (ELDs). This would 
require truck drivers to use the ELDs to comply with the Hours-of-Service rules. Drivers are limited to 
14 consecutive hours on duty and no more than 10 hours driving in a 24-hour period. In addition, 
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drivers are limited to no more than 60 hours in a seven-day period or 70 hours in an eight-day period 
should the company have an operation schedule of seven days a week. There is'however, a "re-start 
provision" on the 60-hour and 70-hour rules if the driver takes 34 consecutive hours off duty. This rule, 
as it currently stands, applies to all interstate motor carriers over 10,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight rating 
and intrastate hazardous material transporters' vehicles requiring placarding. ELD rules are not in effect 
for other intrastate carriers until they are adopted by the Kansas Corporation Commission. Vehicle 
drivers currently exempted by the Legislature in the 2015 Session from certain safety requirements 
(2015 SB 21) and farm registered vehicles are exempt. 

This ruling requires fleets and drivers currently using paper logs to adopt to ELDs by December 2017 
unless they are currently using automatic on-board recording devices meeting the current standards for 
Automatic On-Board Recording Devices, to continue usage of such devices until December 2019. 

The final rule allows limited exceptions, including:
• Drivers using paper logs for not more than eight days during a 30-day period;
• Those who conduct driveaway-towaway operations where vehicle is the product being 

delivered;
• Those operating vehicles manufactured before model year 2000; and
• Drivers operating a logbook timecard exception (short-haul 100-air mile).

To ensure against harassment and protect driver privacy, motor carriers are prohibited from using 
information from ELDs to pressure drivers into violating regulations. The final rule requires ELDs to 
automatically mute or allow a driver to turn off or mute the volume when they are logged into the 
sleeper berth status. It also only records location during on-duty time within approximately one mile 
and during off-duty time within 10 miles.
The final rule requires fleets to retain up to eight supporting documents verifying on-duty, not driving 
time. In order to qualify as a supporting document, it must contain this information: driver 
identification, date, vehicle location and time. If the motor carrier has more than eight documents with 
that information, they must retain the supporting documents nearest the beginning and end of the 
driver's shift.

Mr. Whitaker said that shippers will have to change the way they do business and receivers how they 
receive and unload shipments. "Creative time management" will be a thing of the past once this ruling 
is implemented. He also noted that the average age of a driver is 53 years of age. There is a current 
shortage of 24,000 drivers with an anticipated shortage of drivers in 10 years of 100,000.
Mr. Whitaker answered questions from the Committee and the Chair thanked him for his appearance.
The meeting adjourned at 8:54 a.m.
The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 26, 2016.
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