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MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE 

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Mike Petersen at 8:30 am on Tuesday, February 17, 
2015, 546-S of the Capitol. 

All members were present except: 
Senator Jeff King – Excused 

Committee staff present: 
Jill Shelley, Legislative Research Department 
Whitney Howard, Legislative Research Department 
Adam Siebers, Office of Revisor of Statutes 
Carolyn Long, Kansas Legislative Committee Assistant 
Scott Wells, Office of Revisor of Statutes 

Conferees appearing before the Committee: 
Lisa Kaspar, Director of Vehicles, Kansas Department of Revenue 

Others in attendance: 
See Attached List

The Chairman drew the Committee's attention to documents prepared by Jill Shelley, Legislative 
Research, showing Fees Related to Commercial Driver's License Testing (SB 126) (Attachment 1) and 
License Plate Fees (SB 174) (Attachment 2). 

Hearing on: SB126 — Commercial driver's license test, fee. 
Chairperson Petersen opened the Hearing on SB 126. Adam Siebers, Assistant Revisor, informed the 
Committee that this legislation would authorize the Department of Revenue to assess a $15 fee for the 
drive test portion of the Commercial Driver's License (CDL) and an additional $10 for a retest of any 
failed portion.

The Chairperson welcomed Lisa Kaspar, Director of Vehicles, Department of Revenue, who explained 
that the new test fee would allow the Division of Vehicles to retain the proposed fee for the purpose of 
covering costs associated with the administration of commercial drive tests. The drive test has three 
components: Pre-trip, Skills, and Road. Applicants may take the written or drive test four times within 
a six-month period. In 2014, 7,282 CDL drive tests were administered and out of that number 2,084 did 
not pass. This legislation would allow for recuperation of costs. In order to comply with the American 
Association of Motor Vehicles Administrators standards, the agency must pay for background checks, 
drug tests, and training for all examiners which adds additional costs to the CDL drive test. Division 
staff are in the process of implementing provisions of HB 2693, passed in 2014, to develop a 
certification program, which would include training and certification of technical schools, community 
colleges, and third party testers (Attachment 3).

Ms. Kaspar introduced Kent Selk, CDL Manager, who stood for questions from the Committee. 
• When asked what other states charge, his response was that Colorado had third party testing 

charging as high as $225, Nebraska also had third party testing with no maximum amount set, 
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and Oklahoma and Missouri charged $25.
• They are not asking for an amount equal to what the current skills testing costs in an attempt to 

keep costs down for the consumer. They also hope to partner with the Kansas Department of 
Transportation regarding maintenance and replacement of CDL courses.

• The proposed increase is an attempt to reduce client wait time and was planned prior to budget 
cuts. A CDL is viable for a period of four years and no skills test is required for renewal.

• The Division is currently working on third party outsourcing with the community and technical 
colleges. Definitions are currently being developed for the training certification program and 
Senator Schmidt asked for an update on the rules and regulations for this program.

There being no further discussion, the Hearing on SB 126 was closed.

 

Hearing on: SB174 — Manufacture and issuance of license plates, fees. 
Chairman Petersen opened the Hearing on SB 174. Adam Siebers, Assistant Revisor, informed the 
Committee that this proposed legislation would allow the Department of Revenue to assess a fee of up 
to $8 for the manufacturing of license plates. Revenues would be deposited to a newly created License 
Plate Manufacturing Fee Fund to be used by the Department for procedures related to the issuance of 
vehicle registration license plates. Plates would be shipped directly to the registered owner, lessee, or 
county treasurer.

The Chairperson recognized Ms. Kaspar, who stated that expenditures from this newly created fund 
would begin January 1, 2017. Currently plates are ordered and manufactured in bulk and shipped to 
county motor vehicle offices where they are stored and issued as needed. Quantities are ordered based 
on the estimated number of plates expected to be issued. In 2014, 215,601 more plates were produced 
than were issued.

The Division of Vehicles would move to a Digital License Plate Production model which is a flat 
license plate with the combination digitally printed on the surface. This procedure includes an order 
fulfillment process wherein the customer is issued a temporary receipt at registration and upon 
completion of the plate, the plate is mailed directly to the consumer. Currently plates have been 
manufactured for the past 40 years by Center Industries and it is the Department's intention to continue 
that relationship, as the order fulfillment process would result in continued employment for Center 
Industries. Staggered license place replacement is being recommended on an eight-year cycle.. It is felt 
that that this proposed legislation would create flexibility and options for the customer, and eliminate 
waste and create efficiencies for those in the license plate manufacturing industry and the Division.

Stakeholder meetings have been held, including some with the Highway Patrol concerning verification 
of current plate purchase and the display of said verification (Attachment 4).
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Ms. Kaspar introduced Debra Wiley, Manager, Budget, Contracts, Grants, Inventory & Quality 
Assurance, Division of Vehicles. Responding to Committee questions, Ms. Wiley responded:

• The $8 fee would cover labor, manufacturing, and mailing of the digital plate.
• Plates would require 7-10 days to be manufactured and mailed to consumer. Personalized plates 

would be replaced every five years but the Director of Vehicles, at her discretion, may extend 
the replacement period to eight years.

• When asked about the receipt that would be issued when applying for a permanent license, the 
response was they are still working out the details. 

• When asked if a Request for Proposals (RFP) had been done in the 40 years the Division has 
retained Century Industries to manufacture plates, the response was that this company met all 
the criteria established by the State and they did not feel it was necessary. Senator Schmidt 
stated, in her opinion, it was the obligation of the State to acquire additional proposals. She also 
felt that an implementation plan should be established prior to passing this legislation.

There being no further comments or questions from the Committee, the Hearing on SB 174 was closed.

 

Possible action on bills previously heard 
There was no final action taken on bills previously heard.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:21 a.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 18, 2015. 
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